Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Twink on NewsTalk

• 24-07-2007 7:05pm
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭

What are peoples opinion about Twink standing in for a week on News Talk,not many people on the radio (gerry ryan is another) can make me turn off in seconds.Twink was on before maybe last year I am surprised she was asked back but thats just my opinion obviously loads of people out there like her and listen in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Adele King is a good 'cheap-rate' guest but a terrible stand-in host. She really does sound like your neighbour who's come round for a natter with your mum at the kitchen table.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Wouldn't be a fan at all, but obviously she's popular as a stand in for Moncrieff of she wouldn't be back so often.

I'd prefer her to Theresa Lowe any day though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

I'd rather listen to the sound of my cojones whizzing in a blender than
    listen to that fishwife. I can not believe Newstalk have stooped so low,
    I will not tune in until she's gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I'll listen just to fall around laughing at the "grawnd" accent.

Chloe could be doing a stint soon.... watch this space!!!!

I have a suspicion Moncrief was behind her getting the gig.

Mike.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

mike65 wrote:
    I have a suspicion Moncrief was behind her getting the gig

Why...?am I missing something...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

Oh, I can't abide her and her accent. Today for the laugh I listened to her on Newstalk in the background while relistening on the laptop to her charming "Zip up your Mickey" message she left on her ex's phone. Let's just say quite a contrast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

yup, I usually have newstalk on till about 7 or 8pm in work before I switch over to phantom for some delightful evening music but I switched over well early today. Felt like my mother was in the office moaning at me all day. If only she could be tuned to be easier on the ear with the turn of a dial. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Another here that switched off as soon as I heard her Monday and hasn't switched on since. I can't stand listening to that woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Didn't realise she was standing in, it was quite a nasty shock when I turned the wireless on !

Not many here seem to like her,I wounder what the ratings are like.

Dub13 the reason I suspect Moncreif is something he said the last time she was about to take the reigns, can't recall exactly what he uttered but it sounded like he was at least in on the decision. Maybe he knows her for years and is Godmother to his kids, who knows. Irish media lanscape is nothing if not 'cosy'.

Mike.

Thanks for that Mike,it would not surprise me one bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

mike65 wrote:
    Irish media lanscape is nothing if not 'cosy'.
    Mike.

Perfect way of putting it. What the hell were Newstalk thinking. Its more corrupt than the maffia. I've started to wonder what direction they Newstalk) are taking employing such people. She's so off-putting. Would have been better linching Dara O Brian for a week. Or maybe that's a bit below him:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

If you can manage to sit it out for a while (I know, not easy) you'll notice the "grawnd" accent gradually disappearing and being replaced by full-blown inner city Dub!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Peter Collins

Shamrok wrote:
    Oh, I can't abide her and her accent. Today for the laugh I listened to her on Newstalk in the background while relistening on the laptop to her charming "Zip up your Mickey" message she left on her ex's phone. Let's just say quite a contrast.

"Ugly Whore"

Look's who talking III

One of the lads from the sports Dept used to sit in for Moncrief and he was ok,I think it was Gerry O'Sullivan from the Weekend sports show.

Dudess wrote:
    If you can manage to sit it out for a while (I know, not easy) you'll notice the "grawnd" accent gradually disappearing and being replaced by full-blown inner city Dub!

I think they call that the "John Kilraine" syndrome.

John must have the strangest combination of accent known to man,one minute its "Mistah Lawlah" and in the next sentence the harsh intonations of north inner city spring up.
    Love to know what his background is......but it's not in the "Shires" that's for sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

she's a brutal presenter .mutton dressed up as lamb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Radio Mad.

she's a brutal presenter .mutton dressed up as lamb.

Please don't be insulting to animals.

Today for the laugh I listened to her on Newstalk in the background while relistening on the laptop to her charming "Zip up your Mickey" message she left on her ex's phone

Bald middle aged dickhead? Sean has clearly got over it.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭NUTLEY BOY

Isn't July a bit early for Christmas Panto ?

Obviously Newstalk would say "Oh no it isn't "........

Is it true that Samantha Mumba once called her Barbies's Granny ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,566 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Dub13 wrote:
    What are peoples opinion about Twink standing in for a week on News Talk,not many people on the radio (gerry ryan is another) can make me turn off in seconds.
    Never mind switch off, her and that other yoke, Clare McKeown, make me want to puncture my own eardrums with a rusty compass.

