Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

cork the new poker capital

• 03-07-2007 3:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 900 ✭✭✭

It can be hard enough getting enough players in the Macau on weeknights so I'm not sure where their player base will come from. On the other hand the Macau is full of regulars but doesn't do a lot to attract new players, so if the new place(s) have a good marketing strategy they could get some action going. And if they get some action going with a lot of new players then I can see some regulars drifting over there with their fishing nets...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭busted flush

the macau is currently the only poker club in cork!
    however i heard that there are two new clubs opening in the city in the next month. while i think this is great news i just dont know if it will work ! is there room for another club ? im sure the barred lads from the macua will welcome this but thats just a hand full . its going to be hard to break into a business with a limited amount of players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

where is this 'Cork' of which you speak?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

AFAIK, it's some small provincial town somewhere down the south of the country, some sort of feeder town for Dublin I think, I've never been but I know someone who's friend's mother was down there for a week about 10 years ago, she didn't like it, apparently they speak some mad foreign language but still refer to it as "English" The whole thing seems off to me, but they have Poker now eh??

its a mythical place where flush draws always arrive on the river and where tptk is never any good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Jools Poker

http://www.peoplesrepublicofcork.com

hopefully you'll get a chance to visit the real capital someday ste....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Moro Man

however i heard that there are two new clubs opening in the city in the next month. while i think this is great news i just dont know if it will work ! is there room for another club ? im sure the barred lads from the macua will welcome this but thats just a hand full . its going to be hard to break into a business with a limited amount of players.

You must have a hand the size of the grand canyon:D :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭RedJoker

It's the only poker club with tournaments. The Shangri La on South Mall has 1-2 PLHE cash games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

Ste05 wrote:
    AFAIK, it's some small provincial town somewhere down the south of the country, some sort of feeder town for Dublin I think, I've never been but I know someone who's friend's mother was down there for a week about 10 years ago, she didn't like it, apparently they speak some mad foreign language but still refer to it as "English" The whole thing seems off to me, but they have Poker now eh??

ah, yes. I think I've heard of it now. Quite a backward place apparently, they worship their own pagan gods called 'Keano' and 'Rog'. They are reputed to converse in an odd sing-song dialect which mainly consists of the phrases ' boyyyyyyy' and 'langer'. No-one from outside can understand it. They also have a powerful antipathy to civilised peoples, they refer to them as 'Dubs'.

still if they can play poker, I think we owe to these poor souls to reach out (and relieve them of what little money there can be in such an awful place)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Connie69

It can be hard enough getting enough players in the Macau on weeknights so I'm not sure where their player base will come from. On the other hand the Macau is full of regulars but doesn't do a lot to attract new players, so if the new place(s) have a good marketing strategy they could get some action going. And if they get some action going with a lot of new players then I can see some regulars drifting over there with their fishing nets...
    :p:p:p:p

The only nets most of the Macau Regulars [<{{{}}}}<><] are used to are the ones they tangle themselves in:o :o:o:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭DEEP THROAT

It can be hard enough getting enough players in the Macau on weeknights so I'm not sure where their player base will come from. :D All the barred and ex regulars.......enough for a rugby team

On the other hand the Macau is full of regulars but doesn't do a lot to attract new players, so if the new place(s) have a good marketing strategy they could get some action going.:) THe advertising slogan will be an inscription written on a large statue in New York:mad:

And if they get some action going with a lot of new players then I can see some regulars drifting over there with their fishing nets... Which of the remaining regulars in the Macau would these be?:confused:

Unlike all other establishments in the real world people can get barred from the ***** (for fear of legal proceedings all names will be blanked out) for minor infringements and silly disputes that wouldn't be noticed any where else.

The list is quite long and if it wasnt true would be hysterical.

