Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ring of truth-well done

• 29-07-2007 8:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭

I'd like to be the 1st to congratulate ring of truth promoters on a great show, the fights where great and it was run very smoothly-i hope the morons that ran up to the ring trying to get in are embarrased and dont tarnish the sport as we need all the help to spread the word that this is a genuine sport just like boxing or muay thai etc..most of the fans are friendly and the fighters are too-when this happened it was owen roddy who was after fighting and a nicer lad you could not meet, maybe in future we just need to be careful who we sell the tickets to!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

cowzerp wrote:
    I'd like to be the 1st to congratulate ring of truth promoters on a great show, the fights where great and it was run very smoothly-i hope the morons that ran up to the ring trying to get in are embarrased and dont tarnish the sport as we need all the help to spread the word that this is a genuine sport just like boxing or muay thai etc..most of the fans are friendly and the fighters are too-when this happened it was owen roddy who was after fighting and a nicer lad you could not meet, maybe in future we just need to be careful who we sell the tickets to!

Paul, did I miss your bout?.

I went out for a pee (actually a point) came back and brad was just coming out. Asked had you fought and was told no.

Re. the incident at the end of the night.

Well my blood is boiling over that. Concern's have been expressed about get particular crowd of sh*tbags getting tickets before. At every R.o.T. they've attended they've been disruptive and why they've yet again gotten tickets is beyond me.

They not only let themselves down, but in front of Ian Freeman, his wife, the French and Swedish lads they've let each and every MMA fight fan in Ireland down.

Other than that it was another enjoyable R.o.T.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Mairt wrote:
    Paul, did I miss your bout?.

I went out for a pee (actually a pint) came back and brad was just coming out. Asked had you fought and was told no.
    Yeah you missed it alright-he took my back early and got a weird body lock around my waist with his legs-i fought off the choke as long as i could but he got it in and i had a little sleep! so im told! im dissapointed as my takedown defense all week had been great, i've still not had a chance to do my thing in the pro fights-both taken at short notice-:D

cowzerp wrote:
    Yeah you missed it alright-he took my back early and got a weird body lock around my waist with his legs-i fought off the choke as long as i could but he got it in and i had a little sleep! so im told! im dissapointed as my takedown defense all week had been great, i've still not had a chance to do my thing in the pro fights-both taken at short notice-:D

That was hard luck Paul.

But as you say, you took the fight at short notice and your a relative new comer to MMA so you've got the respect of everyone, and I think you know that.

Oh, me old head this morning!.

Thanks martin-talk soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Results?

dlofnep wrote:
    Results?

Sorry unlike previous R.o.T events I didn't take notes at this one.

But from memory.

Brad Corbally SBGn, win in just over 2 minutes round one. Ref stoppage due to G&P/cut.

Owen Roddy SBG, loss rd 2 (I think). Walked onto a bomb from the little French lad, lights out.

Tim Murphy UL?, win. G&P, ref stoppage.

Micheal Leonard SBG, win. A very lucky win too. Was being beaten well in two rounds, landed a knee to open a nasty cut above his oppents eye, ref/doc stoppage.

Richie Moore SBGn. loss, stoppage due to injury. Richie has been battling a torn bicep all week. The injury flaired up again in the bout and Richie had to call a halt.

Sorry I can't be more accurate than this, but a sh*t load of Carlsberg last night has dulled the ol' grey matter this morning!.

Cheers Mairt. What was this big furukus all about?

dlofnep wrote:
    Cheers Mairt. What was this big furukus all about?

Oh the usual sh*t with Owen Roddy's follower's.

I'm too pissed off to post about it here.

You have a PM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

Heh I lost my notes so I'm not going to see anything about the results (well I will but hopefully they won't be too bad)

What a day though? Every fight had something to it that made it special.

1. LW 4 man tournament round 1
    Thomas MaGuire (Kerry Top Team) beat Erikas Petratis (Lithuania) by Submission round 1.

Thomas Maguire proved me right yet again by choking the lithuanian in the first round with a guillotine.

2. LW 4 Man tournament Round 1
    Martin Begley (AMMA) beat Willy HAmill (SBG) in Round 1 by submission
    Willy Hamill haven taken the fight at short notice was caught out my Martin Begley, a great fighter, much better than his record suggests. (4-5-0 after tonight). Submission round 1.

3. 75kg Semi Pro
    Kevin Crooke (Spartan MMA) beat Tony Keogh (Waterford VT) by TKO Round 1

The very lean Kevin Crooke gave a Muay Thai demonstration for the crowd, proving to be too strong and too quick for the game Tony Keogh (think the programme is wrong). Kevin threw loads of knees of the clinch some of which looked almost roddyesque. A stray knee to the head cost him a yellow card but fair play to Tony for getting back up and continuing.

4. MW Semi Pro
    Thomas Egan (SBG) beat DAniel Schob (German TT) by TKO round 1

Thomas the tank egan came out cannons blazing and out punched the german top team guy sending him to the canvas twice before the fight was stopped. KO early round 1.

5. 60kg Semi pro
    Ais Daly (SBG) beat Annika Sitter (German TT) by TKO Round 1
    Ais the bash Daly vs Annika Sitter was like something out of UFC Brasil as Ais Vitor Belfort style stopped Annika after 33 seconds of the first round!

6. Bantam Weight Pro
    David Lejenas (Hilti BJJ) beat Paul Cowser (Rush MMA) by submission round 1.
    As already mentioned, Paul was caught out by some very very clever ground work by the Hilti BJJ guy.

7. LHW Pro
    Brad Corbally (SBG) beat John Deehan (AMMA) by TKO round 1
    As martin mentioned Brad came out ferociously and mauled Johnny Deehan into a GNP stoppage.

8. MW Pro
    Charlie Fleming (NG) beat Arik Sternalski (SBG) by decision
    Charlie Fleming and Arik Sternalski was definitely one of the best fights of the night. This was a back and forward war, with Arik having the best of the first round getting Charlie in mount and landing a few strikes and attempts at submission before Charlie escaped. The second round was all Charlie as he managed to punch very effectively through Arik's open guard as arms and legs got tangled up in leg lock attempts. This fight ended up going to decision with Charlie deservedly won but was pushed all the way by Arik.

9. FW Pro
    Mick Leonard (SBG) beat Fred Fernandez (French TT)by stoppage due to a cut in Round 2
    If this was the MMA playground Mick Leonard would have won me a few bob as I backed him to beat the French man despite Mick being the complete underdog. The French man was a great grappler beating Mick to the clinch and quicker on the ground but in the second part of the second round Mick opened up a big cut on the guys eye with a knee which caused the stoppage.

10. FW Pro
    Tim Murphy (UL) beat Navid YOusefi (Hilti BJJ) by GNP in round 2
    What can you say about Tim Murphy? Always puts on a great show. He was visibly rocked twice in the first round by Navid as he was put on his arse twice. But with a lot of guts, determination and conditioning he very GReg Loughran like came back to survive the first round. The second round he wasn't making any mistake as he took a proactive approach and finished the Swede by GnP.

11. LHW Pro
    Colin Laird (Kyoujin MMA) beat Richie Moore (SBG) by withdrawal due to injury round 1
    This was shaping up to be a great fight. Richie chased Colin around the ring and into his own corner before taking him down and landing punches. However, Colin was able to do enough to get a guard back and not get GNPed out. After an exchange of position on the ground the fighters were brought to their feet again. Richie persued him again with jabs with his right hand (chance of stance due to injury) before again securing a clinch, as richie took him down/colin pulled guard they landed in a guillotine. However, Richies attempts at escaping seemed to injure his arm and had to retire early. Pity!

12. FW Pro
    Manny Fernadez beat Owen Roddy by TKO Round 2
    Wow! What a fight! Owen Roddy, BJJ purple belt was playing the strikers role, trying to prevent the French Judo/BJJ blackbelt from taking him down and submitting while at the same time trying to punish him with strikes. In the first round the French man was imposing his game more, taking Roddy down and trying to secure a position, but Roddy, like he was soaked in grease, kept getting back up and throwing crunching knees. In the second round, these knees seemed to be taking their effect, the french man's attempts at takedowns were slower and more frantic so he chose to set them up with big hooks first. But as Roddy began to get a bit of control on the match and continue the wearing down of his opponent he was caught with the loopiest, nastiest looking right hand I've seen at a ROT in the corner and was immediately put to sleep.

13. Final of LW Tournament
    Martin Begley defeated Thomas Maguire in round 1 by TKO due to GNP

A little bit anticlimatic after the war that preceded this match but well done to Martin Begley who won the 1000e and the giant cup for winning the tournament early on in round 1.

Sound ^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Bad Dog MMA

Fantastic night, well done to all.
    Heres results, round, time, type of victory.

Thomas Maguire def Erikas Petraitis Round 1, 4.22min, tap out

Martin Begley def Willy Hamill round 1, 2.46min tap out

kevin crooke def Tom keogh round 2, 53sec, tap out

Thomas egan def Daniel Schob round 1, 1.27min, TKO (and tom broke his hand!)
    Ais Daly def Anitta sitter round 1, 22sec, TKO

David lejenas def Paul Cowser round 1, 2.10min, tap out

Brad Corbally def Johnny Deehan round 1, 2.10min, Ref stoppage due to ground and pound

Charles Flemming def Arkadius Sternalski unanimus decision

Mick Leonard def Frederic fernandez round 3, 28sec, stoppage due to a cut

Tim murphy def Navid yousefi round 2, 1.30min, tap due to ground and pound

Colin Laird def Richie Moore round 1, 3.41min, tap out

Emmanuel Fernandez def Owen Roddy round 2, 2.19min, KO

Martin Begley def Thomas MAguire round 1, 27sec, ref stoppage due to ground and pound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

Kevin's fight here: www.spartanmma.com/movies/kevinrot.mpg (right click, save as, 62MB, 11mins)

I loved Arik vs Charles, that was a great one to watch.

Tim and Mick impressed me with their resilience and fortitude, particularly their abilities to change tactics mid match and turn it around.

Roddy was unlucky, he was wearing down Fernandez - you could tell by his shoots getting more hesitant. It was a big step up for Roddy, and he did great, not to take anything away from Fernandez. I'd like to see Roddy against some of the UK's top 65.8Kg fighters.

Well done to John, organizing a fantastic show and improving the sport.

Some suggestions if I may?
    I don't think Ring girls add anything to the sport, RoT has survived (thrived) without them so far.

Would it be possible to have another doctor/cut man so that if a fighter is injured the action can continue. The stop/start element of the night tends to frustrate the crowd. Although this might make it cost prohibitive.

I miss Mark as an MC Sad Not once did we hear a BOOM!

Again, thanks for setting the whole thing up John - I hope your hangover isn't too bad today

Colm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

Needed that first round to knock the ring rust off. :)
    A big thank you to Mark Leonard and everyone at Point Blank Submissions for welcoming me into the club and getting my fat ass back in shape and ready to fight!!

well done to John for putting on another great show, there was some great fights. Roddy was doing really well, no doubt he'll come back strong. Tom Egan looked very good too and that was a big performance from Martin to win the final. My money was on Tom all the way but was proven well wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Clem_Curtis

Hi there- Firstly, I have to agree- it was an excellent event.
    The fighting was top drawer. A great way to spend a Saturday night!
    However, there were a few things that annoyed/upset me and the majority of the crowd sitting around me.
    Firstly, the doors.... wasn't opening supposed to be at 6? Instead we were left in the rain until 6.40-ish with lots of drunken eejits smashing bottles on the street getting impatient...

Next, the ring gals... as Colm has already said, they added nothing (except for maybe provoking a bit of a reaction from the undesirables!). When they were entering and exiting the ring, they would always do so by interrupting the team in the red corner... would have bugged me if it was my corner!

Also, I was a little annoyed at Mick Leonard's reaction when he won the fight. He had well and truly lost the first 2 rounds I'm sure you'll agree and for the fight to be awarded to him on a doctor's decision he should have shown a bit more class to the crowd and to his opponent by not acting like he had just had the fight of his life... A lot of people felt like that and for that reason, his opponent got a bigger cheer than Mick did.

As with everyone else, I too was so embarrassed with the fracas that happened periodically in the same section of the stadium. It seems no matter where we go (the point, the ring side club or the stadium) the same group of lads appear whenever Roddy in fighting, pissed and stoned shouting abuse at everyone (including the MC) and basically making the events uncomfortable for everyone. I know these guys' faces at this stage- so do the organisers/ticket sellers I'm sure. Just refuse them! Ian freeman really did encourage them at the start too though (not that I am making excuses) but when they started shouting profanities and arguing amongst themselves- where were security?! It was like there some selective deafness/blindness going on! I know tickets sales will be down by refusing these guys but ultimately it will make it a better place for fans of MMA to come to (Hands up who wants to bring their kids to events knowing these guys are there?).

However, these minor points didn't take away too much from a great night of fighting and display of MMA skills. It is a testiment to how far MMA has developed in Ireland in recent times that we are not only growing our own team of excellent fighters but are attracting highly talented foreign opposition

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭O'Leprosy

What can you say about Tim Murphy? Always puts on a great show. He was visibly rocked twice in the first round by Navid as he was put on his arse twice. But with a lot of guts, determination and conditioning he very GReg Loughran like came back to survive the first round. The second round he wasn't making any mistake as he took a proactive approach and finished the Swede by GnP.

Manny Fernadez beat Owen Roddy by TKO Round 2
    Wow! What a fight! Owen Roddy, BJJ purple belt was playing the strikers role, trying to prevent the French Judo/BJJ blackbelt from taking him down and submitting while at the same time trying to punish him with strikes. In the first round the French man was imposing his game more, taking Roddy down and trying to secure a position, but Roddy, like he was soaked in grease, kept getting back up and throwing crunching knees. In the second round, these knees seemed to be taking their effect, the french man's attempts at takedowns were slower and more frantic so he chose to set them up with big hooks first. But as Roddy began to get a bit of control on the match and continue the wearing down of his opponent he was caught with the loopiest, nastiest looking right hand I've seen at a ROT in the corner and was immediately put to sleep.

Yeah great stuff from Tim Murphy, always exciting to watch. Showed great resilence to weather the first round and win in the second. Very popular result.

Poor old Owen, not trying to mock him, but I'll bet his jaw was damn sore this morning. Have to agree that it was the nastiest right hand I've ever seen at an MMA event I attended. As for the morons who tried to invade the stage - do these fellas actually train at MMA ??? It's bad that Ian Freeman had to say that of all the MMA events he has been at around the world, he's never seen such idiotic behaviour :mad:

Nevertheless, roll on Cage Rage contenders on the 29th of September.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭irish fighter

hi all
    been my first semi pro fight in ring of truth i enjoyed it alot.
    I would like to thank kevin for a brill fight did not go the way i hoped
    but back to training for me. I would like to thank jk for a good job on running the night it was top class . And to all my team at waterford vale tudo thanks for all the hard nights of training for the last 10 weeks . And just on the fools that tryed to wreck the night stay away we dont need your support.

Tony Keogh
    Waterford Vale Tudo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭TwoKingMick

Mick did indeed have the fight of his life. I knew I was losing the first two rounds easily on points, but largely because I was pulling guard thinking I could score the quick submission on the take down. At the end of the second round it dawned on me (finally) that that wasn't going to work. So a quick change of tactics later and I ended the fight.

He was probably the best fighter I've fought, and that was after two years away. I'm putting the first two rounds down as valuable experience.

I have to say that Fred was one of the nicest guys I've ever fought. Took lots of photos together before the fight and had a good laugh afterwards. Both of the French guys were full of class, Emmanuel handled the idiot situation very well.

