Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eamon O Hara

• 21-07-2007 8:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭

Well I thought I'd start this thread for relief purposes and also to pick on somebody else.This year the level of double standards is p1ssing me off and the amount of talk about the Dublin team and players makes me feel disappointed.

Basically,I find it sickening that an intercounty player publicly comes out with tripe promoting violence in the game.O Hara says he admires Rooney for not hitting Vaughan but says he should have.Well before O Hara came out with this,I tipped him to be in with a chance of getting an all-star but now I hope he doesn't.Some people have said that punishments should be handed down to the Dublin three for simply showboating in order to prevent a bust up but publicly bringing the game into the crapper deserves a suspension of some sort.

This is way worse than anything that happened on Sunday in my opinion but nothing has been mentioned.So what are peoples view on this.

What are peoples views on this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

blackbelt wrote:
    This year the level of double standards is p1ssing me off

Basically,I find it sickening that an intercounty player publicly comes out with tripe promoting violence in the game.O Hara says he admires Rooney for not hitting Vaughan but says he should have.

Vaughan will get a box someday. He already got one in Coppers a while back. O Hara is right, Rooney should have hit him for acting the bolox. But fair play to O Hara for saying that he admires him for not doing it.
    blackbelt wrote:
    Some people have said that punishments should be handed down to the Dublin three for simply showboating in order to prevent a bust up but publicly bringing the game into the crapper deserves a suspension of some sort.

This is way worse than anything that happened on Sunday in my opinion but nothing has been mentioned.So what are peoples view on this.

You are joking surely :D It sounds like you are getting desperate when you try to compare the two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

stepbar wrote:
    Vaughan will get a box someday. He already got one in Coppers a while back. O Hara is right, Rooney should have hit him for acting the bolox. But fair play to O Hara for saying that he admires him for not doing it.

Define "acting the bolox". Does that mean that anybody doing this on the pitch deserves a box. What about a corner-back pulling at a forwards shirt or other players making comments about taking the law into their own hands? Who cares about what happens off the pitch? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭meathman 007

blackbelt wrote:
    Well I thought I'd start this thread for relief purposes and also to pick on somebody else.This year the level of double standards is p1ssing me off and the amount of talk about the Dublin team and players makes me feel disappointed.

Basically,I find it sickening that an intercounty player publicly comes out with tripe promoting violence in the game.O Hara says he admires Rooney for not hitting Vaughan but says he should have.Well before O Hara came out with this,I tipped him to be in with a chance of getting an all-star but now I hope he doesn't.Some people have said that punishments should be handed down to the Dublin three for simply showboating in order to prevent a bust up but publicly bringing the game into the crapper deserves a suspension of some sort.

mods this is not a personal abuse on blackbelt - but im just going to point out a few things about what he has posted.......
    Im so fed up of your posts blackbelt.....the posts you have made really does indicate that you are a hypocrit..... the thread you have started giving out about o'hara is laughable...... lets just state a few facts first - if you were to ask anyone imparcial about what the dublin players did last week - they would tell you that they were lucky not to end up in hospital for what they did....... that is not promoting violence - its simply stating that if a person acts in a certain way, they are asking to get the head taken off them - fact - that is the society we live in. O'hara was not promoting violence by what he said - he was simply pointing out what most of the country was thinking when they saw the incident. - none of this would have been an issue if the dublins could of been good winners and not have acted like idiots...
    Its unbelievable - you come on here constantly abusing geraghty and yet completely disregard anything your beloved dublin players do.... its gone beyond a joke at this stage...... everyone knows that geraghty has a dodgy character, but if you want to call a spade a spade - you could call every dublin player a thug after what happened against tyrone in the 'battle of omagh' - but no you seem to forget about every negative act a dublin player takes part in. I am a huge fan of meath football - but i can easily take a step back and objectively analyse things when it comes to meath football - its obvious that when it comes to dublin you can not do this. Any comments that you make regarding dublin really do have to be taken with a pinch of salt.....

As usual, you will brush me off as a bitter meath fan (again please remind me what i have to be bitter about?!) - however the comments you have made over the last few weeks are there for all to see.....

An Citeog wrote:
    Define "acting the bolox". Does that mean that anybody doing this on the pitch deserves a box. What about a corner-back pulling at a forwards shirt or other players making comments about taking the law into their own hands? Who cares about what happens off the pitch? :rolleyes:

Great example to be showing the young kids who aspire to play GAA. Maybe "antagonising the opposition" might be a better word for "acting the bolox". But at the end of the day, Rooney is a bigger man for not reacting. But as I've said Vaughan will get a box one day and TBH I'll be crying crocodile tears for him when he does. Maybe its time the GAA stepped up to the mark and doled out a few 1 match suspensions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

stepbar wrote:
    Great example to be showing the young kids who aspire to play GAA. Maybe "antagonising the opposition" might be a better word for "acting the bolox". But at the end of the day, Rooney is a bigger man for not reacting. But as I've said Vaughan will get a box one day and TBH I'll be crying crocodile tears for him when he does. Maybe its time the GAA stepped up to the mark and doled out a few 1 match suspensions.