Player No1: Barred for calling manager a prick ........... After said manager pulled the plug on a christmas party for staff and players because some one he didnt like was going to the party:eek: ( It wasnt on casino property just Player X's pub )

Player No2: :Barred for disagreeing with a ruling ........... Not only that was forcibly removed at the start of a tournament and not given a refund for his entry fee:eek:

Player No3:Barred for pointing out the stupidity of a ruling: ..... He pointed it out by exposing his cards three hands in a row....The ruling was it is ok to expose your cards by accident:rolleyes:

Player No4: Barred for Handing the manager his phone ....... Unfortunately Player No3 was at the other end and The manager didn't see the funny side:eek:

Player No5: Barred for taking a croupier out for breakfast after her shift ........More Like He Was After His Shift.... Problem may have been the sausage on the plate wasn't the only one shifted or swallowed;)

Player No6:Barred for being the chief suspect in a "who passed the funny money scandal"....The really funny thing is that the ***** does not believe in checking notes...... It took a few weeks for the duds to be uncovered:confused:

There are plenty of others but these would be the more high profile and amusing:o Not point in going through the ASBO list here

Of these 6 players We have a collection of

EPT Final Tables reached 1
    WSOP Final Tables reached 1
    EPT Cashes 1 (Not Including FT)
    WSOP Cashes 3 (Not Including FT)
    Plus numerous other supporting event cashes
    TV Commentator 1

And all these players would be viewed as well known/popular/respected (delete as appropriate) members of the Cork Poker Community

There is also a longs list of what are known a "Suspensions" whereby you get a temporary barring order and then have to come back and say sorry and promise never to do it again............... :) Oddly enough most of these would be for D&D offences and a lot of people dont bother coming back

So the backbone of any new game would be the above plus all there friends still active in the ***** but only marking time;)

And No there is no prize for correctly spotting the 6 players:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Hmmm just to let you know Deepthroat, we can check the IP address of this post and I see there is 2 other posters with the same address, so be careful if you decide to out any other unsubstantiated rumours under an "anonomous" account. PM me if needed.

This thread is now on VERY thin ice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Flipper

A well ran club in Cork would do huge business IMO. It's a pity that the games/banter used to be so good and now it's pretty much all gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 780 ✭✭✭Captain Tom

Flipper wrote:
    A well ran club in Cork would do huge business IMO. It's a pity that the games/banter used to be so good and now it's pretty much all gone.

yup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Sounds like the script for a new series of Fawlty Towers. I think the manager could play Basil.

Flipper wrote:
    :mad:

I think bantering became a barring offence ;)

Moro Man wrote:
    :mad:

I think bantering became a barring offence ;)
    :mad: :mad:

Jokes aside how can there be banter at a table when the management are prone to coming over and asking you to leave if they think you are making too much noise?

It's not a public library and not all people out and about at 3 in the morning would be a picture of sobriety.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Nothing against Cork people but why the hell does every single person from Cork say "Sure Cork's the real Capital anyway!" and expect you to laugh. Met a girl at the weekend. Asked her where she's from. "I'm from the real capital" I mean jesus STFU!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Flipper

NickyOD wrote:
    Nothing against Cork people but why the hell does every single person from Cork say "Sure Cork's the real Capital anyway!" and expect you to laugh. Met a girl at the weekend. Asked her where she's from. "I'm from the real capital" I mean jesus STFU!!
    You met a girl? :eek:

NickyOD wrote:

And what did the married ones say?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

ah, yes. I think I've heard of it now. Quite a backward place apparently, they worship their own pagan gods called 'Keano' and 'Rog'. They are reputed to converse in an odd sing-song dialect which mainly consists of the phrases ' boyyyyyyy' and 'langer'. No-one from outside can understand it. They also have a powerful antipathy to civilised peoples, they refer to them as 'Dubs'.

you make no effort to understand the lyrical poetic dialect....In fact I have had to change my accent to ensure that i dont have to repeat my self 4 times so that you Dubs can understand.

Can Cork really cope with 3 poker clubs though? will it not become a bit of a saturated market where the poker community becomes divided amongst three clubs making fo lower numbers and poorer action?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭luckylucky

They are reputed to converse in an odd sing-song dialect which mainly consists of the phrases ' boyyyyyyy' and 'langer'.

I wonder which phrase my fellow Corkonians would pick for you now :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Jools Poker

NickyOD wrote:
    Met a girl at the weekend. Asked her where she's from.

hey nicky,

wouldn't have thought that would be a very clever line of questioning to pursue when meeting girls......considering her next line will prob be "so Nicky, where you from?" :D

what you up to anyway at the minute- still in our neck of the woods?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭sitout

i was in the macau last night to play the 60 euro freezout( 27 runners). a cash game did not get started until around 12pm. There just werent enough players to get one started and when they finally did the majority of them wanted to play a round of each( when i say majority i mean all bar one on a table of six) . Only to be told that the staff were under strict instructions to play holdem only. This imo is a complete joke nearly all the players who finally ended up playing the cash game ( 9 in the end ) are regulars for the last 2/3 years . These imo are the people who should be catered for not to quote a friend " the students who sit down 50 euro and wait for aces".

Not that i have a problem with people sitting down with 50 quid, to play a game but surley, that one person should not be the reason why`the rest of the table should suffer and play a game they dont want to . regular customers are the life blood of any business this is a fact, treating them like children and or with distain is surley not a sound business atribute. These new clubs will really put the cat among the pigeons . If run properly and in a good sprit they might inject a much needed umph into the slow, chugging,boring and quiet frankly faltering cork poker scene.
    siobhan
    ps; we finally got or way and had a pretty good game of omaha/nl holdem!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

WHERE?

I'm getting sick and tired of hearing this.
    This has been going on for ages..
    "Oh, sure theres another place opening soon"
    No theres not.:mad: :mad:
    Until i see a new poker establishment in Cork City then i'll keep giving my money to the Macau regulars.

Oh Yes There Is
    :):)

In Fact 2.......

One on the site of the old Lee Cinema. Next to McD's on Winthrop Street. Looks like it will be impressive when finished.

Second in the premises formerly The Bank Pub off The Mall towards Holy Trinity Church..... Due open this month:D

Sitout airing views like this

"There just werent enough players to get one started and when they finally did the majority of them wanted to play a round of each( when i say majority i mean all bar one on a table of six) . Only to be told that the staff were under strict instructions to play holdem only. This imo is a complete joke nearly all the players who finally ended up playing the cash game ( 9 in the end ) are regulars for the last 2/3 years . These imo are the people who should be catered for not to quote a friend " the students who sit down 50 euro and wait for aces"."

Could lead to you permanently living up to your name:eek: :eek:

hey nicky,

wouldn't have thought that would be a very clever line of questioning to pursue when meeting girls......considering her next line will prob be "so Nicky, where you from?" :D

what you up to anyway at the minute- still in our neck of the woods?

Still in Letterkenny but moved to a single apartment to focus on my plan for world domination. Still barred from the club though.

Flipper wrote:
    You met a girl? :eek:

I think so. I know she had large breasts because I couldn't hear what she was saying, so she must have been a girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭luckylucky

On the subject of all people from Cork always saying I'm from the real capital. I won't say I've never said this, but I'm definitely not in the habit of it. I agree that it's unoriginal and sounds naff to most people. I don't think EVERYBODY single or otherwise always says this, maybe it's just the slappers that you go for Nicky :p

Anyway you can apply the same thing to people from everywhere, how many times in Dublin did I get slagged in good humour for the most part about being a culchie, hundreds and hundreds of times. At first I enjoyed the banter and then it became boring and annoying, then I just tuned out from it. The same goes for living in England, I get the same irritating stage Irish accent time and time again. One of my fav quotes was when I was asked once did I know any English Jokes. I said I did, I knew loads, I'm surrounded by them :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 900 ✭✭✭CaptainNemo

luckylucky wrote:
    On the subject of all people from Cork always saying I'm from the real capital. I won't say I've never said this, but I'm definitely not in the habit of it. I agree that it's unoriginal and sounds naff to most people. I don't think EVERYBODY single or otherwise always says this, maybe it's just the slappers that you go for Nicky :p

Anyway you can apply the same thing to people from everywhere, how many times in Dublin did I get slagged in good humour for the most part about being a culchie, hundreds and hundreds of times. At first I enjoyed the banter and then it became boring and annoying, then I just tuned out from it. The same goes for living in England, I get the same irritating stage Irish accent time and time again. One of my fav quotes was when I was asked once did I know any English Jokes. I said I did, I knew loads, I'm surrounded by them :D

I love going to England and getting slagged for having an Irish accent, it beats going anywhere in Ireland and being slagged for having a posh accent.

Oh Yes There Is

In Fact 2.......

One on the site of the old Lee Cinema. Next to McD's on Winthrop Street. Looks like it will be impressive when finished.

Second in the premises formerly The Bank Pub off The Mall towards Holy Trinity Church..... Due open this month:D

Sitout airing views like this

"There just werent enough players to get one started and when they finally did the majority of them wanted to play a round of each( when i say majority i mean all bar one on a table of six) . Only to be told that the staff were under strict instructions to play holdem only. This imo is a complete joke nearly all the players who finally ended up playing the cash game ( 9 in the end ) are regulars for the last 2/3 years . These imo are the people who should be catered for not to quote a friend " the students who sit down 50 euro and wait for aces"."

Could lead to you permanently living up to your name:eek: :eek:
    lol ..... hope you are wrong

I think it says where it is in this video

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭RedJoker

Oh Yes There Is

In Fact 2.......

I know I've mentioned this already but there's already a small casino open on South Mall that plays 1-2 cash games. 50 euro min buy-in and drunks are not turned away so happy days.

RedJoker wrote:
    I know I've mentioned this already but there's already a small casino open on South Mall that plays 1-2 cash games. 50 euro min buy-in and drunks are not turned away so happy days.

:D In Fact It's Nearly A Requirement:D

yea the casino on the mall is brutal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭PokerPissTaker

sitout wrote:
    lol ..... hope you are wrong

He's not wrong there is def one opening in couple of weeks and more than likely two At said locations FACT From the horse's(OWners and backers) mouths

sitout wrote:
    yea the casino on the mall is brutal.

:D:D

I'd have viewed this as a good thing:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭dingle

If Limerick can support two casinos then I don't see why Cork can't support two or three as well. In the end market forces will dictate the result and competition has to be a good thing for the customers. Monopolies lead to businesses not caring enough about customer service which seems to have been the case up until now. That might change when customers have a choice and can bring their gambling dollars elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

Is it gonna be where that little shop is/was with the arcade games in the back? next to brown thomas?
    I hope not, bringing poker to the CBD of Cork means lots of little tinkers will be filling the place.

:)Thats The Place...... Will be 2 + Storeys

thats this one/area right?

:)Yes Halfway Down the street to the Mall

:p This has to be good news for all poker players! With a choice of 3 venues it will make the industry fight tooth and nail for their customers(well it should any way). As far as i can see all people want is a nice venue , plesent enviornment,friendly staff,hassel free games, clear and ever present rules and all round fairness. Its great for the punter to finally have choice and with 3 clubs fighting for our custom, im sure there will be some tempting offers for us to gamble the 5hit out of it!
    siobhan

sitout wrote:
    :p ..... As far as i can see all people want is a nice venue , plesent enviornment,friendly staff,hassel free games, clear and ever present rules and all round fairness. ..........
    siobhan

You're not looking for much:) :)

sitout wrote:
    :p . As far as i can see all people want is a nice venue , plesent enviornment,friendly staff,hassel free games, clear and ever present rules and all round fairness.

Well said old boy ! could not agree with you more

sitout wrote:
    :p ...... As far as i can see all people want is

1) a nice venue

2) plesent enviornment

3) friendly staff

4) hassel free games

5) clear and ever present rules

6) all round fairness.
    siobhan

I'd be happy with any 2 and I'd probably put up with any 1.

I Think we should have a scoring system based on the above criteria for each card club in the country. Does Anyone have a definitive list of all card clubs operating on this fair isle at the moment. We could publish a league table based on the rankings.

Moro Man wrote:
    I'd be happy with any 2 and I'd probably put up with any 1.

I Think we should have a scoring system based on the above criteria for each card club in the country. Does Anyone have a definitive list of all card clubs operating on this fair isle at the moment. We could publish a league table based on the rankings.

I'd have to give this establishment 2 out of 6........ 1 for for 1 and 1 for 3:rolleyes:

As a Cork poker player I'd be happy with one as I've never seen any in the well known est. in Cork(mention no names) Delighted with the compitition as it will improve the game and the social aspect

Might also add the game in the La La might not be the best game in the world but the craic is mighty and theres never any grief from staff very entertaining for the best part

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

doesn't do a lot to attract new players

I think Ken's given up. I thought the 'Pub Challenge' tournaments were a great idea. There's loads of pub games going on around the city and county so you're marketing to your target audience straight away. They were a moderate success and did attract some players. I think the problem is most of the pub players didn't like the strictness of the rules and the standard of play was well beyond them. How many people have you met who've been playing poker for years and seem to have no grasp of the game at all? A lot of them want a pint while they're playing too.
    sitout wrote:
    " the students who sit down 50 euro and wait for aces"

I hate those ****ers! I've a small bankroll myself but contribute something to the game ffs.

I actually had a great time at that Tuesday night game. TBH I've never seen any of the **** that other people are complaining about but it sounds like management went way OTT. I think the 'no staff dating customers' rule is daft. I can see why they would have it but it wouldn't be that difficult to prevent collusion. If it came to it and I wanted to ask a dealer out, I'd just play poker somewhere else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Connie69

I think the 'no staff dating customers' rule is daft. I can see why they would have it but it wouldn't be that difficult to prevent collusion. .

I Think they are more worried about collusion at Blackjack etc. :eek:

Well as I live in Cork I can comment on two down here and

Club "A"

1) a nice venue 8/10

2) plesent enviornment 4/10

3) friendly staff 2/10

4) hassel free games 2/10

5) clear and ever present rules 1/10

6) all round fairness. 0/10

Cub "B"

1) a nice venue 6/10

2) plesent enviornment 6/10

3) friendly staff 8/10

4) hassel free games 7/10

5) clear and ever present rules 6/10

6) all round fairness. 9/10

Spot prizes for guessing which is which or PM me and I'll let you know

Disclaimer: The opinion express in this post is mine and mine alone And have not been instructed by any third parties on its contents. I'm also not carry any fruit or meat in my luggage

Yours Faithfully

The Poker Piss Taker

Would be interested in the Dublin comments on this as they all seem very opinionated up there lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭Caboose

So I see we're taking up poker rankings ala poker europa's club detective or whatever the hell he's called.

Pisstaker I do indeed know both clubs! Do I get a prize for naming them?

Looking at this thread it seems that everyone has an idea of what kind of club ye want. Here's an idea....take all the poker players in Cork not satisfied with the current club situation, put them all in one place (no alcohol at the start, maybe after a while).

1st have a group unbunching of the panties
    2nd figure out what ye want and write it down
    3rd see how many people would be interested in physically committing to a new club, we'll call these guys investors.
    4th Do it!

I for one would love to see a new club in Cork. Solely devoted to poker and all its elements. A properly run club with attention on the players. I've had this discussion with a few people who wanted to set up their own club and it is do-able. Once ye get a player friendly/designed club then ye can see what ye can do.

I'm not too far from Cork and would gladly drive down to attend a group like this and hammer out some ideas.

PM me or just add to this with what ye're thinking.

love
    your friendly Caboose