Hope everyone else had a good night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭dunkamania

Also, I was a little annoyed at Mick Leonard's reaction when he won the fight. He had well and truly lost the first 2 rounds I'm sure you'll agree and for the fight to be awarded to him on a doctor's decision he should have shown a bit more class to the crowd and to his opponent by not acting like he had just had the fight of his life... A lot of people felt like that and for that reason, his opponent got a bigger cheer than Mick did.

Anyone who has seen Mick fight knows he has a very enthuasiastic way of celebrating,he has never shown any disrespect to an opponent.

I think you are doing Mick an injustice by dismissing the way he won the fight.Mick lost the first two rounds,and was going to have to stop the Frenchman to win the fight.Mick came out swinging in the third,he opened a gash above the Frenchman's eye with a knee in the first minute.Seconds later the ref stepped in so the doctor could have a look.The cut was bleeding heavily as evidenced by the large amount of blood on Micks shoulder when they were separated.There was over four minutes left in the round and the decision was made that it was not safe for the Frenchman to continue.The doctor didnt stop the fight,Mick did by inflicting damage to his opponent that meant he couldnt continue safely.

I never like to see a fight end by a cut,but fighter safety is paramount.

I have too mention that both the French fighters were really nice guys,and great sportsman in and out of the ring.
    Emmanuelle in particular showed true class.

Congrats to everyone who competed,it takes alot of courage to step into the ring.

The ring girls.. Lads, for the love of jesus they weren't Miss Ireland contestants so give 'em a break. Personally I think they were good ol' crack, esp. the one with the big ass :D

Re. the crowd trouble. Its hard to say too much without it seeming to reflect on Owen Roddy. However this is a situation we've all been aware of, and it was always going to get worse before something was done about it. So now we're at the stage where Owen's ticket allocation has to be looked at. We simply can not risk another situation like last night.

Time to get rid of these fvcking dirty junkie scumbag ba$tards.

mick "the potato famine slammin'" leonard is back! nice to see tim back in the mix too.

re: owen roddy

owen's a really nice guy.. he's always been genuinely sound anytime i've spoke to him and i don't think this is any of his fault. john as his trainer and the major rock behind mma today in ireland should have a word with him in regards to his friends however as this isn't the first time this has happened.. it's not needed in mma.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

i was sitting in the same block as that group and I heard every "joke", heckle, comment, shout, roar etc. Didn't really bother me too much. Obviously at the very end when it looked like the bouncers and the SBGN might have to use a bit of force things were a little sour. hope people don't get bogged down by it, was a great show, another step in the right direction.

I was with about 4/5 ROT débutantes and they were all very impressed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭bella1

:cool: thanks to all the sbgnorthside members who backed up the door staff,the head doorman thanked me for all your help,andy sbgn...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭mark.leonard

It was a lucky escape on Saturday night to be sure, I don't think anyone was surprised though, at least anyone that has seen these "fans" in action before, they are always the same. It was only a matter of time before they went that one step too far. We shoul djust be thankful they didn't wind up swining for one of the security, then we would have had a full scale riot on our hands and good luck to ever running MMA in the ringside again. Thankfully John has committed to not letting those guys get tickets ever again, almost too little too late, but at least the line has been drawn in the sand now, lets keep MMA for the real fans!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭mark.leonard

I intensely dislike the photo!

I haven't read the article yet, I'm hoping there's some quote from Tim in there saying without my help he wouldn't have won, hence the picture. If not, this means a cockpunching Mark!

bella1 wrote:
    :cool: thanks to all the sbgnorthside members who backed up the door staff,the head doorman thanked me for all your help,andy sbgn...

Maybe the next SBGn hoodies should read "SECURITY" accross the back.

Maybe the head doorman should be having a word with the national 'Hide and go-seek' champions of the SCR (his own security team!!).

But in fairness, the three lads who stuck it out were all sound and were quick to extend their gratitude for the dig out.

See you soon Andy.

I intensely dislike the photo!

