Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

whats a good way of making a bit of cash?

• 30-07-2007 1:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭

ok ive been looking very hard for a job and so far nothing has come up! im registered with about 4 work agencies (that are absolutely useless) and have told them that il work just about any job,ive rang them up a couple of times and they keep telling me that they'l get back to me (they donT!) :mad:
    Besides this ive also given my cv into shops and on line about 30 atleast and the best iv got is a feckin steward job at croke park on the weekends! (which i am infact working :D !)
    So besides selling my body,drugs or my soul is there anyway of making a bit of money? (oh by the way ive tried the bookies and lost 500 so thats a no,no)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Sell some of your old stuff that you don't use anymore, car boot sale or similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭scruff321

thanks for the suggestion,ive thought of that already but i dont think i have anythin worth selling that i want to sell at the moment! otherwise they'd be all going up on adverts.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 966 ✭✭✭GerryRyan

Most people under-estimate a bit of honest manual labour ...

Do you have a SafePass Card?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

if you're good at something, ply it as a trade for money. i.e. if you can play guitar advertise guitar lessons for people... etc. etc.

ThatGuy wrote:
    Most people under-estimate a bit of honest manual labour ...

Do you have a SafePass Card?

id love a bit of hard labour,building site would be my first choice but are you not aware of the slump in the building industry?! ive worked on site once for a summer,and frankly thats not enough experience to get on a site nowadays. builders seem to only want foreigners now too.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Poker, Whoring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

Can you sing and play guitar? A bit of busking might be lucrative if you're any way half decent.

Another option is signing up to take part in medical research studies. These studies have had a bit of a PR disaster recently, but personally I've done a few fairly low risk ones whilst at university and you can earn a fair bit quite quickly that way.

You could also set up a short term "business" offering to mow peoples' lawns and trim hedges for people. This can earn you a bit as lots of people are unable/can't be arsed to mow their lawn. To do this you'd need to have access to a form of transport, a mower and a few simple tools.

Finally, consider setting up a toll on the street that you live on. Construct a makeshift barrier and sit at a desk on the middle of the road charging €1 for everyone who passes (additional 50c if a trailer is being pulled).

ive already said im not sellin my body :rolleyes: !! and my poker skills are very mediocre plus i dont have the bank roll! anybody little help?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Become a mugger. Blackmail someone.

Jigsaw wrote:
    Can you sing and play guitar? A bit of busking might be lucrative if you're any way half decent.

Another option is signing up to take part in medical research studies. These studies have had a bit of a PR disaster recently, but personally I've done a few fairly low risk ones whilst at university and you can earn a fair bit quite quickly that way.

You could also set up a short term "business" offering to mow peoples' lawns and trim hedges for people. This can earn you a bit as lots of people are unable/can't be arsed to mow their lawn. To do this you'd need to have access to a form of transport, a mower and a few simple tools.

Finally, consider setting up a toll on the street that you live on. Construct a makeshift barrier and sit at a desk on the middle of the road charging €1 for everyone who passes (additional 50c if a trailer is being pulled).

jigsaw you are wise beyond your years ;) ..a few suggestions there, dont think id like being a guinea pig but i think the mowing peoples lawns and cutting hedges could be ok..unfortunitly my guitar skills arent grea,i hate damn tolls myself so im going to let my neighbours off with that one and i sing like a crow unless i can sing bad enough for people to pay me to stop! yes its all coming together now!!:D

scruff321 wrote:
    jigsaw you are wise beyond your years ;) ..a few suggestions there, dont think id like being a guinea pig but i think the mowing peoples lawns and cutting hedges could be ok..unfortunitly my guitar skills arent grea,i hate damn tolls myself so im going to let my neighbours off with that one and i sing like a crow unless i can sing bad enough for people to pay me to stop! yes its all coming together now!!:D

All you need to do is to design a wee ad to put into newsagent windows. You can get six onto and A4 page then just put them up around your local area and just word of mouth as well. Supermarkets almost always have a community notice board near the exit - put one there as well. I'd say it wouldn't be wise to be doing it too long as the auld taxman would be after you.

Also, you say that you've worked on the building sites before. If you are handy that way, you could expand my previous suggestion from gardener to general handyman/gardener etc.

I hope you start earning soon as the invoice for my consultancy fee is in the post. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 labreagreine

whats a good way of making a bit of cash?

cash.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Do a FAS course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Santa Claus

Jigsaw wrote:

How do you get involved in these Jigsaw, are they only advertised in Colleges or is there a company you can contact to register for them ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

I hear there's a fair bit of money in the coke trade these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭monkey tennis

scruff321 wrote:
    ive already said im not sellin my body :rolleyes: !!

You don't need to sell your body, just rent it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Go on the dole, we'll all sponser ya for a few weeks!

If you do steward in Croke Park you should sign up with another security firm to try and cover gigs during the week and at weekends. This crowd look after a lot of gigs in the Point and other venues and are always looking for staff.

If you've any bar experience/waiting experience then sign up with a catering company and work all the events.

Nixers.ie has a good few random roles fyi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Just do some temp work. There is loads of temp work.

http://www.tempjobs.ie

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

prostitution??..........well you did ask

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Waltons

dublindude wrote:
    Just do some temp work. There is loads of temp work.

http://www.tempjobs.ie
    I'm registered with most of those agencies for the summer and only got a job at the end of last week.

OP, stick with the agencies and badger them, and keep your eye on the job sites, something might come up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Here's a very good list of Irish job sites:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054990949

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Pop an ad on Buy & Sell for yore ma.
    Her 'special massage services' should have
    the punters queueing up and at 10 cents a go
    you should see the cash rolling in !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

sell your ass down the park

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Photocopy an ad saying you're available for work, no job too small - deliver it round your area, stick one up in the local supermarket.

You'd be surprised how many people want yards cleared, grass cut, weeds pulled but are too lazy to do it themselves.

There are often ads stuck up on shop doors in the city centre looking for labourers for a day to help people with DIY jobs and the like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

Go door to door and do odd jobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 stauntj

try and find work with a travel company doing tours etc, now is the time for it.

Pop an ad on Buy & Sell for yore ma.
    Her 'special massage services' should have
    the punters queueing up and at 10 cents a go
    you should see the cash rolling in !

must be what u done with your ma was it ;) ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭BENJAMIN61

Hitman

appreciate the replies,but will people stop suggesting horing myself out and drug dealin although very tempting and most likely profitable :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Welcome to AH.
    The home of hookers, scumbags, chuggers, gypsies, travellers, begrudgers and any other group you can think of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

Jigsaw wrote:

that is GENUIS!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

Hitman, y'd be surprised :D

Bugger, already suggested , failin that theres a big market in the lawnmowing/handyman business, so much so that there are franchises available and you can make a decent livin at it.

also on the franchise thing, Dogwashin, depends tho, D'ya like Dags?

dont know i see alot of dogs already on a saturday nite :D

case closed got a job! booya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

scruff321 wrote:

Dont keep us in suspense...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭roughan

Go up the pheonix park at night wearing hot pants a vest and a police style hat

you will be able to retire in 5 weeks
    and not walk properly for 6 weeks

Yore Ma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

scruff321 wrote:

Doing what..?

How do you get involved in these Jigsaw, are they only advertised in Colleges or is there a company you can contact to register for them ?

The place that I did it is in Belfast. It was MDS PharmaServices.

http://www.mdsni.org

I'm sure there are plenty other places that do it as well. There have been a few scare stories recently about these studies but generally speaking they are harmless. For example in one I took a prototype drug designed to thin the blood slightly to aid circulation. You took the drug and then had a small blood sample taken every two hours. You stay overnight and then leave in the morning then get a cheque for a few hundred in the post the following Tuesday. Grand job. Some people be scared of it and some have certain ethical issues. I, for one, enjoy having a lot of money.

These companies know that if they f**k up they'll get sued to the bollocks so you're never exposed to that great a risk I believe.

Jigsaw wrote:
    The place that I did it is in Belfast. It was MDS PharmaServices.

http://www.mdsni.org

I'm sure there are plenty other places that do it as well. There have been a few scare stories recently about these studies but generally speaking they are harmless. For example in one I took a prototype drug designed to thin the blood slightly to aid circulation. You took the drug and then had a small blood sample taken every two hours. You stay overnight and then leave in the morning then get a cheque for a few hundred in the post the following Tuesday. Grand job. Some people be scared of it and some have certain ethical issues. I, for one, enjoy having a lot of money.

These companies know that if they f**k up they'll get sued to the bollocks so you're never exposed to that great a risk I believe.

And of course, half the time you might be getting the placebo !

Anyone know of anyone down here, only crowd I can find by a quick google are Shandon Medical and they're in Cork (i'm in dublin)

Last time I was there it was perfect apart from the fact that you couldn't have a smoke or a drink. But there were big leather sofas, widescreen TVs, a few PS2s, snooker table, darts board, internet access computers and other things. There has to be plenty to do because you have to stay within the building for the duration of the test and if you don't you are booted of the test. I can remember hearing about one where you had to stay in the place for three weeks without getting out and the money was huge for that. Just thinking, it is a bit like a cut price Big Brother!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

How long you have to stay for and what kind of money we talking about? Purely out of curiosity, don't think I'd be into testing drugs unless it was some new kind of hybrid skunk. Thought about selling the auld jizz though...may as well get paid for it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Wouldn't you have to sign a disclaimer for those yokes? In case they f*ck up, you can't sue them?

Anyways - Easy money? Try Wedding photography. Get a loan for 2000, pick up camera gear, ego yourself up and charge 1200 a wedding, do several, and you'll have your loan paid back along with a couple more grand.

It's dead easy too. :rolleyes: We're all doing it over on the photography forum. [/sarc]

Collie D wrote:
    How long you have to stay for and what kind of money we talking about? Purely out of curiosity, don't think I'd be into testing drugs unless it was some new kind of hybrid skunk. Thought about selling the auld jizz though...may as well get paid for it :D

Well from personal example, I did one which involved going in at 8.00am on a Tuesday morning, staying that night, staying the next night and coming out again on Thursday morning and I got around £800stg as far as I can remember (it was around 7 years ago you see).

Funny you should mention the auld jizz selling. I had also heard of studies when Viagra and similar drugs were coming out and people took a sample of the Viagra and then were hooked up to these heart rate monitors and had a stopwatch totime how long it took for them to get wood, then they had to time how long it took them to knock one out. Imagine getting paid for that though - excellent stuff.

Where can you sell jizz btw? There could be money to be made :D

Jigsaw wrote:
    Funny you should mention the auld jizz selling. I had also heard of studies when Viagra and similar drugs were coming out and people took a sample of the Viagra and then were hooked up to these heart rate monitors and had a stopwatch totime how long it took for them to get wood, then they had to time how long it took them to knock one out. Imagine getting paid for that though - excellent stuff.

Talk about enjoying your work !:D :D

Fajitas! wrote:
    Wouldn't you have to sign a disclaimer for those yokes? In case they f*ck up, you can't sue them?

Anyways - Easy money? Try Wedding photography. Get a loan for 2000, pick up camera gear, ego yourself up and charge 1200 a wedding, do several, and you'll have your loan paid back along with a couple more grand.

It's dead easy too. :rolleyes: We're all doing it over on the photography forum. [/sarc]

That's some auld lark to be at!! I don't want to put down the fine art of photography but wedding photography is all about taking nice candid shots capturing the subjects when they are unaware. You would just have to walk about taking photos, as well as the more formal "outside the church" one. Then so easy to put them into some sort of slideshow format on a DVD and sell that to them as well.

So €1200 for wedding photos. Do you know what an average wedding band would charge by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Between a few hundred and a few grand.

You should give wedding photography a go...

You'll be grand :D:D:D

Fajitas! wrote:
    Between a few hundred and a few grand.

You should give wedding photography a go...

You'll be grand :D:D:D

/goes off to check price of decent camera and 100 business cards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

My fence needs a painting... If you don't mind :)

Nailz wrote:
    My fence needs a painting... If you don't mind :)
    Have you learned nothing of the dangers of sub-contracting painting work from the Simpsons !?!

"Grampa Simpson : I thought I recognized you. I gave you a plate of corn muffins back in 1947 to paint my chicken coop. And you never did it.
    Chester Lampwick : Those corn muffins were lousy.
    GrampaSimpson : Paint my chicken coop!
    Chester Lampwick : Make me!"