Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Bush gets rid of 5th Amendment in constitution...no news coverage...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Do you really want to leave this here?
    I think it would be more suited to politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Oh I'm sorry, I was too busy with the coverage of Lindsay Lohan turning herself in to the police............much more interesting news so please, go away with your benign news. Who cares about a stupid constitution? I wanna know about the latest goings on in Laguna Beach, like, y'know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Don't we have a Conspiracy Theories forum?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭So Glad

Terry wrote:
    Do you really want to leave this here?
    I think it would be more suited to politics.

I'd really appreciate it if you left it here, since it's not getting any news coverage and it's kinda, y'know, important.

This is not a conspiracy theory, I have supplied a link form the White House itself.

So Glad wrote:
    I'd really appreciate it if you left it here, since it's not getting any news coverage and it's kinda, y'know, important.
    No problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

So Glad wrote:
    Erm, just to let you guys know, George Bush has now gotten rid of the 5th Amendment in the American Constitution and NO, I repeat, NO mainstream media news channel has reported this........

what exactly did the 5th amendment do

5th Amendment:

"No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or otherwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or indictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in the land or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in actual service in time of War or public danger; nor shall any person be subject for the same offense to be twice put in jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall be compelled in any criminal case to be a witness against himself, nor be deprived of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor shall private property be taken for public use, without just compensation."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Constitutional ammendments cannot be passed by Executive order.
    Especially the article detailing the criteria for ammending the constitution!

belongs in politics forum
    unless its about the weather, roma people, or your celebs you fancy it dont belong here :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

I think saying "he got rid of the 5th" is exaggerating just a tad there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,161 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

but is exaggearation not a kind of evidence?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

"The constitution is just goddammed piece of paper"

to quote the man himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭digitally-yours

I only have the following in mind mind after reading this !

Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.

Benjamin Franklin (1706 - 1790),

Jumpy wrote:
    I think saying "he got rid of the 5th" is exaggerating just a tad there.

Em, he did.

So Glad wrote:
    Em, he did.
    Explain, please?

Sec. 8. This order is not intended to, and does not, create any right, benefit, or privilege, substantive or procedural, enforceable at law or in equity by any party against the United States, its departments, agencies, instrumentalities, or entities, its officers or employees, or any other person

Good one so you know who will be affected by this :)

Thats crazy first specify and then in the end say "any other person" what do you expect !

There's a basic explanation in the second link.

Explain, please?

Read the document from the White House.

Terry wrote:
    There's a basic explanation in the second link.
    Yeah, but I was looking for a little deductive reasoning of his own, rather than just something some crackpot website told him. After all, apparently only pathetic people believe everything they read.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭Gumbyman

God that's gas. The worst part of all this is that all tv shows where somebody takes 'the fifth' are going to seem so outdated and past it. Chips will lose it's modern 'cutting' edge. I think that we should protest on these grounds alone. Anything else is mere triviality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭Dr_Teeth

In fairness, it only applies to people who use violence to undermine the U.S.'s efforts.

But I guess if you were at an anti-war protest over there that was broken up for police, and the police said you resisted arrest or something, they could technically say you were in violation of this order and therefore seize all your assets instantly and without trial, which would suck :/

Yeah, but I was looking for a little deductive reasoning of his own, rather than just something some crackpot website told him. After all, apparently only pathetic people believe everything they read.

Oh my God, my friend open your eyes. I GAVE YOU A DIRECT LINK TO THE WHITE HOUSE HOMEPAGE. I have not found this on "some crackpot website", in fact I StumbledUpon the White House document and found it fascinating, then Googled and found the blogs. What do you want?

Dr_Teeth wrote:
    In fairness, it only applies to people who use violence to undermine the U.S.'s efforts.

But I guess if you were at an anti-war protest over there that was broken up for police, and the police said you resisted arrest or something, they could technically say you were in violation of this order and therefore seize all your assets instantly and without trial, which would suck :/

That's the whole point. It's up to them to decide what constitutes a "treat to the development of Iraq". That can range to violence, protesting, exposing corruption. But whatever can be called "terrorism".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

So Glad wrote:

So, now you can be arrested if anyone "threatens the security of Iraq" without trail or conviction. This means protesters and anything you can call a terrorist.

NWO people, do your research...

Ok thats definatly crazy especially that nobody covered it but could you not go on about the NWO please. He's just a rétard on a power trip (to put it mildly). Not some secret organization in control of the planet.

cooperguy wrote:
    Not some secret organization in control of the planet.

From you're perspective, hence I say do your research.

You can't dip your toe in the lake to judge what's at the bottom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

They can get away with almost anything, they control the media, and people wont give a **** unless its on the news. Anyone else that tries to tell the truth will just be called a crack pot by others or ignored.

Sure they are all being forced to pay a tax over there and there's absolutely no law that says they should.

The stupidity of the mass public amazes me and scares me at the same time. All they have to do is say "terrorism" and "9/11" a few times, and they can get away with murder.

Free country my fkin' arse.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3rSsv-Ncfa0

So Glad, check this out if you haven't seen it : http://www.zeitgeistmovie.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭The_Hustler

I can tell you So Glad has definitely already checked that out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

I think the OP defeats what would be a very good point by deliberately sensationalizing and exaggerating it.

It's probably best to leave this thread here. A move to Politics would just result in it being locked very quickly due to the lack of any relevant comment.

It's because of those responces that I suggested a move ot politics in the first place.

Anyway, regarding the whole thing, I don't really care because I live in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭You Suck!

So should terrorists attack again, the media can be forced to remove paris and lindsey for a while.......thats ffin brilliant!

Someone should tell bertie, infact I'd bet McDowell is just kicking himself right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Have you ever ever ever said anything remotely constructive on boards?

Please provide links if you have, I feel I am missing out.

Terry wrote:
    Anyway, regarding the whole thing, I don't really care because I live in Ireland.

Yes you do my friend but that does not mean that it cannot affect you
    List_of_United_States_extradition_treaties

They rule without rules :D

The-Rigger wrote:
    Have you ever ever ever said anything remotely constructive on boards?

Please provide links if you have, I feel I am missing out.
    That really isn't very constructive.
    Yes you do my friend but that does not mean that it cannot affect you
    List_of_United_States_extradition_treaties

They rule without rules
    Meh.
    What are they going to extradite me for?
    Not caring?

I'll care if they extradite one of the Shannon protestors, but the restof it doesn't really bother me.

Terry wrote:
    That really isn't very constructive.

My question was genuine. Nearly every post I've seen from him is along the same lines.

Fair enough, but it was completely off topic.
    Take it up in the thunderdome or something.

You can also insult him there. :D

Terry wrote:
    Fair enough, but it was completely off topic.
    Take it up in the thunderdome or something.

You can also insult him there. :D

Indeed it was, I felt his first post also was offtopic, and imo, is as good as trolling considering
    that it is one of his two standard responses, the other been 'yore ma'.

He must be in his 'this should be in conspiracy theories' mode today.

//*wanders off to the dome.

I understand where you are coming from.
    Sorry if I'm being a prick over this, but it's nice to keep at least one semi-serious thread on topic.
    I know he was OT too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Well if this were the Patriot Act again, I might be concerned, being a yank.

But this bill at a glance seems to really just be aimed at the extremists. Get your head on straight OP.

The executive order clearly appears aimed at anyone trying to support the Guerrila elements in Iraq, for example, supplying funds or weapons.

They would hardly have issued this order to shut up a few picket-pushers. Theres no point and bush knows it: his opposers, while numerous, havent had any forceful effect against his administration to the extent that, for instance, a group of protesters in DC is "threatening the stability in Iraq".

Granted I'm with you when theres a lack of coverage of the big ones like the Patriot Act, but even as freaked as I was when that occured, there *appears* to have been only one actual use of the Patriot Act (and in that case I can concede they had decent suspicion to enact it).

And somehow I doubt strongly that Bush wants to leave behind any "Top Secret" infallacies for people to discover later.
    Why?
    Bush strikes me as a guy that clearly enjoys being thought well of. And despite all his flaws he still seems to beleive what hes doing is right even if I dont agree. Which I dont, mind you. He doesnt want to go down in the history books any worse than he already has. Even if its a century before we hear about it.

Protesters dont affect stability thousands of miles away in any real sense. Even the Terrorists (for lack of a better word for they dont see themselves as such) know that. If anything the order would be used to arrest anyone for trying to push the vote on the Iraq extrication of US troops .... but you can see how ludicrous that would be.

I dont see anything more to do with this Executive Order. Its mundane, to say that it would ever be used against an innocent or outspoken citizen without just cause.

Just out of curiousity, how do you feel about the term "Insurgents" being used to describe those opposed to the current Iraqi regime?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭mc nuggets

I'm sorry for being completely unaware of American policies but what was the Patriot act

In short, if you don't agree with American policies or look like a terrorist, then we are taking you from your home and sending you to Guantanamo bay without trial.

A bit like the McCarthy witch hunts of the 50's.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patriot_act

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭mc nuggets

Terry wrote:
    In short, if you don't agree with American policies or look like a terrorist, then we are taking you from your home and sending you to Guantanamo bay without trial.

A bit like the McCarthy witch hunts of the 50's.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patriot_act
    Thanks for that

daveirl wrote:

:confused: on all counts.
    daveirl wrote:

This also gets a 'lol' and about 400 of these :eek: :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

Honestly, your statements were so inherently bizarre to me, I wouldn't know where to begin.

I'll let someone else do so if they wish.

The-Rigger wrote:
    Honestly, your statements were so inherently bizarre to me, I wouldn't know where to begin.

I'll let someone else do so if they wish.
    I'll begin with freedom of speech.
    It's a constitutional right, but only as long as it doesn't upset anyone.
    See censorship of "Curse" words on american tv.
    God damn being the newest addition.
    Ther was an episode of the simpsons recently which covered this nicely.
    It was set 400 years ago on the Mayflower.
    Homer came out with a line that was something like 'here's to you religious nuts. may you keep up your crusade to turn America into a completely intolerant religious country by the 21st century'.
    not the exact quote, but it was something along those lines.

Ok, so internet libel laws are an ongoing issue here, but at least you can turn on the radio in the morning and hear someone say "fúck2 or "God damn" without the who country being up in arms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭solas

http://www.newamericancentury.org/

not sure about nwo, but looking at that was enough to conivince me that some folks have an agenda to meet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

The new american century project is the scary one alright ^^^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

wow , USA is more free then Ireland? I'm sorry but your a victim of American propaganda and brainwashing. It's worrying to find people in Ireland who can fall for that stuff. Or are you Irish?

Please tell me, how America is more 'free' then this country?:eek: