Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Q&A Thread?

• 13-07-2007 10:10am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭

Well alot of new people must have alot of questions about airsoft (duh) so why not make a questions and ansers thread instead of people making a new topic for there questions so one person askes a question and another answer for him?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

Most of youur questions can be answerd in the stickes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I have a few questions about sniper rifles.

Are they really worth getting considering the range can't be that much better than your average AEG? Are they just really for home practice not really any good at places like hrta?

I'm assuming bolt action one's use a spring to fire the pellet, do you have to load one bb at a time? I don't see loaders on allot of them, a barrel underneath like on a real riffle.

Some are gas powered, is that the norm?

I was looking at something like this it looks simple and straight forward I don't see any point in putting a scope on a short range riffle like this, or is there?

IMHO sniper rifles are well worth it. I find mine extremely enjoyable to use and they are very quiet so you can take the more stealthy shots without being heard.

BTW the one you posted is well above the legal limit of one joule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

well they are accurate, and scoped, so the idea is you get into position as a sniper and frighten the bejesus out of everyone sticking their head up.

having got nabbed more then once by a sniper in airsoft, they are a friggen pain in the arse (not literally obviously, unless you stick your arse out a lot of course, but i aint going there...)

of course if you could fire over 1j as a lot of them can but WE CANT you can get speed and distance and accuracy and they are friggen sore to boot...but its ILLEGAL HERE...

you will see a lot of snipers looking for ghillie suits...basicially its a suit that make you look like chewie from starwars...

in a big game that is a long time...like over an afternoon or weekend...snipers are a terrible harassment...the longer the game the worse they get, the one thing they need is time IMHO. in my experience you have to have a sniper to get a sniper...in fact didnt nonex do a great thread on sniper counter sniper not too long ago..?? you should read that it great stuff...

so the bolt action is accurate and accurate to the milsim part, quite a few are using m14 apparently for the auto part so you can put a few bb's down range for the swat type games..in the military one you need to hide and hide well..and that is an art in itself, add to that a odd sneaky shot, doesnt even have to hit...trust me, when you are sitting on yer ass at the back getting a breather and some sneaky git slams one just over your head and you have no idea where to hide, you act like norman wisdom running around in circles, not a pretty sight, but very effective.. you have no idea where it came from where do you hide??

oh, dont call them pellets...that is an air rifle and nothing to do with airsoft

here is the deal..if you are very patient, happy enough to not even fire a shot, then its for you, if like me you want to do assault and frontal marine style assault...then it isnt..

it would be worth getting a book on them, as it shows you the dedication but they are invarably a bit creepy. typically in the military they are a life saver but seen as rather distant individuals by and large. i mean they go out in a 2 man team on their own, for gods sake, the mere thought of that is enough to frighten the bejesus out of anyone. i am far from an expert on this but i did meet one or 2 guys playing over the years abroad in airsoft, that were a sandwich short of a picnic so to speak.

in fact to show you what they are like a recent cnn report into snipers in afghanistan, interviewed a spec ops sniper. when asked what he FELT shooting taliban and alQ guys, he replied with the following 'what do i feel, looking puzzled, i feel recoil..' and thats the way they are....a life saver on your side, a friggen nightmare on the other..i always hate to see some guy arriving at a site in a ghillie suit...and then on the other team...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭RC car fanatic

Does anybody know anything about the Dboys M4 CQB(full metal).Iwas supposed to get another Dboys full metal and made a mistake.So whats its fps and so on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

Does anybody know anything about the Dboys M4 CQB(full metal).Iwas supposed to get another Dboys full metal and made a mistake.So whats its fps and so on

I got one the other day....was testing it out last night.

Its rock solid, heavy and has a great feel.
    I didnt chrono it, but it seems to have the same range and accuracy as my Classic Army M15, which is shooting just under the one joule mark.

cool but it is the cqb metal one right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

There's two versions....theres a full metal and a plastic.
    The one I got was the metal. They both have the same code on the Rsov site - BI3881.

How much did you pay for it ? The metal one is €89.19 and the plastic is €74.33

liamo333 wrote:
    BTW the one you posted is well above the legal limit of one joule.
    Tis too :o 328 is the legal limit isn't it? But something along those lines, basic and does the job well. Was that one a single shot though or semi?
    here is the deal..if you are very patient, happy enough to not even fire a shot, then its for you
    No, patience isn't one of my strong points. I just like the idea of a rifle I think it would be a pure indulgence on my part to get one and I'd probably just do target practice with it.

It's just I'm not to clear on how they work, AEGs and GBB are clear cut enough but sniper riffles seem less clear, single shot? springaction? gas powered? electric? All above?
    in my experience you have to have a sniper to get a sniper...in fact didnt nonex do a great thread on sniper counter sniper not too long ago..??
    Did indeed it's been well read.

I'm like a kid in a toy shop at this stage, I want everything. Seriously I lose sleep thinking about it. :D I'm hopefully going renovating a house and have plans to put a 007 style hidden wall full of airsoft guns in it. I've been saying I'd never get a credit card, that there evil tools of the devil banks but have just signed up to get one, all over airsoft.

ScumLord wrote:
    Tis too :o 328 is the legal limit isn't it? But something along those lines, basic and does the job well. Was that one a single shot though or semi?

That one was a single shot bolt action
    The best and quitest sniper rifels are gas powerd but they are all above the legal limit so it is out of the question.

My vsr10 g-spec is spring powerd and you have to cock it before each shot but it is extremly quiet.

Shiva wrote:
    There's two versions....theres a full metal and a plastic.
    The one I got was the metal. They both have the same code on the Rsov site - BI3881.

How much did you pay for it ? The metal one is €89.19 and the plastic is €74.33

ye metal €89.19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,595 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

liamo333 wrote:
    Most of youur questions can be answerd in the stickes.

Yep. The all powerful stickies. I really wish people would read them :(
    ScumLord wrote:
    Tis too :o 328 is the legal limit isn't it?

No it's not.
    It's 1 joule of energy. The FPS of 1 joule changes dependant on the weight of the projectile.

It's 328fps with a .20g bb. You can get different weight bbs. Therefore the FPS will change. As in it gets higher with a .12g bb and lower with something higher.

You can get gas, electric and spring snipers. Only ones you'd want to be concerned with are spring.

o1s1n wrote:
    No it's not.
    It's 1 joule of energy. The FPS of 1 joule changes dependant on the weight of the projectile.

It's 328fps with a .20g bb. You can get different weight bbs. Therefore the FPS will change. As in it gets higher with a .12g bb and lower with something higher.

If you want to be really spesific (sp?) about it is 328.0000000 feet per second with a 0.2g 6mm bb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

o1s1n wrote:
    You can get gas, electric and spring snipers. Only ones you'd want to be concerned with are spring.

an electric sniper wouldnt be too bad either, i've used a marui psg-1 which is electric and locked to single shot, that was actually pretty good.

liamo333 wrote:
    If you want to be really spesific (sp?) about it is 328.0000000 feet per second with a 0.2g 6mm bb.

actually not really, the equation used is
    Energy (in joules) = 1/2 mass * velocity^2

so the size of the bb doesnt come into it at all

also, you can add as many zero's as you like after the decimal point, it doesnt make it any more precise

Master of the Universe

Where'd you use a Marui ps-g1?

I really wouldn't consider that thing a sniper rifle to be honest. It's a monstrosity!

Ahh yes I always thought the diameter of the projectile matterd.

used one in hrta a month or so ago, got a couple of kills with it too, until rabbit rushed me, didnt have time to turn and fire on him cos the thing is so bloody big, should have drawn my pistol :D

o1s1n wrote:
    Where'd you use a Marui ps-g1?

I really wouldn't consider that thing a sniper rifle to be honest. It's a monstrosity!

Samfisherjk has one. It is a semiautomatic sniper rifle with a barrle legnth of 590mm.

not anymore, originally it was Reaper's, then SamFisher's, now it's Andy's.... ill "borrow" it eventually, or possibly buy one myself

Master of the Universe

liamo333 wrote:
    Samfisherjk has one. It is a semiautomatic sniper rifle with a barrle legnth of 590mm.

Doesn't make it any less of a monstrosity ;)

I never said i wasn't :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Mark_Sc

Mark_Sc wrote:
    I've got a question, anyone know what power one these will make an AEG?

HUH?

OOOOPS! forgot the link....fixed now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭[--SC(+)PE--]

300 fps ar their abouts as far as i know

according to http://arniesairsoft.co.uk/?filnavn=/articles/newbie_guide/faq/spring_guide.htm it's 312.725fps, you will probably get +/- 10fps on that depending on the aeg in question and other components in the gearbox and barrel etc...

Thanks lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Irish Trinity

so... i guess its just a normal Q&A thread?

ok.got the dboys m4 cqb today.put batery in and shot with no bbs.got another battery firefox 9.6 1500mh.tried to charge it and nothing.tried to charge original one and nothing.would the 9.6 have shorted out the charger or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

ok.got the dboys m4 cqb today.put batery in and shot with no bbs.got another battery firefox 9.6 1500mh.tried to charge it and nothing.tried to charge original one and nothing.would the 9.6 have shorted out the charger or something?

Not likely unless there was a severe fault with the 9.6v battery.

Are there any lights on the charger, and if so, are they working? Perhaps you just need to change the fuse in the plug of the charger???

Try a different socket and make sure the battery connector are clean and unobstructed. And if you have a multimeter, you can check to see if a current is reaching the battery.

Dead batteries, when left for an hour, regain a small charge on their own...enough to fire 1-3 short bursts. If the battery is faulty, then it should stay 100% dead. Try this with the 9.6v battery.

Of course, there is always the possiblity that the problem is with the M4 and the batteries/charger is actually fine...

cheers and if its the m4 ive no aeg also no theres no lights on it

no look so far on the battery situation would it be possible to send the m4 back and get it replaced(if other boptions fail)??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭tonyj_mc

drop an e-mail to whoever you bought it off. atthis stage it could be the batt, the charger or the AEG, have you checked if the charger works, volt meter, even the battey starting to heat up would be an indictaion?

sorry for all the posts but is there someone living in the templeogue area or nearby that does repairs or that can look to see if thers a fault with something or that i am doing something wrong???

I live not too far from you, in D12, but i'm busy packing today and i'm going away for a month tomorrow, if you don't get it sorted by the time i get back though ill gladly take a look at it for you.

cheers kd but if im in dyer need is there anyone else to go to?

i'd say if possible make a trip out to HRTA on saturday if you can manage it, i'm sure somethere would be happy to lok at for you

another problem,can anyone rewire an aeg

rewire? why?

what happened?

awwwwwwwwwww i was testing the motor and the wire sort of loosned and it had to be taped so i want to get it rewired as so it will work properly

is the spring supposed to be covered in the dboys m4 cqb or open because on my one it is covered by a black thing

I have a question that needs an answer, should I get a CTR stock or a Crane stock?

Ctr!!!

Thought so.... anyone seen cheek risers for 'em anywhere(other than the real ones.)

Is it common for gbb pistols slide to not return fully home if your pointing them up (even slightly) Sometimes the slide doesn't go all the way home after firing it's enough home to fire the bb on the 2nd shot but not blowback the slide.

I was thinking about putting some washers on the slide spring yoke to fix it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Arcto

Question! Well 2 actually....

Firstly: Does anyone own any STAR AEG's? I was considering their m16a3 as it looks beautiful and theirs very scarce reviews of them. Anyone know anything about STAR peoducts in general or the m16a3 they do?

Secondly: Seeing as what gas you use in a GBB changes the fps, why do customs let them through? Ive got a ksc Deagle gbb and with this stuff called ultra air power gas (which is equivilant to Green, i think) it definatly does over 328. But with 134a it is more around the power of a stock AEG. I am aware that putting high powered gas damages the magazines/slide but i think it can handle it.
    Cheers

Not really ment to mention firearms(shooting over 328fps with .2g is a firearm)
    or things that could harm what little reputation airsoft has.

can I sugest that you delete or edit your post?

And customs don't really know alot about airsoft so thats probably why

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭kalkor

hey , anyone know if aegs can shoot .4 bb's without any damage to the piston , nozzle ect ?