WTF are they thinking asking her back at Newstalk?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭jawlie

I heard Twink and think she's not that bad, a little overexcitable, perhaps, but she compare's well to that dreafrdul Ryan Tubberdy or Derek Mooney programme on RTE radio.

I heard a vox pop this week from dublin, and Dubliners being interviewed all said "do ya kno wha I meeghan" at the end of their sentences. And in the middle of their sentences. Sometimes in other places too. In our office we are considering betting on how many times its said in a vox pop, the winner being the closest to the actual number scooping the pot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭11.3 SECONDS

jawlie wrote:
    I heard Twink and think she's not that bad, a little overexcitable, perhaps, but she compare's well to that dreafrdul Ryan Tubberdy or Derek Mooney programme on RTE radio.

I heard a vox pop this week from dublin, and Dubliners being interviewed all said "do ya kno wha I meeghan" at the end of their sentences. And in the middle of their sentences. Sometimes in other places too. In our office we are considering betting on how many times its said in a vox pop, the winner being the closest to the actual number scooping the pot.

Yeah, I know what you mean........:)

You may be shocked by this but you will also hear it on the BBC as well. Gasp.....:eek:

Aghhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! :eek:

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

Sean should really start warning us before he takes more days off

That's it..Bye Bye Newstalk... I'm taking a stand on this one. She wouldn't even sound good on Nearfm or DCAL. There's plenty of talent on both stations that would put her to shame. If Newstalk and their senior mangement think a name like Twink will grap listeners... they're more out of touch than I thought:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 KillerBaboon

It was funny when she got drunk yesterday though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,566 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

bbability wrote:
    That's it..Bye Bye Newstalk...
    Me too. This was the final nail in the coffin for me.

You can just imagine the management meeting in which that particular decision was taken: "oh yeah roysh...Twink...high profile after the whole 'Zip up yore mickey' episode...loike totally controversial...let's book her for Sean's hols roysh?...get people talking, roysh?'.

Wrong. Get people switching off en-masse during one of their highest daily listenership spikes. Watch the numbers fall, roysh?

Personally, I'd rather listen to Derek Mooney, which is like having to choose between Hitler and Polpot.

At least Twink only makes me want to switch off. Clare McKeown used to make me want to kick apart any radio within 20 feet.

I'm mailing this thread to Newstalk HQ

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Big Balls

Lads Newstalk's JNLRs are not going to be determined by one or two weeks of a fill in.

Actually I lied!

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

I think they call that the "John Kilraine" syndrome.

John must have the strangest combination of accent known to man,one minute its "Mistah Lawlah" and in the next sentence the harsh intonations of north inner city spring up.
    Love to know what his background is......but it's not in the "Shires" that's for sure.

He just sounds like an Irishman who has spent some time in England and picked up a bit of an accent, nothing grand or posh.

Jebus Hairy Joesph! She's back. "Sitting for Sean for a few days"

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭darkmaster2

I have to turn off newstalk when she is on. Awful Awful woman. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭shockwave

Same here I cannot stand that bloody woman, she makes me want to throw the radio at the wall!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭ciaran76

Can't listen when she is on the radio. Just don't like her at all. Makes me keep Newstalk off for the rest of the day too.

Same here,the sec I hear her voice NewsTalk goes off.

mike65 wrote:
    Jebus Hairy Joesph! She's back. "Sitting for Sean for a few days"
    Mike.

Ah here. they're taking the pish..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

yeah, I was crest fallen as soon as I heard her voice just after 2 o'clock yesterday afternoon, even the dog whimpered. Now it's Phantom FM all day for me.

Iv'e heard worse.

Who...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭aerialhead

JK is London and Dublin - very distinctive, and a decent bloke, top professional...and no, I'm not him, his mate or a family member...

At least she is not back this week...?I posted about Gerry O'Sullivan earlier on this thread (post 19) so maybe somebody did post this thread onto newstalk....

Dub13 wrote:
    At least she is not back this week...?I posted about Gerry O'Sullivan earlier on this thread (post 19) so maybe somebody did post this thread onto newstalk....

PHEW!!! :D

Well if its Ger who's in today - he was abominable (sp).

Mike.

No dont know he the new guy is,Gerry was on all last week and very good IMO.

Dub13 wrote:
    No dont know he the new guy is,Gerry was on all last week and very good IMO.

The guy who was on today was awful. Not sure who he was