Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Commercial or Private Motor tax

• 28-06-2007 8:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭

Can anyone summarise /clarify the requirements and advantages disadvantages of taxing a commercial vehicle both or commercial and private basis

The difference is basic price is 30 Euro so far based on the vechicle but i'm told there is a different NCT required every year etc ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Depends on engine capacity.
    Commercial tax is flat rate.
    Private is capacity based.
    Commercial needs DOE every year
    Private needs NCT every 2 yrs
    Check finfacts.ie for the current tax rates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭nupplenits

If you had it insured private could you tax it as commercial?
    (probably not).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭nupplenits

nupplenits wrote:
    (probably not).

Anyone know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭Tony Danza

nupplenits wrote:
    Anyone know?
    Yes you can, that's what I've done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

There seems to be a bit of an anomoly if a van is taxed privately - the registered owner will not be officially notified to do a DOE or NCT. (Although, presumably, it is the owner responsibility to ensure that the vehicle is tested).

Can you tax a van privately? When I went to pay my tax, I thought I would have had to tax it privately, since I insured it privately but the woman in the tax office told me I needed to tax that type of vehicle commercially, not that I was going to complain since it was half the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Mc-BigE

Tony Danza wrote:
    Can you tax a van privately? When I went to pay my tax, I thought I would have had to tax it privately, since I insured it privately but the woman in the tax office told me I needed to tax that type of vehicle commercially, not that I was going to complain since it was half the price.

check your private motor policy terms and conditions, here's a part of allianzdirect.ie:

"
    Your Car

Is registered in your name in the Republic of Ireland and you are the main driver and the car is taxed privately.

Value is less than EUR 70,000, is not more than 15 years old and is not a car vanette, kit car, sports car, convertible or gti. It is not left hand drive and it has not been modified.
    "
    CJhaughey wrote:
    Commercial tax is flat rate.

Commerical rates are also dependant in the unladen weight

under 3000Kg is 253
    3001- 4000kg is 320
    and so on...

but to be fair most pajero/landcruser size commericals are under 3000kg

private road tax would be 1343euro for the above vehicles,
    thats a big saving on road tax a year

Tony Danza wrote:
    Yes, it must be taxed privately if it is not being used for commercial purposes (i.e. in connection with a business). I used to have a van and I taxed it privately.

Motor Insurance is more difficult though as most of the mainstream companies won't give a quote directly (but they will through a broker! :confused:)

I taxed it as I was told by somebody in the tax office, and I've read my policy it doesn't say anything about it having to be private tax, so I've followed all the rules correctly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭templetonpeck

Mc-BigE wrote:
    check your private motor policy terms and conditions, here's a part of allianzdirect.ie:

"
    Your Car

Is registered in your name in the Republic of Ireland and you are the main driver and the car is taxed privately.
    Was just about to post the same thing. Make sure taxing it commercial doesn't affect your policy.

The Terms and Conditions referred to above are for a private car policy with one company.

Presumably the Terms and Conditions would differ according to the company and the vehicle concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Mc-BigE

The Terms and Conditions referred to above are for a private car policy with one company.

Presumably the Terms and Conditions would differ according to the company and the vehicle concerned.

agreed, but if one major insurance company has it in their T&C, then it makes sense to check the others too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Gunner69

The standpoint of the tax office is if it is a commercial vehicle, i.e. no seats in the back, then it should be taxed commercially. Why would you penalise yourself for driving a vehicle that is intended to carry goods and not people. Whether you carry goods or not is irrelevant.
    As for the poster that says there insurance company says you must Tax privately, you should shop around !!!
    If you are driving a van or a commercial jeep, you have already taken the hit by driving a lesser vehicle than its people carrying version. !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭DirtyDiesels

nupplenits wrote: »
    (probably not).

yip you can, i did it with a golf van for the last 5 years..but im told now that some county motor tax offices are different. Same way as some of them look for a vat number if you want to tax commercially!!!

