Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what's the most embarassing item you've ever bought in a shop

• 24-07-2007 10:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭

Here's the situation:

You are on your way home from work, and your girlfriend rings you and tells you she is out of tampons. Shock, horror! A guy walking into a shop and buying tampons. Oh the humiliation!!!

Well, I'm trying to find out have guys out there ever bought embarrassing items.

In my personal experience I've bought everything: tampons, condoms, ky lube,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

a dildo for yore ma !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

A buttplug for your Ma. But seriously (No pun intended), KY would have been one of the worst I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

you know you're a real man when you've bought tampons for your girlfriend/wife in the shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

Nipple shields for breastfeeding mother ... and having to ask for "some cream beginning with L that you rub on cracked nipples which will be safe for the baby". :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

you know you're a real man when you've bought tampons for your girlfriend/wife in the shop.

Keep telling yourself that. *makes whipping noises* :D

Sunday World here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭muboop1

yeh, the usual, tampons, condoms, lube...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Irish Star *shudders*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭blow69

biko wrote:
    Irish Star *shudders*

Brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

I have never ever ever had a problem buying tampons. They're quite obviously not for me, and its unlikely I have some sort of tampon fetish.

The most embarassing thing you can buy really is a porno mag. What's even worse is when you are about 15 and buying a porno mag from the local newsagent. First of all, I was too young, so I was wary of being refused, secondly there is no mistaking your intended use of a porn mag. Essentially you are going up to the till and saying, I wish to buy this magazine to aid my masturbation, yes that reflects my sexual desires better than any of your other magazines.

Its not so bad buying things in a sex shop - they are dirty bastards in there anyway.

Preparation H is to a lesser extent embarassing. At least when they used to sell TCP Ointment its use was ambiguous. But Preparation H - well that's for rubbing on your sphincter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

biko wrote:
    Irish Star *shudders*
    Thought it would have been the Dublin edition of the Herald.

Anyway, asking the hot chick in the chemist for something to lube up the supposiitories i had to take (KY it was).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭Irish Wolf

lol.. worse and even more embarassing than biko...

The Daily Mail!

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭Dr_Teeth

When I was little my uncle (damn him) asked me to run into the shop and buy him the Daily Sport, which I did.. how surprised I was that it didn't contain much in the way of sports! :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Buying a softcore porno movie when I was younger in Chapters.

Chapters rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

muboop1 wrote:
    yeh, the usual, tampons, condoms, lube...

Yeah, but when they're all second-hand....literally as well....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭qwertyface

My gayer friend makes me go in to buy his magazines every month. My favourite so far was last year's "Attitude- porn special". I think by now the easons staff recognise me as the young girl with the man-on-man fetish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭cson

Buying lingerie for the other half was an altogether illuminating experience. Not buying the lingerie itself but the fact that I'd forgotten to get the sizes. (Honestly whats with the letters of the alphabet? Could they not just have small, medium and large? T'was like some sort of code begorrah!)

Now cson here expected the scene in Enemy Of The State, you know where Will Smith doesn't know the size either but the lovely helpful shop assistants strip down and say "Is she this big" while fondling their breasts. Alas, the shop assistants I got were not so helpful. I left the shop lingerie-less on their advice to come back when I'd checked the sizes. It was quite an experience to say the fecking least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

The doc prescribed me this stuff to clear out my bowels once when I was having toilet trouble.

Went into the chemist, and was shocked to see one of the fit ex-loungegirls from the local pub working behind the counter. Too late to turn around and walk out, she'd seen me and said hello..

I don't think I've seen her since thank f*ck!

cson wrote:
    Buying lingerie for the other half was an altogether illuminating experience. Not buying the lingerie itself but the fact that I'd forgotten to get the sizes. (Honestly whats with the letters of the alphabet? Could they not just have small, medium and large? T'was like some sort of code begorrah!)
    Try buying underwear for yourself when there are 2 hot chicks behind you.
    I was about 14 at the time and weighed about 8 stone. The underwear was catercorised by waist size. I was a 26" or something and that meant buy size Small.
    Huge queue and hot chicks laughing at me all the way through.

Terry wrote:
    Try buying underwear for yourself when there are 2 hot chicks behind you.
    I was about 14 at the time and weighed about 8 stone. The underwear was catercorised by waist size. I was a 26" or something and that meant buy size Small.
    Huge queue and hot chicks laughing at me all the way through.

Has it left any lasting emotional distress?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I can't recall anything embarrassing, have bought everything already listed in the thread but buying said items wouldn't really "embarrass" me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

a grumble mag

eo980 wrote:
    Has it left any lasting emotional distress?
    Yes.
    I have trouble getting an erection when with a woman due to the laughter of said hot chicks.
    Other than that, everything is fine, just fine.

Jesus buying boxers is no major drama in my book. I'd rather have a clean supply myself than be getting 16 days out of the one pair, isn't that right Flutter, wherever ya are.

I bought a few cans of Dutch Gold before, that was highly embarrassing I have to say.

I encouraged my missus to get a Dildo for the ahem, times I was wasn't there. I went along with her to Ann Summers while she was choosing. That was a tad embarassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

I don't understand this embarressment over purchasing goods from a vendor.
    Hard currency is still hard currency. Let apathy be your light and saviour.

Ah I found the whole Ann Summers thing to be fairly humourous, went in for the same reasons as oe890 except I was minus the missus. The girl in the shop went out of her way to help me there, I had to apologise 3 or 4 times for bursting out laughing in her face when she told me what the different things did. Not embarrassing in the slightest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

The Evening Herald.

I was about 9 and my mam was getting her haircut. She asked me to go down to local newsagent and to get the Evening Herald.

I heard "Eddie Harold".

So I went into the newsagent and was looking through all the papers, flicking open a Sun and seeing my first boob :D, and eventually had to ask the shop keeper where the hell they keep the Eddie Harolds.

He laughed. Then yelled out to the other shopkeeper, who laughed. Then pointed me to the correct newspaper.

Bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

I've bought all the stuf mentioned here, but the most embarrasing thing ever, was buying a Daniel O Donnell cd. (it was for a gift) I even feel embarrased admitting it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

sure it was :D
    emm.. i'd say lube is pretty awful to have to buy... condoms too, especially if it's a local chemist and the aul wans looking at you thinking " i know what you'll be up to later" arrghh!
    Recently had to get cystitis medicine but the young lass in boots was really nice and helpful, and didn't make it weird at all

The scene in a rural chemist;

*Person puts pack of condoms on counter*
    "I'll take these please"

*Old pharmacist looks person up and down, looks especially hard at the ring finger noting the abscence of a ring*

"Hmmm, and what would you want with those then? you wouldn't be thinking of having SEX now would you?"

Thats how that particular scenario played out on a friend of mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

rb_ie wrote:
    I can't recall anything embarrassing, have bought everything already listed in the thread but buying said items wouldn't really "embarrass" me

that's because you're so deadly, remember to keep posting in threads to remind us all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭whatshername!!

buying a pregnancy test (for a friend) when i was like 15 and in my school uniform. the looks i got from the ones behind the counter:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

2 tickets to justin timberlake :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

qwertyface wrote:
    My gayer friend makes me go in to buy his magazines every month. My favourite so far was last year's "Attitude- porn special". I think by now the easons staff recognise me as the young girl with the man-on-man fetish!

good jaysais, why doesn't he order off the interweb? Or just surf the interweb, lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Went into Anne Summers along with a mate of mine to buy a present for my gf of the time, and the assistant there was convinced that myself and my mate were the couple! Burst my hole laughing a lot that day

Bought Love Actually and Dirty Dancing in a DVD shop before. Was a present for my sister and they were 2 for €15 so it wasn't so bad in the end

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Only ever felt uncomfortable when buying a copy of the Daily Sport when I was in my early teenage years. Wouldn't have been so bad except it was my mothers friend who served me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭Scrotum

eo980 wrote:
    I encouraged my missus to get a Dildo for the ahem, times I was wasn't there. I went home that night and she'd left me and taken all the batteries from the remotes. That was a tad embarassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

cson wrote:
    The scene in a rural chemist;

*Person puts pack of condoms on counter*
    "I'll take these please"

*Old pharmacist looks person up and down, looks especially hard at the ring finger noting the abscence of a ring*

"Hmmm, and what would you want with those then? you wouldn't be thinking of having SEX now would you?"

Similar thing happened to me. Got the same kind of look but it wasn't the lack of a ring or anything that made her wonder what I was doing buying condoms. The look on her face suggested a thought going through her head along the lines of how an ugly ba$tard like me could get a girl who'd actually want to have sex with me in the first place so that I'd need johnnies! :D

Well, to hell with her, I had the last laugh later that night..... several times! ;):D
    Bought Love Actually and Dirty Dancing in a DVD shop before. Was a present for my sister

Same kind of thing happened here but it was the 'Titanic' soundtrack CD. I hung around waiting in the shop, aimlessly flicking through the racks of CDs until the shop was empty. Grabbed the 'Titanic' CD, ran up to the counter, placed it front side down so nobody else would see if they walked in and slid it towards the shop assistant, looking around me all the time. He picks it up, turns it around, sees what the CD is and gives me a funny look. "Ummm, it's for my sister. It's her birthday coming up", I explained quickly. "Yeah..... sure", he goes and scans and bags it. I grab the bag, go to walk out and I hear him giggling to himself, "Enjoy the CD!" Mortifying! :D

Worse thing of all....... my sister ended up getting another copy from a friend of hers anyway! :rolleyes:

a friend of my brothers was on his holidays in Spain and texted one of his friends back home to ask him what the Spanish for cigarettes was, he got a text back saying 'puta'.

puta is Spanish for whore, would of liked to see his trip to the local shop. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Fr Dougal

cson wrote:
    I bought a few cans of Dutch Gold before, that was highly embarrassing I have to say.
    Have to say, that's the best yet.

The brother bought a Skoda once..... Don't think I'd have the 8all$

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I always feel embarassed buying the three for two on condoms in Boots. Obviously it is the boyfriends job to buy these but he would never go in to boots. i just think it's better to stock up! I hate going to the counter though with 36 condoms. It's like saying I am a dirty dirty bitch and I need all these 36 condoms tonight!

watna wrote:
    I always feel embarassed buying the three for two on condoms in Boots. Obviously it is the boyfriends job to buy these but he would never go in to boots. i just think it's better to stock up! I hate going to the counter though with 36 condoms. It's like saying I am a dirty dirty bitch and I need all these 36 condoms tonight!

you're durrrrtyyy

Buy online, It would save ya that, and be a lot cheaper too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Chumpski

watna wrote:

Me and my girlfriend were in boots one day and we were trying out a new brand. There was a 3 for 2 on them but i only got one. As i say we were trying them out. Went up to the counter and paid and the girl goes without thinking "theres a 3 for 2 on them" and i just looked at the girlfriend and smirked and the girl went all red and couldnt look at us the rest of the time. My girlfriend felt soo bad for her! I got a good smack on the arm outside the shop for embarrasing both of them!

RE*AC*TOR wrote:
    Preparation H is to a lesser extent embarassing. At least when they used to sell TCP Ointment its use was ambiguous. But Preparation H - well that's for rubbing on your sphincter.
    I've heard its used also as a beauty treatment for the eye area something to do with dark circles or tightening the eye area:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Had to ask for heamorhoid cream once

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I've heard its used also as a beauty treatment for the eye area something to do with dark circles or tightening the eye area:confused:

Some places recommend it for tattoo's as well.

Myself and my mate we're getting our other friend a pair of nipple clamps for her 21st as a joke and they guy in the shop thought we were lesbians and started advising us on other "items" to buy.

I almost cried with laughter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

porno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

watna wrote:

i always send her to do it, value is value! :P

last time i went to buy condoms i realised halfway up the queue my ex girlfriend (3 years, messy, messy breakup) was the counter assistant.

now i had two choices, face the music and give her the satisfaction of mortifiying me... or be that guy who chickened out of the queue with condoms in his hand.

i chose to face the music, she mortified me in front of her colleagues... and my gran entered the pharmacy to pickup her prescription arounds about the time i got to the counter.

i took some satisfaction in the letter to her manager about acceptable staff behavior that got her in alot of trouble, but the horror still exists.

never again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Louth4sam

A new strip club opened in Dundalk, and a few of us went out to it for one of the lads birthdays. If you wanted a private dance you had to buy a ticket so one of the lads went up to buy a ticket and he realised just when he had the money handed over that the woman selling them was his mothers best friend. He just walked straight out of the strip club minus the ticket.