Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you ask a person out... on the bus?

• 18-07-2007 6:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭

...Just for future reference nothing else. ;)

I got on the number 27 bus at Coolock a couple of hours ago. The following stop a drop dead gorgeous girl gets on. She looks Spanish. The bus was fairly empty, maybe 7 or 8 people downstairs. She's walking up the isle and I'm praying she sits beside me. She does. First thing I was thinking is why did she not sit on the empty seat across the isle. I'm not complaining. Anyway, she puts her ear phones on full blast (my type of girl :)) and I spend the next 25 minutes staring at her reflection in the glass. I don't know if she was looking back as she had some sort of shades on but I'd like to think she was. ;) Connolly station comes and it's my stop. She just moved her legs slightly for me to squeeze past and that was the last of it.

I spent my journey home regretting not asking her out. Even just slipping her my number on a piece of paper. My instinct just tells me she'd have said yes which is the reason I'm so annoyed with myself. Anyway, who'd have the guts to ask someone out on bus/train/luas? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

Surely if she had that in mind she wouldn't have put her earphones in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

do you normally keep a/many piece(s) of paper with your number on it whilst travelling/day to day stuff? or always have a pen/paper? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I was chatted up on the bus once.

I was smoking a spliff down the back and this lady comes up, asks me for my name, number, home address; all business so she was.

She said she'd write me but I never did hear from her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

personally, i wouldnt. but i wouldnt be averse to being chatted up on the bus (y'no.. if i was single ...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Earthhorse: LOL :D

Anyway, to answer the OP's question. I did this once. Was on a bus heading down the country and got chatting to this girl in the seat across the aisle. Had a laugh so just before getting off, I suggested we meet up for a drink sometime.

She said yes.. :D score, right?

Wrong.. After listening to her make racist remarks about people (loudly and within their earshot), and having her drag me around town shopping (as opposed to the few drinks and bite to eat we'd arranged only 2 hours earlier) THEN looking at me as if expecting me to buy her a €400 coat (still the first date remember!) when her credit card was declined....... well, needless to say there was no second date!

Be careful what you wish for OP! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭J.S. Pill

Speaking of odd places to be asked out...

A friend of mine went for a haircut in Peter Marks in Wexford. The girl who washed his hair gave him her number when he was done. My friend said she sounded eastern european.

This struck me as a highly unusual thing to happen in Ireland so I said that she probably saw that sort of thing going on all the time on the Polish dubbed version of 'friends'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

psycho, the bus is for transport not finding dates

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

I got talking to a really friendly girl on the PATH over here and was I not already involved I probably would have asked her out once we had reached our stop. That said, I wouldn't just slip a piece of paper to someone and hope they got in touch or just blurt out "Hey you, you look like you want me, want to date?". In your position, I might ask her what she was listening to because it sounds good, anything to start a bit of conversation first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Paddy Dignam

I think she may have suspected you of being some kind of loon had you asked her out, or even left your number.

It's a pity that she stuck the headphones on. If she was reading a book you could have made small talk about it. Or if she wasn't reading you could have 'impressed' her with a classic Stan Laurel line - "A lot of weather we've been having lately!". Instantly she'd think you were a good guy. Maybe :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

irish life wrote:
    ...Just for future reference nothing else. ;)

I got on the number 27 bus at Coolock a couple of hours ago.
    Which stop in Coolock?

In anyway, it was the 27 bus, it was probably a knack-fest. I wouldn't make eye contact with anyone on that bus.

(before the pc brigade weigh in. I'm from Coolock, and use the 27 service)

(and no, this doesn't belong in the Dublin Forum)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

seansouth wrote:
    Which stop in Coolock?

In anyway, it was the 27 bus, it was probably a knack-fest. I wouldn't make eye contact with anyone on that bus.

I can back this up having also used the 27 for years as well.

I'm guessing it was at the UCI though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Earthhorse wrote:
    I was chatted up on the bus once.

I was smoking a spliff down the back

Hey next time a skanger thread comes up could you post in it and stand up for your kind?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

tuxy wrote:
    Hey next time a skanger thread comes up

A skanger thread in After Hours? Never!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭aequinoctium

A friend of mine went for a haircut in Peter Marks in Wexford. The girl who washed his hair gave him her number when he was done.

i'm going there tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Anto McC

I seen a bloke ask a woman for her phone number,on a packed bus and she just laughed at him although he genuinely didn't seem to be embarrassed about it or anything,whereas i'd melt on the spot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

seansouth wrote:

QFT!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭irish life

seansouth wrote:
    Which stop in Coolock?

I got on at the northside shopping centre. I was actually at the bus stop and a car full of young lads came along with a water pistle. They stopped and soaked a woman standing at the bustop reading. She was from the north and hadn't a clue what was going on, nearly crying. The lad was about 25. Idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭undecided

I first met my fella on a bus. Mind you didn'taccept offer of a night out did however tell him where my local was he came up to me in my local a week later .......that was 11 years ago!

Mind you wont know what to tell the kids when they ever ask!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Anto McC

undecided wrote:
    Mind you wont know what to tell the kids when they ever ask!

Ask about what? Quantum physics?

Just tell them the truth,it's not that hard to believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

Everytime you meet a girl you fancy. Try your luck, you may never meet her again. Every time you get turned down is one closer to a ride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

2 stroke wrote:
    Everytime you meet a girl you fancy. Try your luck, you may never meet her again. Every time you get turned down is one closer to a ride.

Best advice I've ever heard :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭MAYPOP

creggy wrote:
    Best advice I've ever heard :D

x2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

J.S. Pill wrote:
    A friend of mine went for a haircut in Peter Marks in Wexford. The girl who washed his hair gave him her number when he was done. My friend said she sounded eastern european.

Tesco doing petrol.........McDonalds doing salads..........and now Peter Marks doing hookers........what next?

Also.......no "me doing yore ma" replies either, k thanks ;)

A friend of mine has this theory that in a club at any moment, one woman in thirty is aroused and can be talked into casual sex, and he spends a lot of time trying to prove it. His hit rate is about one in ninety.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

2 stroke wrote:

I have to start thinking like this more! Can't wait till college!

Once met a gorgeous girl on a train from Cork to Tralee a few years back. Got chatting, she was initially wondering why we were stopped for so long (it being a single track line). Either way, could have gotten somewhere but I was 21 and she was 15 so I decided not to go any further.

There is an brothel near Peter Marks in Wexford. Number was probably for there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

She's probably not going to go out with a total stranger. But if you said "A bunch of my friends are meeting to go bowling" (or something equally harmless) "and would you like to come along?" she might.

Of course, then you have to organise a few friends to go bowling (OSEH) so she won't be shy. But that way, you'll get to know her a bit calmly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Met a girl on the train from Maynooth to Leixlip.
    She got off at my stop having agreed to come back to my friends house ( I invited her). Turns out she wasn't interested in me. Wanted my friend.

I would have no problem askin a girl out on a bus, but only if I was sitting next to her and we struck up a conversation.
    I don't really like the idea of just getting on a bus, walking up to a random stranger and asking her out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

Terry wrote:
    I don't really like the idea of just getting on a bus, walking up to a random stranger and asking her out.

hehe

GUY: "HEY YOU!!!! GET ON ME!!!!"
    GIRL:"..Im sorry, do i know you?"

now thats the kind of mental image i can chuckle about at this time of night..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭Mexicola

Earthhorse wrote:
    I was smoking a spliff down the back and this lady comes up, asks me for my name, number, home address; all business so she was.

Are you sure she wasnt a cop?
    Or a DB inspector?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

if the same girl gets on the bus tommorow, and sits besides you or near you again...well then ya ....go for it.;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Mexicola wrote:
    Or a DB inspector?
    My gosh, you could be on to something!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭judas101

i successfully picked up a girl on a bus 2 weeks ago.

on the nightlink of all places.

classy or wha'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

MooseJam wrote:
    psycho, the bus is for transport not finding dates

The correct answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

My gosh, you could be on to something!
    No flies on Mexicola this morning.

Anyway, people who talk to complete strangers on a bus are weirdos, especially if you put in earphones and then the other person tries to ask you out. That's a definite no no. I think if the OP had made his move the girl probably would have smacked him in the gob, screamed and accused him of rape.

Of course if the gorgeous girl (or guy) starts the conversation with you then it could be OK. However, as some have pointed out on this thread, she could turn out to be a money grabbing psycho biatch or something. So you see, weirdos the lot of them, in every case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

I first met my fella on a bus

Shouldn't that be - "I first met me fella on a bus"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

Mexicola wrote:
    Or a DB inspector?

You're on the ball there Mex.....

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

it would have been alright if you'd struck up a conversation but you didn't so i think it best that you didn't ask her out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

Was staying at a mates house in Kells when I got the bus home the following day. Unshowered, unshaven and hair all over the place I spotted this absolute dinger of a ginger. SO I just turned around and asked her if she was as bored as I was, you know to get the ball rolling. Well i got on really well with her, she told me she is from Kildare but was renting her student home in Dundrum. This was GF material, an abbsolute beaut and one that you could bring home to mummy.
    Anyway I got her number on a peice of paper and as soon as I got home I checked my pockets and it was gone...FSKING GONE! Oh fate you dealt me a cruel hand that day. Thinking about it still stings.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

Well..OP (irishlife).......any updates??

did u see her again today???;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

I saw an AMAZING bird on the tube last night, I was tempted, but bottled it in the end :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,128 ✭✭✭sweet-rasmus

this hot person sitting next to you on a near empty bus thing happened to me before and i've always kicked myself for saying nothing. as in this case, we both had head phones on. once i got off, i looked up at him and he was grinning at me. such a lost oppertunity!! *sigh*

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

you can go back and try it if you like...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

I was on a bus and had an aisle seat. This blonde girl gets on, carrying a bag and takes asile seat adjacent mine. She could have sat anywhere but she sat there. We briefly exchanged glances. A while later I took out a stick of chewing gum and noticed it was my last one. I don't know what possessed me but I decided to give it to yer one beside me. She looked surprised but cooly broke half of leaving me with the remaining part. We got chatting after that, thought I might have a chance here. Sadly though, I had to get off and the bus travelled onwards. I was waiting in a cafe at the stop kicking myself for not getting her number. As I sat there pondering my missed opportunity and twiddling the gum wrapper in my fingers in she walked holding her half of the wrapper in her hands. She had hopped off the bus for me! At this point I noticed that 'All Right Now' by Free was playing on the radio. :cool: By sunset we were apricot deep :cool::cool:

http://www.aber.ac.uk/media/Modules/MC30820/last_stick.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Niamho!

Aw its a killer! see.....on a Bus or something i wouldnt really find it too weird striking up a conversation or someone striking one up with me. (It'd probably work better than when you're on a night out!) but d'ya ever see someone in a Totally Random place and even if you wanted to you probably couldnt really talk to them? its worse when they pop into your head now and again too......Regret....its a Fooker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Mutz

layke wrote:
    Was staying at a mates house in Kells when I got the bus home the following day. Unshowered, unshaven and hair all over the place I spotted this absolute dinger of a ginger. SO I just turned around and asked her if she was as bored as I was, you know to get the ball rolling. Well i got on really well with her, she told me she is from Kildare but was renting her student home in Dundrum. This was GF material, an abbsolute beaut and one that you could bring home to mummy.
    Anyway I got her number on a peice of paper and as soon as I got home I checked my pockets and it was gone...FSKING GONE! Oh fate you dealt me a cruel hand that day. Thinking about it still stings.

But your a bleedin roide Layke! I'd even have ya! :p

Check your pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Girl 1. Well twisted when she sat next to me on the last bus. She feel off the seat as we went around the corner and I 'rescued' her. She put her head on my shoulder. Walked her home and snogged her. I r teh slut.

Girl 2. She gave me a chewing gum and we chatted. I asked for her number, she gave it to me. I phoned her. She wasn't interested. Crash & burn.

Girl 3. We happened to get the same bus, then the same DART. Sat together and chated. I asked for her number ... crash & burn.