Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin team to play Laois announced [LSFC Final Game Thread]

• 11-07-2007 12:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭

From Hill16.ie:

'Sherlock replaces Quinn for Leinster SFC final

Jason Sherlock returns to the Dublin attack for Sunday's Leinster SFC final with Laois in Croke Park (4.15).

The St Oliver Plunkett's man, one of four in the starting 15 from the Navan Road club (Alan and Bernard Brogan, Ross McConnell), replaces Tomas Quinn.

Quinn, who scored 2-3 (0-2f) in last year's 3-17 to 0-12 provincial semi-final victory over the O'Moore County, fails to make the championship starting 15 for the first time under Paul Caffrey's management.

DUBLIN (SF v Laois) - S Cluxton; D Henry, R McConnell, P Griffin; P Casey, B Cullen, B Cahill; C Whelan, S Ryan; C Moran, A Brogan, B Brogan; J Sherlock, C Keaney, M Vaughan.'

Hmmm, so Mossy makes way for Jayo, a good call in my opinion, Mossy has underperformed in the last few outings. Bernard Brogan also retains his place. He started well the last day but faded, so will be interesting to see how he does, should be given a second chance. Also Alan is named in the half forwards? Personally I'd like to see him playing there, but I presume they'll chop and change as usual.

Any word on the Laois line up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,000 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Yeah, no surprise Jason in for Mossy. I'd say he'll play mostly at centre foward with Alan Brogan in the corner. But plenty of positional switches during the game!

Laois:
    F Byron;
    C Ryan, T Kelly, J Higgins;
    P McMahon, D Rooney, B McCormack;
    P Clancy, B Quigley;
    P O’Leary, C Conway, C Parkinson;
    MJ Tierney, P Lawlor, R Munnelly.

Donie Brennan dropped. Peter O'Leary comes in. Garvan and Beano carrying knocks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Dublin forward line looks very good and will switch alot during the game causing confusion. This should be a good game, im looking forward to the midfield battle and hope the dubs get enough ball to the forwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Great to see Jayo back in the starting 15. Also leaving Mossy out shows the faith in Vaughan which is good. Mossy has underperformed but im sure he will battle to get back in. B Brogan did start well and fade as you say and his shooting left something to be desired but he looks like a decent player so definately deserves the second chance. Hopefully he can show what he can do on Sunday. On a side-note, still bloody nervous about going to the club tomorrow...why do i expect to see a sign on the door stating there will be a draw for tickets again :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭AndyP

Personally I think Collie Moran is a major disappointment and not just this season. Obviously his position is not threathened, but I dont think he merits his place at all. Cosgrave is living off performances from years ago too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

We just want them all to do the business on Sunday, whoever the stars are on the day. I think there is enough talent there to achieve it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

A good lineup alright.Certainly Laois are hit hard with Donie Brennan from Arles-Killeen being dropped and Beano McDonald injured.Garvan their best midfielder is out as well.

I'd expect Ryan and Whelan to mop up in midfield.As a Vincents guy its more encouraging to see Mossy dropped.He's nowhere near as good as he was this time last year and needs to regroup.I hope he will and will be re-introduced later on in the championship.He may get a run out on Sunday.

Vaughn will be up for this.I'd tip him to score a goal.I am ecstatically happy that Alan Brogan has been dropped back to the half forward line.That should cut out his tunnel vision and his partnership with Jayo is superb.We'll see him pass the ball more.

Don't know what the story is with the weather.I've heard different weather reports stating it will be raining or that it will be sunny.Met Eireann say winds will back up in an easterly direction bringing rain into Leinster while the west will get the good weather.

Some good weather predicted for Saturdays qualifiers though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

If the positions remain during the match it looks fairly solid.

Laois have worked away quietly, no hype, no rubbish like last year so no jibes about hair gel and the like expected this time out.

I think this is going to be a good, tight match. Laois will be eager to eradicate last years result and Dublin will be also aiming to go up a gear after the Offaly match.

For the first time in an age I'll be in the stands for this one so it'll be interesting. I'll keep an ear and an eye open to spot any behaviour which apparently is the preserve of The Hill and hopefully the dizzy heights wont lead me into hallucinating Laois supporters booing during the Dublin freetaking, which of course we all know, no other county bar Dublin does.

Well Liam Kearns doesn't expect much from this match but that could be speculation.I'm expecting a Dublin win but the scoreline this time will be tighter.

3-17 to 0-12 points is a score you won't see again.Jaysus I was in the Hill that day last year against Laois and the sun was out,we were playing beachball and Ray Cosgrove scored a goal that Fergal Byron would rather forget.That was Cosgroves best outing since his return.Nobody on the Dublin team that day could do any wrong.

However,I'd expect a close game with Dublin winning by 5,pulling away around the 55th minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭modmuffin

this is a pretty good article by keith barr for the indo
    http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/dubs-bad-points-add-up-to-a-draw-996075.html

id agree with a lot of what he says, although i think the dubs will win by 2pts.

Delighted to see B.Brogan getting the nod, also, he's 20/1 for 1st goal with boylesports....talk about value!! especially as he'll probably end up in the corner at some stage during the game!

Keaney @ 9/1 is worth a punt aswell.

Up the Dubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Laois have named their team. I am suprised to see Kelly named at full back, and I anticipate that he will switch with Rooney at some stage. It turned the game for Laois when he moved to centre back against Wexford. Laois have gotten to this stage without playing well, but have a lot of talented players and could click on the day. Hopefully the game will be an improvement on last years

Laois (SF v Dublin): F Byron; C Ryan, T Kelly, J Higgins; P McMahon, D Rooney, B McCormack; P Clancy, B Quigley; P O’Leary, C Conway, C Parkinson; M Tierney, P Lawlor, R Munnelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,000 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Jason Sherlock picked up a knock so is rated a doubtful starter.

You'd start to be a bit concerned if Jayo couldn't start but I am here to reassure that Laois aren't without doubts either.Chris Conway may not be able to start for Laois.

Theres the equaliser Biiiillll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

blackbelt wrote:
    You'd start to be a bit concerned if Jayo couldn't start but I am here to reassure that Laois aren't without doubts either.Chris Conway may not be able to start for Laois.

Theres the equaliser Biiiillll

I heard that too....but Billy Sheehan would step in there no problem....

*now runs away from all the Dublin people*

I'm very confident Jayo could start.Conway is going with a hamstring injury.Normally I'd be more weary of him in the attacking line.The two candidates to replace Jayo would be Mossy or Ray Cosgrove but Bonner could fit in there.

I wonder if Connolly would get on instead of Mossy?From performance this year,Mossy would edge it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Who are Laois? Oh I remember we beat them by 14 points last year:D

Yes we did.:D

However it would be hard to imagine us doing that again this year.Afterall the stakes are higher and last year was a bit of a freak occurrence but I'm confident we can still give Laois a good hiding by about 4 or 5 points...well not so much a hiding but a reasonably comfortable win anyway.It will be a tightly contested match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Anyone else think these odds are silly?
    First Point Scorer on Paddy Power:
    M Vaughan 4 - 1
    C Keaney 9 - 2
    A Brogan 9 - 1
    J Sherlock 10 - 1
    B Brogan 16 - 1
    C Moran 20 - 1
    C Whelan 22 - 1
    S Ryan 40 - 1

I mean, naturally Laois could score the first point and all but mainly Vaughans odds seem very high. Think about it logically, thats saying that only once in 4 games will Dublins score the first point and have it scored either from a free or by the freetaker. Certainly happens more than that i think. Worth a punt id say. Also, do ye think youd get away with this accumilator?
    First Score: Dublin point from a placed ball 4 - 1
    First Point Scorer: M Vaughan 4 - 1
    ;) Doubt it unfortunately

EDIT: add into the double above:
    Which team will score the first point of the match: Dublin 8 - 11

Also another crazy odds: Dublin to lead at half time and the match to end in a draw....Certainly not out of the question but 16-1 for it. Draws tend to have high odds in GAA tho i suppose.

and finally: Laois To Score Last, Lead at Half time and win the match 7 - 1 . Very high again. Btw, before anyone asks, yes, im quite bored and just killing time until the bus :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Conway out: Beano in for Laois.

Laois Minors win by 2

3-08 : 1-12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

Laois goal.
    Ross Munnelly

Terrible challenge by Brogan on Tom Kelly. Deserved yellow.

Free or penalty...

Inside the square but I'm not sure wtf it was given for.

Handbags but Clancy punched twice.

Should have walked tbqh. No place for that. Caught on camera too.

Dub goal.

Vaughan; no need for the gloating.

Dub goal x 2.

Brogan.

**** ya Rooney :mad:

HT:

2-7 : 1-7

We're not really trying the last few mins :(

Two goals in a minute killed us. Pld the Dubs tho, good goals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭meathman 007

id say the dubs will win it - but can someone explain to me why colin moran is on that team - the man is absolutely useless.....:confused:

Dub goal x 3

Brogan.

ffs

Maybe sometime before the games ends we *might* start playing again..

Jesus ****ing christ :(

Great save by Cluxton

Sheehan on for Beano.

I wish those wing backs would stop trying to score. fs.

10 to go.

6 points the difference.

Mossy for Jayo

Kevin Fitz for Paul Lalor

Bonner for Vaughan

Brennan for Casey.

2 to go + injury and 8 points in it.

*sighs*

****ing gloating

Sportsmanship my arse.

Game over.

Congrats lads. We prolly wont go any further.

nothing but a bunch of dirty scumbags that dublin team - being the best team does not give you the right to behave like that - the whole lot of them are a bunch of bastards - no genuine gaa fan can defend them scumbags...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,829 ✭✭✭robo

Yep totally pathetic from the Dublin players...lousy of them!!!

But sure will they go any further, the best they can ever do is win the Leinster title :rolleyes:

3-14 : 1-14.

Good scoring and a good game I thought [bar the result :p]

2 goals killed us; thems the breaks.

Can we not turn this into a bitch feast about anybody please.

Congrats on three-in-a-row lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Aedh Baclamh

Haha, Dublin so classy :*)

id like to see the dublin 'fans' come on here and defend them - they are a bunch of discusting people and have no right to take to a gaa pitch.....nothing but a bunch of scumbags...

Meathman; knock it off now.

Anymore 'scumbag' talk from anybody == a two week ban.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭TedKelly

id like to see the dublin 'fans' come on here and defend them - they are a bunch of discusting people and have no right to take to a gaa pitch.....nothing but a bunch of scumbags...

SuperDubs. Great Performance:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Aedh Baclamh

Eh kaimera, what can we say so? Can we talk about Alan Brogan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭Carcharodon

And Dublin fans wonder why they get so much stick.... Made a show of themselves with the gloating towards the end, lack of respect to the highest degree.

I wouldn't mind, its the only thing they will win this year, I pray to god we meet them and give them a trouncing.
    A very average Laois team put it up against them today for most of the match and it could of been a different story if they were more lethal in the second half.

Dublin played well for spells and deserved it no doubt but I dont think other teams will be too scared of them.

kaimera wrote:
    ****ing gloating

not going to say another word on it - but singling me out with a warning is laughable....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭6ix

What exactly happened with the Dubs gloating etc? I wasn't able to watch the matches today.