Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can anybody tell me about this IRA poster?

• 21-06-2007 2:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2

I see this on all my Irish friends personal sites (like bebo & myspace). Can anybody tell me anything about, like the date & other things?

160681222a338356877b661hw3.jpg

Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

You mean Bloody Sunday (ie January 1972) or the poster itself?

If its the poster then it looks like someone attempt with photoshop to turn a ra head with an AK47 into some form of modern pop art, I've seen it myself on a few bebo profile...

No doubth the people think it 'cool' :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,031 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

OP,

How is it an IRA poster? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 56!?!

Yes it's the actual poster I'd like to know about not Bloody Sunday. The title of the picture where I copied it from was "IRA Poster". Thank you for the info CroppyBoy1798, so it's just a photoshop job?

56!?! wrote:
    ......so it's just a photoshop job?

Yep, I'd imagine so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭last_orders

Zebra3 wrote:
    OP,

How is it an IRA poster? :confused:

balaclava?
    gun?
    tricolour?

its safe to assume that with those 3 things in the poster thats its an ira one, what else could it be? unless you mean thats its not ira but the provo's or rira but sure their all the same pack of murdering scum anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭FiSe

I'd say it's just a tacky attempt of some so called republican head to be cool.
    Some sort of "Che thing" in new light, or something...

Or maybe, there's hidden message in it: Sunday Bloody Sunday and there he is, a man who supposed to be a victim, waving his gun to get his point. Ironic and brilliant, if this is the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

its a very badly trained terrorist in the picture...

Zambia232 wrote:
    its a very badly trained terrorist in the picture...

I'm intrigued....why? Because he let himself be used on this 'thing'? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,031 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

balaclava?
    gun?
    tricolour?

its safe to assume that with those 3 things in the poster thats its an ira one, what else could it be? unless you mean thats its not ira but the provo's or rira but sure their all the same pack of murdering scum anyway.

Balaclava? Yes.
    Gun? Yes.
    Tricolour? No.

Even if there was, it could represent an elite unit in the Irish Army or somebody else like the the INLA.

But surely this isn't the place for discussing stuff losers on Bebo put on their sites to make themselves look (what they think is) cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

I'm intrigued....why? Because he let himself be used on this 'thing'? :D

Nope fingers should never rest in trigger guards. Even the Hamas fellas dont do that ...

Have to agree with zebra3 , it just some loser who thinks he knows something about the armed struggle and thinks its cool to display this sort of imagery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭ScottishDanny

The tricolour is back to front - Ivory Coast Freedom Fighter? :rolleyes:
    Sunday Bloody Sunday would refer to the U2 song which also has the line 'but I won't heed the battle call'
    Its all quite lame but then so is bebo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Shamrock83

56!?! wrote:
    I see this on all my Irish friends personal sites (like bebo & myspace). Can anybody tell me anything about, like the date & other things?

160681222a338356877b661hw3.jpg

Thank you.

Hi bud !

i hope you are doing fine

I am actually Libyan guy from (( Libya )) (( North Africa )), i am 24 ,

i admire the cause of the trouble (( they want their freedom )) , why that

that kingdom wants to take their land from them , it is shame , and everyone

wants to dirt their pictuer from that American movies like (( Devil's won ))

staring Brad Pitt and Ford , as he said the end (( it is an Irish story not American one ))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

:confused: HuH? ^

That pic is crap. I can't see how it would invoke anything in anybody. Whats the deal with all the bubbles? Maybe it's one of those bubble blowing guns he has there. In that case, it's cule, and I want wun 4 my bEbOz xxx{{}}xxx

Everyone want to be free , no racisim , slavery, hate.

Noone thinks that he is more clever and sophesticated than you.

why they runied the peace of their life ?

Shamrock83, despite what you may have heard, seen or believe is going on here in Ireland, 'the heroic struggle for freedom' is nothing of the sort. Its more about drugs, organised crime and inter fueding now.

Last week a 20 year old guy from my county was jailed for being a member of an illegal republican organisation, he was caught whilst on his way to kill some drug guy for a reward of €10,000..........does that sound like a freedom fighter or someone who wants a united Ireland?? Just sounds like another scummer to me who is now, where he belongs!

