Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Explain this to me...

• 18-07-2007 2:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭

Here's something that has been making me scratch my head for ages, and I wanted to see if you lot (espically the girls) have an opinion on it. I have been working in my job for nearly five years and every couple of months we all go out for a drink together. Now there is one bloke who works with us that always goes out on these nights out. Let me describe him to you.
    He's in his mid-thirties, about 5'11' and quite overweight.
    He's not good-looking (as the girls in work have informed me - think Brian Cowan with shorter hair.). Every time we go out he wears just jeans & a jumper. Wouldn't be a horrible dresser but nothing special either.
    He lives in the Midlands with his parents (we work & drink in Dublin), and is very hard to understand as he mumbles and has a very thick accent.
    He's a nice enough bloke to talk to but is quiet isn't very funny (i.e. he'd laugh at your jokes but doesn't crack any himself).

The thing that has been making me scratch my head is that every single time we go out he ends up with a cracking girl. Every single time!
    Don't get me wrong - I like the bloke & I applaud his sucess/luck with the opposite sex, I just don't see how he does it!
    Back in my women-chasing days I would have been shot down at least as many times as I met up with a girl (if not a lot more) and I and most of the lads I work with just don't know what his secret is.

Any Ideas??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭Mkl

ketamine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭mcauley

Surely there is something your missing out on??? Like he must have something that makes him appealing to these women.

I dont fully understand it. There is definitely more to it, that your perhaps haven't been made aware of?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Gift of the gab. Simple as that.
    I have a few friends like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Lynx effect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Has to be:

Filthy Rich
    He developed some sort of woman-magnet smell
    Has Super-Mega-Fúckton-Class A chat-up material

or more likely

is a horrid poxy bastard and is living proof that life isn't fair! I know some of my friends that say things that would make a woman mace ya but for some reason it works with them, pricks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Over 18's only:
    elephant trunk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Terry wrote:
    Gift of the gab. Simple as that.
    I have a few friends like that.

probably right. gift of gab/charm/listening to women will get you further than looks etc (i have none of the above for the record :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

probably right. gift of gab/charm/listening to women will get you further than looks etc (i have none of the above for the record :) )
    You're right on the first two.
    The third will make you the girls best friend, therefore preventing you from scoring last friday night when that chick you really like was drunk and all over you telling you she loves you and that you're her best friend.

I'm not bitter. Honestly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Pheromone Wipes.

and

Chloroform.

Terry wrote:
    You're right on the first two.
    The third will make you the girls best friend, therefore preventing you from scoring last friday night when that chick you really like was drunk and all over you telling you she loves you and that you're her best friend.

I'm not bitter. Honestly.

I've fallen off that wagon too. 13 murders later and I'm beginning to get over it.
    seansouth wrote:
    Pheromone Wipes.

and

Chloroform.

Heh, usually works for me:

"Excuse me, does this smell like chloroform to you?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭Ger_Hankey

hmmm..
    Keatmine - doubt it, theay all seem to walk out of the pub under their own power;

Lynx effect - anybody who stands too close will attest to the fact its definitely not that;

Gift of the gab - very unlikely (see the first post), and besides it doesn't matter what you say it won't work on every girl;

Filthy Rich - possibly, but I don't think he goes up to a girl and says "Hey baby, want to come back to mine and see my cash?"

Otherwise gifted - again its a possibility, but how do you go advertising that fact to somebody you are chatting up?

I can't even put it down to him being "a horrid bastard & living proof that life isn't fair". He's actually quite sound.

Must just be some pheromone in a bottle thing. I should aproach him about going into business selling his sweat. Could be a little gold mine...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Why don't you ask him? If you bring it up he will probably take it as a compliment, so no harm done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Ger_Hankey wrote:

Filthy Rich - possibly, but I don't think he goes up to a girl and says "Hey baby, want to come back to mine and see my cash?"

Otherwise gifted - again its a possibility, but how do you go advertising that fact to somebody you are chatting up?

There are ways of subtly hinting at both... Do many of the girls he's been with know each other at all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

He has a cock like a Mexican Burro... no other answer.... unless

He is a natural guy who doesn't "throw shapes" and is "himself" in all situations.

Women appreciate that I'm told.

tuxy wrote:
    Why don't you ask him? If you bring it up he will probably take it as a compliment, so no harm done.

"How is it you manage to pull so often even though you're an ugly fat git who smells & nobody can understand a word you're saying?"

Something along those lines??:D

He is a natural guy who doesn't "throw shapes" and is "himself" in all situations.

Women appreciate that I'm told.

Then what the hell am I doing wrong!?! :eek:

Hmm, could be the fact I have a ass for a face and a face for a ass!...........you don't want to know how I eat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

Where about in the Midlands is he from?

I've seen similar from Offaly people, the mere mention of the
    county seems to make some women go weak at the knees!

Dunno why!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

I dont buy it hankey. Are you trying to tell me that your mate who's uglier than this fella http://images.ireland.com/focus/election_2002/picsarchive/brian_cowen1.jpg can score with cracking birds? No way man, seriously. NO WAY. HE's gotta be better looking than the Cowen lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I reckon he must lie, pretend he's rich/important etc.

Dun laoire wrote:
    I dont buy it hankey. Are you trying to tell me that your mate who's uglier than this fella http://images.ireland.com/focus/election_2002/picsarchive/brian_cowen1.jpg can score with cracking birds? No way man, seriously. NO WAY. HE's gotta be better looking than the Cowen lad.

He's got tidier hair. Thats about it.

Saint_Mel - Hes from Laois.

Whatever it is he's got, he knows how to use it. Fair play to him I suppose. If I wasn't married I'd probably ask to be his wingman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

He's either:

Loaded
    Well Hung
    Really Funny
    Loaded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

Ger_Hankey wrote:
    He's got tidier hair. Thats about it.

Well he like me must have a serious amount of langer. Thats all i can think of anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭mcauley

Ger_Hankey wrote:
    I can't even put it down to him being "a horrid bastard & living proof that life isn't fair". He's actually quite sound.

There is the answer right there. You find him to be "quite sound". He's obviously charming and for whatever reason he just appeals to women. If he can hold a conversation with them, its not that difficult to get stuck in really is it?

Or perhaps he's just being a good samaritan and giving them a lift home (entirely innocent - but to others he appears to have 'pulled' and is off home.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭crybaby

maybe the women are just prostitutes that he has previously hired to meet him in the pub and make it look like hes a hero with the ladies

more likely though hes just good at talking to women and has a good sense of humour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Maybe all the birds he pulls are also muckers from the country like him so they share this in common and he's in

(I am also a mucker from the country before anyone asks)

Vegeta wrote:
    (I am also a mucker from the country before anyone asks)
    Does it work for you?

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Hmmm... All I can think of is that he stands around people who are even fatter, uglier, smellier, and harder to understand then he is.

OH! Wait! Got it! He sold his soul to the devil. That'll be it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Ger_Hankey wrote:
    Does it work for you?

well I am going out with a girl for 8 years so haven't really taken notes

us boggers tend to stick together when we move around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

Ger_Hankey wrote:
    Here's something that has been making me scratch my head for ages, and I wanted to see if you lot (espically the girls) have an opinion on it. I have been working in my job for nearly five years and every couple of months we all go out for a drink together. Now there is one bloke who works with us that always goes out on these nights out. Let me describe him to you.
    He's in his mid-thirties, about 5'11' and quite overweight.
    He's not good-looking (as the girls in work have informed me - think Brian Cowan with shorter hair.). Every time we go out he wears just jeans & a jumper. Wouldn't be a horrible dresser but nothing special either.
    He lives in the Midlands with his parents (we work & drink in Dublin), and is very hard to understand as he mumbles and has a very thick accent.
    He's a nice enough bloke to talk to but is quiet isn't very funny (i.e. he'd laugh at your jokes but doesn't crack any himself).

The thing that has been making me scratch my head is that every single time we go out he ends up with a cracking girl. Every single time!
    Don't get me wrong - I like the bloke & I applaud his sucess/luck with the opposite sex, I just don't see how he does it!
    Back in my women-chasing days I would have been shot down at least as many times as I met up with a girl (if not a lot more) and I and most of the lads I work with just don't know what his secret is.

Any Ideas??

i always pull when i bring theese guys with me
    http://dawn.thot.net/Rohypnol.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭giddyup

Similar sounding bloke in a company I used to work for. We were mainly a young bunch and there was one slightly older bird that sat beside me. We were boys, she was a woman etc etc. She was a cracker. Nobody would even bother to try it on. The biffo did and he scored. The next day the whole office was stunned. A good life lesson I thought. Nothing ventured. My hat was permanently off to him after that.

Saint_Mel wrote:
    Where about in the Midlands is he from?

I've seen similar from Offaly people, the mere mention of the
    county seems to make some women go weak at the knees!

Dunno why!
    road fruntage!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭dellas1979

Maybe that is you and your workmates opinion of him as ye know him.

Maybe to women, he is sound out, like you said yourself. Maybe he feels more confortable around women. Maybe he only goes for drunk little wans. Maybe some of the girls at work actually fancy him!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭ctc_celtic

Ger_Hankey wrote:
    is very hard to understand as he mumbles and has a very thick accent.

there's your answer, i find i'm getting on great with the opposite sex, until i say something stupid. if they cant understand him, he cant say anything stupid.

i'm going to try this next night out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭event

hung like an elephant, only reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

i always pull when i bring theese guys with me
    http://dawn.thot.net/Rohypnol.gif

Post Reported. Jokes about Rohypnol used in that way, are not funny.

If he's a quiet fella and listens to the women talking all night, it will help his success rate. I'd say that's the reason......

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Sounds like he knows what he's doing and doesn't give a **** what people think.

Maybe if you focussed more on his personality (read: attitude) and less on his looks you'd understand.

ctc_celtic wrote:
    there's your answer, i find i'm getting on great with the opposite sex, until i say something stupid. if they cant understand him, he cant say anything stupid.

i'm going to try this next night out.

So its not so much what he's doing right, as what he's not doing wrong? That maybe the girls are just waiting for him to say something sexist/insulting/incriminating and cause he doesn't (not clearly, anyway), they can't find fault with him?

You might be on to something there....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭intheknow

Must just be a genuine guy who does not judge others or post it on Boards...

Kindness always shines through jeans and jumpers :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

But obviously jokes about ketamine and chloroform are.

No, and neither are you.

intheknow wrote:
    Must just be a genuine guy who does not judge others or post it on Boards...

Kindness always shines through jeans and jumpers :)

Ouch.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

No, and neither are you.
    You are though!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

No, and neither are you.

The reason I said that was because there have been posts in this thread about ketamine and chloroform. You didn't report them so obviously you found them funny. Plus I can't remember the amount of times I have seen people (yes myself included) say chloroform in the same context and not once have I seen you complain about that.

I saw that users comment and then looked at the OP, then reported the one that you see I reported. Didn't see the other ones ........

I don't find any of them funny, but don't have a problem with you so not going to argue off topic with ya man ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Ger_Hankey wrote:
    Hes from Laois.

Wonder no more, there's your answer right there! Us Laois lads are sex gods, pure and simple!* ;):D
    Ger_Hankey wrote:
    Whatever it is he's got, he knows how to use it. Fair play to him I suppose. If I wasn't married I'd probably ask to be his wingman

You! You are still dangerous. You can be my wingman any time.

Bullshít..... you can be mine!

Sorry, I couldn't resist! :D

*may not be true!

OMG....the big bad man reported me!!! I wanst trying to be funny, its a normal sat night :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I had a mate like this, all he did was sit at the bar licking his eyebrows and the women would all come running.

No idea what it was;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

crybaby wrote:
    maybe the women are just prostitutes that he has previously hired to meet him in the pub and make it look like hes a hero with the ladies

more likely though hes just good at talking to women and has a good sense of humour
    Was thinking this myself, afterall sounds like he'd need to fork out on them regularly and since he still lives at home he'd have the cash.

Maybe it's hynotism/jedi mind tricks?

Or maybe simply a case of "a wizard did it".

Ooh, maybe he did like that guy in American Pie, paid one of the girls to start a rumour that he was "incredible" and now they're all curious and want to find out.

Or as a horrible thought... that's his sister and he brought her because he couldn't get a date...