Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is THIS racist??? PC gone mad

• 03-08-2007 10:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭

Intel Ad

WTH??? How is this racist? Admittedly its a crap ad, but its not racist. Are we supposed to feature a "United colors of benetton" plethora of races in every ad to make them PC now?

So they used a stock photo of a black sprinter and copied it 6 times, this is racist because... he's black? he's standing beside a white man? white men can't jump?

seriously, it's this PC stigmatism that is drawing hard lines between the races not bringing them together for fear of saying or doing the slightest little thing that could be viewed as racist.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

I can see how people would complain. It appears to depict 6 black men "kneeling" to a smug looking white man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Anyone who thinks that's racist, is racist themselves.

You can see where they'd get the idea though. Six black dudes 'bowing down' to a white man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Intel are retards. I guess it kinda looks like they're bowing to the white man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Well it kind of looks like they are kneeling before or worshipping your man..moreso than geting ready to race IMO. Suppose it could be construed as being offensive to some

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Noelie

It could be taken that the black man is kneeling before the white guy??
    But yeah it's a bit ott, everyone know black sprinters are the best so why not show it in an ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Wouldn't have noticed it if it wasn't pointed out.
    Anyone who complained about that has too much time on their hands.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I can see how it could be seen as rascist but come on people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

Noelie wrote:
    It could be taken that the black man is kneeling before the white guy??
    But yeah it's a bit ott, everyone know black sprinters are the best so why not show it in an ad.

but supposedly the "racism" flags are being raised by white people also, because it somehow depicts black people as the fastest sprinters, which is racist to white people, regardless of the statistics on how true it is.

I can't stand this crap, people have their natural differences, it might not be generalized but its common. What is the end goal of all these PC pushers, to have a world full of identical hermaphrodites?

Is "n****r' allowed on boards?
    I think I might start saying it more.

edit - Clearly not.

Its obvious he is the slave mastrer. Peoples feelings should be protected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

But the guy at the back, right hand side, is white. Its obviously racist towards people with hunchbacks...

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

L31mr0d wrote:
    but supposedly the "racism" flags are being raised by white people also, because it somehow depicts black people as the fastest sprinters, which is racist to white people, regardless of the statistics on how true it is.

This is ridiculous. These people are idiots.
    L31mr0d wrote:
    I can't stand this crap, people have their natural differences, it might not be generalized but its common. What is the end goal of all these PC pushers, to have a world full of identical hermaphrodites?

Goobacks ftw. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭oneeyedsnake

thats a fantastic ad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

I dunno, i think that's a bit of a stretch for racism. If it was 6 Caucasian sprinters and someone with dark skin standing there, would it still be racist?
    Me thinks not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

i wouldnt of noticed they were all black until it was pointed out but now that it is pointed out it could definitely be seen as the blacks bowing to the white slave master and with the text it could imply that black people aill only ever be employees of white people.

its a bit ott but the advertising company should of seen it coming a mile away

Ishmael wrote:
    If it was 6 Caucasian sprinters and someone with dark skin standing there, would it still be racist?
    Me thinks not!

Of course not, racism like sexism and most other forms of 2 sided discrimination only works one way.
    See how far you'll get in organising a parade down O'Connell street for straight, white, men aged 18-50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

To be honest I can see why 'some' people would have a problem with it, but I don't think there is anything wrong with it. It's using the symbology of athletics to convey it's point and it's a fact that black athletes are generally better than their white counterparts.

eo980 wrote:
    To be honest I can see why 'some' people would have a problem with it, but I don't think there is anything wrong with it. It's using the symbology of athletics to convey it's point and it's a fact that black athletes are generally better than their white counterparts.
    I don't think it should be looked at in that way.
    It's just a sprinter. The colour of his skin shouldn't matter.

I'll be back after I throw up.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

I laughed at that, to be honest.

I don't think it's racist but I can see where people would get the impression that it was.

People who complained because it looks like the black men are subservient to the white guy are obviously a bit confused.
    People who complained because it suggests that white guys aren't as fast as black guys obviously don't watch any kind of running events, ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

****in losers! that countrys too sensitive about race! their sensitivity is pretty much racist in itself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,096 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Whatever about racism, that has to be one of the most pathetic attempts at an ad I've seen in a while - first impression, a lot of people posing to run, who are going to crash into each other and knock down the idiot looking man in the middle, which would achieve what? All happening in a new and unused office building with no evidence of life or activity. Totally static, no sense of power or speed or anything really. Wonder what the ad firm got paid for it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Hmmmm...... i wonder would anything have been said if the roles had been reversed????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

lol! Looks a bit dodge to me, dunno what Intel were thinking -- it was obviously gonna get the PC brigade salivating at the mouth.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 339 ✭✭mastermind2005

lama lama

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

Enough ppl complain, things get pulled.

Er... didn't come out as I would have liked...

Maybe in a generations time we can have an ad like this, and people will just see it for what it is, without jumping to rediculous, outdated notions about race. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Well, if the white guy was, say, whipping the black guys to make them work faster or something then i could see it, but that doesn't seem racist to me at all.

This is pretty similar to the resident Evil 5 trailer being branded racist as well, petty people getting up in arms about an innocent image on the grounds that someone, somewhere, might get offended. maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

anyone who doesnt like this can f*ck off, do some work

work sets u free

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭monkey tennis

Dragan wrote:
    Hmmmm...... i wonder would anything have been said if the roles had been reversed????

Not a chance. And this is why I would hope that Intel would have the balls to reprint this ad, but with white sprinters and a black supervisor, just to spite the PC idiots (not much chance of it though...)

There's an interesting (although presumably unintentional) psychological profiling aspect to this though - When I first looked at the ad, I saw six sprinters in marks position, and a man in the middle. Other people saw six black sprinters in marks position, and a white man in the middle. Which of us is the racist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

I think it's racist against white people by implying that we're lazy and not ready to run like the fit toned black people.

-Funk

There's an interesting (although presumably unintentional) psychological profiling aspect to this though - When I first looked at the ad, I saw six sprinters in marks position, and a man in the middle. Other people saw six black sprinters in marks position, and a white man in the middle. Which of us is the racist?

As someone already said, when I saw this ad I thought, wtf are they trying to tell me, there's a load of blokes getting ready to run into each other in an office.

EDIT: The funniest part is that everyone who works there has to go through a 'working with dignity' class where they tell you to specifically avoid anything that suggests there are any differences between people in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭curiousxxx1

This racism thing in OTT....
    Black, white it doesn't matter.
    And no it's not alright to say Nigga:mad:

Dragan wrote:
    Don't be stupid.

...white men can't run.

This racism thing in OTT....
    Black, white it doesn't matter.
    And no it's not alright to say Nigga:mad:
    Is it ok to say it if someone calls me "Cracker"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

I don't think its racist. The outcry comdemning it as a racist ad is racist in itself, IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Ekancone

If it was whites kneeling to a black man there wouldnt be a whisper of complaint. Fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

Not a chance. And this is why I would hope that Intel would have the balls to reprint this ad, but with white sprinters and a black supervisor, just to spite the PC idiots (not much chance of it though...)

heh, the first thing I thought when I saw the add was "since when did Intel release a 6 core processor?" :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Dragan wrote:

6 white sprinters? Thats just taking the piss!

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Should it not be 6 people from Leixlip bowing before their obviously superior American master?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Im disgusted there's no Chinese people in that ad...they can run too Intel, ya shower of racist b*stards..:mad:

Not to mention para-lympians....pfft...elitist gits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

That ad is quite funny but only in the sense that you were just pulling the piss out of it. You got 6 black lads that do look like they're kneeling, a white guy in the middle looking smug, and then the tag: "Get the most out of your employees.(slaves)"

Some people have got too much time on their hands! That white guy should be more contrasted, is he Irish, Polish, English, Scotish, Welsh, American, South African, French, German? I find that fairly racist to me, as a concerned Irish well-wisher, to the discrimination of us white folk. What about Chinese, Mexican, Pakistanian, Russian? My God!!

*Dials Joe Duffy's number to give relevant-to-the-world comment*

"Joe, I'm a taxi driver and I think it's an absolute disgrace............."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Here you go Intel, i've fixed your ad.

Forward my cheque to the usual place. Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Yeesh, it's not that racist though in fairness I can see where they might pick it up. Some people take life far too seriously.

It's not as if it was like this:
    52685736kc9.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

This is like modern art, ye see what ye want to see. Normal non-racists just see an ad about sprinters and processors, but racists and paranoid black people see the oppressive white man and the bowing black man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 nbooradley

reverse the image, would there be this much fuss or any fuss at all if it was white sprinters and a black manager?

I think not!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭vorbis

I certainly wouldn't be an overly pc person but that ad did look a bit off to me. I wouldn't be upset about it. Still intel shouldn't have run the ad, it does look like the black guys are bowing before the white guy!

as for people saying it woudln't be an issue the other way around, of course not! I don't remember many black slavemasters having white slaves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

It would be racist if it was the attachment below..

tbh i don't think the original is racist in any may.. but what does offend me is that its such a cheap and badly designed poster... I hope no one actually got paid for that shoddy work!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

looksee wrote:
    Whatever about racism, that has to be one of the most pathetic attempts at an ad I've seen in a while - first impression, a lot of people posing to run, who are going to crash into each other and knock down the idiot looking man in the middle, which would achieve what? All happening in a new and unused office building with no evidence of life or activity. Totally static, no sense of power or speed or anything really. Wonder what the ad firm got paid for it?
    perhaps its showing blacks attacking a white man in some of these PC idiots minds it reminds me of that episode of south park where the town flag showed a load of white men after hanging a black but werent intending to be racist but showing that they needed to hunt for food and in the end to satisfy chef they changed it to the same flag only with red and green and blue men hanging the black

lol nothing racist about this whatsoever infact one of the sprinters in the back is indeed white
    sorry if its a bit too hard to read but im rather tired

http://www.allstates-flag.com/fotw/images/f/fic-spk2.gif
    http://www.allstates-flag.com/fotw/images/f/fic-spk1.gif

maybe the southpark flag thing was too extreme but it was the first thing that popped into my head because of unintentional racism(which southpark poked fun at)

but i really cant see racism in the intel ad

Orange69 wrote:
    It would be racist if it was the attachment below..

tbh i don't think the original is racist in any may.. but what does offend me is that its such a cheap and badly designed poster... I hope no one actually got paid for that shoddy work!

Intel grow processors now? :p

nbooradley wrote:
    reverse the image, would there be this much fuss or any fuss at all if it was white sprinters and a black manager?

I think not!

non-whole-thread-reader alert.