Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running

• 30-07-2007 2:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭

Have recently taken up running on the road.

Nothing too mind-boggling. I picked out a circuit where I live that measures exactly 3.5 miles door-to-door. I walk about the first 0.2 mile to kinda limber up (after a few stretches in the house) and walk the same distance back to kind of cool down. So, the entire jog is about 3.1 - 3.2 miles... There some slight upward climbs and some slight downhill spots as well.

I play gaa and would be relatively fit... 6ft, 14.5 st (bit heavier than I'd like to be)....

Anyway, I remember a thread here where somebody who seemed to know a lot about running gave some helpful hints to someone and was just looking for some general advice... The above circuit takes me on average about 33mins including the walking which I'd say takes up 6/7 mins itself - that would seem to me as not a bad rate to start with, but I really don't know.

I found the first time in particular, although I could manager the circuit relatively comfortably, my quads were very sore. I did it again the next day and it was easier again and I've done it once since and found i was much fresher afterward - no real muscle pain. In other words, it's getting more and more manageable every time - alarmingly so, to be honest.

In the thread I mentioned earlier, the guy also reckoned that running is good for toning up your abs - how true is this cos that would be a wonderful added bonus!?

My football manager has encouraged me not to run on the road (its footpath for the entire circuit) as I may damage joints (have had ankle and shin-splints problems in the past) but I feel fine after doing it. I've a decent pair of running shoes so I think I'll be okay..

I train 2/3 days a week (GAA) and try and hit the gym twice a week also (weights) so how many times would u recommend to go running - I was planning about 3 times week...

How long before I could expect to push it out to nearer four miles?

Thanks people and sorry for making this so fukn long!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cunnins4

I'm by no means an expert, but i'd follow the advice about staying off the paths man. Because it doesn't hurt now, doesn't mean it won't in the future. It'll build up and you will probably get some more shin splints. I wouldn't worry too much about the time it takes unless you're training for a race or something. I never really time myself, but if i get home absolutely wrecked, then i know i've worked hard and given my all. I'd have a general idea of the times i take and what's good for me, but i don't get too bogged down in the details. As for the abs, i've found that if i haven't run for a while, but then go out on a decent length run and go hard that my lower abs would be slightly tight the next day, so i think it does have some benefits on them. Unless you've a low bodyfat % you won't see your abs though.

If you're getting comfortable with your current distance just try the 4 miles. If it doesn't go well sure feck it and try again a few days later. I think most people recommend no more than a 10% increase in distance at a time, but as i said, i don't get bogged down in the details. Some of my best runs have been when i've set out to do just 4 or 5k because i was tired after work and end up doing 10 and feeling great afterwards.

I'd say 3 times a week would be more than enough if you're doing the other training too. Sure give it a shot, you'll know yourself fairly quickly what your limits are. Just don't try to go too hard too quick. Lots of people make that mistake and burn out and don't get out for weeks afterwards.

Keep it fun and you'll have no bother upping the distance. The ole' MP3 player helps too-whack on some cheesey get up and go music and you'll be flying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

have a look at

boards.ie > sports > athletics

There is lots of running information on there. Be prepared for lots of marathon talk this time of year though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Great,

Thanks people...

Any one with any other advice, please feel free...

Actually, if I was to try avoid footpaths - anyone know any decent jogging tracks/trails in South West Dublin?

Corcagh Park maybe? Lucan?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

From my limited running knowledge...

You shouldn't run the same circuit all the time because it will compound injuries and imbalances over time making them into an issue down the line.

Maybe run it in reverse every now and again.

That's about all the help I can offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

what runners have you got?

There will be a very insignificant abs benefit - no more than taking the stairs every day will benefit your thighs and calves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Transform wrote:
    There will be a very insignificant abs benefit
    IMO That depends on your level of fitness. Certainly from personal experience, when I started getting fit (or trying to :p ) a few years ago, I started by joggind and I found the first thing to tighten up was my round belly. It flattened immensely. Now from there I could have done all the jogging in the world and my core strength wouldn't have increased by much, but it definitely got me to a good beginners level, if you know what I mean.

Runners are just a comfy pair of reebok jogging shoes that I haven't worn much. They seem grand for the job anyhoo...

Regarding what DavyJose said, I have definitely noticed my stomach is noticeably flatter since I started running. Overall, my goal is to improve stamina first and maybe lose some weight second (I guess the two go hand in hand in alot of cases) so so far so good!

Again, keep the tips/advice coming people - total newbie here when it comes to jogging although I've been bitten by the bug in a small way I must admit...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭comer_97

there is a running track in Lucan, just beside Superquinn and there are lots of parks around there. There are plenty of places to run.

You could even join the Lucan Harriers running club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

davyjose wrote:
    IMO That depends on your level of fitness. Certainly from personal experience, when I started getting fit (or trying to :p ) a few years ago, I started by joggind and I found the first thing to tighten up was my round belly. It flattened immensely. Now from there I could have done all the jogging in the world and my core strength wouldn't have increased by much, but it definitely got me to a good beginners level, if you know what I mean.
    will the flabby stomach shrink - yes (as long as diet is good also)

Will running strengthen abs more than doing proper core work and decent weights program - no.

Beginners should have a weights and core program also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

In fact you'll run faster, easier and with less injuries with a decent core program.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Transform wrote:
    will the flabby stomach shrink - yes (as long as diet is good also)
    That's not what I was getting at. I meant the actual stomach muscles. You ask anyone who hasn't trained before to go jogging and they'll have doms afterwards.

davyjose wrote:
    That's not what I was getting at. I meant the actual stomach muscles. You ask anyone who hasn't trained before to go jogging and they'll have doms afterwards.

Lads.... what are doms?? I take it it means pains or fatigued muscles after workout, right? But where does the word come from?

• Subscribers Posts: 16,611 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

WHIP IT! wrote:
    Lads.... what are doms?? I take it it means pains or fatigued muscles after workout, right? But where does the word come from?

delayed onset muscle soreness.
    basically you are sore a while after the run.

copacetic wrote:
    delayed onset muscle soreness.
    basically you are sore a while after the run.

Ah right... I always find after a good weights session that the 'doms' hit me almost exactly 24hours afterward.