Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

To the tune of Lionel Richie's "Hello"... (not 56k friendly)

• 03-08-2007 10:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭

I've been alone with you inside my mind
    bg1.jpg

And in my dreams I've played those frets a thousand times
    bg2.jpg

The postman brought you straight to my front door

bg3.jpg

Hello! Is it me youre looking for?
    bg4.jpg

I can see it in my eyes, I can see them in the shine

bg5.jpg

You're all I've ever wanted and my arms are open wide

bg6.jpg

Because you know what I like to play and I know your tone is good
    bg7.jpg

And I want to tell you so much

bg8.jpg

I love yooooooooooooooooou
    bg9.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭vengeance52

sweet jesus thats beautiful:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭The_g-man

You even got the mood lighting set up.:p

Congrats Doc, she's a beaut!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Oh man, I'm happy for you! Glad it arrived safe and sound. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

24 Frets, Mahogany body, maple top, locking trem, HH config...

voodoo_child heartily approves.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

tkeylionel.jpg

Is she tuned to B yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

Tis an alder body. Underneath it all its strat heritage is strong, nice chunky neck too :D
    Oh man, I'm happy for you! Glad it arrived safe and sound. :D

Cheers man, it disappeared off EMS's radar the day it shipped, thank **** it showed up in the end. I'll give it a run through at rehearsal tomorrow, see if I can ever get used to a damn floyd style bridge. True to Bacchus form as I know it, it's obnoxiously loud unplugged so it bodes well. Their bass pickups are feckin deadly so it'll be interesting to see what this ****er sounds like cranked up.

feylya wrote:

Is she tuned to B yet?

Four wound strings and two plain ;)

Check out the side scallops. Hard to believe some bugger is paid to file these into both sides of every neck :D

bg2.jpg

Damn you and your gas pictures!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Doctor J wrote:
    Tis an alder body. Underneath it all its strat heritage is strong,
    Yeah, just keep telling yourself that..

Nah, that's what Aki from Deviser told me. They make a particular model for a while and then stop and make something different. This is from the second phase of their Empire models built between April and October 2004. It's basically one of their strats with some tweaks :D

Doctor J wrote:
    Cheers man, it disappeared off EMS's radar the day it shipped, thank **** it showed up in the end. I'll give it a run through at rehearsal tomorrow, see if I can ever get used to a damn floyd style bridge. True to Bacchus form as I know it, it's obnoxiously loud unplugged so it bodes well. Their bass pickups are feckin deadly so it'll be interesting to see what this ****er sounds like cranked up.

Not a fan of Floyds? I didn't know that. Although it does explain the Kahler love.

Do you not have any amp at the house you can plug into to hear how it sounds?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Nice, Congrats man!!

you and your Bacchus, have you managed to get an endorsement yet? :D

I'm contemplating buying something else off Ishi, I have my eye on a very nice guitar.... I'll have to see how the finances go. It'll mean that I'll be getting rid of the loverly modded candy apple red SX strat. Watch out for it on Adverts soon..... :(

joe robot wrote:
    you and your Bacchus, have you managed to get an endorsement yet? :D

If he gets a Bacchus endorsement before I get my Ibanez endorsement, I'm going to fly to Japan and kick Mr. Ibanez in the face!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I'll have to get my Aria endorsement first then :)

You better not go near Mr. Arai or Mr. Hayashi. :mad:

Not a fan of Floyds? I didn't know that. Although it does explain the Kahler love.

Do you not have any amp at the house you can plug into to hear how it sounds?
    I do, but it was late when I got back and by the time I got it set up for B it was even later. The floyds are just too finnicky, whereas you can beat the bejesus outta the Kahler and it laps it up. I am a bass player, me and guitar subtlety don't really get along... plus I can change the black strat to dropped A in about 2 seconds and it's about 98% in tune across the strings, you can't really do that with a floyd. Also, I'd been playing a Kahler well over 10 years before I ever got a guitar with a floyd but I shall give it a chance.

Oh, and I almost forgot... :p

bg10.jpg

That other Bacchus logo ;)

bg11.jpg

It makes me smile, that one, every time I see it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,993 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

Very nice, doc! Enjoy it in good health! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭highlydebased

Congrats :D Looks a treat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

Very nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭Ancient1

Ok that's it. That's it man. Now you've gone and really done it, this really is the last straw. You are now officially on my Persona Non Grata list. And did I say that you're not my friend anymore? Well you're not.

Congratulations you crazy mother****er, she leaves me speechless! :D

Doctor J wrote:
    I do, but it was late when I got back and by the time I got it set up for B it was even later. The floyds are just too finnicky, whereas you can beat the bejesus outta the Kahler and it laps it up. I am a bass player, me and guitar subtlety don't really get along... plus I can change the black strat to dropped A in about 2 seconds and it's about 98% in tune across the strings, you can't really do that with a floyd. Also, I'd been playing a Kahler well over 10 years before I ever got a guitar with a floyd but I shall give it a chance.

Ah fair enough. It's true, you can't really do drop tuning with a floyd, but they're still my bridge of choice.

Ancient1 wrote:
    Ok that's it. That's it man. Now you've gone and really done it, this really is the last straw. You are now officially on my Persona Non Grata list. And did I say that you're not my friend anymore? Well you're not.

Congratulations you crazy mother****er, she leaves me speechless!
    Cheers man. Just back from giving it the Mr Pete test and, let me tell you, whatever the hell the bridge pickup is, it is a ****ing monster :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭mr_fruitbowl

My gas has gone threw the roof!!!
    How much did it cost? If ya don't mind me asking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭SirLemonhead

Don't suppose you could tell me what you find different about Kahlers compared to Floyds? I've never used a Kahler before but always been curious about them..

My gas has gone threw the roof!!!
    How much did it cost? If ya don't mind me asking.

It hasn't shown up on the visa bill yet, but I'd guess... and you better sit down here... it'll be about €700 all in. Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha haahahahahahh ah ah ah ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ahahahahaha ha ha h ah ahahahahhahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahha ha ah ah ah ha haha haha ha :D It was on the u-box for ages but there were no pics. I had to bide my time before I could buy it and, thankfully, noone else went for it. I've only had it for 24 hours but it's in the same league as the basses, so I'll be harping on about Bacchus even more now ;) Crazy money for such a superb guitar.
    Don't suppose you could tell me what you find different about Kahlers compared to Floyds? I've never used a Kahler before but always been curious about them..

The floyd is like a fender trem, it floats on two pivots and, as a result, the saddles move up and down with the movement of the bridge. With the kahler, the bridge part and trem part are seperate, think of a Les Paul where the stoptail can be moved. The bridge has roller saddles and behind that the trem is a seperate enitity. With the Kahler, you can adjust individual string height, string spacing and you can be as physical as you like on it and it won't budge. I love em. With the floyd, you've got to be a bit more delicate. When I'm slightly more sober I'll elaborate with pics :p

Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't Mr Doctor J the only Bacchus player here? Bastid :mad:

You are all crazy.

towelie.jpg

I want a Bacchus :(

I want more bacchus...es

Bacchi?

That black Tele... maaaaaaaaaan :D

I was just thinking it'd look nice beside my Fujigen. Only €600ish too

Side scallops :p

Mmm, handmade pickups.

They are very nice, eh? :)

I'm going to ask about getting them seperate... the black strat would be most enjoyable with something similar in it.

Why not just ask them if they happen to have a hand made black strat with a kahler and handmade pickups lying around in the tea room? :p

Why? Because we'd be crossing a very big and dangerous line, that's why :p

Although... they do custom jobs... jaysus, no. I need to stop thinking those thoughts :D

Well... your birthday is coming up... Bit more expensive than the Ran but I would imagine it'd be slightly better.

I'd be scared to take it outta the house... plus Ancient1 will explode :D

Doctor J wrote:

The floyd is like a fender trem, it floats on two pivots and, as a result, the saddles move up and down with the movement of the bridge. With the kahler, the bridge part and trem part are seperate, think of a Les Paul where the stoptail can be moved. The bridge has roller saddles and behind that the trem is a seperate enitity. With the Kahler, you can adjust individual string height, string spacing and you can be as physical as you like on it and it won't budge. I love em. With the floyd, you've got to be a bit more delicate. When I'm slightly more sober I'll elaborate with pics :p

So you can do oblique bends without the notes going out of tune?

Doctor J wrote:
    I'd be scared to take it outta the house... plus Ancient1 will explode :D

I accept these terms :D

It'll still go a little but it's a lot less twitchy than a floyd. For me anyway, I can be as heavy as I like with my right hand without pushing it sharp. It's not as big thing for a lot of people but the way I play... ;)

Yeah i'm grand with right hand, it's just when it comes to string bends, especially bending more than one note, it'll pull up too much and make the notes hard to get in tune.

Something you get used to I guess..

You can drop-tune and the rest of the strings will stay in tune, so it's much less sensitive to that kind of tension change than other floating trems.

feylya wrote:
    I accept these terms :D

Man, I would be scared to get a Bacchus on my terms :D

Scared, I tells ya! :p

Get them to make an Eggle :eek: :D

Next, I want a Bacchus P

DS00242534_1.jpg

Man, that thing deserves to have the blues played on it.

That's what I was thinking. Stick a set of flats on that ****er and BOOM :p

I'll take this please

bacchus2.jpg

Unleash the code of asterixeses