I haven't read the article yet, I'm hoping there's some quote from Tim in there saying without my help he wouldn't have won, hence the picture. If not, this means a cockpunching Mark!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭The Shane

The second round started and immediately Murphy engaged Navid with a flurry of straight punches, which were merely the wooden horse hiding the Greek Army of Tim's clinch. Tim entered the clinch, quickly achieved dominance and executed a beautiful outside sweep to half guard, he passed after some work to mount. Navid wanted no part of the strikes form there and rolled to his front, Tim took his back, flattened him out and started swinging down punches, punches fueled with the righteous indignation of a fighter whose vocabulary does not include words like 'quit' or 'surrender', more punches landed and Tim kept up the pressure, feeling the crest of the wave of punishment he was landing on Yousefi approaching. A few more heavy, heavy shots later and Navid Yousefi tapped out, showing that his dictionary was slightly more expansive than Tim's. Tim Murphy emerges form the flames of war once more, not unscathed, but victorious

Mark, did you get a bit carried away when you wrote this paragraph? It's genius!

Riley, maybe if there were any photos with you in a top position.....

Shane, The

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Tyler MacDurden

Just want to add my congratulations to all involved in organising RoT the other night, great job. The fighters of course did themselves proud, and great to see such talent on display from the local lads.

I think we're all on the same wavelength regarding the retards who disrupted the show (again). Thank god we weren't stuck beside them like last time. It's a shame that Owen Roddy is being associated with these idiots, he's a classy fighter and doesn't need 'supporters' like that. Hopefully it'll be sorted for next time, it's the sort of image that the nay-sayers would jump upon to denounce MMA as thuggery. It'd only take one bad media report about the likes of this to tarnish all the hard work decent people do to build up the sport, especially as it starts to take off here. Well done to Ian in expressing what we were all thinking afterwards.

On the other, lighter issues...

Not so sure if the ring girls add much to the event, other than disrupting the red corner in between rounds. I guess they're harmless enough if that can be addressed.

Also, I'd like to hear people's thoughts on staging future fights in an octagon?
    I reckon it's the best option for MMA, in terms of continuity and fighter-safety. Poor old Petraitis almost ended up among the trophies in the first fight. I think the frequent restarts break up the flow of the fights, giving a pressurised fighter an undeserved breather where it might otherwise have been a stoppage. I'm sure installation of a cage wouldn't be a problem logistically for the very capable RoT team! :D

Next time I think I'll have to wear me Irish jersey or bring a tricolour, so as not to be mistaken for a Lithuanian. My 3 mates were screaming for Petraitis in the opener, I was a little bit uncomfortable. :p One of the lads was miffed that Erikas didn't emerge from the dressing-room afterwards, had to content himself with telling his cornermen how he should've fought Thomas Maguire!

I'd also like to know how many of us got clamped?! The fookers were out in force on the night, did the whole bloody street we were on. :rolleyes:

Counting down to next time....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

I'm glad to hear it was a great show.

*Must start training again* :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭weemate

in response to the Colin/Ritchie fight.The official call was that Colin won by Tap out due to a guillotine.We had no idea about the injury to Ritchie prior to the fight,infact we were actually in Andy's gym a week or so before the bout and there was no evidence of an injury then,apart from the fact that Ritchie didnt roll with anyone.
    From my perspective,Ritchie had the upper hand at the start of the match and Colin was able to recover and get the first choke applied,Ritchie powered out of that and injured himself in the process.He,being the man he is ,fought on but when Colin secured the second choke he tapped.
    Ritchie is a hell of a fighter and a great lad into the bargain as well as I hope a good friend of both Colin and myself.
    The two of them will get back in the ring at the next available opportunity,hopefully both fully fit.
    on another note,apart from the issue that has been spoken about by other members,I thought the show was grand.My personal fight of the night was Thomas Egan.......although I now have a fear of pink haired females!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

I spoke to Ritchie a few days after his injury and his bicep was a lovely deep plumb colour. Personally I thought he was mad taking the fight with his arm in that state...no wait, Ritchie is mad - that answers that then :D

Ritchie is not mad.......he is just misunderstood, God bless him!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭bella1

weemate it was a good win for colin riche and myself have no problem with the result best man won on the night..andy sbgn....

I know that Andy,I went to see Ritchie after the fight in the dressing room.Thats when I found out about the injury and how long he had it before the fight and that you had offered to pull him out of it except the maniac decided to fight on.
    I would love a re-match between the two,in Dublin of course, at the earliest opportunity.Colin will be away for the cage rage show but send me up the date [ if you have it ] for the next show and you can consider the match up a done deal.
    By the way,can you give me a nod when you can re. a possible match up for Karl.
    Cheers
    Peter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 theleftovers

I do have to throw in my Congratulations for ROT and I have to say it was a pleasure to cover it for Metro Eireann I just hope my Editor puts it in the paper in the next few weeks but my apologies in advance as I wasn't able to use any pictures.

dlofnep wrote:
    re: owen roddy

owen's a really nice guy.. he's always been genuinely sound anytime i've spoke to him and i don't think this is any of his fault.

Owen a nice guy !!! Don't know about that, he supports Liverpool doesn't he :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Hi lads,

Just want to make a point here about Owen and his so called supporters. If anyone has ever met and spoke to Owen, they'll know that he's a super bloke, he coaches kids, trains hard, has great skills and gives up his time to ref and organise at the Junior sub championships every time they're on.

My point is that although these guys claim to support Owen I think it's fair to say they're an embarrassment to him, and I think any trouble these idiots have caused should be seperated from anything Owen does in the ring, because he's a super fighter, and pound for pound possibly Ireland's best at the moment (in my opinion). He's also a tremendous sportsman as you can see from his treatment of his opponents- win, lose or draw.

So my point is this: to mention Owen and these guys as though they are one and the same does a tremendous injustice to him, a bit like saying the Millwall first team are responsible for the National Front coming to their games. If someone wants to get a ticket for an event, simply saying you won't sell to them won't do it, as they can get their friends to get them, or buy them in Mullen's or that WWE place, so I think blaming the promoters is a bit cheap too. I mean, we're not talking about the World Cup here there's no hooligan list to check on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 theleftovers

I have to agree with Roper as watching it i didn't think that the rowdy dudes were a reflection on Owen at all they could have been anyone's supporters and there also seems to be a thing about fans seriously booing the foreign fighters like I remember the last time I saw Manu fight over here a bunch of lads started booing and giving him abuse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭StrateBlastJim

I have to agree with Roper as watching it i didn't think that the rowdy dudes were a reflection on Owen at all they could have been anyone's supporters and there also seems to be a thing about fans seriously booing the foreign fighters like I remember the last time I saw Manu fight over here a bunch of lads started booing and giving him abuse

Yes some of the people who turn up to these events are not true mma fans, the true mma fans at the weekend drowned out the rest when grant raised manu's hand everybody cheered him. I wasnt going to bother posting on this topic about what happened as it was the first real problem we have had at a ROT.

I know there have been isolated incidents in the past (ie drink throwing) but those involved where removed from the premises straight away (nice wizzer clive). The same happened here, the disgruntled fans where not happy with the result caused the problem, the organisers have already stated that they shall not be allowed to enter another event so i think thats the end of it.

Owen is a great guy and all the true fans know this, his opponents know this so i dont think anyone need worry about his personal reputation.

It was a great event, with great fights and personally im looking forward to the next one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭droc

Last time Manu fought in Dublin it was against a Brazilian at Rings Ireland wasn't it? There were 2 other Frenchies, a Lithuanian and a couple of other furriners on that card. The crowd musha been hoarse from booing them!

DROC

I know there have been isolated incidents in the past (ie drink throwing) but those involved where removed from the premises straight away (nice wizzer clive). .

They were the same sh*theads on both occassions.

Mairt wrote:
    They were the same sh*theads on both occassions.

the first time it was one guy who was dealt with by the staff(clive :) ) . This time it was a good few people and they where dealt with too, and have now been banned. My point is that it was dealt with by the staff (the reason they where hired) and it was the FIRST REAL problem we have had. Its now sorted so can we all move on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

the first time it was one guy who was dealt with by the staff(clive :) ) . This time it was a good few people and they where dealt with too, and have now been banned. My point is that it was dealt with by the staff (the reason they where hired) and it was the FIRST REAL problem we have had. Its now sorted so can we all move on?

