Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

25 Days to hell........

• 16-07-2007 10:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭

Hi guys,

I have been roped into doing a sprint tri-athalon in greystones in August, I am not what you would consider in great shape but said sure why not. However I now found out that irt is 25 days away......

My "friend" is quite a sadist and in pretty good shape, has anyone done something like this before or got any useful advice for a newbie........

The swim part of it is the bit that is really freaking me out, I have NO swimming experience whatsoever, anyone know a good swimming coach??

I am also going to look at supplements to try help me out because my diet is'nt great, (well I thought it was ok until I read some of the nutrition sticky)

Thanks for any advice guys,

I will probably put up a log too, it is only 25 days :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

ok lets get the basics out of the way,
    can you swim and ride a bike?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Would you not re-consider?

If it were me, I'd want about 3 months to train for something like that......minimum.

gabgab wrote:
    The swim part of it is the bit that is really freaking me out, I have NO swimming experience whatsoever, anyone know a good swimming coach??

I couldn't swim at all 2 weeks before my first triathlon. A running buddy signed me up for the Lough Neagh triathlon with the now infamous words "you can't sink in a wetsuit". I borrowed a wetsuit and a bike and I got on with it. I had a sum total of two swimming lessons and survived. I was a reasonable runner though so aerobic fitness wasn't an issue.

Getting a swim coach in Ireland is extremely difficult. Might be easier just to go out with a group that are going out OW swimming. In 25 days some open water experience is going to be of more benefit to you than trying to refine your stroke.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Did my first sprint tri in May 2006 with about 3 weeks of swimming at least 3 times a week. Looking back this was a mistake, as I am a cr@p swimmer, and therefore don't get aerobically fit from my stroke. I should have spent more time running.

For my second sprint tri in August 2006 I did loads of running and not much swimming at all. I went 10 minutes faster than the first time around. (Cycling was my strong point)

So the moral of the story --> run to get fit if you are a bad swimmer.

Also, as HunnyMonster says, you cannot sink in a wetsuit.

Another thing: practice cycing hard, hopping off and running at full pelt. Your legs will feel like jelly for the first 20 seconds or so. Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭gabgab

Reconsider...... No way!!! The pressure will make me more motivated!!

I can swim, and am about to find out tonight how well, I have a friend and his brother was a professional swimmer and he is class, is going to give me some tips,

Is it better to train in open water or a pool?? Also do I need a wetsuit etc yeh??

Its a 750 m swim, and in August in Ireland so the werather could be anything :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

gabgab wrote:
    Is it better to train in open water or a pool?? Also do I need a wetsuit etc yeh??

not coming from a triathlon background here but if the swim is in open water then train in open water there is a huge difference

gabgab wrote:
    better to train in open water or a pool?? Also do I need a wetsuit etc yeh??

Its a 750 m swim, and in August in Ireland so the werather could be anything :D

Many triathlons are wetsuit compulsary. It makes it much easier on the organisers from a safety point of view. It's not really to do with the weather although you're crorect the weather could do anything. Most people swim faster in a wetsuit but it takes a few seconds to get off in transition. For a sprint distance it's swings and roundabouts which is faster overall.

OW swimming is very different to pools swimming. Some of the things that are differeent are
    temperature
    visability
    sighting
    currents and swell

For stroke and convenience I swim in a pool 5 days a week and OW at least once a week.

Thanks a million for all the replies everyone,

I will probably have to get a wet suit so, is there anything you can get that you can do the whole thing in?? rather than a wet suit, then shorts and a tshirt underneath etc?

So honey would youi reckon I need to do it in greystones the swim training yeh?? I will do a bit in the pool and see how I get on!!

My first OW swim was an olympic distance triathlon so there is not a "need" to get in the water beforehand. Having said that, I didn't enjoy it much and you will enjoy the triathlon a lot more if you know what to expect I would imagine. NEVER SEA SWIM ON YOUR OWN. If you're going out, have someone with you either in the water or in a boat or at the very least on the shore watching you.

You can get a trisuit (something like this) and wear it under a wetsuit. then you just peel the wetuit off in transition and you're good to go. Learn to love lycra.

If triathlon is a completly new thing to you, make sure you know the rules. For example you can get disqualified if you touch your bike before your helmet is fastened.

Ok cool, a helmet eh........

This is gonna get pricey but that said I only have one head, any good place to get stuff from your experience Hunny?

I have a bike, got my first pair of cycling shorts today after some painfull walking after being just in a pair of tracksuit bottoms :D

triathlon is not a cheap sport. At a minimum you need
    wetsuit
    bike
    bike/run clothes
    trainers
    helmet
    goggles
    sports bra (if you're a girl)

If you get into the sport you'll find an endless sink for your money
    bike shoes, clipless pedals, tri shorts, gym membership, swim toys (paddles, fins, pull bouys), tri-bars, bike upgrades, poncy sunglasses, numberbelt, box to put it all in, turbo trainer, heart rate monitor, lap counter,......new house to accomodate everything......

As for getting stuff, I travel quite a bit with work and I tend to pick up stuff when I'm away. The cyclesuperstore in Tallaght is not bad as is wheelworx in Naas for triathlon bikey stuff. Wiggle is a descent online resource and they deliver most stuff to Ireland now. If you're

If you're only going to do one triathlon, why not borrow a lot of the gear rather than spending a fortune. When is the race? I think I'm racing 11th August but not the 12th so you could borrow any of my kit that suits.

Cheers for the offer man, thats very generous, (sorta restores faith in Irish people stuff like that) are you doing the King of Greystones one?? thats the one I am doing,

I reckon I can get the lend of a wetsuit, and have a friend lined up to go out at the weekend for some sea swimming, he is pretty class so I'm looking forward to it,

I have a bike, has toe clips, but I'm slow as f*ck on it, can get a wetsuit, I am just a bit conscious of the running in cycling shorts etc? Is it a problem no?

Any training tips, should I be doing short quick stuff, or long endurance or a mix of both?

**cough**woman!;)

No, I think I'm going to do Carlingford that weekend. I'm originally from up that part of the country so I usually double it with a visit to my family. It's also an Olymipic distance (1.5,40,10) which is still short for me but better than a sprint.

For your training, it really depends on where you're coming from. It is a sprint distance so if you're fit then go with speedwork, if not, it's still going to take you over an hour to do the race so making sure you're comfortable with a raised heart rate for this long is the way to go. Don't worry about being slow on the bike. If you don't have bike experience it's probably worth cycling the course in advance. This will give you confidence and also let you identify any trickly spots such as descents with corners at the bottom.

ha ha yes yes I am doing the ladies version....... However not many people know that so soon I will be the guy that did a triathalon so keep it on the quiet... :D:D

Ah Carlingford, thats mad I spent all my summers near there in Dundalk, great craic!!!

Ok I'm gonna work at getting my heart rate up and pounding so I am comfortable with it..... Looks like a lot of hills on the run part though, so I will train for that by going up a few locally then go and try the actual course,

Cheers for all the info man,

gabgab wrote:
    ha ha yes yes I am doing the ladies version

i could be wrong but i think this
    **cough**woman!

is because she is a woman not that she was calling you one for doing a sprint tri

i could be way off tho

yep that's it. Sorry. I thought hunnymonster sounded like a woman but I'm usually assumed to be a man around here so I guess not. Maybe I should change to pink-fluffy-squishy-monster?

Anyway's another newbie tip I thought of is.... Think your race through i.e. getting into the wetsuit (harder than it sounds, don't forget lube), goggles, cap. Where are you going to start (towards the back or side if you're a weak swimmer). Swimming, do you know where the bouys are, have you got a landmark on the shore for the way back in, transition, how to get your wetuit off (unzip and pull arms out while you run from water, pull down your hips as far as possible and then stomp yourself out of it), have you got a reference point as to where your bike is racked, helmet on!!!! glasses on if you're wearing them, shoes and socks, unrack bike, run to mount point, get on bike, cycle course. Think about if you're going to eat or drink anything on the bike. Back to transition, rerack bike, helmet off, trainers on, out of transition on run again, and most important, don't forget to smile for the camera crossing the finish line :-)

Sorry Hunnymonster.... An example of when wires get crossed :D:D

I am going to do the course at the weekend, the cycle bit and the runanyway just to see how I get on, I am currently trying to get a wetsuit, but yeh fair play to ya for the focal points and thinking it out in my head, your dead right!!

Any tips for keeping track of the bike??

Thanks again for the advice,

do you mean keeping track of where you rack the bike? Some races have numbered racks so you just count along some don't. You'll usually find your beside a tree or a pylon or some other distinctive feature. If all else fails take a really bright coloured towel and lay it beside your bike. It will double as something to dry your feet with after the swim. It's not a problem but you will be hyper enough getting out of the water without having to think about where your bike is.

Yeh I'm gonna go with the brightly coloured towel idea, and maybe a funny bucket or something.

I went to the pool today, did 10 lengths and thought I was going to die, and its going to be harder in the sea, but its more that I gas than my arms are gonna fall off, so I reckon the running will need to be picked up pace wise, some sprint stuff, what do you think?? I am planning on swimming every second morning....

don't worry about the swim. when you're in a wetsuit you can always stop and have a rest. 10 lengths of a 25 m pool is 1/3 the total distance.

I would be more inclined to get time in the saddle or on your feet rather than concentrating on sprints. It's your first triathlon and you haven't trained for it so the aim shoudl be to survive and if possible enjoy the event.

Thanks a million Hunnymonster,

I can do the rest of the stuff, 20k cycle, uphills etc and the run, cos I have tried it, its just the swim I am cautious of now,

For eating on the cycle, any recommendations? I am hypoglycaemic, well was very badly as a kid but its under control now, I dont know if this makes any difference,

Also any recommendations of when I should stop training, I was thinking of the wednesday, gives me thursday and friday to rest and get a load of carbohydrates into me and maybe just little gentle stuff to keep loose,

Thanks a million for all the help again,

p.s. are heart rate monitors any use, I really dont know how hard I am pushing myself and reckon as a rule I tend to go slower than I necessarily should, and wonder if it would be useful to use one as a kick in the arse for me.....

Not for now cos with this short a length of time probably no use, but for when I do an Ironman ya know :D:D

I'm not a medical doctor so I'm not really comfortable advising re your hypoglycaemia. If you do need to get glucose into you the two best ways are energy gels or diluting some glucose (buy in supermarket) in water. Maybe add a little fruit just to make it taste better. The important thing is to make sure whatever you injest is approx a 6-7 % sugar solution. Less concentrated adn it won't do much good, more concentrated and it is not absorbed properly.

Heart rate monitors are great. They can really keep you on track and help monitor your training. As you say, not for this race but if you intend keeping it up then it is certainly something I would look into.

Ironman is the best race ever. It's just such a fun day out and there is really nothing to beat having thousands od people cheering you on and patting you on the back when you reach the top of a climb or in the finishing chute.

Hey Hunny,

Are the bars, like little shots good, is there a possibility of overdoing it on them though and getting cramp? I might buy a heart rate monitor because I have no idea how hard I am pushing myself really, but tend to have a bad recovery I reckon, eg, if I have to pic up the pace at all, then I feel it big time.... So in my innocence I think that training in a certain zone, for a short while say 5 minutes would help me with this,

Also on a side note, my friend that is doing it turned up with a savage racer bike, the tires are half the width of mine..... Little b*stard :D:D

gabgab wrote:
    Also on a side note, my friend that is doing it turned up with a savage racer bike, the tires are half the width of mine..... Little b*stard :D:D

hahaha you sound exactly like me you will get sucked in and spend loads

you can always put slicks on your bike. It would make a difference.

Nutrition when racing is a very personal thing. Ironman is my thing and I drink isotonic drinks and eat solid food (flapjacks, banana's energy bars) when I am on the bike and at the start of the run. I tend to only take gels in the second half of the marathon because too many of them are sickly. I balance them with salty foods or the manna from heaen that is chicken broth on an ironman run. Also excellent for picking you up when you're about to die is flat coke. The mix of sugar and caffeine gives a jolt. Some people take red bull but I can't stomach it.

For a sprint, I generally wouldn't take anything, maybe a few sips of water but hypogla. is not something to mess about with so you probably should take something. A gel usually has about 100 kCal. Some are isotonic but most you need to take with water (will say on the packet). An average person can absorbe 240-400 kcal an hour. Plan your nutrition to take on somewhere in the middle of this range.

gabgab, where are you based?

PeakOutput wrote:
    hahaha you sound exactly like me you will get sucked in and spend loads

Ha ha.... Yeh I'm one of those, but I have promised myself that I wont unless I do this one and get a major buzz out of it and still have the urge to stick with it, the sunday 2 weeks after it. However I am planning on spending the 4 weeks after it with a friend in the gym lifting weights, he is an ox and we are very very competitive with one another, gonna try put on a lb or 2 in muscle, but still doing a decent bit of aerobic stuff, maybe skipping in the mornings on an empty stomach to try burn a bit of fat and swimming ocs I am pure ****e at that........

Hunny, I am based in foxrock, am going down to the one in Bray this saturday to have a look and see what it is like maybe try get a feel fopr it and might remove a bit of the nervous mystery of it all for me. As for the food, I am doing a protein and porridge mix at the moment to supplement my diet, meant to be good and cant do any harm.... Can it :confused::confused: ?? 320 calories minimum then.... Might get some of that high 5 stuff, or make my own, with caffeine, glucose and KiaOra

Long time since I have thrown anything up here,

I did the Phoenix Park Duathalon last night in 58 minutes, I was very slow but was pushing myslef very hard. Does anyone know if lifting weights for my legs would be beneficial, they are killing me on the bike and I know I have very very weak legs,

I might join back up in Westwood, and do some weights too.

Also when should I stop training for the sprint triathalon? It is on in 10 days exactly and how hard should I be training up to it??

Thanks a million guys,

I'm lifting weights these days. I think it helps. I don't think you'll achieve much between now and your race though so maybe look to incorporate them afterwards if you decide to stick with it.

Can you explain what way your legs were killing you. Were they burning or just heavy? How was your breathing? How the the runs compare to the bike?

You don't really need to stop training for a sprint. Maybe take the day before off and go easier the day before that. Train hard until then.

There is an aquathon next tuesday night if you fancied another trial run. It's a 740 m swim and a 5 km run and starts at 7:30 at the Bull Wall in Clontarf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

I really wouldn't do an aquathon the tuesday before a race if I was you. It can work for more experienced athletes but for people new to the sport it's probably not a good idea.

Glad you enjoyed the duathlon last night, it was a great turn out and a great pair of races.

A weak core may not be helping you on the bike. The amount of people I saw last night flopping about on the bike trying to push the gears. The top two guys, Art McManusa and Colm Cassidy (1:50 for a 50mile TT recently), on the bike are a joy to watch, fluid and make it seem effortless. That being said they would have hurting big time. Races that short (less than spring, 50% of a sprint duathlon) are meant to hurt and hurt badly.

Weights? Weights can help but not at this time of year. One of the main uses for weights for endurance athletes is injury prevention. Bit late now. The other is trying to improve strength. Again a bit late now. Also improving strength can be done in sport specific fashions, overgeared hill work on the bike. Bands, drag shorts and big baggy t-shirts for the swim, hills for running.

Most people in the tri scene in Ireland mistake the term "taper" for "rest". Its too late now, and I doubt your training was structured enough to allow a true taper. Do what you normally do but a little less. Don't drop speed work just do less. Personally I have to do something in each discipline at pace the day before a race or I feel stale on the day.

Hey Hunnymonster, I still have not been in the sea, am cacking it so I am gonna try organise that asap, done a fair bit in the pool though, does anyone know if glenalbyn is a 25 or 33 metre pool, someone said its 33

Thanks a million for all the advice lads, my legs were very heavy as opposed to burning, and of course wobbly as f*ck getting off the bike :D:D

You were at it tunney I presume, it is a good sport and there are a few of us getting into it so I am having a laugh, and they are both quicker than me so its good that way that I have to work at it,

I wanna look at getting a proper training programme off someone for this after the greystones one, you are dead right tunney its not very structured at all and I dont have a decent base fitness, I would of always thought I did but I dont care I'm gonna just stick at it and see how I go.

I would really try and get into the sea before the race. Sea swimming is scary enough the first time if you're in a small group. A triathlon swim start is mayhem. The sensible thing for you to do will be to start at the back to reduce the chances of a kick or a thump.

Ah yeh I know I am definitely gonna be at the back, last thing I want is a slap and my goggles flying off :D:D

You dont know where you can find out when the tide etc is in do you?

easytide

you can get tides up to 7 days in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

You could of course jump in the sea just before the aquathon starts and paddle for a bit - lots of people around - don't go sea swimming on your own.

Or do the swim and pull out of the race.

I'll be around tuesday night but I'm not doing the race (hate the short stuff) so I'll get in the water with you for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,178 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

I am planning to do the aquathlon also next Tuesday and a sprint tri in Blessington on Saturday week and next Tuesday will be the first time I have swam in the open water, so if you want to meet up some time before the race next Tuesday at Bull wall and we could do a couple of short drills in the water it maybe of benefit. Do you have tips on changing out of the wetsuit at transition. Thats the only part I be dreading before the race. The fact that it may take me a few minutes to get out of the flaming suit and eat up precious minutes. I heard before that some people use vaseline. Is this useful?

I have no tips Billy, and have not managed to get a wetsuit yet, I hear that you need a specific one for triathlon's too. I have not tried any drills for getting out of it either as I dont have one, it looks like €200 for one of them and I dunno if I'm prepared to pay that for one if I might'nt use it again.

Ok that easytide thing is brilliant,

Yeh the bull wall thing could be very handy, send me a pm and let me know what your thinking!!

Billyhead, getting out of a wetsuit is a pain. Practise at home where noone can see you. The steps up out of the water at the aquathon can be slippy so be careful. The best way I've found to get the darn thing off is to run from the water undoing the zip. I pull my arms out and pull tug the body of the wetsuit down until it's low on my hips. Leave your hat and goggles on until you get the arms out so that both hands are free.Then when I reach my bike (or running box in the case of the aquathon) I stand on the end of the arms and stomp out of it.

I can't go swimming before the aquathon on tuesday as I'm helping out but I can go afterwards. Drilling in OW is quite difficult. You might be better to just practise plain swimming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,178 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Thanks Hunneymonster for the advice, so I can forget about having to use vaseline.

vaseline will rot your wetsuit. In the same way as an oil based lubricant will rot a condom, an oil based lube will rot your wetsuit over time. You can buy specialised stuff such as bodyglide to use but I jsut use ky jelly as it's much cheaper.

so is anyone going swimming tonight?;)

Ha ha ha I really should of but I got caught out with new job stuff, and trying to collect sponsorship money from people so didnt go,

I gotta admit I am now cacking it for this thing, gonna do a bit more over the next few days and then take it easy thursday and friday I reckon,

Do you reckon the cleat shoes on the bike make a big difference to speed, OR could I make up a cheeky bit of time by not having to change out from runners and just using the toe clip efforts?

So did ye survive?