If you start doling out suspensions for this, where are you supposed to stop. Antagonising the other player is what every back tries to do. Some do it by constantly talking crap in the opponents ear, a few little nudges here and there. This is nothing new and can be seen at all levels in the game. This has already been discussed in a lot more detail in another thread, so I'm not going to go over whether Vaughan should have reacted like that to Rooney. I'm sure Vaughan is well used to being singled out for attention and getting the odd punch. I somehow doubt he's worried about your crocodile tears! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Meathman,saying that a full back should have hit a man for gesturing is disgusting.The double standards I've been talking about is the criticism and scrutinisation of the Dublin players and team BUT YET when another county or player does something similar its not given the time of day.We'll never know exactly what Rooney said to Vaughan before the throw in.He could have been goading him with personal insults.

Three things Meathman

1.If you fed up with my posts then don't read them.It won't upset me in the slightest.

2.Striking somebody once or three times in a match is way worse than going ott in celebrations and reactions to goading etc.

3.Eamon O Hara,a man who played brilliant football,is not advertising the ideal image of the game.Some parent or kid who picks up a paper to read that may be discouragd from bringing their kid to football matches.There is no excuse for violence in the game period.

The fact that no thread or hardly a mention of what he said goes to show that there is a level of blindness here.As Flukey said to me,we Dublin fans but we are also fans of GAA from Dublin and what I read O Hara say made my blood boil.I won't acknowledge him as an all-star if he gets it due to his disgraceful remarks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

blackbelt wrote:

get a grip of yourself blackbelt you are a banana.

blackbelt wrote:

The fact that no thread or hardly a mention of what he said goes to show that there is a level of blindness here.As Flukey said to me,we Dublin fans but we are also fans of GAA from Dublin and what I read O Hara say made my blood boil.I won't acknowledge him as an all-star if he gets it due to his disgraceful remarks.

What about Ciaran Whelan? Will you stop acknowledging him? What about Greame Geraghty, Peter Cavanan etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭6ix

blackbelt wrote:
    BUT YET when another county or player does something similar its not given the time of day.

In all fairness to everyone - when do players from other counties do the whole goading/showmanship that the dubs do?

I say this honestly -- if Dublin didn't do all that crap, I'd like to see them win an All-Ireland.

The current squad have some talented players who I love to watch, but their showmanship completely puts me off - I find it a horrible trait, and I think this is part of where the resentment lies for many people.

As a child/teenager (originally from Connaught), I always preferred Dublin to Meath when watching Leinster games, as Meath were the dirtier side at the time (IMO - but please let's not get into that). I also enjoyed the banter of the Dubs any time I went to Croker.

Now, all that has changed, and the levels of hype and showmanship have stopped me, as a neutral, from enjoying Dublin football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I admire O'Hara for saying what everyone else was thinking. The Dublin management and fans are getting unfair scrutiny they say - why pull crap like this?

It has no place in a GAA match. Celebrating victory before a match is over is something I've never even seen done in a club match. It made my blood boil to see the Dublin players do it. Their actions were disgraceful and showed they had no respect for their opponents.

Would you see the Kerry players do the same? I'm sure if the Laois players done it Blackbelt you'd be on here saying the same. Its about time you lost the blue tinted glasses.

It seems that as each match passes, the Dublin team take a step closer to becoming the English soccer team. They really are getting caught up in their own media circus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭6ix

The English soccer team would not get away with goading like that by the way.

Here's a link to Ruud Van Nistelrooy being booked for goading an opponent after he scored.It's during an international match between the Netherlands and Andorra. The opponent wound him up about missing a penalty, so when he eventually scored he got in the Andorra player's face & got himself a yellow card.

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=eJmlwTGyKaQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

fair play to ohara hes right in my opinion in so far as alot of people would have lashed out in such a situation.....strange thing is ohara has often been a great man for the show boating in his day and rising other players on his day. although i cant say iv witnessed him doing anything as blatently brainless as the dublin guys last week.

van nistelrooys celebration is kinda more funny than antagonising :)

I think its utter crap to say he's promoting violence too. He's expressing his opinion that the Dublin lads shouldn't of celebrated like that before the end of the match. At no point does he say people should be punching each other.

I think its a case of Blackbelt twisting O'Hara's comments because they aren't pro Dub brigade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

I think what O Hara said was wrong, once i have it correct that Rooney "Should" have hit him. Fair enough if he said he would have hit him but saying he "Should" is wrong. I dont see how anyone can say that O Hara saying you should deck a guy in that situation is not promoting violence to a degree. Of course it is. Also, Van Nistelroys celebration shows something else. The reaction of the commentator. The Irish nation seems to be up in arms over this (well, as far as boards shows anyway) and the commentator laughs at Ruuds celebration. I honestly think way too much is being made of this. Yes it was unsporting but its not the first and certainly not the last time this will happen. It almost seems that people expect that GAA will remain pure and completely sporting and the complete anti-soccer until the end of time but at the end of the day, it is a sport and things like this will happen. Its nothing to lose your blob over :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

i really dislike o'hara (some comments he make a few years ago about a county from connaught) but i totally agree with what he said alot of people wud have given vaughan a dig.that type of **** has no place in the gaa dont care who does it.i really like watching this dublin team they play good football and id like to see them win AI. goin to croker for a dublin game is one of the best atmospheres iv witnessed in any sport but that stuff leaves an ugly taste.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭monosharp

blackbelt wrote:

Double standards ?? I bought a newspaper at the start of last years championship after the opening round of the hurling. A football hadn't being kicked at this stage and yet what was most of the GAA coverage in the newspaper about ?

