Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My new bike ......

• 07-07-2007 7:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭

I was supposed to be getting a 1987 Vulcan 1500 and had a deposit down on it and everything. I even bought a nice seat and a new set of Jardine pipes for it.
    But unfortunately the shower of shaggers in Bikeworld can't get their thumbs out and order a simple thing like a fuel tap for those nice lads in JP, so I had to rethink my purchase.

So went into town today to get the head sheared and just happened to walk by Megabikes. I usually have an auld gwak at the bikes when I go by but this time I spotted something really nice in the back of the shop.

A 2000 Honda Fireblade :D , only 12k on the clock and its in mint condition. So I thought about it for a few minutes and stuck a deposit down. I'll be collecting it next weekend.

Image003.jpg

Image002.jpg

Image000.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

fabolous bike well wear!

love the colours EXCEPT that white bit at the back just doesn't look right.

don't pull a ktric on it "he he he"

P.S. whos the broad in the background ---nice -- yours? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

yayamark wrote:
    fabolous bike well wear!

love the colours EXCEPT that white bit at the back just doesn't look right.

P.S. whos the broad in the background ---nice -- yours? :)

Not mad on the white bit myself, but all the blades have it. I'll try and keep this one rubber side down for the moment ;)

My missus was holding the camera, don't know who the nice blonde was in the backround.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Dr4gul4

looks good bosco, whats the cc dare i say it's 1000 ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

nice one. groovy .
    whats the story with biker.ie.... its gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Noice, even if it did cost me a bargain ;)

White wheels? Pain in the hole keeping chain lube off the back one. A scottoiler might be an idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

ha ha once again ktric changes his mind on what bike he is gonna get :)

so you gonna take her for a spin next week ?

Its a 918cc, 130bhp and 92nm of torque.

Cost me €4900 and its in amazing condition for a 7 year old machine. I was told that the previous owner kept it in his living room :eek:

I'll hopefully bring it down to Limerick for the big IBF / Biker.ie get together next Sunday.

Doesn't look like biker.ie paid the bills this month, they've been cut off !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

KTRIC wrote:
    I was supposed to be getting a 1987 Vulcan 1500 and had a deposit down on it and everything. I even bought a nice seat and a new set of Jardine pipes for it.

Vulcan and a Fireblade are two VERY different bikes

professore wrote:
    Vulcan and a Fireblade are two VERY different bikes

Eh, no they're not :rolleyes:

Same, eh, engine (i think :D ) or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Aido 101

Nice bike. And it's blue, fare play ! They go faster when there blue.....
    What's the story with Biker.ie guy's ????????????

Aido 101 wrote:
    Nice bike. And it's blue, fare play ! They go faster when there blue.....
    What's the story with Biker.ie guy's ????????????

Nah mate, black ones are faster, everyone knows that :rolleyes:

Looks like the biker.ie guys didn't pay their hosting company.

KTRIC wrote:
    Nah mate, black ones are faster, everyone knows that :rolleyes:

Looks like the biker.ie guys didn't pay their hosting company.
    huh black!

you have obviously NEVER scene a RED motorized bicycle before!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

So ehh... Al, how many bikes have you both this year? :eek:
    Nice one though. Hope its as good as it looks. (Blue and white for the win ;) )

sutty wrote:
    So ehh... Al, how many bikes have you both this year? :eek:
    Nice one though. Hope its as good as it looks. (Blue and white for the win ;) )
    giggle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Nice bike but who's the dweeb sitting on your bike???:confused:;)

Kenny 5 wrote:
    Nice bike but who's the dweeb sitting on your bike???:confused:;)

yer ma :D

KTRIC wrote:
    yer ma :D

Yeah I knew it looked like a woman on it :p

Kenny 5 wrote:
    Yeah I knew it looked like a woman on it :p

No, yer ma looks like a 6ft 4in 240lb guy :p

/me notes down reg so I can get mine changed to yours..............N4 here I come :p

Kenny 5 wrote:
    /me notes down reg so I can get mine changed to yours..............N4 here I come :p

Can scooters set off speed cameras ??

KTRIC wrote:
    Can scooters set off speed cameras ??

Sure can........going downhill of course :p

no need for the cat fight ladies
    Cat-Fight.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

OK, so the reason you HAVE to buy a petrol tap from BW is............??? how about oh, I dunno, somewhere else..........?? handy thing, the interweb..........;)

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

Picked up the bike today and the thing is f*cking unreal. Can't find words to describe it :eek:

Here are some decent pics

IMAG0012-1.jpg

IMAG0011-small.jpg

IMAG0006-small.jpg

looks sweet man, get u sum crash bungs just incase, and remember take her easy.

Dr4gul4 wrote:
    looks sweet man, get u sum crash bungs just incase, and remember take her easy.

Crash bungs and an Ermax seat cowl are on the shopping list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭FiSe

KTRIC wrote:
    Its a 918cc, 130bhp and 92nm of torque.

Cost me €4900 and its in amazing condition for a 7 year old machine. I was told that the previous owner kept it in his living room :eek:

I'll hopefully bring it down to Limerick for the big IBF / Biker.ie get together next Sunday.

Doesn't look like biker.ie paid the bills this month, they've been cut off !!

Bring it to Druids MCC as well over the weekend of 27-29th... Nice blue, btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭Thinkingaboutit

Biker.ie are back as you probably know. Shame the VN purchase fell through.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 1,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭karltimber

oh and get a smaller reg plate aswell :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Niall06

Nice bike, love the colour.
    Take it handy for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

yayamark wrote:
    [...]

[...]
    Ah cr@p... You beat me to it!

Very very nice bike KTRIC! I'm not a big fan about the white arse either but it's a very tidy bike that looks in pristine condition! Congrats! :)

Nice work

& im sure you have kept perfectly to the speedlimit on it :)

madrab wrote:
    Nice work

& im sure you have kept perfectly to the speedlimit on it :)

Eh, erm, yeah......... i did ;)

Sweet bike dude!!!! :cool: Race ya? :p

Took the bike out the *cough* closed private road ;) *cough* today and bearly opened the throttle, up to about 6500rpm. The bike shifted along at 110mph (2 up) with ease and plenty left in it. I only did it for a couple of seconds and the needle was climing rapidly, didn't realise it until I looked down. Scary power :D

watch out for those moving ditches! :)

madrab wrote:
    watch out for those moving ditches! :)

Ah don't I just know, those f*ckers jump out in front of you at the drop of a hat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

I must pop out to review your latest purchase sometime :D

Jaysus I'm unlucky with bikes :mad:

Got home from the IBF Lough Derg thing yesterday evening and decided to see why the Fireblade was stuttering at low speeds. My self and the missus removed the tank and found that the air filter hadn't been touched and the chain was at the minimum wear level.

Looks like the service that I was told the bike was meant to get didn't take place.

So after a few stern words to the shop owner I got my money back.

so ure bikeless again ??

Ladies and gents, it's official this is the way forward,own a bike for a week or two, then return it.

Dr4gul4 wrote:
    so ure bikeless again ??

Ladies and gents, it's official this is the way forward,own a bike for a week or two, then return it.

Yeah I'm bikeless again :(

I've never seen money being returned so quickly to be honest. He must have known what the story was.

2 weeks of free Blade action though :D , can't go wrong with that !!

why didn't you get them to service it - did you not want to keep the blade ??

whats next in line for you ??

Take your photo from this thread just in case you are posted up in bike shops :D:D

k

karltimber wrote:
    why didn't you get them to service it - did you not want to keep the blade ??

whats next in line for you ??

Take your photo from this thread just in case you are posted up in bike shops :D:D

k

Sorry don't know what you mean about my pic ??? I was incognito the day I bought the bike (see first post ;))

Oh I did want to keep it. Just sick of going back to them for stupid things.

It was all meant to be done when I bought the bike.

is that your normal riding gear ??:D

what next -another blade - what did you think of it over the last 2 weeks.
    had you been on one before ?

K

bikercatav2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

okelydokely then, seeing as KTRIC is back looking, I might as well add my 0.02......looking for recommendations for a good Jap Custom - was thinking of a Honda ACE 1100, but key things: has to be shaft drive (will get big miles), and 1100 cc or more. Condition more important than age. Where to look?? Budget 6k, ish, but less is better !

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

yamaha royal star, 1300cc v4 shaft drive, torquey monster with lots of chrome :)

jp on pierce street have a good selection, as do gorey bikes (but they can be expensive)

Well ladies,

My mind is made up already. When I land in Munich next weekend I'm heading to the nearest Ducati dealer and putting a deposit down on a new GT1000 :D

I drove one last year at the Ducati open day in Waterford and it was amazing. It'll be a good step up for me from the W650.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Pigeon Reaper

just don't get the Duc wet!

Why's that ? Are they made from paper mache ?