Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting Better at Golf Overnight

• 10-08-2007 10:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭

There's a few people who post here that seem to be casual and social players who don't take it too seriously but would like to get a bit better. I just thought I'd scribble down 3 little things that in my experience can make the world of difference in a very short space of time.

I see a lot of people misled into thinking that beating 7 irons and drivers out of the range once every two weeks and buying a new driver every six months will improve their game. The following is much easier, cheaper and wayyy more effective!

1. Read "Golf is not a Game of Perfect" by Dr Bob Rotella.
    Read it and re-read it with a highlighter for the important, practical things he recommends. It's a short book. As you read a couple of chapters a night, it's great if you can try put the ideas into practice that weekend. Pick your way through the book, especially focusing on pre-shot routine and "train it and trust it" parts and try them out. There's NO technical advice in it. It's all mental stuff but really easy to understand and practical. Good for ANY level of golfer.

2. Get a couple of short game lessons of your local pro
    Maybe 2 or three with only 10 days between them. In the time between them WORK ON the stuff at least 3 times. Just an hour on your way home from work will do it but there's no point going back without having practiced. Most people stick to range lessons with a pro, carving out some new swing plane when they're totalling neglecting their short game. For higher handicaps, the short game is easier and quicker to improve while giving you better results.

3. Before you play
    If you're playing a society outing, corporate day or club comp, so many people either show up 5 mins before their tee time, out of the car onto the tee and bang away, or arrive in good time and then spend that time having a cup of tea. No need for a serious warm up but use all the facilities at your disposal. 30% of courses have some kind of range. Knock a few balls around. All courses have putting greens and you shoulddefinitely be spending at least 5 mins hitting various lengths of puts. 40 mins is plenty just to relax, stock the bag with drinks, have a chat with the lads and make plenty of warm up swings.

The above takes some thought but very little time. It costs a few quid for the book and short game lessons but sure it's cheaper than a new driver! and will save you more shots!

Hope it helps!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,443 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

Thanks very. That book has got some great reviews. Just ordered a copy. I'll let you know what I think when I read it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

A recent magazine article compared society golfers who turned up right on time, straight to the tee box and started their round against those who warmed up with stretches, hit a few ball's and tried the putting green before starting their round.

The result was that those golfers who warmed up fared no better or worse than those who did not warm up.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,443 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

From personal experience I always play better after hitting a few balls on the range before I start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

A recent magazine article compared society golfers who turned up right on time, straight to the tee box and started their round against those who warmed up with stretches, hit a few ball's and tried the putting green before starting their round.

The result was that those golfers who warmed up fared no better or worse than those who did not warm up.

A society golfer who has a go at points 1 and 2 will have the know-how to make use of his/her time warming up. Eg: hitting balls with full pre-shot routine. Visualising shots on the course to come etc.

Time spent is different to time spent well.

The magazine article is probably accurate. But your application of it is taking my point 3 in isolation which doesn't do my OP justice. A dodgy golfer who just starts showing up early without really knowing what to do to warm up will remain a dodgy golfer. But someone who tries to put some Dr Bob stuff into practice, has a good idea what they're trying to do with their wedge and then shows up in time to chill out and limber up will piss all over someone who doesn't. Any good golfer will tell you that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭BrianD3

In my view, heavy weight training for strength and power will improve a golfer's distance, accuracy, ability to hit long irons and general ball striking. If you do a good lifting session 3 or 4 times a week for one month I feel you will already notice an improvement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

BrianD3 wrote:
    In my view, heavy weight training for strength and power will improve a golfer's distance, accuracy, ability to hit long irons and general ball striking. If you do a good lifting session 3 or 4 times a week for one month I feel you will already notice an improvement.

Alsolute rubbish mate.
    It will definately not improve accuracy or ball striking and I've no idea why you think it might. I can kind of understand how you think weights might improve distance but in reality distance is more about technique than physical strength.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Alsolute rubbish mate.
    It will definately not improve accuracy or ball striking and I've no idea why you think it might. I can kind of understand how you think weights might improve distance but in reality distance is more about technique than physical strength.
    http://golf.about.com/cs/golffitness/a/liftweights.htm
    http://healthy.net/scr/column.asp?PageType=Column&id=231

Re: accuracy, as well as strength and power, weight training improves balance, flexibility and co-ordination/control. If you are definite that this won't improve a golfer's ability to strike consistently and accurately then that's your loss. And of course technique is vitally important but this thread isn't a discussion about technique.

Sadly, the majority of golfers are completely ignorant when it comes to weight training and how it might benefit their game. If golfers spent more time thinking about the athleticism involved in swinging the club and less time worrying about whether they should buy a 10.0 or 10.5 degree loft driver, they might get somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

BrianD3 wrote:
    this thread isn't a discussion about technique.

I'm well aware of that. It's a thread for beginners about improving your game overnight, so to speak. Do you honestly think going to the gym 3/4 night a week will improve a beginners game dramatically? Beginners would be much better spending this time practicing and getting the basics of the game correct. Even from a practicality point of view, the majority of casual golfers wouldn't even have the time to do 3/4 sessions in the gym and play twice a week.

BrianD3 wrote:

Re: accuracy, as well as strength and power, weight training improves balance, flexibility and co-ordination/control. If you are definite that this won't improve a golfer's ability to strike consistently and accurately then that's your loss. And of course technique is vitally important but this thread isn't a discussion about technique.

Sadly, the majority of golfers are completely ignorant when it comes to weight training and how it might benefit their game. If golfers spent more time thinking about the athleticism involved in swinging the club and less time worrying about whether they should buy a 10.0 or 10.5 degree loft driver, they might get somewhere.

We're talking about casual, social players who don't put much into their game. If you're suggesting these guys can benefit from building strength then I disagree. They'd just be putting more power into a poor swing - no benefit. Lots of things improve balance, flexibility coordination and control and I have to say, lifting weights is not of grave importance to the current crop of top young Irish golfers. Sure have a look at the physique of the winners of the boy's, youths and mens GUI comps!

If you're on tour with a class swing looking to make that next step then great! weights, dieting, aromatheropy, whatever! Chuck it all in! But for Paddy-Joe McGrath off a 17 handicap... I say Doctor Bob and a club Pro will give more success than weights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

I see a lot of people misled into thinking that beating 7 irons and drivers out of the range once every two weeks

:$

make it once a week and you have me.

My problem is mainly that I don't have any friends on a par with me who will commit to regular rounds of golf. So the value of Bob is debatable in that context! After a year of lessons and range, I made it on to a golf course for the first time in March.

It's been a struggle, if I leave myself a second shot from the tee I'll normally score, but it's big if!

I bought irons yesterday that fit me (I had short shaft irons - now have fitted second hand set).

I'm eager, but encounter nothing but abuse from my moderately talented coworkers playing off mid teens. I'd be happy to get there - for the time being. But their advise is of debatable use.

uberwolf wrote:
    :$

make it once a week and you have me.

My problem is mainly that I don't have any friends on a par with me who will commit to regular rounds of golf. So the value of Bob is debatable in that context! After a year of lessons and range, I made it on to a golf course for the first time in March.

It's been a struggle, if I leave myself a second shot from the tee I'll normally score, but it's big if!

I bought irons yesterday that fit me (I had short shaft irons - now have fitted second hand set).

I'm eager, but encounter nothing but abuse from my moderately talented coworkers playing off mid teens. I'd be happy to get there - for the time being. But their advise is of debatable use.

Man, you could easily play down to the teens with that kind of weekly commitment. The only (very fundamental) issue i can see is that you can't get regular golf. I mean, are you saying you don't know people who play regularly or you don't know people -your standard- who play regularly? Because I say standard shmandard! Once your etiquette and speed of play is spot on you shouldn't worry about playing with any level of golfer and they shouldn't have any issue with you.

Anyway, short of joining a club, I'd say look out for as much society golf as you can. Societies can be found EVERYWHERE these days! Local pubs, soccer/GAA clubs, work and basically any group of people you have a loose affiliation with- chances are they have a golf day or two each year. The more of these you can join the better! If you can afford to join a club yourself that'll solve your problem too. Clubs are all about sticking your name down beside new people.

As regards Dr Bob, I can't tell you enough how that stuff will work at ANY level! Just don't let it slow your play - for the sake of others. Many higher handicap folk i see trying Doctor Bob stuff tend to read it but not really take it that seriously or actually try to apply it. Or, those who apply it abandon it after they've had a scratch or two. Try a little thing. The pre shot routine or something. Just one thing and STICK TO IT. When it's second nature pick something else!

Given your evident enthuisiasm you could very quickly get to 16 h'cap with a bit more regular play.

well Dr. Bob went out the window this morning after driving across the city for my 8.04 slot in Donabate. Arrived at 8.

I think this was my 7th round, so I've no idea what to expect - steady improvement I suppose. I play on Friday with the work society.

I'm hoping to join Elm Green in October when it's avail. The only people I know who play regular golf are slightly older work colleagues and they play with their own buddies, if I started playing reasonably I might be welcome, but I can assure you not until then.

It's funny, a single figure handicapper in work asked how I was getting on. He then made some noises about mid teen handicappers being the most reluctant to assist beginners - which he couldn't understand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

I'm a member up at elm green so if it comes to the time that you're looking for someone to play with just let me know. I play in most comps, and although i'm single figures i'm happy to play with anyone and don't care how many shots you take. Fire me a PM or that nearer the time.

Graeme1982 wrote:
    I'm a member up at elm green so if it comes to the time that you're looking for someone to play with just let me know. I play in most comps, and although i'm single figures i'm happy to play with anyone and don't care how many shots you take. Fire me a PM or that nearer the time.

I'll hold you to it ;) cheers.

Reflecting on yesterdays game, I wanted an opinion on whether I should play more conservatively. Play for my adjusted par, rather than par?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Sandwich

uberwolf wrote:
    Reflecting on yesterdays game, I wanted an opinion on whether I should play more conservatively. Play for my adjusted par, rather than par?

Yes, I would recommend that you do play to your adjusted par on most (or all) par 4s or any par 3s that are longer than a 5 iron for you. Do it until below about 16 or so. The approach will have you play more within your current limitations and better as a result - rather than approach every hole as if you were off scratch.

You are trying to hit some clean shots and gain some consistency. Put the ball on the fair way is the first priority - even if short. Hit a clean 2nd is the next one (not necessarily to hit the green). Do that and even if you havnt hit the green you will be a less than pitch from it - two putts and you have a bogey (or a good pitch or putt and its a par). Hitting out with the driver and long irons or fairway wood because thats what you might need to hit the green in two will cause trouble more often than it will pay off.

This approach not necessary on par 3s within range of a 5 iron - of course you try to hit the green. Get your pars here - only one good shot required not two or three shots, so chances are higher.

Many par 5s handicap golfers play do not need 3 long shots - 3 well hit shots will do it (3 wood, hybrid, short iron). Dont go all out on the drive or second when its not necessary.

This aproach will help your game gain some reliability and will see you get a few shots below 18. You will get 2 to 5 pars per round from the greens you hit, and the pitch-and-putts you make - just get your bogeys on the other holes rather than 6s and 7s for being to aggressive.

Once you are below 14 you are looking typically need at least 6 pars per round and so need to adjust your approach and be more aggressive. But at that stage you game will be ready to tackle it.

Walk before you run. Of course you would like 18 pars, but setting out with an approach that acknowledges and is taylored to your skill and handicap will get you a better score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

i tended to try and break targets like beat 110, then 100 then 90, etc...

or shoot at least one par.

thay sort of thing.

I got down to 11 about 5 years ago but last time i played (xmas) i shot 99 and i was damn proud:D

RuggieBear wrote:
    i tended to try and break targets like beat 110, then 100 then 90, etc...

or shoot at least one par.

thay sort of thing.

I got down to 11 about 5 years ago but last time i played (xmas) i shot 99 and i was damn proud:D

Agree with having targets but I think you need a more hole by hole strategy to help your self achieve it. 'Must break 100' doesnt help a lot as you walk up to the next shot and need to decide how you are going to play it.

Sandwich wrote:
    Agree with having targets but I think you need a more hole by hole strategy to help your self achieve it. 'Must break 100' does help a lot as you walk up to the next shot and need to decide how you are going to play it.

oh true...i'm being over general. :)

I've decided to dedicate this thread to all my questions!

I picked up a second hand set of irons, had them fitted and now the proud owner of Nike Procombo OS 3 - PW.

I have an SW, putter and driver, 3-W from my Colt beginner set. I upgraded the irons because they were too small for me.

As you'll gather above I'm still fresh faced, but seem to be finding a groove of frequent golf.

If I continue to get out this frequently, do I need to concern myself with the make up of my bag - getting decent quality clubs beyond my irons?

2 more wedges, a putter, hybrid(s) and upgrade the woods from the €8 a pop they cost?

I know they won't improve me overnight, but I want to be practising and improving with the right instruments, ones I can use for a few years.

And as for Rotella. I note he has about 6 books! Are they all the exact same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

A decent second-hand 3Wood might not be a bad idea... Easier to hit and will help get u in play off the tee more consistently.

uberwolf wrote:
    I've decided to dedicate this thread to all my questions!

I picked up a second hand set of irons, had them fitted and now the proud owner of Nike Procombo OS 3 - PW.

I have an SW, putter and driver, 3-W from my Colt beginner set. I upgraded the irons because they were too small for me.

As you'll gather above I'm still fresh faced, but seem to be finding a groove of frequent golf.

If I continue to get out this frequently, do I need to concern myself with the make up of my bag - getting decent quality clubs beyond my irons?

2 more wedges, a putter, hybrid(s) and upgrade the woods from the €8 a pop they cost?

I know they won't improve me overnight, but I want to be practising and improving with the right instruments, ones I can use for a few years.

And as for Rotella. I note he has about 6 books! Are they all the exact same?

You've two questions here -

Clubs?
    Rotella Books?

Clubs -

Actually yes, upgrading from a beginner Colt three wood to a decent 3 wood will improve your play with that club over night. A combination of the (vast) difference in quality of the stick and the confidence you get from having a new and better club will give you great results.

Generally you're right, changing clubs doesn't make a huge immediate difference but in your case you've got a pretty poor club there so something like a s/h Callaway Steelhead III with a steel shaft which is quite inexpensive will make a world of difference. I would've imagined you found a big difference changing from your starter clubs to the nike ones? Anyway, I'd recommend a s/h Callaway 3 wood, most of the models down the years, for a new-ish player, you can't go wrong. I'm sure other people on the board will recommend other models/makes for you to try. I've always stuck with my Titleist 975F since I was a teenager, very happy with it so haven't really experimented much with 3 woods to recommend many for you. I wouldn't recommend the 975F for anyone over single figures.

You prob should have some form of 60 degree club. Doesn't have to be anything fancy but as your golf improves, consider it but it's strictly a rarely used club so not a priority.

What's your SW? Decent s/h SWs are ten a penny. If it's your old starter one you're using DITCH IT!!

What Driver? Any big fat Titanium 10 degree, regular shafted brand name should do you. The older model Ping Tisi Tech (grey head) is a really good bargain if you can get one.

As for Rotella, DEFINITELY start with Golf is not a Game of Perfect. The Confidence, Putting and other books are grand but start with Game of Perfect and see how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

uberwolf wrote:
    with the work society.

I'm hoping to join Elm Green in October when it's avail. The only people I know who play regular golf are slightly older work colleagues and they play with their own buddies, if I started playing reasonably I might be welcome, but I can assure you not until then.

Recently started playing myself and was thnking of joining Elm Green too, are they accepting no members until October?

I am playing Saturday in ElmGreen for my first round of golf ever, but have been at the driving range twice a week for the last couple of months.

Planning to get some lessons in too very soon, so really I think I have most of it on track apart from the clubs, I am using a very basic set of starter clubs from Ram. I decided not to splash out huge bucks until I get playing a bit.

Does anyone have any thoughts on what way to approach this? Will I be ok to just stick with these until next summer and get a few lessons in with these clubs, driving range with these for the winter etc?

Or will that be a hinderance to my games development?

Stick with them for the moment, they will not hinder your progress.

There is no point getting fitted or spending big money on clubs until your swing has developped and you have some consistency. Only then will it be possible to pick the clubs that would best suit your swing in the longer term.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭Golf Ninja

I would have thaught that warming up and practicing a few putts would be great for the confidence.
    I would not even go out to play unless i had warmed up for at least 30 minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭Golf Ninja

Draupnir wrote:
    Recently started playing myself and was thnking of joining Elm Green too, are they accepting no members until October?

I am playing Saturday in ElmGreen for my first round of golf ever, but have been at the driving range twice a week for the last couple of months.

Planning to get some lessons in too very soon, so really I think I have most of it on track apart from the clubs, I am using a very basic set of starter clubs from Ram. I decided not to splash out huge bucks until I get playing a bit.

Does anyone have any thoughts on what way to approach this? Will I be ok to just stick with these until next summer and get a few lessons in with these clubs, driving range with these for the winter etc?

Or will that be a hinderance to my games development?
    Go to your pro ask him for advice see what he says.
    Might not be a bad idea for you to get a good set of irons.
    I would not get woods until next year that way you have all winter to improve your swing.
    Good luck

this post will likely turn into a moan.

I'm still brutal. I think it's my head, or at least mainly. This weekend for example. I start 1 point, 3 points, place my 3rd tee shot in the ideal place - couldn't have been better. I look up and see my boss on the neighbouring fairway, likes to give me abuse about being a bad golfer. My swing thought was don't put it in the tree's. You know the rest.

And I went downhill. A few good shots, a lot of bad ones. To the point where I took a 7 iron off a tee looking to knock it 100 yards and couldn't but stick 30 yards right.

Should a 23 handicapper have to concern himself with the psychology?

I watched the novice golfer I was with score 24 points without a shortgame. It wrecked my head. I was so down.

The following day I was putting a 6 iron 100 yards forward and 50 yards right. I just about fixed it on the range, but how does my game go so far wrong?

Ok - I finish this post returning to shrieking sheets original post - Bob Rotella. Is that all, or this a funk I should anticipate as I strive to improve and get a good swing working?

uberwolf wrote: »
    this post will likely turn into a moan.

I'm still brutal. I think it's my head, or at least mainly. This weekend for example. I start 1 point, 3 points, place my 3rd tee shot in the ideal place - couldn't have been better. I look up and see my boss on the neighbouring fairway, likes to give me abuse about being a bad golfer. My swing thought was don't put it in the tree's. You know the rest.

And I went downhill. A few good shots, a lot of bad ones. To the point where I took a 7 iron off a tee looking to knock it 100 yards and couldn't but stick 30 yards right.

Should a 23 handicapper have to concern himself with the psychology?

I watched the novice golfer I was with score 24 points without a shortgame. It wrecked my head. I was so down.

The following day I was putting a 6 iron 100 yards forward and 50 yards right. I just about fixed it on the range, but how does my game go so far wrong?

Ok - I finish this post returning to shrieking sheets original post - Bob Rotella. Is that all, or this a funk I should anticipate as I strive to improve and get a good swing working?

ah man, we all get times like that. i played the best i played in years on saturday and came to the 18th, with about 50 people looking on from the club house and double-tapped a lob wedge to make a 6! In the first round of the comp, the saturday before, I shanked a 6 iron into the water on the 16th par 3, then duffed a sanwedge and 3 putted for a triple bogey!! I was 14 over gross for the 36 holes and there's 5 of those shots on two holes!! Not to mention the handful of three-footers I missed.

I'm just saying that even on our "good" days we still make complete f*ck ups.

A couple of things from your post... It's clear that you find it hard to accept these really ****ty shots. One of the things the top guys are good at is accepting **** shots - even if they initially let the frustration out - part of why they are so good is because they can accept a shot no matter how bad it is and most importantly, not let it affect the next shot. So if someone who dedicates their life to golf can accept hacking up a hole - so can you ;)

Also, the mind doesn't hear the word "don't". If you say "don't put it in the trees" - you can guess what you've just told your brain to do...

All that is in Golf is not a Game of Perfect and regardless of your handicap (or even your sport) the stuff in that will be a huge benefit if you actually work on it. It doesn't take much time - just a bit of stick-to-it-iveness.

Lastly, you're fixing your own mistakes on the range?? Seriously man, I'd really advise something like 4 lessons over 8 weeks with plenty of work on what was in the lessons in between. Don't wreck your own head trying to invent your own fixes.

And f*ck trying to poke 7 irons out there just to get the ball forwards. The worse you get the bolder you should get - more relaxed - nothing to lose - keep pulling the 3 wood out, teeing it up, eye on the ball and hit through it as if you don't care where it goes!

Good luck with it man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭billy3sheets

uberwolf wrote: »
    It's funny, a single figure handicapper in work asked how I was getting on. He then made some noises about mid teen handicappers being the most reluctant to assist beginners - which he couldn't understand

Well, not everyone wants to receive advice, especially in the middle of a game. As a mid-handicapper, I personally do not like getting told what is wrong with my swing or getting some dubious technique to improve something. I therefore tend not to offer advice either. If I am asked, I will try, but I am nowhere qualified or competent enough to offer any level golfer good advice.
    What works for me may not work for you. Some of the stuff you get told is ridiculous and could land your game in an awful mess.

My advice (off the course ;) ) is to get some lessons from a pro and try to absorb his instruction even though it might not kick in immediately, practice it and stick with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭03mcgs0

BrianD3 wrote: »

Brilliant reply, there two great links. I'm going to use them for research purposes in the near future, Cheers man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Da Golden Goose

A few thoughts on this thread....

If your a social player there nothing better than getting a brand spanking new €350 drivers and beating 7 kinds of shxt out of 200 balls until you can't swing any more.

A new driver is fun than reading any book. Those of us with real jobs don't have the time to read golf books on top of other, more educational books.

Spending time on the short game? If you had a decent Long game you would not need to spend so much time on the short game. If you can get up and down thats enough.

Fitness? Are you crazy- if you are built like a brick sxithouse and aerobically fit theres no question you will be a better player. This is a no brainer. Look at the size of Harrington and Woods vs 6 years ago. Also look at Norman. Rest assured big JD won't be third in the open at 53.

Think ye guys are getting a little carried away :eek:

Over and out.

Da Goose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭stevire

A few thoughts on this thread....

If your a social player there nothing better than getting a brand spanking new €350 drivers and beating 7 kinds of shxt out of 200 balls until you can't swing any more.

A new driver is fun than reading any book. Those of us with real jobs don't have the time to read golf books on top of other, more educational books.

Spending time on the short game? If you had a decent Long game you would not need to spend so much time on the short game. If you can get up and down thats enough.

Fitness? Are you crazy- if you are built like a brick sxithouse and aerobically fit theres no question you will be a better player. This is a no brainer. Look at the size of Harrington and Woods vs 6 years ago. Also look at Norman. Rest assured big JD won't be third in the open at 53.

Think ye guys are getting a little carried away :eek:

Over and out.

Da Goose.

This has to be a joke??! Almost everything you said is quite the opposite. New drivers wont improve your game and if you're "beating 7 kinds of shxt out of 200 balls" doesn't sound like enjoyable golf to me. Fair enough if you have the money to be waste then fire away...

Don't know what kind of educational books you're reading, but your wisdom isn't shining through here!! Short game is ten times more important than a long game will ever be imo.. Im sure a lot will agree, id prefer to 4 shot my way to a par 5 rather than 3 putt any hole... "Getting up and down" = short game.

Its about technique, rather than athleticism being built like a house is not gonna make you have a better swing or get greater distance unless you have the basics of the game conquered. When swing is perfected thats when athleticism and fitness come in to play... As said earlier, fitness for non pros is not on top of the priority list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

BrianD3 wrote: »

Sorry I don't mean to offend but to me that's the worst advice anyone can get.

The longest hitters in the world are generally not the strongest. Building up the wrong muscles can seriously limit your distance. I've played with some bodybuilders and they hit the ball short, not long. Swing speed is not strength related.

Ball striking and accuracy have nothing to do with strength.

General fitness can help as can a very controlled plan of improving strength but for the majority of people who don't have personal trainers who specialise in golf training then heavy weight training will be a disaster.

Ok that's obviously my opinion.

Are there any simple enough weight training programmes which help the casual golfer? Anybody have any routines or links to programmes online?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

Back on topic........

The original post has some good advice. I'll add my tupence worth.

Clubs......

A lot of beginners use a set that their dad played with 30 years ago. Some are playing with blades and with small headed wooden clubs. Many have grips that are poor.

The biggest and quickest improvement will probably be to buy a modern set of cavity irons and some large headed "woods". However this is the end of the club improvement route for a while so don't get carried away thinking that you have to change your clubs every year.

Beginners shouldn't use their driver or 3 and 4 irons as these are the hardest clubs to master.

Strategy.......

If your handicap is 18 or above then face up to the fact that you won't be hitting many greens in regulation. Therefore choose a club off the tee that gives you the best chance of hitting the fairway. Forget about hitting big drives. If you play off 18 then you have two shots to get close to the green and will be lying net 1. Keep the ball in play and try to get within a wedge range of the green in two (or three for a par 5 and 1 for a par 3).

Short game..........

This is where you'll make the biggest gains.

Get a short game lesson and practice and practice until you are good with your wedge and you can chip well. Practice your putting at home (on a carpet) so that you have a smooth putting stroke and can hole a straight 6 foot putt 9 times out of ten say.

Lessons and practice.......

Get some lessons and try to pratice every week. If you only play every third week or so then you won't improve. You need to feel comfortable with your swing and this only happens with practice. As you grow in confidence then eventually you can experiment with small changes that allow you to move the ball left to right and right to left.

Find somewhere to practice your short game as this is the area that will enable you to score even if the rest of your game isn't the best.

Final thoughts.......

With practice you should get to the stage where your swing is smooth and effortless. Try to swing within yourself and not lash at the ball. A smooth swing that contacts the middle of the club face will hit the ball further than an out of balance hack. You're not trying to murder the ball........accuracy is much more important than length.

Many people don't get through the ball and hit off their back foot. Try to swing through onto a straight leading leg.....you need to really get over onto that leg.

Ignore everything I've said above and get regular lessons.

Graeme1982 wrote: »

How much is membership for Elm Green? Tried their website and the sticky but couldn't find it anywhere... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭BunkerMentality

Well, not everyone wants to receive advice, especially in the middle of a game. .

The only thing more annoying than random people giving you advice while on the course is the fact that I keep listening to it...

"You think my swing is too steep, thanks for the advice"

"Try standing closer to the ball? You betcha"

"Place the ball close to your back foot, alright I'll try"

and so on...

The list of weird stuff that's happened to my swing for listening to friends and random people is long and depressing... :)

stockdam wrote: »
    Sorry I don't mean to offend but to me that's the worst advice anyone can get.

Ball striking and accuracy have nothing to do with strength.

Totally agree with Stockdam.

Me and my brother are 6ft 4 and 6ft 5, he's off 1 and I'm off 8 and we hit the ball fairly long - but there's plenty of guys off similar handicaps, with good technique, that are shorter in height than your average guy that hit it just as long as we do.

BrianD3 confuses a top player with great technique building extra muscle to boost that technique with your average player with poor technique building muscle before improving their swing. It's not a chicken and egg situation - the technique definitely has to come before the muscle work and even then, extra strength makes only a slight difference.

Da Golden Goose is having is first stab at online comedy. He works and plays the odd time with me and as it happens, yes he does rate how far past your driver he can hit his 3-wood above such homo things as chipping and putting ;)

His golfing reportoire includes the 110% pitching wedge from 110 yards into a strong wind - looking confused as the ball ballooned up in the air as fell 20 yards short left into a lake. Punching an 8 iron is "for homos".
    He's 6 ft 3 and has been playing a set of blades for the past year without noticing that they were actually 4 degrees flat.

Class ball striker though :rolleyes:

I'll have to report that one Mr Sheet. I am well under Six foot. I believe in big hitting and three putting. Whats your handicap again?

Your a total shanker.

Over and out.

Da Goose.

I'll have to report that one Mr Sheet. I am well under Six foot. I believe in big hitting and three putting. Whats your handicap again?

Your a total shanker.

Over and out.

Da Goose.

No need to get personal.

back on topic people. anymore personal stuff and there will be bans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭jampotjim

Just oredered 2 of Bob's books on Amazon as I am finding myself rushing and just losing concentration which has been killing me..

Am constantly having crap starts which leaves me chasing to even scramble anything that resembles a score which is not the way to be playing..

Thanks for the tips

jampotjim wrote: »
    Just oredered 2 of Bob's books on Amazon as I am finding myself rushing and just losing concentration which has been killing me..

Am constantly having crap starts which leaves me chasing to even scramble anything that resembles a score which is not the way to be playing..

Thanks for the tips

They're all about forgetting about your score and focusing on the process of hitting the each shot rather than the possible outcomes.

Graeme McDowell had a good quote in the Times after his first or second round at the Open - he said he was watching the morning guys on TV as he had his breakfast and thought to himself he was going to approach the day as "18 little challenges".

It basically means you tackle each challenge (hole) individually with each tee being a new challenge and 1st tee mentality. You just complete each hole and it's done. You start a-new on the next. This is a good way of ensuring something that happened on the last hole doesn't affect you on the next.

Jim, if you're starting badly and then sometimes able to pull it back, and sometimes not, it sounds like expectations could be an issue. Expectation of shooting X score can have your focus too much ahead of yourself in the early holes. Then, when you frit a few shots away, you drop your expectations and play more freely, because you feel there's less to lose maybe.
    Rotella spends a good bit of time emphasising how expectations of score must be left behind on the warm-up tee.

They're all about forgetting about your score and focusing on the process of hitting the each shot rather than the possible outcomes.

Graeme McDowell had a good quote in the Times after his first or second round at the Open - he said he was watching the morning guys on TV as he had his breakfast and thought to himself he was going to approach the day as "18 little challenges".

It basically means you tackle each challenge (hole) individually with each tee being a new challenge and 1st tee mentality. You just complete each hole and it's done. You start a-new on the next. This is a good way of ensuring something that happened on the last hole doesn't affect you on the next.

Jim, if you're starting badly and then sometimes able to pull it back, and sometimes not, it sounds like expectations could be an issue. Expectation of shooting X score can have your focus too much ahead of yourself in the early holes. Then, when you frit a few shots away, you drop your expectations and play more freely, because you feel there's less to lose maybe.
    Rotella spends a good bit of time emphasising how expectations of score must be left behind on the warm-up tee.

Could be alright as have been doing nice warm up-s and hitting the ball well but just letting simple things go wrong like decision making and short game which has gotten really erratic even with hours upon hours of practise so far this summer

jampotjim wrote: »
    Could be alright as have been doing nice warm up-s and hitting the ball well but just letting simple things go wrong like decision making and short game which has gotten really erratic even with hours upon hours of practise so far this summer

Two chapters in GINAGOP will be quite good for you as regards practice and short-game. "Train it and Trust it" really helps you practice in a way that prepares you better to play as opposed to just go out on the course and continue to analyse your mechanics...

"Let the short game flow" is another good chapter.

No problem Jampotjim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭GolfingGod

From reading these post it would appear that some people are taking the whole 'mental' piece a little but on the serious side. Yes, I'll admit that the majority of professional golfers employ an army of helpers be they physio's, doctors, cooks, etc., but the point is, these are professional golfers not amateurs hoping to break 90 and have some fun with their friends.

Reading a book will not help anyone improve either their swing or their talent they have been born with. As a 4 handicapper, the most important thing I have found is finding a good teaching pro you respect and getting on with, a nice set of clubs that suit your size as well as your eye and a healthy attitude that this is not your profession but a past-time.

I have read the books being discussed, and yes, they are imformative and helpful, but they all come back to the point that you need to have the ability and swing in the first place. Bob Rotella commented at the weekend that Harrington's win was down to hard work not reading.

In brief, read the books as information, practice to improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭markie4

stevire wrote: »
    How much is membership for Elm Green? Tried their website and the sticky but couldn't find it anywhere... :confused:

Think it's €450 this year, and then you'd pay €11 before 1pm Mon-Fri and all day Sunday for each round you play. Other than that you pay the going rate to play there.

markie4 wrote: »
    Think it's €450 this year, and then you'd pay €11 before 1pm Mon-Fri and all day Sunday for each round you play. Other than that you pay the going rate to play there.

It's 475 euro for new members this year i think. Not certain, but membership could be closed for the year (you're bets to check though!). 450 for existing.

GolfingGod wrote: »
    From reading these post it would appear that some people are taking the whole 'mental' piece a little but on the serious side. Yes, I'll admit that the majority of professional golfers employ an army of helpers be they physio's, doctors, cooks, etc., but the point is, these are professional golfers not amateurs hoping to break 90 and have some fun with their friends.

Reading a book will not help anyone improve either their swing or their talent they have been born with. As a 4 handicapper, the most important thing I have found is finding a good teaching pro you respect and getting on with, a nice set of clubs that suit your size as well as your eye and a healthy attitude that this is not your profession but a past-time.

I have read the books being discussed, and yes, they are imformative and helpful, but they all come back to the point that you need to have the ability and swing in the first place. Bob Rotella commented at the weekend that Harrington's win was down to hard work not reading.

This is obviously aimed at my posts so I'll respond.

The "a little bit serious" mental stuff was purely aimed at Jampot Jim who is in the 1-3 handicap range, all be it a bit rusty from a lay-off. So to put him in the bracket of "amateurs trying to break 90 and have fun with their friends" or to say that I'd have the same advice for a 20 h'capper is incorrect.

My advice to the social golfer in the opening post only mentioned reading one Rotella book - the other two points were to get a few short game lessons and hit a few chips and putts before you play.

Suffice to say that I disagree with your theory that ability and swing are more important that being mentally equipped to win.

GolfingGod wrote: »

I know exactly what you are talking about but I was a 2 handicapper for a few years and stopped playing for 6 or 7 years and only got back into it this summer...

My game has come back pretty quickly got a 7 handicap but my short game has gone very erratic with my thining and catching pitches fat, totally botteling out of pitches and missing way to many short putts on the course when on the putting green I am knocking in 25 2 footers in a row easily (I know the pro's do 100 but I haven't the patience)

I have got lessons and he said my pitching style was good but I need to convict more to the shot and do in practise but put me on the course and the same crap is happening, so anything that can help me bring my practise onto the course will do me..