Double standards when Dublins concerned ? All i can say is BAH!
    Basically,I find it sickening that an intercounty player publicly comes out with tripe promoting violence in the game.O Hara says he admires Rooney for not hitting Vaughan but says he should have.

He bloody well should have! I would have and i think anyone here who plays football and has an opposition player act like that would say the same thing.
    What Vaughan did was the equivalent of saying "Please, please, please break my f'ing jaw because i'm acting like a complete twat".

Everyone takes and gets abuse in a match. You get **** whispered in your ear, you get little diggs into your side, you get pulled, pushed, kicked, tripped. Look at a hurling match between Cork and Tipp, as Ger Canning put it, "theres no quarter given and none expected".

There are certain things though, that you don't do.

I take, and i have taken a lot of ****e in matches and i've never got into "handbags" with anyone. But if Vaughan did that to me i'd break his f'ing jaw without thinking twice.

It was completely disrespectful, i never thought i'd see such carry on from children nevermind a supposedly grown man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

I won't acknowledge him as an all-star if he gets it due to his disgraceful remarks

But what if any of the DUB players involved get AS awards?
    That's perfectly fine I suppose?

They were out of line; a mono said it's was disrespectful and tbqh it's harder to rid oneself of that kind of image.

kaimera wrote:
    But what if any of the DUB players involved get AS awards?
    That's perfectly fine I suppose?

They were out of line; a mono said it's was disrespectful and tbqh it's harder to rid oneself of that kind of image.

Exactly.

You can forgive a lad for doing a lot of ****e, you expect a certain amount of ****e from your marker. You expect sly comments in the ear, you expect a digg, a bit of physical stuff off the ball and beyond the rules but you don't expect a childish spoiled brat act like what Vaughan did.

We've all done it and got it in return.

Its not that Vaughan was celebrating and "sticking" it to the Laois lads, its how he did it.

Why don't you (Blackbelt) take a look at Eamon O'Hara's goal and how he "Celebrated" it in the Connacht Final. Now take into account that Dublin were favourites while noone gave Sligo a holy hope in hell, especially the Galway team and management.

I'll never forget a story i was told at a Munster final a few years ago.
    Tony Reddan, the Tipp goalkeeper at the time was saving everything. Cork’s Willie John Daly approached Jack Lynch, by then a TD, at corner forward. “Will you get into the square and do something about Reddan - he’s breaking our hearts.” Lynch nodded. “Right. Next time you get a ball out around the middle of field, lob a high one into the square and I’ll take care of Reddan.” Moments later Daly dispatched. Reddan positioned himself to seize the dropping ball. Lynch saw his opportunity and charged in from the left. But Tony spotted him, swiftly grabbed, sidestepped and cleared, while Lynch crashed into the goalpost, ending up in the net. As he was picking himself up, Tony turned to him and said: “F*k you Lynch. The next f*ing time you try that there’ll be an early f*ing by election in Cork!”

An attempt at violence and a threat of violence. But was it disrespectful ? Absolutely not.

What Vaughan did was disrespectful, disrespectful to himself, disrespectful to the Laois players and disrespectful to the game. He played to the mob on the hill like a spoiled child would do and the worst thing was a lot of the hill loved it.

You know, i used to love seeing Dublin do well. Especially against Meath and Kerry, they have such a great footballing tradition.

Now i can't wait til they're beaten each year and everytime i question whether i should be so much against them they give fresh new reasons like clockwork.

The last two years have really taken the biscuit, the disgraceful acts at last years semi-final really was well above and beyond the line.

You don't own the f'ing hill, your not walking out on old trafford, and you have as much sportsmanship as Chelsea. And you know what, i believe a lot of the blame can be placed with Caffrey. He seems to be instilling this thuggish, unsportsmanlike behaviour in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

There was a lot of controversy about Donaghy's reaction last year when he scored that goal. He said himself that he was getting abuse in the first half and Bellew was using every trick in the book to keep him quite. He scored his goal, did the mouthing and got on with it. Aplologised publicly later and showed the respect he had for Bellew.

Donaghy was a man about it, admitted he was wrong, but explained the cirumstances. Maybe something from the Dublin players explaining why they felt the need to do what they did would help? Maybe it was personal abuse and not just Dublin cockiness? ;)

Just hope they will be as open as Donaghy was in explaining it and apologising. He was twice the man for it.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Fact is that what happened has no place on a GAA pitch. As I said, ya wouldn't even seen that disrespect shown in a club game.

Dublin complain about 31 counties being against them but the conduct last Sunday is exactly why.

I wouldn't mind but Bonner was one of the main protagonists and he'd just come onto the pitch and had done relatively nothing in the game but was boasting like he had. Pure cockiness.

It's not the first time he's been involved in controversey either. He was one of the main men involved in the brawl in Tyrone and I also hear he was involved in a huge brawl a year or two ago at a club game.

Like I said, the Dublin players need to stop getting caught up in their own media frenzy. Wait until they lose (yet again) and the media forget their heroes and rip into them once more until next year.

