Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"protein shakes make you very aggressive with a few pints in!!"

• 24-07-2007 11:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭

So here I am strolling into my kitchen this evening to mix a carb shake before I head to the gym. My aunt, who is visiting is sitting at the kitchen table with her children talking to my mother, and asks me if I'm still "on those protein shakes". I tell her that I am, but that this is a "carb shake". Look of puzzlement covers her face. I don't bother to explain.
    Anyhow the next thing that comes outta her mouth is something like this:
    "Well, I was talking to my friend at work, he's mad into fitness and that sorta thing, and he says he had to go off the protein drinks because he was gettin' mad aggressive when he'd have a few pints in and stuff, really deadly stuff it is"

I'm more angry than amused to be honest. So I respond by telling her, "I'd really doubt that, he must be on a little something more than protein shakes if it's affecting his aggression like that". She tells me "oh and I know a girl at work who was with him and said the same thing, the stuff made her mad violent as well!". At this stage I'm about ready to fling the ****ing shake at her because I can't stand her anyways. So I says, "well to be honest they're having you on then, if anything it's got to do more with their training that may be elevating their natural test levels than protein shakes. Protein shakes just an alternative to food." I storm out.
    I know it's not her fault. She's very stupid to begin with, more than likely dropped on her head from a height several times as a child but there are so many other people out there who have the same sort of views of supplements in sport. RETARDS.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Yeah I was once out with this drunk guy in McDonalds, who may or may not have taken something more illicit too, but as soon as he took a bite of his hambuger he started flipping out and starting fights with people.

On reflection it is clear to me that my initial suspicions were incorrect in that it migh have been the alcohol which caused this. I now realise it was the meat in the burger. The eeeeeeeeevil meat!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

You sound very agressive... Have you had any protein shakes recently?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

I bet he just had one before bed.

Damn druggies.....

I've occasionally got this from my dad before too. I just explained it's from a cow basically and buy them myself, he didn't care after that!

I think once they see you regularly using it and not turning into a murdering rapist or something they let it go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭walt0r

Don't be smart with me I'm high on protein shakes modda****as I've had 3 today. Not only that but they're carb/protein weight gainers so that means they have even more cals and more aggressiveness in them! RARRRGHH!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Leon11

well I had a row in the kitchen this afternoon with my dad and sister, it ended with my dad saying "let him kill himself if he wants to eat 6 eggs a day:D " in fairness he has had double bypass surgery, cholesterol problems diabetes etc so I understand his reaction. please move this to PI:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭You Suck!

My mate just came back with a bale of protein from county cork, the hardcore fúcker's sniffin the stuff instead of drinking it. Gettin real roudy too the fecker, told me he'd cut me in to pieces if I looked at him and his protein like that again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭AlphaMale 3OO

I cant stand nutritional/supplement ignorance. Did anyone hear the woman on today fm (the last word) about 4 months ago complaining about creatine? Saying that young rugby players were taking it and this was making their "scrums" physically bigger. Yeah I swear all 8 guys are concurrently growing at an alarming and symetrical anabolic rate. Apparantely creatine is really bad for you and should be on the banned list and is ruining the lives of young teens. What a fookin bitch. I think I'm going to go out and buy a stockpile of it just in case. And while I'm on the subject, a guy asked me the other day "Whats Protein?" "Is chicken protein?" Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

walt0r wrote:
    he was gettin' mad aggressive when he'd have a few pints in and stuff, really deadly stuff it is

Well I know a lad who had to give them up too, he would start hallucinating when he'd have a few tabs of LSD in him, fecking protein junkies.

Reminds me of a mate of mine, 12 pints and a burger on the way home. Next day sick as a dog "must have got food poisoning from that chipper."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

Brings me back to something I posted a few months back.

This dude storms into the shop and claims the tub of big whey he bought here was rank and that he couldn't swallow it no matter what.

