Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Sean Kelly Tour

• 12-07-2007 11:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.theseankellytour.com

anybody planning on doing this one?
    I reckon I'll go for it, now that I've caught the bug after the WW200

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 blacka01

Yeah, will probably do the 160, doesn't look too bad somewhere between the ROK and the W200 I reckon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

Doh, I'm at a wedding that day :( How inconsiderate of the bride and groom!

Would have done the 100km an' all....

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

I was down there on hols last week and we went up to Mahon Falls in the car. Nice little climb..........you'd want to be prepared, it seems a few miles long and is steep, steeper than Wicklow Gap I'd hazard.
    Would like to do it aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Oooh, very interested. Maybe a "team boards" as well? :D

Did you say a fiver a man and winner takes all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭E@gle.

is sean kelly actually doing this himself?

Of course he will be riding. But he won't be in on the fiver a man.

;0

I think i might do this as well. iv never been to waterford so this will give me an excuse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

I'm from round there and will be doing the 100 with the better half who is getting into cycling a bit. Anyway, I have done the wicklow a few times and the etape, ring of kerry etc... I reckon this will be about as bad as W200 if not worse for the 160k. Mahon Falls is only about 4.5k but significantly worse than anything on the wicklow. I was only up it last night. Seskin in Carrick is a Nightmare and I just did a race on Powers the pot tonight and can confirm its no picnic either. In general I would say that the climbs are shorter but sharper than anything on the wicklow.

Well what did you expect ? Sean Kelly was made on these hills, they must be challenging enough !

See you all there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭crashoveroid

Its a Tough choice Tour de Munster or the Sean kelly Tour its a tough choice AAAAHHHH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

when I was doing the ww200 I found it a huge plus to be familiar with the hills and the route. But with the Sean Kelly Tour, I don't think I'll get a chance to check any of it out first. Would people recommend going down to take a look or would it alright just to go for it on the day?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Quigs Snr wrote:
    I reckon this will be about as bad as W200 if not worse for the 160k.

I suspected as much. Had a real close look at the map a while back and it looked like some proper climbing. I'm also thinking the general pace might be faster than the W200.

Mostly its all just rolling roads, with surprisingly good surfaces. Seskin is very steep (think Devils Glen type of climb), mahon falls is a climb of two halves one through the trees and fields and then out onto a desolate and rocky mountaintop. There are parts where it ramps to 16%, but overall its doable. I trained on it all last year to get ready for Alpe D'Huez. In reality, its probably only a little steeper than Slieve Mann on average, but the surface is bad enough for the second half which stop you getting a rhythm (and explains why Kelly was so good on cobbles). Its not constant, there are flatish sections in parts, but in general is a long slog. For reference I was up there in about 20 minutes the other night. There were 5 of us, some of whom did the RAS this year. I would be more afraid of the descent though, we would never go down the backside of it that the Sean Kelly tour is taking, it is just too dangerous, Its almost like an offroad descent. So if you are coming along, and you should. Heed my warning and crawl down the descent.

Powers the pot is a steady wicklow gap type of climb and theres another climb too I think which is again of the steady variety. Apart from that, theres a lot of rolling, dead type roads. It will be a good challenge... the fact that its 40k shorter than wicklow will probably put it on a par with Wicklow. Ring of Kerry is a pleasure cruise and no comparison !

Quigs Snr wrote:
    Mahon Falls is only about 4.5k but significantly worse than anything on the wicklow. I was only up it last night. Seskin in Carrick is a Nightmare

You're not wrong! Went over for a bit of a route reccy today. Seskin is very very steep (up to 20%), luckily it's near the start and short, if it was towards the end I would be walking up it.
    Mahon Falls is a real killer, particularly at the start and towards the end (up to 17%), it flattens out a bit in the middle though, the surface is awful as well. Very different from the steady climbs in the W200.
    On the positive side the road from Dungarvan to Carrick is a peach - flat to rolling with a great surface, wonder who the local TD is?

Hey Blacka, glad you agree with me, I'd be getting worried if you found those 2 climbs to be a pleasure cruise ! Did you go down the other side of Mahon falls ? Lethal, especially on the first tight left hander and over the cattle grid, I had to hit the brakes when a car was trying to climb up from the other direction on that grid. Didn't work out well ! The trick I find to getting up it in a good time is to lollipop it through the car park section and recover as much as you can to blast that last 17% section, which is only about 150m, but its a toughie ! I might ride it and put the profile of the climb up on the site for people to have a look. Its steep from the shop at Mahon Bridge, levels a little before it flattens out at the turn, ramps hard at the turn, easy for a while and then gradually turns steep again until the car park, but doesn't look all that steep because of the aspect of the terrain around it.

The Dungarvan/Clonmel route was actually the first half of this years national timetrial championships, won by Nicholas Roche, and you can see why they would use it. Very nice, usually a tail wind too...

I didn't see you heading out the Cork rd from Waterford this morning by any chance ? We were around Carrick and the Cork rd today, a group of about 6 of us, tuning up for a race in Wexford tomorrow so we avoided most of the tough stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭Membrane

Anyone travelling from Dublin and back on the day by car and willing & able to take a passenger and bike? (bike is a hybrid, only the front has quick release)

(I'd be interested in the 160k)

Quigs Snr wrote:
    I didn't see you heading out the Cork rd from Waterford this morning by any chance ? We were around Carrick and the Cork rd today, a group of about 6 of us, tuning up for a race in Wexford tomorrow so we avoided most of the tough stuff.

Nah, only saw 2 other lads when I was out. Yeah the descent on the other side of Mahon Falls is hideous as well. Hope we're not putting people off!

I can see why they used the main road for the TT course, I was thinking at the time it would be great for time trialling.

Good luck in your race tomorrow!

For a real challenge do the Mahon falls from the other direction... First time I did it was on a real wet day and everytime I got out of the saddle on a steep section, the back wheel would spin, especially on the gravel sections (lots of gravel on that side of it - hopefully it will be swept for the day, my club is involved in the event so I will volunteer anyway having come a cropper on that descent twice !).

Its a seriously great course, hope it becomes an annual event. They could easily make it 200km by taking the coast road from Dungarvan towards waterford along the clifftops and turning off from annestown towards mahon falls again, that would make it the most breathtaking event in Ireland.... heres hoping ! It will be a very long day for me on the 100. The better half has never gone further than 40k and is doing the 100k, might be doing a bit of pushing....!

For those doing the 160, its a tough but manageable course, what would be point be if it was easy after all ? For the 100 and 45 its mostly great roads with no serious hills at all, but rolling enough to be challenging. Something for everyone then. I would encourage as many people as possible to show up. If you have never met the great man before it will probably be surreal to see him cycling along next to you ! Be sure to say hello and be amazed at how down to earth and sound he is ! The man is class on and off the bike and always has time for you.

Really looking forward to it now. The way you lads are talking, it sounds like it's going to be much tougher than the WW200. I tackled Devil's Glen at the weekend for the first time. Nice climb, has some really steep bits.

King Raam wrote:
    The way you lads are talking, it sounds like it's going to be much tougher than the WW200. QUOTE]

Could well be. Thing is when you're feeling reasonably fresh those steep climbs aren't so bad, it's just that when you're really feeling the miles in your legs then long steady Wickolw gap type climbs seem much more bearable

just to let everyone know that all entries must be in by friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

Membrane wrote:
    Anyone travelling from Dublin and back on the day by car and willing & able to take a passenger and bike? (bike is a hybrid, only the front has quick release)
    (I'd be interested in the 160k)
    I could take you back to Dublin afterwards but I'll be coming from Cork direction before the race.

I've just signed up for the 160 km.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 noieralc

Just got my info pack in the post, and I'm getting a little bit apprehensive about signing up for the 160k!!
    How long do you think it will take people? Just asking cos I don't want to be left so far behind that it's dark by the time I get back to the finishing line!! I'm pretty new to cycling, and my average speed on a long(about 60/70 miles) would be 15mph. I did the Ring of Kerry in July in about 7 hours. Do you think I'm fooling myself trying for the longer one?!
    Also, could anyone coach me a little on the rules of the road. Especially for the Mahon Falls descent...we did it last week and it's one hell of a scary surface on the way down(as well as being nearly vertical in places!!) I know I'm going to be creeping my way down with my brakes jammed full on, so what side of the road should I stay on - keep tight into the left so people can overtake me on the right? At the really sharp corner, do you need to signal that you may be swinging out into the centre of the road to get around it?
    Sorry if I sound like a bit of a div with the questions, but I'm so new to this malarkey that I'm more than a bit clueless!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

keep well into the left. If someone wants to pass you let them do it in the middle of the road. If you have to swing out to corner then look behind you before you do.

I think it's great that you're taking on a challenge longer than you've done before.

I have no idea how long it's going to take me. Hoping for 6 hours.

Took me a shade over 5 but that was with a few tough race heads who pulled the legs off me. I reckon you will do it in about 7 hours, maybe a shade more if you did the ring of Kerry in that time. On the descent of Mahon falls stay left unless its too dangerous to do so, gravel etc.. heres the thing, if you can't look around don't be afraid to shout what you are going to do " PULLING OUT RIGHT !" I am very vocal on a bike !

Fair play to you for doing the 160.

Thanks for the advice guys...stay left and start shouting!
    I'm not used to cycling with other people so I'm never sure if there are 'manners' to be followed!
    See you all at the starting line(probably not at the finishing line though!:eek: )

chaps,
    Someone mentioned earlier that Mahon Falls climb is about 4.5km.
    What about the other main ones, how long are they?

P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

I'm doing the 45k route, as I'm a big blouse. Next year I hope to have the fitness for one of the longer routes.

Seskin is at Carrick, only about 1 mile and ramps up to 20% in places, but there is a flat easy bit in the middle when you take a left turn. Hardest bit is the near the top.

Powers the pot, is about 6k (ish) long, steady, sit down climb really, but is steep enough, up to 14% in part. Last time I went up was in a race so it felt steeper.

Apart from Mahon falls, they are the main ones really. Few other bits and pieces but nothing to lose any sleep over.

Thanks Quigs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

So how did everyone get on?

For the 45k, it was steady gentle climbing all the way to ~25k, then mostly downhill for the remainder. There was a real mix of riders, those fully kitted out on road bikes to old beater mtbs, and even a home-spun petrol-driven engine strapped to the back of an old frame. The vibe was great, those groups of riders we chatted to on the route seemed to be enjoying the fine morning and the scenery.

Looking foward to the 100k next year now! What were the longer routes like?

I did the 160. Found the approach to Mahon Falls quite hard as my legs were starting to cramp and it was quite windy. The last section of Mahon Falls was fun, very painful, but I enjoyed it. The descent was a bit hairy, and then the final climb (can't remember the name) was a tough one because of the wind.

I really enjoyed the day out. It was very well organised, marshals everywhere, nice food at the stops. I hope to be back next year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭michaelm

Hats off to the organisers of the day - I thought it was superb all round - don't think I've ever seen so many totally committed volunteers at a function like this before. For the record I did the 100k - made the mistake of being caught on my own for the last 25k - when I was getting tired. To all those that were in the main peleton on the 160K - fair play! It was interesting to see the difference between the casual leisure cyclist(me!) and the experienced club cyclists. Ah if only I had started training 30 years ago!

P.S. Was Martin Early there yesterday?

Have to agree, really well organised. Just surprised more people didnt stick to groups. I did the 100km, started 20 mins after the main group but managed to catch up at the first feed station after hitching a lift with some comeragh cc chaps. Second leg was in a big group which was nice, but on the last 35km i got stranded and the wind picked up and i felt a bit miserable. Nice descent though.

Twas a grand cycle considering im very much a novice and had only 2 trips up the sally gap under my belt.

Hats off to the organisers and sponsors, I'll defo be back next year! Roads were in great condition too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Mahon Falls

michaelm wrote:
    Hats off to the organisers of the day - I thought it was superb all round - don't think I've ever seen so many totally committed volunteers at a function like this before. For the record I did the 100k - made the mistake of being caught on my own for the last 25k - when I was getting tired. To all those that were in the main peleton on the 160K - fair play! It was interesting to see the difference between the casual leisure cyclist(me!) and the experienced club cyclists. Ah if only I had started training 30 years ago!

P.S. Was Martin Early there yesterday?

Agreed brilliantly organised and great route. Never tasted anything like the Flahavans bars!! Grub was great and will be back next year. Saw Martin Early lead out the 160 at great pace with young lads like Tony Ryan and co and they were never seen again until the end. Nobody told them it wasn't a race!!! Met Sean Kelly, Phil Liggett, Phil Cassiddy, Bobby Power and other legends. Did you notice that the photographer at the start was Robert Power!! Hearing stories about 2 ladies doing the 45k who took the wrong route but finished the 100k instead. Fairplay!

I hope they publish pictures soon. I'm pretty sure some official camera man took a picture of me pulling a weird face going up Mahon Falls

Dirk looks like you hitched a ride with Eoin and Jeff, you would have passed me and the missus on the way to carrick then, always a lot easier in a bunch and well worth pushing to hang in. King Raam, I was given a few mostly Comeragh pics to put up on our website, one or two others there too, I'll let you know if I get anymore (tell me what kind of kit were you wearing and I'll keep an eye out in case someone sends me on some pics). Not sure if the Sean Kelly website will be putting up any pics as I am not really connected with them.

Hi Quigs, I was on a red Specialized and had black gear (Cannondale Siemens jersey). I was talking to one lad from the Comeragh Club for a while on the route. Nice feller, but never caught his name. He was doing the 100

hye quigs by any chance were you on your planet x bike thats in The "show images of beauty thread"??

Well its not a planet X bike, but the wheels are Planet X and in the absence of any other logos it often gets mistaken for one, so yes.

Broke the headset and rear hub on my training bike which I had intended to use so had to roll out the race bike for the day, which was a gamble with tubular wheels, a puncture would have resulted in me having to call a taxi home ! Had to do it though, my job was to help the better half around the 100k route. It was slow but fair fecks she made it eventually despite having only one 50k cycle in the legs. Most of the lads I train with did the 160, and indeed were first men home, with many complaints from some quarters about how hard they rode ! Quite a few of the lads who are just trying to get back on the bike, or have been injured or were accompanying family / partners did the shorter events. It was very good in that respect, something for everyone, shame about the headwind !

Raam I didn't get your pic anyway, but if I spot any that might be of you, I will let you know...

ah it was you i seen then

The bike is fairly distinctive alright despite being just plain black. Where did you spot me ? Probably before the first stop, saw very few cyclists after that. Took the better half 4'57 to get round the 100. I was blue with cold at the finish, glad I wrapped up and brought the arm and leg warmers. Felt weird to be getting off a bike not drenched in sweat !

seen ya at the start/finish line before the cycle, i was on a crappy Gold Trek 1000
    (getting my new baby very soon)

was a good cycle, defiently going to go again next year if its on.
    Dungravan is a really nice place

Thats mad I remember seeing a gold trek1000 there and doing a double take. Hadn't seen one in that color before. Dungarvan is a decent place alright, shame they didn't head along the coast towards waterford, as nice as the mountains are, that coast road has a 10km stretch of some of the most impressive scenery in this country along rugged cliffs etc...

Quigs Snr wrote:
    Thats mad I remember seeing a gold trek1000 there and doing a double take. Hadn't seen one in that color before. Dungarvan is a decent place alright, shame they didn't head along the coast towards waterford, as nice as the mountains are, that coast road has a 10km stretch of some of the most impressive scenery in this country along rugged cliffs etc...

I thought my trek was a bog standard colour, i seen at least 3 of them in the same colour there

E@gle, ur not the big guy in the yellow jersey on the gold trek with the comeragh cc lads were ya? Big tattoo on the left arm also if i remember correctly.

DirkVoodoo wrote:
    E@gle, ur not the big guy in the yellow jersey on the gold trek with the comeragh cc lads were ya? Big tattoo on the left arm also if i remember correctly.

No i dont have a tatoo, i was wearing a discovery jersey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Mahon Falls

King Raam wrote:
    I hope they publish pictures soon. I'm pretty sure some official camera man took a picture of me pulling a weird face going up Mahon Falls

Local papers full of photos today at top of Mahon Falls, taken by Robert Power. Told by Sports Partnership that images side of website will take a few weeks to get sorted and that cyclists will be alerted by e-mail.

thanks for the info, looking forward to seeing em

If it wasn't for that damn headwind it would have been a perfect day!! I made it around the 160k route in a little over six hours...which for me is impressive:p
    The whole day was brilliantly organised, and everyone on the cycle was really friendly. It makes a world of difference when you're struggling up a hill to have someone encourage you along.
    Quigs, what website are you posting photos on?