Lemlin wrote:
    Wait until they lose (yet again) and the media forget their heroes and rip into them once more until next year.

You know, i honestly used to enjoy seeing the Dubs do well. Used to have great banter with the fans before, during and after matches.

But the last few years, i honestly look forward to seeing them knocked out. Its like Christmas, you know its coming but it always seems so far away.

monosharp wrote:
    You know, i honestly used to enjoy seeing the Dubs do well. Used to have great banter with the fans before, during and after matches.

But the last few years, i honestly look forward to seeing them knocked out. Its like Christmas, you know its coming but it always seems so far away.

I have no problem with Dublin doing well. If they act like they deserve it on the pitch. Scenes like last weekend's make them look big headed and that is why people would prefer to see other, more honest sides do better.

I can't stand Tyrone because of all the play acting their players do but they'd still never disrespect opponents like what went on last weekend.

Actually Lemlin, last time Tyrone played the Dubs in CP (not the league, the replay in the AI) towards the end of the game after they had it won, their keeper turned to the Hill and started kissing the crest and celebrating like mad to us. Exactly the same imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Absolutely fantastic to still see the whinging going on here a week later. Its further strenghtening the siege mentality for the dubs - 31 v 1, "no-one likes us, we dont care", etc.

I pray we get Sligo at some stage, O hara will be hounded left right and centre.

Keep the moaning coming lads, we're loving it.

Great to see it started by a dub too......

I wonder will the Sligo fans boo Ciaran Whelan?

Why would they stepbar?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Started by a Dub indeed but they just keep chomping at the bait. Loving it.:D

Oh yes Eamon O Hara,an amateur sportsman and hero in Sligo and many people admire him until he comes out with that crap about another player who should have punched a man on tv and in front of a sold out Croke Park...what a role model.:rolleyes: Who asked him for his opinion anyway?

Yet,we have Lemlin the righteous man :rolleyes: saying that O Hara is not promoting violence by saying Rooney should have hit him but admires him for not doing so.I bet if somebody like Cluxton or Brogan said somebody should hit somebody else,all you anti-Dublin brigade members would be up in arms and swarming this forum complaining.A perfect example of double standards.

Also comparing the Dublin team in GAA to the England national soccer team is hilarious.Some of you need to get a grip.Two different sports with two completely different player profiles and characteristics.So who are we going to compare?Oh wait Shane Ryan is like Paul Scholes and Jason Sherlock is like Ryan Giggs.Keep up the antics lads because its very entertaining.

On a side note,some of you are taking this very personally by saying "he should have bloody well hit him"...absolutely comical.Win,lose or draw when a person has goaded me or shouted in my face or celebrated I simply laugh it off.Then they can't get back at you and they actually get frustrated.Vaughan was a bit ott but again he has the reputation of being a hot head right?Better to score a cracking goal and stick it than loaf your oppenent in the face after he's had a few words in your ear

You guys will try and make something out of nothing but the issue this thread is about is not me,its about O Haras comments which were disgraceful.Laois have only themselves to blame for the pushing and shoving when those actions were inconsequential to the result at the end.What I saw was Rooney et al trying to goad some Dublin players into getting sent off.The reaction from Brogan in particular was classic,point to the scoreboard and hurt them that way and celebrate.Trying to start a ruckus because you are losing is unsporting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Trying to start a ruckus because you are losing is unsporting.

This is very true as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭news for you

Nalced_irl wrote:
    Actually Lemlin, last time Tyrone played the Dubs in CP (not the league, the replay in the AI) towards the end of the game after they had it won, their keeper turned to the Hill and started kissing the crest and celebrating like mad to us. Exactly the same imo.

That's quite a feat considering the Tyrone keeper was defending the Canal End goal in the second half...

Thats not the important part of the post. Maybe it was a different game if your right on that. It was a championship game anyway.

blackbelt wrote:
    Oh yes Eamon O Hara,an amateur sportsman and hero in Sligo and many people admire him until he comes out with that crap about another player who should have punched a man on tv and in front of a sold out Croke Park...what a role model.:rolleyes: Who asked him for his opinion anyway?

Yet,we have Lemlin the righteous man :rolleyes: saying that O Hara is not promoting violence by saying Rooney should have hit him but admires him for not doing so.I bet if somebody like Cluxton or Brogan said somebody should hit somebody else,all you anti-Dublin brigade members would be up in arms and swarming this forum complaining.A perfect example of double standards.

Also comparing the Dublin team in GAA to the England national soccer team is hilarious.Some of you need to get a grip.Two different sports with two completely different player profiles and characteristics.So who are we going to compare?Oh wait Shane Ryan is like Paul Scholes and Jason Sherlock is like Ryan Giggs.Keep up the antics lads because its very entertaining.

On a side note,some of you are taking this very personally by saying "he should have bloody well hit him"...absolutely comical.Win,lose or draw when a person has goaded me or shouted in my face or celebrated I simply laugh it off.Then they can't get back at you and they actually get frustrated.Vaughan was a bit ott but again he has the reputation of being a hot head right?Better to score a cracking goal and stick it than loaf your oppenent in the face after he's had a few words in your ear

You guys will try and make something out of nothing but the issue this thread is about is not me,its about O Haras comments which were disgraceful.Laois have only themselves to blame for the pushing and shoving when those actions were inconsequential to the result at the end.What I saw was Rooney et al trying to goad some Dublin players into getting sent off.The reaction from Brogan in particular was classic,point to the scoreboard and hurt them that way and celebrate.Trying to start a ruckus because you are losing is unsporting.

If the man wants to speak, let him speak. He has every right to and he's just saying what alot of other people are thinking.

And I bet if the Laois players acted like the Dubs did, you'd be giving out stink about them Blackbelt. That's the way you work, you give out hell about one player throwing three punches when one of your own heroes has given people broken noses and concussion.

Why are the English soccer team and the Dublin GAA team so different? I find the media circus that surrounds both the same. The trouble that a minority of supporters from both cause the same. The fact that both believe they will win any competiton they enter but then lose in the quarter or semi finals the same. The fact that both have an over-rated star (Whelan vs. Beckham) the same. That's quite a few comparisons if you ask me.

Ryan Giggs is Welsh by the way and Paul Scholes hasn't played for England for a few years either. Yet another one of your inaccuracies. You really do find it hard to get things right about anything.

Vaughan has a reputation for being a lot more than a hot head. And its not just around the country, it's in Dublin too. That's why he got a punch in Coppers and why his own fans roar abuse at him off the Hill. He is a player that is hated by alot of club men around Dublin for his pure cockiness.

Yes, the Laois players were wrong to start pushing and shoving, but the reaction from the Dublin players was shocking. To point to the scoreoard is totally wrong.

By the way, why ask for our opinions if you weren't going to pay any attention???

As you can see, the wide majority of people think the Dubs were wrong. Not Laois.

It seems that you're going to ignore that because you're not hearing what you want.

Nalced_irl wrote:
    Why would they stepbar?

Ah well seeing bohsboy seems to believe that "O hara will be hounded left right and centre" by the dubs (should they meet).

Blackbelt, are you sure you know what you are talking about? If you think O'Hara's comments were disgraceful, then I think you're the comical one LOL.
    You can't really start rabbiting on about O'Hara when you have a nice chap called Ciaran Whelan. Very hyprocrital don't you think?

Lemlin wrote:
    I find the media circus that surrounds both the same.
    That makes the Teams the same? What has the press ect got to do with the team?
    Lemlin wrote:
    The trouble that a minority of supporters from both cause the same.
    They both cause the same? Havent seen Dublin fans rioting around any city centre recently. Have you? No rioting in the stands either. Oh wait.....you mean that one incident with a few bottles being thrown at those poor angels in green and yellow?
    Lemlin wrote:
    The fact that both believe they will win any competiton they enter but then lose in the quarter or semi finals the same.
    Most Dublin fans havent thought we would win an All Ireland for quite a few years now.
    Lemlin wrote:
    The fact that both have an over-rated star (Whelan vs. Beckham) the same.
    Whelan has been the anchorman of the Dublin midfield for the past few years. How is that over-rating? If we thought he was the best midfielder in the country, that would be over-rating him, but we dont.
    Lemlin wrote:
    That's quite a few comparisons if you ask me.
    Yea, quite a few that really are no comparison at all.

stepbar wrote:
    Ah well seeing bohsboy seems to believe that "O hara will be hounded left right and centre" by the dubs (should they meet).
    Ah right, so your wondering if Sligo fans would boo Whelan because Bohsman said something here? I dont think he has that much of an influence over them somehow.

Lemlin wrote:
    If the man wants to speak, let him speak. He has every right to and he's just saying what alot of other people are thinking.

And I bet if the Laois players acted like the Dubs did, you'd be giving out stink about them Blackbelt. That's the way you work, you give out hell about one player throwing three punches when one of your own heroes has given people broken noses and concussion.

Why are the English soccer team and the Dublin GAA team so different? I find the media circus that surrounds both the same. The trouble that a minority of supporters from both cause the same. The fact that both believe they will win any competiton they enter but then lose in the quarter or semi finals the same. The fact that both have an over-rated star (Whelan vs. Beckham) the same. That's quite a few comparisons if you ask me.

Ryan Giggs is Welsh by the way and Paul Scholes hasn't played for England for a few years either. Yet another one of your inaccuracies. You really do find it hard to get things right about anything.

Vaughan has a reputation for being a lot more than a hot head. And its not just around the country, it's in Dublin too. That's why he got a punch in Coppers and why his own fans roar abuse at him off the Hill. He is a player that is hated by alot of club men around Dublin for his pure cockiness.

Yes, the Laois players were wrong to start pushing and shoving, but the reaction from the Dublin players was shocking. To point to the scoreoard is totally wrong.

By the way, why ask for our opinions if you weren't going to pay any attention???

As you can see, the wide majority of people think the Dubs were wrong. Not Laois.

It seems that you're going to ignore that because you're not hearing what you want.

Like clockwork Lemlin,I've said on numerous occasions that I am not a fan of what Whelan has done as far as those incidents are concerned so please put your brain in gear when you write about me and what I think or say about Whelan.I am perfectly entitled to criticise GG or O Hara,the Laois players or anybody regardless of what Whelan has done.I am a Dublin fan but I'm also a GAA fan from Dublin so there goes your argument about Whelan which you conveniently bring up everytime us Dubs make a comment or opinion about violence or tomfoolery.That record has been broken a long time Lemlin.I'm sure your Cavan heroes have done some dodgy tackles and punches over the years too but that does not lead us to tell you that you can't give your opinion on anybody else.

I've also been reading peoples comments on other forums comparing the Dublin team to England or Man Utd.So if you want me to be more specific and accurate on players,I'd guess somebody on would compare lets say Neville to Paul Griffin and Vaughan/Whelan to Rooney?

Also,you say the wide majority think the Dubs were wrong and not Laois.Its very rich coming from these people that they'd criticise a player for pushing,shoving,punching etc however when the Dubs responded in a non-violent manner,theres war.Still the Dubs can't do any right by responding this way.You are a total hypocrite to rise to something like that when it is far less terrible than the other course of action.This has been the double standards I have been talking about.

This thread is about O Hara and what he said specifically but yet the anti-Dublin brigade turn it into a Dublin thread instead of focusing on the man in question and what he said specifically.As what was said earlier,you're chomping at the bait but we're loving it.

Lemlin wrote:

Like clockwork Lemlin,I've said on numerous occasions that I am not a fan of what Whelan has done as far as those incidents are concerned so please put your brain in gear when you write about me and what I think or say about Whelan.I am perfectly entitled to criticise GG or O Hara,the Laois players or anybody regardless of what Whelan has done.I am a Dublin fan but I'm also a GAA fan from Dublin so there goes your argument about Whelan which you conveniently bring up everytime us Dubs make a comment or opinion about violence or tomfoolery.That record has been broken a long time Lemlin.I'm sure your Cavan heroes have done some dodgy tackles and punches over the years too but that does not lead us to tell you that you can't give your opinion on anybody else.

I've also been reading peoples comments on other forums comparing the Dublin team to England or Man Utd.So if you want me to be more specific and accurate on players,I'd guess somebody on would compare lets say Neville to Paul Griffin and Vaughan/Whelan to Rooney?

Also,you say the wide majority think the Dubs were wrong and not Laois.Its very rich coming from these people that they'd criticise a player for pushing,shoving,punching etc however when the Dubs responded in a non-violent manner,theres war.Still the Dubs can't do any right by responding this way.You are a total hypocrite to rise to something like that when it is far less terrible than the other course of action.This has been the double standards I have been talking about.

This thread is about O Hara and what he said specifically but yet the anti-Dublin brigade turn it into a Dublin thread instead of focusing on the man in question and what he said specifically.As what was said earlier,you're chomping at the bait but we're loving it.

"The verbals are part of the contest. It is something i love.Once i can stay focused, i love talking back to a guy who`s had a go at me. If you score 6 or 7 points you can look back at him and laugh" - Mark Vaughan, May 2006

Nalced_irl wrote:
    "The verbals are part of the contest. It is something i love.Once i can stay focused, i love talking back to a guy who`s had a go at me. If you score 6 or 7 points you can look back at him and laugh" - Mark Vaughan, May 2006

Now before the anti-Dublin brigade decide to come here and go menopausal on us again,I'd like to point out that there is a lot of truth in this quote.Verbals are always going to be part of the game.A quiet word in the ear or shouting abuse or whatever is always going to happen.Its not a new concept.

When you score 6-7 points in a match and the man who marks you has goaded you previously,that man is going to have egg on his face by getting his just desserts when you best him.

Mulligan got in the face of the Hill when he killed off the Dublin comeback in 2005 but yet no mention of unsporting behaviour,sanctions or scumbaggery.All part of the game to be honest.Its violence thats the problem.No rules were broken 8 days ago and no public outcry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 johnnog

Hey Mr. Blackbelt, for a man who claimed (not too long ago in your hilarious autobiographical post)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=53529449&postcount=1

to be a bit of a boxer you seem to be very accepting of showboating and gloating in the sporting arena. If you've ever been to an amateur boxing contest you'll know the disdain shown for any form of showboating. I'd imagine that that disdain should follow though to other sporting arenas.

I believe Vaughan was extremely lucky not to have been smacked. (I'm not saying that it would have been the right thing to do, I'm just saying that it would not have been surprising if it happened). If I got a few digs some night in the city then people would say that was terrible but if I got a few digs because I was walking through a rough area calling the locals knackers then people would say it was my own fault and I was stupid.

Roddy Collins , a real Dub you'll agree, was writing in the paper over the weekend and said that if he was Rooney he would have laid out Vaughan. He said that it was a fine line away from spitting on him. Mr. Blackbelt, would you justify a player spitting on another as ok if the player had been niggling him? Would you justify it by saying that it was better than reacting with a smack in the same way that you justify gloating and showboating.

The truth is that a lot of neutrals would have liked to see Vaughan being put in his place. O'Hara was just telling the truth on what he thought and not being too PC. If Rooney had hit Vaughan without provocation, then the vast majority of neutrals would have said he was a thug for doing so , but if he had hit him after that provocation a lot of people would have thought something along the lines of "good enough for him" and had sympathy for Rooney if he'd been sent off.

At the end of the day, those players are setting themselves up for having their own noses rubbed in it the next time they are beaten.

P.S I don't want to be getting off topic, or in trouble for bringing up an old post but I can't figure out this post at all

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=53532203&postcount=16

Specifically the bit about "mud stained dungarees and eating his corn on the cob" . And as for "the second part of his name suggests it all to me" , I don't know what sort of information you can glean from the letter "g" . I'm not trying to start a slagging match with you. I genuinely haven't got a clue what that post was about and it intrigued me. Maybe it's some sort of boards.ie in-joke/reference that I'm not aware of?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

These threads are largely pointless and I made a promise to myself to avoid them, but I do have one thing I want to say. I think most of the Dubs here are not particularly delighted to see the actions of the Dublin players against Laois. However, I felt the Laois players were trying to provoke the Dubs from the first whistle, and were giving the Dubs plenty of verbals during play. I think what most of the Dubs fans are saying is that they would rather see the retorts that Vaughn et al gave, rather than see fisticuffs breakout, which would also be a likely outcome of that scenario. I think the Dublin players showed a bit of maturity in not retaliating physically, and I also think if it had been any other county, we would not have heard about any of this crap.

As for Roddy Collins, he doesnt know what he is talking about in soccer (which is his sport supposedly), as anyone who watched any of the Rod Squad will know, so should probably keep his GAA opinions to himself.

Well Mr Johnog,

Amateur boxing should not contain gloating or showboating etc and neither should pro boxing but the reality of pro boxing is that to promote the sport to Americans (for box office purposes) who are also into pro wrestling,they have to have their promos and make it appear to be a real fight with emotions behind it.This is also true with MMA,UFC etc.Tito Ortiz v Ken Shamrock springs to mind.However Ring Of Honour rules make sure there is a sporting hand-shake before a bout.Sadly the odd time you will see an amateur jump around like a lunatic when theres a knock-out etc.

I think if you do some digging around the threads you will find that I said Vaughan went a bit ott in his reaction.Also we will never know exactly what Rooney said to him before the game or when Munnelly scored the goal.Its far better to showboat than to lash out.Given the circumstances at the end with the Laois players trying to start a ruckus,the antics of Brogan and Bonner were justified instead of the reaction Laois were looking for.

Now,you went as far as to say Google search was my answer for GAA.Johnnog you may be right there.Sometimes I do use it to search for past articles and post-match reports ie Dublin winning the AI with the 12 apostles against Galway,also on other matches such as Dublin hockeying Meath in 1995 by 10 points.So theres your answer,do you get my drift?

You also claimed that I promote violence in the game by saying I am like the fans you encountered at a match.I do not shout "break his leg" etc.You clearly did this to p1ss me off as we all know I hate violence in the game.

As far as the corn on the cob-Dungaree comments are concerned,that was having a laugh.I wouldn't expect you to get it but hey we all have our problems.You didn't do foundation Irish by any chance John?Is that John Og or just a typo by you forgetting to press the space key?

Anyway,I'm really looking forward to your next post.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

blackbelt wrote:

When you score 6-7 points in a match and the man who marks you has goaded you previously,that man is going to have egg on his face by getting his just desserts when you best him.

Mulligan got in the face of the Hill when he killed off the Dublin comeback in 2005 but yet no mention of unsporting behaviour,sanctions or scumbaggery.All part of the game to be honest.Its violence thats the problem.No rules were broken 8 days ago and no public outcry.

Yeah Muuligan actually used the Hill as an incentive and inspiration for him to return to form and fair play to him.

He was having a crap season until "that goal"

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 johnnog

blackbelt wrote:
    You also claimed that I promote violence in the game by saying I am like the fans you encountered at a match.I do not shout "break his leg" etc.You clearly did this to p1ss me off as we all know I hate violence in the game.

Sorry there man. You got the wrong end of the stick. I wasn't saying that you were promoting violence, or that the eejits roaring that beside me were promoting violence. I doubt the players are any more or less likely to do something because of voices from the crowd. The comparison I was making was the apparent dichotomy between being highly principled and outraged against a certain type of action one minute and then baying for blood the next.
    And also, I'd probably hazard a guess, that contrary to your apparent inflated opinion of yourself, we don't all know what you hate. I personally don't know you from Adam. I've only been here a while. I wasn't attracted here by "the legend of Blackbelt". I came across this GAA section by accident.

Personally I think if someone gets a dig, the best way to deal with it is to stand up to your opponent to show him you're not afraid, like Shane Ryan did against Laois. I've no real problem with retaliation on a one for one basis (because it's understandable) but what I really dislike is third and subsequent men in that you always get or bad off-the-ball stuff. Whatever happens though happens and the players have their chance to deal with it if they like there and then or else they forget about it and move on. What goes around comes around eventually for most people anyway .

In fairness to all the talk of knackers or scumbags on the hill or whatever, they are not the same as the vast amount of supporters and I don't think anybody would think that the type of person who'd be up roaring abuse and taking coke would be the type of person who'd bother posting regularly on a message board. There were soccer style chants audiable from Portlaoise on Sunday and I was disappointed that it seems to be a phenomenon that may be spreading. I hope it dies out in the near future.

I wasn't asking for the generic explanation of amateur vs pro boxing above. That's for other sections on this site. I'm well aware of the difference and that is why you'll notice I explicitly said amateur in my post. I was just pointing out that most amateur boxers detest showboating and assumed that if you were a boxer, then that dislike would transfer to other sports. I assumed wrong it seems.

All good players get targeted/niggled/taunted off the ball. Not just Dublin ones. It's a bigger man who can ignore it and not be risen at all. Coaches tell their players to "retaliate" on the scoreboard. Not by pointing to the scoreboard or trying to goad them in public. At least most coaches do. I hope it doesn't become a part of the game.

You still haven't explained your rant about the corn on the cob bit. I don't expect you to do it now either because you tried to gloss over it in your last post. So I can guess you are just embarassed at whatever it is supposed to mean. I won't mention it again.

As for my level of Irish, that's irrelevant. Suffice to say though that there's a good chance that when you do your Leaving you can let us all know how you get on. There are other levels than foundation level though. Your school may not have them as options but they do exist.

And as for my username, although I should have no need to explain it. The username "johnno" was already taken. Can you figure the rest out? it's not "Johnn Óg" . I don't know of anyone who spells the name John with two "n"s .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭GalwayDub2

Personally I think if someone gets a dig, the best way to deal with it is to stand up to your opponent to show him you're not afraid, like Shane Ryan did against Laois.
    Good point. This has hardly been mentioned how Shane Ryan remained calm and didnt give into the Laois player smacking him on the face twice, he just remained calm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭news for you

Seanies32 wrote:
    Yeah Muuligan actually used the Hill as an incentive and inspiration for him to return to form and fair play to him.

He was having a crap season until "that goal"

Didn't he also go over to the Hill at the end of the replayed game and throw his jersey into the crowd, so it's not like there was any malice, i.e. Mulligan had respect for the Hill.

blackbelt wrote:

Yes but you are attacking Geraghty as if he was the first and only man to throw a punch on the GAA pitch. I am pointing out that I'm sick of the hypocritical nature of people from Dublin complaining about Geragthy when his actions were far less than Whelan's. I think its a just and fair point.

As far as Cavan players go, I am well aware there are a few that throw punches. There was a disgraceful incident involving a Westmeath and a Cavan player years ago. Cavan have also had their fair share of players sent off in recent times. The difference between me and you Blackbelt is that I'm willing to admit to the failings of my team.

That's because pushing and shoving have always been a part of GAA. There's always been fisticuffs. Acting like the Dublin players did and goading the opposition the other day isn't the GAA way though. And its downright disrespectful.

I fail to get the chomping at the bit part but I think that's because you don't know what you're speaking about and are just repeating the neanderthal comment above tbh.

The bottom line is that you asked us for our opinion and now that you aren't hearing what you want, you are disregarding what we are saying. Asking someone for their opinion doesn't work like that. You have to take on board what they say and you have to take on board now that the wide majority of people on here think your blessed heroes were wrong.

Waylander wrote:
    These threads are largely pointless and I made a promise to myself to avoid them, but I do have one thing I want to say. I think most of the Dubs here are not particularly delighted to see the actions of the Dublin players against Laois. However, I felt the Laois players were trying to provoke the Dubs from the first whistle, and were giving the Dubs plenty of verbals during play. I think what most of the Dubs fans are saying is that they would rather see the retorts that Vaughn et al gave, rather than see fisticuffs breakout, which would also be a likely outcome of that scenario. I think the Dublin players showed a bit of maturity in not retaliating physically, and I also think if it had been any other county, we would not have heard about any of this crap.

As for Roddy Collins, he doesnt know what he is talking about in soccer (which is his sport supposedly), as anyone who watched any of the Rod Squad will know, so should probably keep his GAA opinions to himself.

No other county would have acted like that Waylander. That's the problem. You wouldn't see the like of Kerry or Cork acting like that.

Lemlin wrote:
    Yes but you are attacking Geraghty as if he was the first and only man to throw a punch on the GAA pitch. I am pointing out that I'm sick of the hypocritical nature of people from Dublin complaining about Geragthy when his actions were far less than Whelan's. I think its a just and fair point.

As far as Cavan players go, I am well aware there are a few that throw punches. There was a disgraceful incident involving a Westmeath and a Cavan player years ago. Cavan have also had their fair share of players sent off in recent times. The difference between me and you Blackbelt is that I'm willing to admit to the failings of my team.

That's because pushing and shoving have always been a part of GAA. There's always been fisticuffs. Acting like the Dublin players did and goading the opposition the other day isn't the GAA way though. And its downright disrespectful.

I fail to get the chomping at the bit part but I think that's because you don't know what you're speaking about and are just repeating the neanderthal comment above tbh.

The bottom line is that you asked us for our opinion and now that you aren't hearing what you want, you are disregarding what we are saying. Asking someone for their opinion doesn't work like that. You have to take on board what they say and you have to take on board now that the wide majority of people on here think your blessed heroes were wrong.

Myself and yourself have repeated this over and over, however Blackbelt doesn't seem to understand. Anybody who can condemm O'Hara / Geraghty / whoever and not the antics of the boys in blue needs to have a reality check. Seriously.

So let me get this straight....
    Lemlin wrote:
    Acting like the Dublin players did and goading the opposition the other day isn't the GAA way though. And its downright disrespectful.
    Ok, disrespectful and basically just not cricket
    Lemlin wrote:
    That's because pushing and shoving have always been a part of GAA. There's always been fisticuffs.
    Respectful?????