Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Roscommon

• 27-07-2007 1:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭

Roscommon is a kip.....what do people do there?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

The town or the county? The town is pretty miserable, in fact the entire county is miserable. No cinema in the county, shíte nite-clubs everywhere (Bar Rockford's in Roscommon town), etc. There's just nothing but pubs (which necessarily ain't a bad thing), boy racers and scumbags relocated here from Dublin who specialise in selling drugs, stealing, beating people into hospital, and coming in & out of Castlerea prison repeatedly! Actually they're what make me sick of the county the most, the fact that the scumbags think they're Tony fúckin' Montana coming into my town and thinking they own the place and got free reign on what to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭whassupp2

..tis a great place really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,148 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Chasing Dubs in our tractors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

Roscommon town is the only place where scumbags and emos can live side by side!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

theres a cinema in cortober, the Roscommon side of the water in Carrick on Shannon, for those of you who feel the need. Never been there but its only open 12months or so, cant be that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

*mono* wrote:
    Roscommon is a kip.....what do people do there?????

First I think you are trolling
    Second what makes where you come from so much better?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 dizzy

So compelled to reply, especially after reading the ignorant post from Duggy747. The truth of the matter is that Roscommon natives have severe attitude problems when it comes to people who don't originally hale from the county. It is a sad day, and really highlights the backward ways that still remain in this county.

The constant finger pointing at Dublin people being blamed for drugs/crime etc is astonishing. Do you honestly think that a genuine drug dealing Dublin man/woman is going to move to Roscommon to sell???? Get a bloody life, the majority move here for a quieter life.

Roscommon will NEVER move into the 21st century without excepting 'outsiders'. Already there has been improvements with the people brought in on the Rural renewal scheme. Without the influx of people recently, I can guarantee you that there would be none of these new companies setting up here.

What are you afraid of? Why are you intimidated? What would happen if Dublin people didn't accept you, what would your kids do when the time came and they wanted to go to a Dublin college? Would you like them to be branded scumbag culchies?

Dublin is 100 miles away, it's not another galaxy. People talk differently, that is really the only difference. You get good people and bad people from every part of this small country.

Time to get over it and move on I think. Dublin people, Polish people, African people are moving in and they're here to stay. Deal with it!;)

D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

First off, I don't know where you went off on your rant with your delusions of "natives" who have problems with people who don't hail from the county and hatred for expansion, grow up.
    dizzy wrote:
    The constant finger pointing at Dublin people being blamed for drugs/crime etc is astonishing. Do you honestly think that a genuine drug dealing Dublin man/woman is going to move to Roscommon to sell???? Get a bloody life, the majority move here for a quieter life.

I say "Dublin people" because.........eh.............the troublemakers have been, more often than not, people from Dublin. Obviously you must've foamed at the mouth when you read my post so much that you couldn't distinguish between "PEOPLE.......FROM.......DUBLIN" and "EVERY SINGLE ORGANISM FROM COUNTY DUBLIN" Aw, would you like it if it was a better world? That we embraced those who come into our community with the intention (and a successful one at that) to live off the dole and make their bit on the side by selling smoke, tabs and coke?
    dizzy wrote:
    Roscommon will NEVER move into the 21st century without excepting 'outsiders'. Already there has been improvements with the people brought in on the Rural renewal scheme. Without the influx of people recently, I can guarantee you that there would be none of these new companies setting up here.
    My, you're quite the observational type, aren't you?
    dizzy wrote:
    What are you afraid of? Why are you intimidated? What would happen if Dublin people didn't accept you, what would your kids do when the time came and they wanted to go to a Dublin college? Would you like them to be branded scumbag culchies?
    :confused: I'm not going to even dignify this bizzare excuse of a response with an answer.
    dizzy wrote:
    Dublin is 100 miles away, it's not another galaxy. People talk differently, that is really the only difference.
    What are you raving about?
    dizzy wrote:
    Time to get over it and move on I think. Dublin people, Polish people, African people are moving in and they're here to stay. Deal with it!
    *Clap*.............*Clap*...............*Clap*

Well done, your insightful post has garnered enough muster in me to forget about ALL the scumbags I know of in my town and ALL the crimes that have been committed since specific numbers of these scumbags who have moved there.
    (Note for the Politically Correct: I only mean those whose origins are of the county of Dublin. I wish to state that I do not include the entire population of Ireland who do not "hail" from Roscommon :rolleyes: )
    Anyways, obviously not all the trouble have been from people FROM Dublin (I'm still can't stress FROM enough for you to undersand) Scummers are from the 4 corners of this island, just the majority of troublemakers in my town have been from Dublin.

Considering I have lived in my town for 21 years you'd think I'd have some basis for my "ignorant" post. I dunno, I guess I like to keep my head in the sand while being the ignorant one not noticing the actual crap happening around them while NOT jumping to......extreme conclusions on another because what they have said must be absolutely worthy of a REDNECK king! I believe it's you who should grow up and get a bloody life, try going out and socialising and take notice of your surroundings and stop trying to act like a hippy. If you're not from my town or any other town in the county then you don't know what you're talking about, save yourself the embarrasement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 dizzy

1-0 to me then. What a pathetic excuse for a reply. Surely you could have at least mustered a better arguement than that?

You can crawl back into your barn to play with your tractor parts. I shall not grace you with another view on this post. I'm right, you're wrong, you're gonna get left behind and we'll all enjoy the fruits of our labour (yes we work) in our new home:D

Goodbye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,148 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

It seems like your reply is the pathetic one you blowin. Not get out of here and back to peddling your death potions to toddlers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭lynnlegend

i lived in ros unless your into sister loveing dont go there sorry that was cheap but really was there for 2 long long years only people who would go out with drinking with me were from galway and mayo dont get me wrong did not want to drinking with the sisterlovers anyway just to let people know the pro active thinking they have in ros they were thinking of build a farmers collage in castlerea but that might bring the wrong type of people to town drunk students we dont want that what could we build that would bring in desent people hmmmmmmmmmmmmm a prison billy bob john bob you sure got the brains in the family and if you are into sister loveing the ros female is bigger and more hairy then the male

sorry about the rant but my doctor says i have been scarred by my time in "ROS" and need to let my anger out so i cant really be held responceable for this

in fairness we could all slag off various different towns. where did your sister loving come from???:confused::confused:

whassupp2 wrote: »
    in fairness we could all slag off various different towns. where did your sister loving come from???:confused::confused:

not slagging off a town i am slagging the entire county of roscommon and i thought sister loveing was a myth who in there right mind would like i mean its your sister but its standered in ros well ya have to keep the land in the family and that post has been up for 5 days and your the first to question it which leads me to think im in the majorty on this one:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 bubblebutt

i'm from roscommon.... going home this weekend *shudders*

:(

bubblebutt wrote: »
    i'm from roscommon.... going home this weekend *shudders*

:(

even ros people dont want to go there dest of luck bubblebutt:D

lynnlegend:

where u from as a matter of interest??

lynnlegend:

where u from as a matter of interest??

so you can pick faults with that town or county .............

so i can point out that everywhere has faults........including Ros'

your right irelands fault ros ,counnachts fault ros ,roscommans fault the people

lynnlegend wrote: »
    your right irelands fault ros ,counnachts fault ros ,roscommans fault the people

thats possibly the most stupid comment i've ever seen on boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭nedward

sister loveing

Don't knock it till you've tried it, babes.

nedward wrote: »
    Don't knock it till you've tried it, babes.

i have gave it two years

thats possibly the most stupid comment i've ever seen on boards
    yes i think your right sounded different in my head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Johnny Meagher

"Don't!"
    there I said it for you ;)
    now has anyone any decent advice on moving to Roscommon town? I went down to visit and it didn't seem so bad, has most things you need to live, 24 hour Tesco! library, swimming pool, arts centre, I'm not into "night life", not into boozing, unless at home ;) The train to Dublin is €23.50 day return so I can come over for a bit theatre, gallery and stuff when I've wrung what I can from the arts centre. I don't have a licence so no car, but I'll look into that asap. What do people do in Roscommon? and please I really do mean leave out the "nothing!;)". It's a pity the only general thread on Roscommon started this way. Maybe I'll start a new one "Moving to Roscommon" and let you very opinionated bunch know how I get on! :)
    Anyway, if you're willing:
    Name 3 good pubs
    Are there any social groups, clubs etc in the town where you could meet people? Dunno reading group that kind of thing. How would you meet people?
    Name 3 things Roscommon people are proud of. So I can butter 'em up!
    Name 3 things Roscommon people are ashamed of. So I don't put my foot in it!
    What are Roscommon drivers like, especially to cyclists which I'll probably be for the first while?
    I'm not into sport so has Roscommon done anything brilliant lately I'd need to know about?
    Who calls it Ros?
    What is the story with foreigners in Roscommon? I see Polish language news papers, is there a community of Poles there? What about other nationalities, any French? speak a bit of French. Apart from the Arts Centre, are there other Arts events?
    What about the Trad scene, where would I go in the town, if anywhere?
    Well, anything else you can think of. I've lived in different places and countries but 10 years aggregate in Dublin, I'm from Waterford.

best of luck man let us know how you get on

thanks
    looking like it will be a house-share arrangement
    not much in the way of flats, one apt for 550 but hoping to make a bigger saving than that!
    ok, wish me luck, start the new job next week! will be living there by mid-Dec

"Don't!"
    now has anyone any decent advice on moving to Roscommon town? I went down to visit and it didn't seem so bad, has most things you need to live, 24 hour Tesco! library, swimming pool, arts centre, I'm not into "night life", not into boozing, unless at home ;) The train to Dublin is €23.50 day return so I can come over for a bit theatre, gallery and stuff when I've wrung what I can from the arts centre. I don't have a licence so no car, but I'll look into that asap. What do people do in Roscommon? and please I really do mean leave out the "nothing!;)". It's a pity the only general thread on Roscommon started this way. Maybe I'll start a new one "Moving to Roscommon" and let you very opinionated bunch know how I get on! :)
    Name 3 good pubs
    Are there any social groups, clubs etc in the town where you could meet people? Dunno reading group that kind of thing. How would you meet people?
    What are Roscommon drivers like, especially to cyclists which I'll probably be for the first while?
    I'm not into sport so has Roscommon done anything brilliant lately I'd need to know about?
    Who calls it Ros?
    What is the story with foreigners in Roscommon? I see Polish language news papers, is there a community of Poles there? What about other nationalities, any French? speak a bit of French. Apart from the Arts Centre, are there other Arts events?
    Well, anything else you can think of. I've lived in different places and countries but 10 years aggregate in Dublin, I'm from Waterford.

3 pubs

1. silver eel in kilmore strokestown
    2. keegans in tarmonbarry
    3.gings in carrick on shannon (roscommon side)

3 things i'm proud of

nice lakes
    my town (strokestown) has second widest street in europe after oconnell st dublin. i always used that one to big up "da town"
    ammmmmm this is hard
    i like the.... can't think but open to suggestions

3 things i'm ashamed of

1 ignorant ****s (i could go on and on)
    2 my town has a penis shaped monument in the centre??? why???
    3 no prospects for anyone, all the towns seem to be closing sown, it's sad as most/all of my family are still there.

i dont drive, l live and work in city centre dublin my feet do the driving. my dad doesnt complain much when i'm in the car with him in roscommon but he's pretty calm. i have noticed alot of little boy racers though, most of the "shams" in roscommon get a car on their 17th birthday. i don't think it's great as there has been lots of accidents and even more sad deaths. it goes back to my point of no prospects..... there is nothing to do in roscommon.

don't care for sport, the minor gaelic footballers i pretty excellent as far as i know.... as i said don't care for sport

don't know anybody who calls it Ros... however Rossie is commonly used "c'mon the rossies" yeah

there are lots of foreigner's in roscommon, i have no problem with foreigners (well eastern gypsy's get to me, i'm sorry but i have to be honest but i'm trying not to be such a ignorant) there is a polish hairdresser in strokestown who's great, a bloody lunatic but's she's great. my dad says that the foreigners he works with don't really integrate but meh? i think they're here doing the best they can and as irish people we can't complain.

there are lots of germans that have holiday homes in strokestown because of the lakes for fishing, nigerians, polish, lithuanians, latvians, Romanians, english lots more i'm sure

check out the frank mcgann feile which is often held in roscommon plus there are county flas (spelled wrong)

i'm not into roscommon much

"Don't!"
    Name 3 good pubs
    Who calls it Ros?

Ah, Roscommon is a nice place, it's often said it's a good place to rear children, basically because it's quiet and not very dangerous!

In Roscommon town, the Rooster, Regan's are the young peoples' pubs; JJ Harlow's in the Square and Down the Hatch are more quiet.

I suppose sport would be the best way to meet people, I don't really know, maybe the amateur dramatics or something, Roscommon people are fairly friendly/nosy, you'll have no trouble making friends. =)

Proud of: Paddyjoe the barber, em, it's relaxing I guess dunno really. =)

Ashamed of:

Drivers are sound enough in Roscommon, but at the same time, nobody likes cyclists, so tread with caution.

Roscommon won the All-Ireland minor in 2006, driving the craic level to 91 in the county.

I call it Ros, dunno anyone who says "Up the Rossies!" as in Go on the Ros!

There's a good sprinkling of Poles, Brazilians and other immigrants in the town, it used to be very white Catholic, that has changed since about 6-7 years ago. there was one French chap, used to chef in Gleeson's, haven't seen him around in a while, maybe he's done a runner

The pubs would advertise trad nights can't think of where off the top of my head...

Ah, Roscommon is nice, but don't get stuck there, there is really little enough to do during the week, and sure best of luck

best things about Ros' (ya i call it Ros') are:

no traffic problems generally
    everything in ros' town in walking distance
    the whole county has a max of about 3/4 sets of traffic lights excluding temporary road works ones.
    centrally located.

new bowling alley in roscommon town
    new karting track
    lidl, dunnes and tesco all opened and aldi about to (signs up)
    morellis.....probaby the nicest fast food anywhere

i agree the place is dead during week but different at w/ends in the towns anyway.

Just read Seamus Duke's column in the Roscommon People "Straight talking with the Duke". That'll inform you about all the issues that really matter to Roscommon people.

Bleedin' 'ell, I wrote a long post thanking all you people for your advice and encouragement, but it isn't here.
    well thanks anyway, thanks for the specific advice, pubs and stuff, very good. took a flat on Tuesday, bit of a kip but ok, near work. going to move down over the next few weeks. (thanks I'll keep an eye on the People).
    otherwise no complaints so far but not really living there yet.
    I believe the OSI have brought a town plan but I got mine from google maps, a bit of printing and selotape but works fine :)
    ok, right so thanks again! will let you know if I start the Moving to Roscommon blog!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭thusspakeblixa

I have relatives in Castlerea, and whenever I go over I just find it hilarious that there's feck all to do! ''I'm bored'' ''Go on for a walk down to the prison''
    ...Classic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭gebbel

best things about Ros' (ya i call it Ros') are:

the whole county has a max of about 3/4 sets of traffic lights excluding temporary road works ones.

The last time I lived in Co. Roscommon there were no traffic lights in the whole county. Where are these ones exactly?

things i'm proud of

my town (strokestown) has second widest street in europe after oconnell st dublin. i always used that one to big up "da town"

This wide street in Strokestown that you are proud of is a dump: tractors and farm machinery everywhere. A disgrace.

gebbel wrote: »

This wide street in Strokestown that you are proud of is a dump: tractors and farm machinery everywhere. A disgrace.

ha ha you're right...... kip tastic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭DenMan

Duggy747 wrote: »
    The town or the county? The town is pretty miserable, in fact the entire county is miserable. No cinema in the county, shíte nite-clubs everywhere (Bar Rockford's in Roscommon town), etc. There's just nothing but pubs (which necessarily ain't a bad thing), boy racers and scumbags relocated here from Dublin who specialise in selling drugs, stealing, beating people into hospital, and coming in & out of Castlerea prison repeatedly! Actually they're what make me sick of the county the most, the fact that the scumbags think they're Tony fúckin' Montana coming into my town and thinking they own the place and got free reign on what to do.

Hey man. Just to a response to your post. I don't know of any Dubs who relocated to Roscommon just to race. I do a lot of CAD drawings for a few companies, one in Boyle. I am from Dublin myself and live in Sligo. One day I went into a bar just to kill a bit of time. (The Abbey).

Got chatting to the barman and he told me it is local people from the town who are into boy racing etc. He also mentioned a small heroin problem which the town has developed recently. All local dealers he reckons. No mention of any Dublin people. Seemed pretty upset about it. Just had to clarify that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭DenMan

I have relatives in Castlerea, and whenever I go over I just find it hilarious that there's feck all to do! ''I'm bored'' ''Go on for a walk down to the prison''
    ...Classic :D

Surely you can find a hobby to do. If your into music try learning an instrument and maybe set up a band. That would keep me happy. Also if your into writing maybe start a book or maybe find your nearest library and read. Plenty of things to do no matter how isolated it may seem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

3 pubs

1. silver eel in kilmore strokestown
    2. keenans in tarmonbarry
    3.gings in carrick on shannon (roscommon side)
    Fixed.....nice place alright, but has lost bit of its charm since they done it up, purple onion next door is super though.

gucci wrote: »
    Fixed.....nice place alright, but has lost bit of its charm since they done it up, purple onion next door is super though.

purple onion is yummy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭EAFC_rdfl

somebody mentioned the go-karting there, is it the one out the longford road you meant? any prices for it, they have a website but its terrible IMO! Just wondering how much they charge for the grand prix??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭chahop

The place is called ros karting they have a web site http://roskarting.com/ let us know hou you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭EAFC_rdfl

thanks for the reply. yeah i mentioned that website already in my first post, and how hopeless it is, all thats on it is a map and a few pieces of writing, I am after some prices? how much for a grand prix for example?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭chahop

Did you ring the mobile number on the site?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭RoscommonTom

i lived in ros unless your into sister loveing dont go there sorry that was cheap but really was there for 2 long long years only people who would go out with drinking with me were from galway and mayo dont get me wrong did not want to drinking with the sisterlovers anyway just to let people know the pro active thinking they have in ros they were thinking of build a farmers collage in castlerea but that might bring the wrong type of people to town drunk students we dont want that what could we build that would bring in desent people hmmmmmmmmmmmmm a prison billy bob john bob you sure got the brains in the family and if you are into sister loveing the ros female is bigger and more hairy then the male

sorry about the rant but my doctor says i have been scarred by my time in "ROS" and need to let my anger out so i cant really be held responceable for this

You sound like a angry man, its not that bad a place but it is bleak enough on long evenings like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭Addle

Roscommon is like everywhere else, it's what you make of it yourself.
    It's certainly not lacking in anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Please don't drag up old threads.