Turns out he was eating it by the spoon :eek: :rolleyes:

So protein really did make him aggressive - until I explained how to take it properly :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Not only that. They make me sleepy at night-time. Bloody protein .... when will we learn <shakes fist>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Yeah my girlfriend nags me about supplements, it's probably her only real downfall...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

rubadub wrote:
    Reminds me of a mate of mine, 12 pints and a burger on the way home. Next day sick as a dog "must have got food poisoning from that chipper."

My dad used that one for years.

He's still playing hurling and reffing inter county hurling at 48!! Played a Junior B match game there on Sunday.

He'll come home after a game and be "Oh my hip/groin is killing me"
    I ask "Did you warm up and stretch before the game?"
    He'll answer "No"

Why are some people like this???

I was in Huntington Beach a month ago with some friends and down at the beach two musclehedz lie down in front of us. One of them obviously juicing, he had a lot of acne on his back too which was a dead giveaway (besides the fact he was big and ripped to shreds). So one of the girls turns to her friend, "jesus will ya look at the acne on his bakc thats from all de creatine he must be on, tahts deadly stuff altogether". Okay it went *something* like that anyways. Then one of the lads says "yeah that creatine my friend was on it's crazy ****". Mehhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭Vinnie K

Jon wrote:
    Brings me back to something I posted a few months back.

This dude storms into the shop and claims the tub of big whey he bought here was rank and that he couldn't swallow it no matter what.

Turns out he was eating it by the spoon :eek: :rolleyes:

So protein really did make him aggressive - until I explained how to take it properly :D

How you manage to stop laughing for long enough to explain it, god i would loved to have seen that!!

The girlfriend started curves the same time i started the gym, and because i work my bollox off and eat right and take supp's, she thinks the reason why im getting way better results is because of the "drugs":rolleyes: im taking, trying to explain to her is like taking the wall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

forbesii wrote:
    And while I'm on the subject, a guy asked me the other day "Whats Protein?" "Is chicken protein?" Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!!!!

Surely that's your chance to educate? It's not like he put across some false information as if it were the truth, he asked you a question, presumably since he figured you would know the answer? OK, so it should be pretty common knowledge, but still, he only asked the questions like we wish most people in this thread would have!

Maybe you just had too many protein shakes that day? :P

On a side note, the only time my parents ever gave me hassle over the shakes, well, apart from the first day I had them was after that completely ludicrous show on 2fm or whatever it was, where they had the "doctor" on telling people to eat bananas for their protein instead of shakes and that creatine was this and that. My mam was a little paranoid after that, but I settled her down once I explained things and told her I wasn't using creatine anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

walt0r wrote:
    Don't be smart with me I'm high on protein shakes modda****as I've had 3 today. Not only that but they're carb/protein weight gainers so that means they have even more cals and more aggressiveness in them! RARRRGHH!!!!!

If extra calories make you more aggressive then obese people must be the angriest most aggressive mofos in the country!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭cavanmaniac

On a side note, the only time my parents ever gave me hassle over the shakes, well, apart from the first day I had them was after that completely ludicrous show on 2fm or whatever it was, where they had the "doctor" on telling people to eat bananas for their protein instead of shakes and that creatine was this and that. My mam was a little paranoid after that, but I settled her down once I explained things and told her I wasn't using creatine anyway.

Heard that too. The danger lurking in your protein, who'd have thunk it eh? My bro was told taking protein supplements would make him fat and bloated which is marginally better than being told it will turn you into a schizoid axe murderer, but only just.

George Hook wrote something a few years back about schoolkids using supplements and being given them by rugby coaches at schools, with a similar tone of solemn foreboding.

All's I can say is that they've never done me any harm and my habit of throwing stray dogs through shop windows is entirely unrelated.

Heard that too. The danger lurking in your protein, who'd have thunk it eh? My bro was told taking protein supplements would make him fat and bloated which is marginally better than being told it will turn you into a schizoid axe murderer, but only just.

George Hook wrote something a few years back about schoolkids using supplements and being given them by rugby coaches at schools, with a similar tone of solemn foreboding.

All's I can say is that they've never done me any harm and my habit of throwing stray dogs through shop windows is entirely unrelated.

hahahaha! George Hook! Stray dogs! Priceless...the whole country should be ashamed of themselves with their ignorance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

he did a bit on his radio show on it aswell and he was talking about creatine which i dont think SHOULD be necessary to take at such a young age(schools rugby) from what i remember he didnt slate protein shakes or anything like that

Surely that's your chance to educate? It's not like he put across some false information as if it were the truth, he asked you a question, presumably since he figured you would know the answer? OK, so it should be pretty common knowledge, but still, he only asked the questions like we wish most people in this thread would have!

Maybe you just had too many protein shakes that day? :P

Ha Ha! Nah I told him like a human being but on the inside I was like Grrrrrrr! I like people asking me and I like giving advice. On the subject of creatine, I think theres nothing wrong with schoolboy rugby players taking it. Its not harmful.

I personally don't use creatine. I find it gives me bad acne breakouts. And it definitely is the creatine as I've cycled it 5-6 times over the course of a few years and got the same thing. Although I wish I could use it, because everytime I got to loading stage I was feeling slightly stronger and more volumised. I reckon it would benefit me a good bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

forbesii wrote:
    Ha Ha! Nah I told him like a human being but on the inside I was like Grrrrrrr! I like people asking me and I like giving advice. On the subject of creatine, I think theres nothing wrong with schoolboy rugby players taking it. Its not harmful.

there is no reason they should be thinking about it at that age imo and i think its bang out of line if the coaches are suggesting / recomending / forcing players to use it.

if you decide you want something extra and you go searching a solution and creatine is what you decide is for you then thats perfectly fine i just dont think it has a place in school as a recommended performance enhancer.

coaches definately shouldnt recommend it to anyone. theres a stigma there now anyway so id say none do. creatine never enhanced my performance on the rugby field. it gave me about 5-10% extra in the gym so its a very indirect and actually quite weak performance enhancer. anabolic steroids are obviously dramatically a step above this and are a true performance enhancer and definately not a problem in underage sport so i think theres nothing to worry about. over-dramatic parents are the drivers of the stigma.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

forbesii wrote:
    actually quite weak performance enhancer.
    It varies in its effectiveness between people. It has never really done a lot for me either, but some swear by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cathy01

ok, maybe I am one of thoses people who ask stuip qusestions but.
    My son 15 and very light about 9 stone want to take these shakes.
    I was told Bruwers yeast? was good , what type of shakes are the good ones and where can I get them.
    thanks,
    Cathy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Truthfullly I wouldn't say that a 9 stone 15 year old would be that light as chances are that over the next few years he is going to put on more weight naturally.

Truthfully all these protein shakes are is a supplement. They are not a magic powder that will just add muscle mass to you. So chances are that your son may need to just eat more and to also start lifting so that he can actually put on some muscle rather then just fat

edit: however if you are looking for a good stockist of protein shakes both pro-nutrition in Phisboro and The supplement store on camden street both sell quality stuff at good prices. Generally most of us just advise people to get there stuff on the net however in this case I would suggest you go in and ask about the products as the staff in both of these shops will be able to answer your question and help relieve any reservations you have about the products

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

walt0r wrote:
    I personally don't use creatine. I find it gives me bad acne breakouts. And it definitely is the creatine as I've cycled it 5-6 times over the course of a few years and got the same thing. Although I wish I could use it, because everytime I got to loading stage I was feeling slightly stronger and more volumised. I reckon it would benefit me a good bit.

Just a thought but have you tried skipping the loading phase and just taking a regular maintenance dose regularly? From what I've read(note I'm by no means an expert) it seems that having a loading phase has no real benefits and not using a loading phase can help avoid too much water retention and perhaps acne? It could be worth one more go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭HammerHeadGym

Hanley wrote:
    Yeah I was once out with this drunk guy in McDonalds, who may or may not have taken something more illicit too, but as soon as he took a bite of his hambuger he started flipping out and starting fights with people.

On reflection it is clear to me that my initial suspicions were incorrect in that it migh have been the alcohol which caused this. I now realise it was the meat in the burger. The eeeeeeeeevil meat!!!

That sounds like bull to me Hanley. Meat in Mc Donalds hamburgers? Preposterous :)