Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dunnes Half Price Sale Again

• 18-07-2007 3:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭

this time its in the square, tallaght in the fashion and home floor. according to the ad in the herald its tomorrow only. starts 9 am. phillips 42" plasma- €649.50, fusitsu siemens laptop- €299.50 are deals amongst others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭billius

Do you know if the have the same deal on Xbox 360's? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

there wasnt any mention of it in the advertisement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

Do not- I repeat do not buy a cheap phillips 42 inch plasma under any circumstances. They are rubbish.
    That is all.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Expect carnage.
    And everyone who doesn't have a job to turn up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

God if it's anything like Henry street, god help the Square tomorrrow.
    At least it's only for one day.

Wonder where people would queue?
    There's probably about 10 entrances into the place. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭aequinoctium

sweet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

kmick wrote:
    Do not- I repeat do not buy a cheap phillips 42 inch plasma under any circumstances. They are rubbish.
    That is all.

hmm someone trying to put us off to get 1 himself?!??!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭spongbob

quote kmick: Do not- I repeat do not buy a cheap phillips 42 inch plasma under any circumstances. They are rubbish.
    That is all.

i have one of them kmick, a was lucky enough to grab the last one last week in henery st, i cant find any faults with it. are you having problems with yours

Hey lads do you thinlk they will hand out tickets befor the shutters open like they did in henery street?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

with the scum in the square i wouldnt go near this

lol not every one is scum.. does any1 know if they'l be handing out tickets this time or is it going to be like world war 1, if your not a fast funner then your fukd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭wba88

wot time ppl headin in at? i have no idea which entrance to go to!

thats true, i presume level 3 beside the uci, as the sales states it is everything on the 3rd floor. il be heading down at around 7ish

pick me up a 360 lads ;) will pay extra for ur efforts :);)

spongbob wrote:
    thats true, i presume level 3 beside the uci, as the sales states it is everything on the 3rd floor. il be heading down at around 7ish
    yea be wary if any1 is headin down early alot of scum around that entrance in the middle of the night, but tala isnt as bad as its made out 2 b

Placebo wrote:
    pick me up a 360 lads ;) will pay extra for ur efforts :);)
    ha cant blame a guy for tryin ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Any PS3's in this thing?

highly doubt it, the biggest store only had 360's and never heard bout them sellin ps3's before

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Leon11

dunnes are just doing this to upstage M&S who just happen to be opening a massive brand new spanking store across from Tallaght Hospital!

fair play

i love competition!! when is the m&s opening? it looks nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭here.from.day.1

Not touching this one! Henrt St was bad enough at 4pm!! :rolleyes:

ha i might head down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭fatherdougalmag

M&S doesn't open until 11. Dunnes Stores would have been declared a disaster zone by that stage with many fatalities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Smoggy

A mate sent his brother down to Dunnes, they arrived @ 8.40 - the doors were already open and the place was stripped bare. He's as mad as a bag of snapping turtles. The ad said 9 right ?

Smoggy wrote:
    A mate sent his brother down to Dunnes, they arrived @ 8.40 - the doors were already open and the place was stripped bare. He's as mad as a bag of snapping turtles. The ad said 9 right ?
    You're assuming the management opened the place. :D

You're assuming the management opened the place

:D:D:D

What we need now is for Tesco to do another 50% off sale and
    we'll all be sucking diesel!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭Mr. Skeffington

It was mad alright, I got into the Square early through a staff entrance and went to the homestore level on the middle floor as it was a home store sale, but they didnt use this entrance, instead they opened the upper floor??

The doors opened at 8:30 on the upper so when I went up at 8:50 I thought I would have pleanty of time to get me a laptop. No such luck the local scobies were already in full flight battleing and scrapping for the tellies and lappies.

I just walked out as everything was gone, there were no signs up showing where the stuff was and none of the staff were able to tell me where the laptops were. A joke, I have heard reports that there was a scrap and the Guards had to break it up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭fatherdougalmag

My OH was there alright and there was a bit of a punch up. She couldn't understand why nobody was fighting over her beloved crockery set. Citywest Shopping Centre/Village is opening in September. With Dunnes as the anchor store, I can only imagine that there'll be a similar affair when the time comes.