yip you can, i did it with a golf van for the last 5 years..but im told now that some county motor tax offices are different
    I think it depends on whether it's a car derived van (like your Golf) or a standard commercial van.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 239 ✭✭darcy.jonny

firstly u cannot tax a commerical viechle with private tax ....
    all vans etc are classed on there innitial registration , theres no vans out there that are doing ncts except matbe carvans like focus and that

no insurance company will insure a van on private insurance , id a viechle is designed to carry good ........ there not going to insure it just because u say it wont carry good

been driving vans and cars for past 6 years . private tax and comerical tax and private and commerical insurance are to seperate entities that dont cross over one another ........... the only cars that can be insured commerically are cars that are part of a fleet . mainly being hire cars.

honestly for those that have ever done an nct or doe

have u ever seen a van or commerical jeep etc. going though an nct centre and how mant cars have u ever seen doing a doe .

btw u need to have your own company to be eligable for commerical tax in most cases

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Kmurtimurboy

The bottom line is that the insurance companies want to be profitable and so minimize their costs while the taxation people just want their pound of flesh and to make work for themselves. The inteligent thing would be to scrap car tax and up fuel tax, as a big 4x4 driven 500 miles a year is more eco friendly than a smaller petrol driven 40,000 miles a year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

firstly u cannot tax a commerical viechle with private tax ....

False. You can tax a commercial vehicle privately.

While I'm on the subject, the company owner in his new 'commercial' range rover pays less tax than each of his employees in their 15 year old camrys or whatever castoff they have got. Guess who does more damage to the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭conneem-TT

While I'm on the subject, the company owner in his new 'commercial' range rover pays less tax than each of his employees in their 15 year old camrys or whatever castoff they have got. Guess who does more damage to the road.

As you said in your previous post, whoever is doing the most mileage, our current system is in no way appropriate to "punish the polluter" as it were.

Well, he probably pays twice for fuel than most of the employees, but the "damage" to the road is different. A properly constructed road will take a Range Rover without any damage resulting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

While we are making stupid statements ......the company owner pays more in tax and eprsi than all his staff spend on road tax combined

And without him creating jobs none of them would be able to afford road tax.

The road tax sytem taxes most heavily the private motorist, and most lightly the commercial sector. The physical damage to roads is related to the weight per axle. The environmental cost is related to fuel ecomomy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 white.van.man

I'f i shop as I do each morning and buy my lunch will i break the rules?
    if this is put in force it will be the final straw for me.I will leave this sinking Island.No work, cant afford a second car.every builder in the country has a van and a car.While our wives are out making the money with the car we must pick up the kids with the van.I worked for a German lady who refused to buy a car for environment issues. I asked her how she gets to town on a rainy day, she said i get a taxi of course. Thats twice the mileage for the same distance. Will this be me soon? I dont think so. keep well away from me Gormley .

Hammertime wrote: »
    While we are making stupid statements ......the company owner pays more in tax and eprsi than all his staff spend on road tax combined

And without him creating jobs none of them would be able to afford road tax.

Your so right. Im in the same boat. And when all goes tits up we are the worst off. The more you do here the worse of you are.

The bottom line is that the insurance companies want to be profitable and so minimize their costs while the taxation people just want their pound of flesh and to make work for themselves. The inteligent thing would be to scrap car tax and up fuel tax, as a big 4x4 driven 500 miles a year is more eco friendly than a smaller petrol driven 40,000 miles a year.

well said.even if the 4x4 is doing 40000.its a fair system

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭barura

Okay, so let me get this straight. i can buy a commercial van, but tax it privately, but I have to do the DOE and I can insure it for private use? Is that the gist?

Sorry for the question. This thread is confusing but I'd like to know. :)

I know a guy who insured private and taxed commercial. he was exempt from nct and Doe. He was driving a road hazard and no one could stop him.I know the guy from the nct centre and he said it was a loop hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭freighter

I have a truck that costs 3 grand to tax for the year. Can I tell the tax office that I use it privatley going to shops etc and tax it privatley at 1500 euro a year.....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

I'f i shop as I do each morning and buy my lunch will i break the rules?

IMO No, as buying your breakfast roll is not technically "for social/domestic/pleasure*". Its a necessity as part of work to have a lunch break.

*(Lets keep the fetish's out of the thread please)

freighter wrote: »
    I have a truck that costs 3 grand to tax for the year. Can I tell the tax office that I use it privatley going to shops etc and tax it privatley at 1500 euro a year.....;)
    Slightly different issue my friend. and at 3 GRAND FOR tax plus fuel, insurance, etc your as well off in the building game.

mullingar wrote: »
    IMO No, as buying your breakfast roll is not technically "for social/domestic/pleasure*". Its a necessity as part of work to have a lunch break.

*(Lets keep the fetish's out of the thread please)

I have an Oj and salad for lunch.not a fan of breakfast rolls.
    Im guessing you are a prius driver.which left the m5 laughing after a hard lap around top gear. if not, Im sorry and go back into the tree you fell out of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭moceri

I saw a man parked up in a Council van doing some shopping in a supermarket yesterday about 4.40 p.m. I wonder if this is a breach of the rules councils themselves wish to enforce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭martin46585

i have a small van which i use for everything from going fishing to taking the dogs out, and to not mess up herselfs car, so off to the tax office today to tax for the year and was told to bring in either my herd No (not a farmer) or my c2 (not contractor) failing that i could not tax the van as of 24th aug!!!
    so my question to the greens, why let me buy it in the first place?? why not request these documents at the time of registration.
    as quite afew people drive small vans in a private basic will they all have this trouble in taxing these vans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

i have a small van which i use for everything from going fishing to taking the dogs out, and to not mess up herselfs car, so off to the tax office today to tax for the year and was told to bring in either my herd No (not a farmer) or my c2 (not contractor) failing that i could not tax the van as of 24th aug!!!
    so my question to the greens, why let me buy it in the first place?? why not request these documents at the time of registration.
    as quite afew people drive small vans in a private basic will they all have this trouble in taxing these vans

I'm in the same boat(or should I say van) as yourself, taxed mine in July, so next year I'll probably be asked for the same, hopefully they become lax again by then.

Could I use my father's hard number, I wonder?

I think, if you check back, there was a declaration requested from you at the time.

Are you now admitting you made a false declaration?

Gophur wrote: »
    I think, if you check back, there was a declaration requested from you at the time.

Are you now admitting you made a false declaration?

"have it right my brave man"

firstly i took the van to the customs imported it on a private basic no questions there,
    secondly i insured the van on a private basic no questions here either,
    thirdly i DOE the van again private still no questions,
    fourthly i taxed the van and again no Qs,
    bar the first one i have done for the last five years same place every time, so explain to me and everybody else who requested this DECLARATION from me??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 dunlops26

Can anybody tell how does the new road tax rules work now on commercial vans.Do you need a VAT number a C2, a company number or if your a farmer a "Herd number".I was only told yesterday that that you will need nearly all of these and go to your local garda station and to get a document stamped .I wanted to buy a small van but now I am confussed !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭101sean

Read the last 2-3 pages of this long thread, covers what you need - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056002732&page=57

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 gaudy

can you tax a van without a d.o.e?? need to tax it now but if i got a date for the d.o.e would that do? and where do i apply for the d.o.e??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭JayEnnis

Alright lads, I'm a photographer but I'm still in college but I make the majority of my income from it.. Its not a registered business but could I still tax an Izuzu D-max commercially? Bit confused reading this thread.

sorry for the bump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭caprilicious

You need to have a VAT no. unfortunately JayEnnis, unless you're in an area where the motor tax office is a bit more lax, other than that you're looking at private tax rates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

If you are using solely for commercial purposes, you should be able to tax it as a commercial.You will have to show proof of some sort, accounts and that sort of thing should do it,.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭JayEnnis

corktina wrote: »
    If you are using solely for commercial purposes, you should be able to tax it as a commercial.You will have to show proof of some sort, accounts and that sort of thing should do it,.

Well it would be my only vehicle but it would be useful for transporting lighting gear and the sorts. So I would have to use it for personal use.. I guess that rules it out then? I'll check it out at the tax office anyway, thanks for the help.

