Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

tyrone vs meath

• 04-08-2007 4:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭

great game so far , one of the few times that ive ever been cheering for meath lol , great goal by gero , :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

my friend (meath fan) just called me from the match, so I'm watching now, and cheering on Tyrone. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Listening on the wireless. :( G'wan the Royal, Tyrone seem to be throwing it away in the second half.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/audiovideo.html

click on webcasts (sunday? game live), realplayer option is working, media player doesn't seem to be for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Won't work outside Ireland and I can't find an Irish proxy.

feckers, hate that sh!te, can't get audio commentary when bbc do prem matches either. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭dats_right

Meath hitting nearly as many wides as the dubs... THey should have finished this game off by now. Does anyone else see the resemblence between Owen 'large Big-Mac meal' Mulligan and that obese Antrim hurling goalkeeper from the 1989 All-Ireland final team?

what on earth was that last kick, the 45 from Tyrone.

Words can't describe how pointless that was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,269 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Tyrone threw it away in the last 7-8 minutes tbh.

Is Graham Geraghty actually invisible to referees?

Roll on Meath vs.Cork, shades of 1990, cork for the double!!

• Subscribers Posts: 16,714 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

good win for meath, looks like geraghty will be facing calls for a ban again. for such a good footballer he can't do the most crazy things..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭cmoney

deserved win for meath..... real contenders for the all-ireland now. meath missed as many chances as tyrone and they almost threw it away not scoring in the last 15 mins or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭dats_right

Meath will beat Cork handy in Semi, unfortunately I can't see them playing anybody but Kerry in the final though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

Don't think i've ever been so happy to see those Tyrone bastards been beaten. i just ****in hate there negative ****ty style. great to see a team who wants to play football win. yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

Well deserved by Meath, their performance in the first half was excellent and the scores at half time didn't really reflect it. That said, Tyrone were strangely off-form, so many wasted scoring opportunities. Mulligan didn't really show up. Darren Fay was awesome.

Geraghty should have seen red for putting the boot into Kavanagh, I can only presume the ref didn't see it right. He tapped him in the head with his toe when he went down first, then brought around the backheel for a follow-up as he stepped over him. Geraghty played superb all over the park, yet always has to do something to a leave bitter after-taste.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭cmoney

yayamark wrote:
    Don't think i've ever been so happy to see those Tyrone bastards been beaten. i just ****in hate there negative ****ty style. great to see a team who wants to play football win. yes

where did ya get the "negative.... style" from. tyrone just missing a front line and in most cases today they didnt even giving the ball to them just hitting wides from far out and hitting it short too.

think meath just really upped their game today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,295 ✭✭✭gucci

well done to meath, played some excellent direct football in the first half and kicked some great scores. tyrone seemed to lack coherency in theyre over all play, whether that was to do with meaths defensive strength or the lack of that link man ala dooher or not i dont know. meath done very well in midfield, and should have kicked tyrone out of sight before the end, although one could say if tyrone had have steadied themselves they would have had more scores on the board too.
    pity about gerathy and his cynical kick on kavanagh in the second half, all the news should have been about his great performance and comeback to the team but once again he has negativity hanging over him

impr0v wrote:
    W

Geraghty should have seen red for putting the boot into Kavanagh, I can only presume the ref didn't see it right. He tapped him in the head with his toe when he went down first, then brought around the backheel for a follow-up as he stepped over him. Geraghty played superb all over the park, yet always has to do something to a leave bitter after-taste.
    dont think it matters if the ref seen it or not, he wouldnt have had the sack to put him off anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Fay and Geraghty, legends of players, great display in the first half by meath, very poor kicking by both teams in the second half, would have been a disgrace if tyrone had a won, meath by far far the better team and I'm looking forward to taking on Cork in two weeks time, should be a great game.

Meath were 32 - 1 to win the all ireland before the galway game, down to 16 - 1 before this game, wonder what it is now ? :D

gucci wrote:
    dont think it matters if the ref seen it or not, he wouldnt have had the sack to put him off anyways.

the ref wasnt great but I dont think he mad too many "bad" decisions, I'd like to see the foot incident again, he definately tapped him with the boot but I didn't think it was overly bad, cavanagh definately didnt suffer any damage from it and the commentaters didnt overly react to it either.

cmoney wrote:
    where did ya get the "negative.... style" from. tyrone just missing a front line and in most cases today they didnt even giving the ball to them just hitting wides from far out and hitting it short too.

think meath just really upped their game today.

Ah Hello? Everyone knows Tyrone have been the most negative and most un pleasant team to watch.

Missing a front line? i thought i saw the Ginger Muggys in there!

draffodx wrote:
    the ref wasnt great but I dont think he mad too many "bad" decisions, I'd like to see the foot incident again, he definately tapped him with the boot but I didn't think it was overly bad, cavanagh definately didnt suffer any damage from it and the commentaters didnt overly react to it either.
    im not claiming the ref was bad today, im just saying very few refs would have the balls to put off geraghty in any game. the flick of the boot in to kavanagh and bringing over his other foot to try get him again is just so stupid, why revert to stuff like this when his team are in control of the game. the contact may have only been minimal but why bother??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭news for you

yayamark wrote:

Jeepers what happened to make you feel so bitter, you'd think the Tyrone team had established a military dictatorship or something. Yeah players like McGuigan, Cavanagh, Canavan, Stephen O'Neill etc have had no football skill and Tyrone have never been involved in any good games, Tyrone v Dublin, Armagh and Kerry in 05 were all pure crap played by a bunch of "bastards." Evil, I tell ya, because only this Tyrone team are capable of like, fouling and handpassing etc. :rolleyes:

read the post i said they were negative, tell me where i said they had no skill or were never involved in any good games :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Well done to Meath.They truly deserved the win and I knew if there was any shocks in the quarter finals,this tie would have been it.I really enjoyed this match and I think it could be an extra on the Sideline DVD this year.Tyrone on paper for the win but I could never quite count out Meath.They have the momentum behind them.Meath in the semi-finals...wow.Who could have ever predicted this back in May.

Even though I must congratulate Meath on being the deserved winners and better team,Tyrone did not play to their capacity.Sloppy long kick-passing and terrible shooting were their downfall as they owned the second half.They could have won this hands down but Meath did play them out of position and didn't allow them much space except for the Cavanagh goal.Dooher going off early seemed to hurt them a lot but it is Meaths day.

Drinking in the pub in Spain,the atmosphere was great.There were Tyrone,Meath,Cork,Down,Derry and Fermanagh supporters here.The Meath fans were really giving it loads.Thats not to say I left the pub entirely happy because even in victory and when Meath were winning,we had one grown up Meath tosser shouting racist tripe for no reason at all and when challenged by myself and my girlfriend,was left speechless and ashamed.Before was the Geraghty incident which I thought put a speck of black on what was otherwise a great clean contest.

It was a win-win situation for myself and I was cheering for the game itself and not the teams in particular.Again,well done to Meath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Aedh Baclamh

Gotta love the people saying that Tyrone threw it away. I cannot remember at any time in the match that they had a chance to throw it away even?

Anyways, good game, good win. Fay was immense once again. Can see him, Moyles and Bray all picking up an All-Star this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭pd101

Was at the game and still on a high from Wicklows last gasp win, but have to say meath/tyrone game was a great game , impossible to leave early. Well done meath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭TomMc

Cheers BlackBelt - Have a pint on me.:D

Our best day in Croker since the Kerry match some years ago.

By the way, a few Dublin flag poles have been decommissioned on roads leading down to Croker in all the celebrations - Ala the Berlin Wall. Even the Tyrone lads saw the funny side (fair play to them). Might be on YouTube in a few days.

yayamark wrote:
    read the post i said they were negative, tell me where i said they had no skill or were never involved in any good games :rolleyes:

Oh right, i must've been mistaken, you don't argue that they have no skill, it's just that they're the most negative and unpleasant team, and are a bunch of bastards that you hate. I know what this boils down to.

Your right u are mistaken and i'm glad u know wht it boils down to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,403 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Meath have been the team of the year so far for me. I saw them playing in the Division 2 league final in Cavan back in April and i was very impressed with their size, power but in particular their pace.

Meath were very unlucky not to beat Dublin the first day out but since the replay defeat they have been awesome.

I hope they go all the way now, whats the odds on a Dublin/Meath final i wonder and Meath winning :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

rossie1977 wrote:
    I hope they go all the way now, whats the odds on a Dublin/Meath final i wonder and Meath winning :eek:

The odds on Meath lifting it are still longer than Cork's at 9-2. Not bad if you fancy a punt at it. :)

Meath were very nice to watch play today. The Geraghty incident was a bit much though. It was a good clean game otherwise.

Gotta love the people saying that Tyrone threw it away. I cannot remember at any time in the match that they had a chance to throw it away even?

agree completely,

if anybody threw anything away it was meath, they should have put tyrone down with ten minutes left but kicked wide after wide in very kickable positions, tyrone on the other hand resorted to having to try and kick from a long way out and these envitably went wide.

meath should have won by at least a 5 point margin.

sort the shooting for the semi and were in with a great shout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

yaymark wrote:
    Everyone knows Tyrone have been the most negative and most un pleasant team to watch.

You've obviously never seen a Meath Gaelic Football match before. Tyrone may be negative, at about -1. Meath would be at about -10, if we were generous to them.
    TomMc wrote:
    By the way, a few Dublin flag poles have been decommissioned on roads leading down to Croker in all the celebrations

Very brave. They were even a few brave Meath souls on the Hill. Yet, even in victory, not one of our Meath contributors here was brave enough to show up to meet a lone Dub, in Madigans. :) You've played us twice and ye haven't won. Ye may even get a third opportunity.
    The Geraghty incident was a bit much though.

Incident? Don't you mean incidents? Even ignoring the red, he deserved at least 3 yellow cards, and only got one. Although he should have been sent off, he was not as dirty as normal. There was even a moment or two in the match where he actually played some football. Now why can't he do that for the other 68 minutes? That's all the GAA fans in the country ask. Meath have some great footballers. Unfortunately, even when on the field of play, they choose not to play football.

Pillar was not impressed. I was talking to him at the matches several times today. He was on duty and stationed near where I was sitting. He is a member of the Gardaí, for those of you that don't know it. Shockingly enough, he did not arrest Geraghty for his antics. It shows what good sports us Dubs, even including the manager, are.

On today's performance, Cork will have to improve a lot. A Dublin v Meath final is a possibility. What fun that would be, both onfield and in here. :)

yayamark wrote:
    Your right u are mistaken and i'm glad u know wht it boils down to.

So, are you actually gonna bother elaborating on why you think Tyrone are "bastards" or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭JMSE

really enjoyed watching meath on the telly today, getting better every game and cant wait for the next one, bring on the rebels in the semi, was there in 87 and 88 finals on the hill at £5 a ticket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Flukey wrote:
    Incident? Don't you mean incidents? Even ignoring the red, he deserved at least 3 yellow cards, and only got one. Although he should have been sent off, he was not as dirty as normal.

One incident stood out from the rest tbh. The little kick in the head deserved a red. That it didn't do damage is beside the point.

The rest of it, while cynical, didn't really stand out as being that unusual for the game these days. Not that that excuses it, but like it or not it's always been a part of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭gingerGiant

draffodx wrote:
    agree completely,

if anybody threw anything away it was meath, they should have put tyrone down with ten minutes left but kicked wide after wide in very kickable positions, tyrone on the other hand resorted to having to try and kick from a long way out and these envitably went wide.

meath should have won by at least a 5 point margin.

sort the shooting for the semi and were in with a great shout

could not agree more

Meath were in control and Tyrone had to resort to long range hit and hope type punts forward in the last 15 minutes. Meath kicked a couple of wides with between 15 and about 6-7 minutes left that should have been points and these would have killed the game. Meath should have enough to get by Cork if the forwards get their shooting sorted, I would love to meet the Dubs again and beat them to lift Sam how brilliant would that be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Flukey wrote:
    Incident? Don't you mean incidents? Even ignoring the red, he deserved at least 3 yellow cards, and only got one. Although he should have been sent off, he was not as dirty as normal. There was even a moment or two in the match where he actually played some football. Now why can't he do that for the other 68 minutes? That's all the GAA fans in the country ask. Meath have some great footballers. Unfortunately, even when on the field of play, they choose not to play football.

Pillar was not impressed. I was talking to him at the matches several times today. He was on duty and stationed near where I was sitting. He is a member of the Gardaí, for those of you that don't know it. Shockingly enough, he did not arrest Geraghty for his antics. It shows what good sports us Dubs, even including the manager, are.

On today's performance, Cork will have to improve a lot. A Dublin v Meath final is a possibility. What fun that would be, both onfield and in here. :)

Cheeky, people from every county are very sensitive these days.

Some people are missing a point though, just like Tryone and Meath.:D

Tyrone despite Meaths performance in the 60 minutes before that, should have levelled it in the last 10 minutes. Maybe Canavan was more important than we thought? Kerry or the Dubs and probably Derry/Monaghan will score more than 8 points in a match like that. Still fancy you's to take Cork in the easy side of the draw! :D

Be interesting to hear some of the Tyrone reaction to Geragthy considering they where already wanting revenge for 96, canavan and all!

Still, on Geraghty and Cavangh, I wouldn't blame the ref. Looked an easy enough free on the Saturday Game, but on the slow mo replay seen what he actually did.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

The rest of it, while cynical, didn't really stand out as being that unusual for the game these days.

Especially in Meath matches. What would be yellow cards in other games, doesn't even get noticed when they play. There were Meath fellas near me shouting blue murder when Tyrone as much as fouled the ball, but no criticisms when their players did far worse, except to criticise the referee when their man was caught out. They had plenty to say to Pillar too, but he just smiled, and did not use his powers of arrest. :)

nesf wrote:
    One incident stood out from the rest tbh. The little kick in the head deserved a red. That it didn't do damage is beside the point.

Agreed, sure unlike Brian McGuigan he didn't nearly lose his sight, wait a minute, he didn't, so thats ok:confused:

Or what about Darren Graham in the independent today.From Fermanagh. UDR father, he has given up GAA because of sectarian abuse. Sure thats ok too, he wasn't bleeding or anything :confused:

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Two new zealanders tried to snap brian o'driscolls neck in two in a 'gentlemans sport' so dont start thinking the gaa is going down the tubes, graham has a self destruct button and presses it every game but he never really does it with conviction, just enough to let lads know who's boss

JMSE wrote:
    he never really does it with conviction

If he did some of that on a street, he'd have a few convictions.

Flukey wrote:
    If he did some of that on a street, he'd have a few convictions.

bwahahaha, good catch on me words :)

he doesnt complain too much but I'd say he gets a fair bit of winding up by lads who reckon he'll respond and get sent off but unfortunately for them he fouls as cute as he plays

Dejavu! The Dublin/DublinvMeath/GeraghtyvWhelan/Cork/Ulster/best supported county thread may be best for this!

Though in fairness, this isn't bad people can give and take it here.

JMSE, I know what you're saying about the gentlemans game. Agree fully and they get away too lightly often and accuse GAA. O'Gara against Scotland springs to mind.But doesn't make Geraghty or the attack on McGuigan right.

I think we where responding to a post that it was alright as no blood was spilt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭TomMc

Flukey wrote:
    You've obviously never seen a Meath Gaelic Football match before. Tyrone may be negative, at about -1. Meath would be at about -10, if we were generous to them.

You have lost touch with reality there Flukey, it's those petty-minded blue tinted blinkers - The early long ball and using the full width of the pitch is Gaelic Football in its most positive form. The short passing game of other counties is akin to Basketball or rugby, rubbish. We also have probably the most youthful, skilful and talented full-forward lines in the country which O'Rourke/Stafford & Flynn would be very proud of. And one that has not even peaked yet. What about Darren Fay - he is a colossus. Brendan Murphy, Anthony Moyles, Peadar Byrne ... the list goes on - Negativity - you are deluded. Meath are back and on the up. We were waiting in the long grass for the Dubs, but the secret is out now.
    Flukey wrote:
    Very brave. They were even a few brave Meath souls on the Hill. Yet, even in victory, not one of our Meath contributors here was brave enough to show up to meet a lone Dub, in Madigans. :) You've played us twice and ye haven't won. Ye may even get a third opportunity. On today's performance, Cork will have to improve a lot. A Dublin v Meath final is a possibility. What fun that would be, both onfield and in here. :)

The world does not revolve around Dubs, we are well able to celebrate amongst ourselves (& some Tyrone fans). I would love a Meath Dublin final but I doubt it will happen. Derry possibly but Kerry most certainly will take full advantage of Dublin's shortcomings. Here's hoping though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Aedh Baclamh

Pillar the guy that made a complete show of himself on the pitch against Mayo last year? Think I know the respectable Garda you're referring to there.

Meath negative football? :D Good going Flukey...getting lonely in that corner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Pillar the guy that made a complete show of himself on the pitch against Mayo last year? Think I know the respectable Garda you're referring to there.

Meath negative football? :D Good going Flukey...getting lonely in that corner?

Well said AB.

And wouldn't he have some difficulty with Whelan is he was to start arresting people?

A bit of objectivity would be nice Flukey. Every team has players who like to remind the opposition that they're playing. Gero is Meath's.

Tyrone are no shrinking violets either, as I'm sure you know yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭D. Coughlan

Meath to me anyway, have a reputation of being a physical team, I was at the match yesterday and i did not see much evidence of that however, their played with great intensity and well deserved their win. This talk of people being arrested is rubbish, they were the better team and they won fair and square.

I get a funny feeling that Dublin are scared of a Meath team looking for revange, who are improving after each game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭modmuffin

TomMc wrote:
    You have lost touch with reality there Flukey, it's those petty-minded blue tinted blinkers - The early long ball and using the full width of the pitch is Gaelic Football in its most positive form. The short passing game of other counties is akin to Basketball or rugby, rubbish. We also have probably the most youthful, skilful and talented full-forward lines in the country which O'Rourke/Stafford & Flynn would be very proud of. And one that has not even peaked yet. What about Darren Fay - he is a colossus. Brendan Murphy, Anthony Moyles, Peadar Byrne ... the list goes on - Negativity - you are deluded. Meath are back and on the up. We were waiting in the long grass for the Dubs, but the secret is out now.

As a Dublin Fan I must Meath played some lovely football yesterday...well done.
    ye should have had tyrone put away by the 60th minute, however i would be concerned by the misses in the last 15-20 minutes, (this is exactly the kind of scoreless period that dublin get slated for, and their all-ireland credientials questioned over, however its scarcely mentioned here??! :rolleyes: )
    Darren Fay was absolutely immense....again.

Regarding your full-forward line, its pretty talented, personally id prefer Keaney/Brogan/Vaughan and i believe most neutrals would.

Stephen Bray is a dead cert for an allstar, good on him, destroyed mcmenimen yesterday.

Dublin/Meath final would be great, but lets not forget that cork still have to be beaten too. They didnt set the world alight yesterday but you can only beat whats put infront of you at the end of the day and they have some quality players so they'll be no pushovers.

Dublin should get through Derry with a 2-3 points to spare (and we may have a few missed chances and maybe a 15min spell when derry are on top!) the important thing is we win.

Monaghan will put it up to Kerry too, and may turn them over depending on which kerry turns up....

If nothing else it sets us up for a savage Leinster championship next season!!

GL in the semi

BLue Army ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,155 ✭✭✭lukin

I just cannot understand how Geraghty continuesd to get awy with his thuggery on the pitch. People say "Ah yeah but he's a great player" as if to say scoring a great goal excuses him for kicking players in the head (yesterday), punching them in the face (Dublin drawn game) or assaulting his team mates (recently).
    Noel O' Leary was suspended for kicking a Kerry player when it was not spotted during the match itself and it was nowhere near as bad an incident as some of the stuff Geraghty has done.
    I guarantee you he will escape scot-free again this time. It's an absolute disgrace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Geraghty is proving once again exactly what he is. At a time when he should be watching his actions closely, he is going even worse. The GAA really have to take action this time. But he is a good player and Whelo this that and the other in fairness.

Also, i suppose i should say well done to meath. Great game apart from the incident above and certainly showing the improvement since the Leinsters. Would have to think they will be in the Final now but Cork may provide an upset. Congratz anyway, afterall, gotta pay back for all the congratz the Dubs got after the Leinster Finals...oh wait :D