No offence, but i think you often have more of a problem than you realise. I was sitting beside Mairt at the ring of Truth that i attended and he may or may not remember myself and a friend needing to back people away from one of the corner men they were interfering with and also having to repeatedly ask people to stop blocking our view. One of them tried and intimidation tactic but backed down pretty quick when pressed to make good on his promise.

The simple fact is that it's not all about the quality of the fights in the ring, it's essential to have the crowd feel safe and welcome and i know that people in my group felt neither at the ROT they attended and have not gone since.

I know that i avoided them until their return to ring side, thinking the bigger venue would make for a better atmosphere but i am now glad that i did not attend.

Wether some SBG lads were there to help or not, it to me anyway a moot issue. They had no legal grounds to get involved and if something did kick off could simple have been viewed as being part of the incident by any media or anyone else involved.

Finally, people who were there have a right to comment on what happened and express there opinions on it. I know that after the ROT i attended i sent JK a pm just to outline my views as a fan and a customer and people had been saying since then that this element would be dealt with. Now we are hearing it again. I'm afraid for this fan it is a case of "believe it when i see it."

I have to agree with dragan-if i was a 1st timer i would of left with a bad opinion of MMA and never come back again, also negative word of mouth is very damging in the short and long term-if the sport is to grow, new fans must feel comfortable and be able to enjoy the show, the show its self was all good and this is why these lads need to be stopped coming in the future-John has said these lads wont get back in so lets hope they dont get tickets-im sure owen will not want them there anyway as it is damaging to his reputation..

Before this goes further my user name is sbjim because i train there thats all, i am giving my opinion as a fan also. When i said we i meant we the irish mma community not SBG. Again i just train there.

As i said i believe it is sorted now and was just giving my opinion on the subject.

Actually it was the same bunch of lads. In fact the lad Clive threw out was the last one thrown out this time. This time he wrapped a bottle in a towel and separated himself from the gang, went over to the far corner of the ring, down from the fighters enterance. He threw his blue jacket over the towel to hide it for later.

And just to back up what Dragan said, I was sitting next time him at that event with a friend and my son. This was the first time the same group kicked off. The second I was sitting with a boards.ie member and had to shield my son from the ****.

And my point is, its been the same group from Ballymun everytime. And like you, I'd rather move on too.

Dragan wrote:
    No offence, but i think you often have more of a problem than you realise. I was sitting beside Mairt at the ring of Truth that i attended and he may or may not remember myself and a friend needing to back people away from one of the corner men they were interfering with and also having to repeatedly ask people to stop blocking our view. One of them tried and intimidation tactic but backed down pretty quick when pressed to make good on his promise.

The simple fact is that it's not all about the quality of the fights in the ring, it's essential to have the crowd feel safe and welcome and i know that people in my group felt neither at the ROT they attended and have not gone since.

I know that i avoided them until their return to ring side, thinking the bigger venue would make for a better atmosphere but i am now glad that i did not attend.

Wether some SBG lads were there to help or not, it to me anyway a moot issue. They had no legal grounds to get involved and if something did kick off could simple have been viewed as being part of the incident by any media or anyone else involved.

Finally, people who were there have a right to comment on what happened and express there opinions on it. I know that after the ROT i attended i sent JK a pm just to outline my views as a fan and a customer and people had been saying since then that this element would be dealt with. Now we are hearing it again. I'm afraid for this fan it is a case of "believe it when i see it."

Fair enough, people have a right to comment and express an opinion, and I know you are a 100% a sound MMA fan, but poor old JK is coming in for some very unfair criticism. I mean, JK and the organisers cannot go down to Mullens or the WWE shop and stand there watching who buys the tickets. Maybe that would be an idea of putting someone who knows these @ssholes in conjunction with the venue's security and vetting who comes inn the door.

O'Leprosy wrote:
    but poor old JK is coming in for some very unfair criticism.

WHere is this happening?.