Without the punch ups of course.

there was a bit of a punch up

Wonder who got the TV? ;) and will we see it on YouTube soon?

one family got 6 tvs!!! i hate them!! another group got four laptops between them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭tabatha

i was just down there and heard that there were no electrical goods on sale, only what was on the top floor which is cloths and household

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 bexybexy

Ha, the funny thing is that dunnes sent 2 of their staff out to give out fliers about their sale outside marks and spencers! Must of worked! 1 of them was HOT!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Smoggy

www.asai.ie - the ad said 9 o'clock, but they opened early - 8.30, who is with me ?

Smoggy wrote:
    www.asai.ie - the ad said 9 o'clock, but they opened early - 8.30, who is with me ?
    I think you need to move on. If they opened later, you might have a (dodgy) leg to stand on.

As it is, they probably opened early to avoid a riot.

'QUOTE' wba88 one family got 6 tvs!!! i hate them!! another group got four laptops between them

'wba88' - how did you get on did you buy anything??

I managed to get a laptop but only by pure luck! my sister was in the Q waiting to pay for her laptop when she spotted a Forin bloke payng for 2 laptops and 3 creative zen mp3 players!!! i got straight in there and made the point that 1 item per customer.. he claimed his friend was in the store and he was paying for it for him all on the 1 credid card Noway i told him, 1 laptop per customer - so he calls over his friend who was behind him in the Q
    already and he was claiming it was for him But i knew it wasn't cause the friend was with 2 other friends and guess what the whoores had 4 laptops in the trolly waiting to be paid for!! i called the security lads over straight away and i told them what was going on how there was only 4 lads in total and SIX laptops between them. and how i was there since 2am COMON!! he seen what was going on and voided the sale and splited the 2 laptops between us.. as i said i got it by pure luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

spongbob wrote:
    as i said i got it by pure luck!
    I wouldn't call that luck, I'd call it being on the ball. Fairplay t'ya! Bloody foreigners coming over here taking all our cheap laptops!!!

I actually work around the corner from the Skwayorrr! Went around at lunch time for a sandwich and the car park was bedlam, worse than Christmas. After about 40 minutes of being either stuck in traffic or looking for a parking spot I just gave up and got lunch somewhere else.

I knew there was a sale on to scupper M&S's big day but I didn't think it was gonna be that mental.

i was on the ball alright... But tbh it was only by luck i seen the bloke been served, i mean the girl had his credid card in her hand and the sale was 99% gone through all he had to do was type in his chip and pin number and that was it!!
    The forinor had a big smerk on his face untill the bang on security guard orderd her to do a void and split the laptops, i pulled one off the him and went towards the next casher, I could hear when i was walking away the staff were giving out how they had to wait on the void key and the supervisor wasn't around, i only hope i didn't cause too much of a delay to all the customers behind me.. there was f**kin hundreds of ya's :)

Did anone else get a laptop? i used to have a fujtsu siemens befor the screen got damaged, the one i got yesterday seems to be a bit bulkier for some reason, in fact quite near enough the same tickness as the one's tesco sell = IQON!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 842 ✭✭✭dereko1969

what has the fact that the guy was foreign got to do with anything? at least he might be able to spell.....

dereko1969 wrote:
    what has the fact that the guy was foreign got to do with anything? at least he might be able to spell.....

laptops musta been brewed right here in ireland i guess :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭Nehpets

spongbob wrote:
    'QUOTE' wba88 one family got 6 tvs!!! i hate them!! another group got four laptops between them

I managed to get a laptop but only by pure luck! my sister was in the Q waiting to pay for her laptop when she spotted a Forin bloke payng for 2 laptops and 3 creative zen mp3 players!!! i got straight in there and made the point that 1 item per customer.. he claimed his friend was in the store and he was paying for it for him all on the 1 credid card Noway i told him, 1 laptop per customer - so he calls over his friend who was behind him in the Q
    already and he was claiming it was for him But i knew it wasn't cause the friend was with 2 other friends and guess what the whoores had 4 laptops in the trolly waiting to be paid for!! i called the security lads over straight away and i told them what was going on how there was only 4 lads in total and SIX laptops between them. and how i was there since 2am COMON!! he seen what was going on and voided the sale and splited the 2 laptops between us.. as i said i got it by pure luck!

Wow, you're an ass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭David Michael

I went up at 9:10... took one walk through the chaos and left. I was nearly going to pose the question on AH if people had actually been to a "real" sale.

It takes about 5 mins before the anger consumes you and you want to punch people out of the way. (Edit oh and I saw the family with about 6 of the TV's too the cnuts)

Went up later at about 8 in th evening with the other half to see if we could get herself a suit case. It was like an animal carcass that had been fed on by wild animals and the staff looked like they had been in a war :D

Even then it was still a nightmare and we left!

No fact realy. when wba88 said a group of people got four laptops between them, i just mentioed this group of people were foreigners wheres the harm in that.
    I coluld tell you the carry on these lads were up to during the night befor the shop even opened but i could be here all night typing it up! just for an example 2 of these same lads were in the Q along side myself at 2am whilst the other 3 were in the car sleeping there heads of till half 7!! and then they have the cheak to join back into the Que and all hell broke out.. now that wasn't a bit fair now was it... if your in the Q your in the Q and if your gone off for ages then thats it back to the end of the Q and start again, you wouldn't have the neck to go back to place ahead of what must of been 300 poeple... and then have the furtur cheak to try and purchase 6 laptops and leave nobody else with a chance of getting one.

Dunnes should take a leaf out of Aldi & Lidls book, if there is 8 tvs & 8 laptops they should have giving out tickets to the first 16 people that was there. it would have saved the riots. it works out every thurs & sunday at aldi

thats all folks

* i do apolagise about my spellings, i must work on that

Dunnes should take a leaf out of Aldi & Lidls book, if there is 8 tvs & 8 laptops they should have giving out tickets to the first 16 people that was there.

Aldi and Lidl would never sell them at half price though :o

true Aldi not quite half price but still cheap compaired to the main street dealers. last month aldi sold a 47in hd lcd for 1750.. simular specs in harvey normans double the price.. also 7inch photo frames 70euro @ Aldi.. price in other shops 150..

spongbob wrote:
    not really, jumped on a tv a split second after some women did but then some bid bald lad started swinging his fists around randomly and missed me by an inch! so i could see i wasnt gonna get that :(. went to laptops -all gone :(. looked for other things - nothing of value or use to me. picked up a few clothes and kitchen utensils though.

Oh and i know the lads you (i think it was you) were talkin about going off for a snooze in the car they were right infront of me, started off with two but soon went upto six when the time got closer to opening.

Fair play to tallaght security for trying to create an organized queuing system upon entering the building but some dozy lad forgot he left the side door open and wouldnt ya know it they held off the people who had been there all night while the new comers legged it in, until they coped it :rolleyes:

Spongebob - sure if you were near the front of the queue i probably saw ya ;)

lol @ wba88.... And did u see them all sitting round playing poker for cash

Hey are you are a lad / a girl? i got talking to a girl in the Q for a few mins i think she was coming from dundrum area (i think). i was to shy to ask if she was a member of boards incase she tought i was a nutter + my girlfriend was with me keeping me company!! she thinks i spend too much time online as it is if she tought for a sec i was on chating to girls the whole time she'd cut my ball$ off! :p

ha, im a fella. i had a great chat with two lads about business (all of us self-employed). where were u waitin? i was outside d fast food place (cant think of the name) just b4 the atm. I didnt wanna ask any1 if they found out about it on boards either lol

that would be eddie rockets mister :D im self employed myself, started up a car valeting business recently forward slash car accessories, what sort of trade are you in yourself

currently setting up an online business, should be launching next week sometime, ill pm you the url.

eddie rockets, thats the one thanx

Eddie Rockets also known as Empty Your Pockets :D
    550 for a bowel of chips
    7 euro for a burger lol