Most tax offices are going on the wording of the insurance cert, that is if it says that that vehicle has commercial cover, even if it also states that it has social and domestic cover, then this will qualify for commercial rate of tax, this only applies to the first time that you tax the vehicle......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 dunlops26

JayEnnis wrote: »
    Alright lads, I'm a photographer but I'm still in college but I make the majority of my income from it.. Its not a registered business but could I still tax an Izuzu D-max commercially? Bit confused reading this thread.

sorry for the bump.

I am unemployed and i checked out meath county council they said no problem once you are genuinely looking and using it for work all is fine.My dad lives in wicklow and he is on the state pension and was able to tax his toyota van commercially.You need to check with your local motor tax office

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭mann

My poor head is completely shot… I been to the tax office to tax my van and they say I need to go to the cop shop to get a form stamped saying I only use it for work and provide a vat number,

Thing is shortly after i bought the van 2 years ago I no longer have a steady job but I still need the van to carry bits and bobs plus tow my trailer for private use,

I have spent the afternoon reading threads dating back a couple of years on this site that didn’t really help me with my problem,

I also checked out a couple of insurance companies to see if I could insure the van as private in the hope that I could then go and tax the van for private use but the couple I tried said they couldn’t do it as its not a private class vehicle,

Does anyone here know of a company that might sort my problem for me… it’s a 1.6 engine so its not going to cost me much more to tax it but I just cant find a way around this,

All I want to do is tax it legally so any help you may give will be gratefully accepted, my current insurance runs out at the end of this month,

My tax has just expired so I cant use the van to go look for work or accept any offers of work where I would need the van to get me to the job :mad:

I really don’t need to know what I can and cant use my van for… I just want some tax on it to get from A to B.

Many thanks in advance for any help you may be able to give :cool:

Mann, my brother in law had the same problem.
    He doesn't have a VAT no., so couldn't get the form stamped by the Gardai.

Instead he had to go to the tax office, get a form changing the class of the vehicle from commercial to private, then tax & insure it as a private owner.
    There wasn't too much hassle involved, but the tax is a lot dearer (its a 2.5l engine)

One thing I'm not too sure on is if you will then need to NCT the vehicle as oppose to DOE it.
    He had just DOE'd the jeep a few weeks prior to this happening, so he hasn't had to look into this yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭mann

Hi Caprilicious,
    I cant tell you how I felt when I started reading your post… it really did bring a smile to my face and I can tell you it’s the first time I smiled since leaving the tax office 13 hours ago… so I have to thank you for that :)

But as I read on I kinda got depressed again… “Not your fault” but I see it was a jeep your speaking about and my problem is I have a box van and from what I have read in a couple of threads on here the insurance companies wont insure a commercial box van as private… so in turn I still wont be able to tax it as such,
    I pray that someone will prove me wrong on that,

As for taxing my van private… well I was lucky to go for the 1.6 engine rather than the 2lt that I was tempted to get so it would cost me around €450 a year to tax it… that’s provided I can find a company to insure it for me either as commercial and have no probs with me having private tax,

Words can not express how this is making me want to do damage to any member of the last government that may come to my door looking for my vote… I think I should put a little not on my door warning them not to disturb me while my head is in this state :mad: :confused:

I been off the fags about a week and was doing great until I left the tax office but now I’m back on them with a vengeance… have to say they are duty free cigs and they taste like sh**e and all I intend to do from now on is cost the government money rather than carry on as a hard working tax payer,

If a tax paying job comes up I will go on the sick… cash only from here on in.

Thanks for the reply Caprilicious and if you hear anything else that might cheer me up I would be grateful to hear from you.

Respect :cool:

I'll cheer you up so, my dad drives a caddy type van (2 seat) & he taxes/insures it as private, so it is possible :)
    My brother in laws jeep is also commercialised (2 seat/seats taken out of rear) & all it took to change it from commercial to private was this form

Hope that helps :)

I also hope the greens in particular stay well away from my front door, they're enforcing of the commercial tax buggered things for us to0 :mad: