Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People begging at ATMs

• 11-07-2007 9:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭

Sorry, but that should be banned. I'm sick of going to use an ATM and finding some Roma gypsy woman or homeless Irish guy trying to guilt people into parting with their cash.
    I threatened an underage Roma girl with calling the police if she didn't move on from the ATMs outside AIB on Grafton Street, she left calling me 'f**king bitch'. I responded by telling her to get a job, she's getting money from the government and has no business begging.

One Irish guy actually came inside one of the banks on O'Connell Street (it was Saturday, main area of bank was closed, but the inside ATM area was open) to scrounge cash of the people using the ATMs.
    I wasted no time in calling the police to get him out, whereas begging on the street may be legal, I'm pretty sure that begging inside a public building is not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭BrandonBlock

I always throw them €20 or €50, whatever I can actually take out of the ATM like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Demonique wrote:
    I threatened an underage Roma girl with calling the police if she didn't move on from the ATMs outside AIB on Grafton Street, she left calling me 'f**king bitch'. I responded by telling her to get a job, she's getting money from the government and has no business begging.

Never understood this either.
    A begger has some some cheek if they think they're getting a crisp 10euro note.

I highlighted some text OP. What money is she getting? Just wondering.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

I always throw them €20 or €50, whatever I can actually take out of the ATM like.

Well for some....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

They're not begging.... they are waiting to ambush unsuspecting punters
    by rushing them as they key in their PIN, wave a magazine in their face,
    press the "Withdraw €200" option and quickly abscond with aforementioned
    unsuspecting punters cash..

Must be true, not only did I read it on boards.ie but some of those horrid
    Roma beggars were in court recently for carrying out these crimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Demonique

They get the basic social welfare rate €185.80 plus housing benefits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Demonique wrote:
    whereas begging on the street may be legal

is it?

Actually, wasn't it just recently made legal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

This happened to a mate of mine the other week.
    He was withdrawing cash on o connell street and a young lad came up beside him with a map, pushed it over the atm and began asking him for directions (as a distraction so he could swipe the cash)
    My mate pushed him aside and continued with his transaction.
    Watching this, i was just thinking I would be trying to help the young lad(being me) and would have been stung.
    Getting more and more cynical by the day :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭judas101

yet another psuedo racist thread starting. excellent.

better join in.

damn those rotten gypsies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

coming here stealin our wimminfolks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

judas101 wrote:

better join in.

Racism, what racism? I detest all scum who beg equally, regardless of race.
    biko wrote:
    coming here stealin our wimminfolks

Womenfolk, never mind the womenfolk.. just look at our weather.
    We used to have sunny summers with plenty of dry days until we
    had these 'outsiders' coming over here and stealing our sunshine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭irlrobins

Very nearly happened to my sis. One Roma girl distracted her by waving magazine and another came up to hit the button to get a load of cash out. Sister caught her just before she grabbed the cash. On grafton st, middle of the day. Just goes to show you can't be too careful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,695 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Must be true, not only did I read it on boards.ie but some of those horrid
    Roma beggars were in court recently for carrying out these crimes.

I'd love one of them to try that on me, i'd chin the ****. You'd never get sick of punching someone like that:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭kyp_durron

3ba8e1fcf92a111e3aab9b667433362ea8b21742.gif

Discuss :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Demonique wrote:
    One Irish guy actually came inside one of the banks on O'Connell Street (it was Saturday, main area of bank was closed, but the inside ATM area was open) to scrounge cash of the people using the ATMs.
    I wasted no time in calling the police to get him out, whereas begging on the street may be legal, I'm pretty sure that begging inside a public building is not

We get that all the time; its ok during the week when there's staff about the branch until the lobby closes. But on a saturday its a problem. All I can say is to be vigilant and if necessary threaten to / actually call the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,413 ✭✭✭✭Basq

You do what? I hope you're kidding!

I hope i don't come across as racist or anything but this is the exact reason they keep doing it!

basquille wrote:
    You do what? I hope you're kidding!

I hope i don't come across as racist or anything but this is the exact reason they keep doing it!

Yeah, I kick them sometimes and wave my money in their face cause it's pure funneh like lolz haha, and shout things like 'tonight I will be eating steak while you're out on the streets drinking brown water' :D

kyp_durron wrote:
    Yeah, I kick them sometimes and wave my money in their face cause it's pure funneh like lolz haha, and shout things like 'tonight I will be eating steak while you're out on the streets drinking brown water' :D

I hope you get banned tbh, you're a disgrace to Irish society

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,812 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

it usually makes me gratefull , that hopefully i have more than in the paper cup

http://www.flickr.com/photos/thebaz/754274373/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,009 ✭✭✭patrickc

Demonique wrote:
    I threatened an underage Roma girl with calling the police if she didn't move on from the ATMs outside AIB on Grafton Street, she left calling me 'f**king bitch'.

for any underage begging you see call leanbh on 01 6447712.

Demonique They get the basic social welfare rate €185.80 plus housing benefits

not true, most are seeking asylum and get approx 20 per week including food and board. (not condoning their begging at all though)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

if I wasn't so sure you were taking the piss I would hunt you down and give you a slap

Demonique wrote:
    I threatened an underage Roma girl with calling the police if she didn't move on from the ATMs outside AIB on Grafton Street, she left calling me 'f**king bitch'.

Pwnd
    Demonique wrote:
    I responded by telling her to get a job, she's getting money from the government and has no business begging

Maybe she's trying to get a job? **** it if you were starving on the streets you might try begging yourself, I know I would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

My time machine works! I've just gone back 1 entire month! Huzzah! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

there was this horrible irish old bird begging at the atm beside grand central in abbey street today, she was locked and pulling the ankle of some victim as i was walking by. first time i saw her there. actually abbey street is a nightmare now for beggers. i was waiting on the bus and 2 people asked me for smokes and 1 asked for change, all within the space of 5 mins

Caliden wrote:

High Five! :D

Caliden wrote:
    nice one, what're the lotto numbers for the coming month?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

The Bollox wrote:
    nice one, what're the lotto numbers for the coming month?

Screw that I'm going to Cork :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

judas101 wrote:

better join in.

How the **** is this a racist thread?

Caliden wrote:
    Screw that I'm going to Cork :cool:
    what? did you not learn your lesson the first time 'round?

You are all RACISTS, you should give them all at least €20 to make up for your racist remarks. Racism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The Roma thread is dead!

Long live the Roma thread!

racist? I would sooner kick them than give them any money, it doesn't matter where they hail from. I don't mind flinging a few coppers the way of buskers, at least they make an effort, but to have the gall to sit in between two cash machines and ask the users if they have any spare cash? **** that right in the ear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭fortuneg

Forza Roma!!!!

This thread needs MOAR nazi's

http://nhtlol.ytmnd.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Demonique

You are all RACISTS, you should give them all at least €20 to make up for your racist remarks. Racism.

Nah, I'd much rather give them a kick up the bum, then I'd go and kick all the skangers up the bum and then most of our politicians and people who allow their dogs to sh*t in the streets and people who allow their kids to p**s in the street (I've actually seen this happen twice, one middle-classed b*tch allowed her kid to wee on one of the benches outside the Gaiety Theatre)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

judas101 wrote:

better join in.

Eh? She had a bad experience with a gypsy, do you have a problem with that or something? Considering they are only a tiny minority of our population the fact so many people have had bad experience with them doesnt tell you anything? Personally Im waryer of our own travellers than the roma, mainly because the Roma appear to be somewhat less confrontational.

I havent been in town in 6 weeks, judging by the amount of threads the amount of hassling roma in town is up tenfold :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Whats wrong with just ignoring them or saying no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Demonique wrote:
    one middle-classed b*tch allowed her kid to wee on one of the benches outside the Gaiety Theatre)

Perhaps she was an Irish Times critic.

boreds wrote:
    Whats wrong with just ignoring them or saying no?

Why do that when you can create a whine thread on the interwebs?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Brian Capture

Demonique wrote:
    Sorry, but that should be banned. I'm sick of going to use an ATM and finding some Roma gypsy woman or homeless Irish guy trying to guilt people into parting with their cash.

I just like to say

Fair play to you for spelling ATMs correctly.

So many idiots write ATM's

I just like to say

Fair play to you for spelling ATMs correctly.

So many idiots write ATM's

Where is this leading to? :confused:

I am very offended by all the 'racism' in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Seeing someone begging beside an ATM makes me wanna do a Pat Bateman. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,063 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Damn everyone's so witty tonight and I'm not.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Brian Capture

stepbar wrote:
    Where is this leading to? :confused:

here

stepbar is so cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

I dont use any ATM they hang around, as they are more likely to be involved in skimming and could be observing with remote devices or whatever.

I also dont use them if there is an Irish junkie sitting at the foot of it with a cup, as although he is less likely than a roma to have a device reading my card details, he is more likely than a roma to pull a syringe and demand money. However, Ill bet one of my "no go" reasons is common sense whereas the other will be seen as racist.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Muzzy

Gypo at the ATM, I take out my money, wave it in his face (But not to close) and in my best Borat Impression, "You not get this, you not get this" and tell em to Fcuk off. My Mum would have been so proud of me. i actually got a great reaction from the rest of the people that were in the que.

Now, to redeem myself, someone had a linky with a child doing the begging, which is a regular occurance; their parents should be deported for child abuse. Truely awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Would it be wrong to give them (clearly) fake €20 notes, so that they can be deported for fruad?

the_syco wrote:
    Would it be wrong to give them (clearly) fake €20 notes, so that they can be deported for fruad?
    No. :D

here

stepbar is so cool.

You were obviously disturbed by it all. :D