Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where can I find these foods?

• 29-07-2007 10:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 864 ✭✭✭

Fat free cottage cheese (Could only find diet in Tesco and Dunnes)
    Non-hydrogenated olive oil margarine

And what does pressed cottage cheese mean?

Ta.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Fat free cottage cheese (Could only find diet in Tesco and Dunnes)
    Non-hydrogenated olive oil margarine

And what does pressed cottage cheese mean?

Ta.

Is there any reason why you specifically want fat-free? tbh cottage cheese is naturally low in fat anyway, and the diet versions have negligible amounts of fat in them, so unless you have some dietary restrictions allergy wise or something along those lines the "full"-fat or lower fat versions should be hunky dory.

Afaik the "pressed" cottage cheese is pressed like regular cheese which removes some of the whey out of it. I don't think it's something we get regularly here?

As for the non-hydrogenated marg, I'm not entirely sure with that one - have you checked the labels on the bigger brands of marg tubs for the presence of trans-fats? I think by law they have to label the presence of trans-fats in on foods in the States but I don't know if it's the same here, and they certainly have hydrogenate-free brands there. I'm not a huge fan of marg myself anyway - a little bit of butter is well tasty and full of CLA - yay!!

Oh and howdy y'all, I'm home from my travels... just incase anyone noticed I was missing that is... :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

g'em wrote:
    I think by law they have to label the presence of trans-fats in on foods in the States but I don't know if it's the same here, and they certainly have hydrogenate-free brands there. I'm not a huge fan of marg myself anyway - a little bit of butter is well tasty and full of CLA - yay!!

They have to list hydrogenated fats/oils on the ingredients list but they don't have to list the grams of trans fats separately yet. It's beginning to come in (voluntarily) and some products have 0g trans fats displayed clearly on them but only a few I think.

The European Food Authority hasn't ruled on it separately yet afaik. Oh, and welcome back btw.

Edit: Official info on it here: http://www.fsai.ie/faq.asp#trans_fatty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

g'em wrote:
    waffle waffle waffle waffle, some more waffle followed by crap that just goes over my head etc, etc, etc.

Oh and howdy y'all, I'm home from my travels... just incase anyone noticed I was missing that is... :o

OT I was actually thinking who went and dug up this old thread till I realised that you only posted on it yesterday. So welcome back and I hope you had a great time. However will I need to take a half day off work to read your journal entry for the last couple of months

• Closed Accounts Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Aedh Baclamh

Cheers for the replies people. Reason I'm asking about this comes from the Gourmet Nutrition ebook by John Berardi. These are the few things that I'm missing out on. In relation to the fat free cottage cheese - You're right, the diet version only has 1.5g of fat which is feck all in the grand scheme of things.

I'm looking for the pressed cottage cheese to do those lovely looking cheese blintzes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

OT I know, but Tesco do a killer Fromage Frais. It's natural (ie not flavoured) with only 46 kCals/100g and 7 g of protein and virtually fat free. IMO it's tastier than cottage cheese, it's just as filling with less calories and I thought I should share it with yous because I'm not sure it's very well known.