Hi bud, i hope you are doing well , I am really sorry to hear that, i was agree their openion ((Not Killing of course)) but to be free and united, but now to hear these stuffs , i like Republic of Ireland and i wish to visit it someday beacuse its great History of ((1845)) that great Famine and disporia to America . so that you i like Ireland and its varity of accents and dialects .

so thanks for these glance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Fenian

Its more about drugs,

Can you back this up please?
    Tell me the last IRA volunteer who was arrested and convicted on drug charges.

Please, i want to know the exact meaning of (( Sinn Fine )) ? is it Gaelic language word?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Shamrock83 wrote:
    Please, i want to know the exact meaning of (( Sinn Fine )) ? is it Gaelic language word?

Ask colonel Gadafi, I believe he is on first name terms with many of them :p

Fred, we are proud of our opinino twards that policy which running in this stupid life of killing people and back to the dark ages (( conquestin countries )) .

That`s the exact meaning yerone ((We ourselves)) , may be you are right , but we want to be free that`s all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

:D:D:D

Fenian wrote:
    Can you back this up please?
    Tell me the last IRA volunteer who was arrested and convicted on drug charges.

we all know it has nothing to to with drugs. Convicted bombers and Sinn Fein councillors are well knwon visitors to Columbia and of course, it is the norm to travel under false passports when you have nothing to hide, especially when visiting rebels areas.

Amazing how those rebels became so good at building car bombs:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭O'Leprosy

Shamrock83, despite what you may have heard, seen or believe is going on here in Ireland, 'the heroic struggle for freedom' is nothing of the sort. Its more about drugs, organised crime and inter fueding now.

Last week a 20 year old guy from my county was jailed for being a member of an illegal republican organisation, he was caught whilst on his way to kill some drug guy for a reward of €10,000..........does that sound like a freedom fighter or someone who wants a united Ireland?? Just sounds like another scummer to me who is now, where he belongs!

" to kill some drug guy for a reward of €10,000 " Obviously that inside information came from a 'reliable' news source like Independant newspapers, the BBC, whatever. And maybe he was dealing in conterfet DVD's, child pornograhy, illegal hormones for cattle, poaching salmon fisheries and all the other bizarre actions the IRA have been accused of down the years. The fellas that make up this stuff (MI5, RUC Special Branch, what's referred to as "Psy Ops" [ Psychological Operations, i.e. Black Propaganda ) and feed it to a 100% complient media, must have a good chuckle when they see people believing this :o

O'Leprosy wrote:
    " to kill some drug guy for a reward of €10,000 " Obviously that inside information came from a 'reliable' news source like Independant newspapers, the BBC, whatever. And maybe he was dealing in conterfet DVD's, child pornograhy, illegal hormones for cattle, poaching salmon fisheries and all the other bizarre actions the IRA have been accused of down the years. The fellas that make up this stuff (MI5, RUC Special Branch, what's referred to as "Psy Ops" [ Psychological Operations, i.e. Black Propaganda ) and feed it to a 100% complient media, must have a good chuckle when they see people believing this :o

straws, clutching, are, you, at.:D

make up a well known sentence from the above words

O'Leprosy wrote:
    " to kill some drug guy for a reward of €10,000 " Obviously that inside information came from a 'reliable' news source like Independant newspapers, the BBC, whatever.

Ehhh........no, not quite, try Carlow District Court instead.

Take it easy , guys , i am just fan of IRA, but i do not like what have the media like ((Hollywood )) made for example (( Devil's won )) movie Harson Ford and Brad pitt , it is laying . :mad: :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Shamrock83 wrote:
    Take it easy , guys , i am just fan of IRA, but i do not like what have the media like ((Hollywood )) made for example (( Devil's won )) movie Harson Ford and Brad pitt , it is laying . :mad: :mad:

Shamrock, I appreciate that your posts may lose something in translation, but I hope you are a fan of the Republican movement, rather than a fan of the IRA. The IRA is a terrorist organisation responsible for the murder of hundreds of innocent people.

we all know it has nothing to to with drugs. Convicted bombers and Sinn Fein councillors are well knwon visitors to Columbia and of course, it is the norm to travel under false passports when you have nothing to hide, especially when visiting rebels areas.

Amazing how those rebels became so good at building car bombs:rolleyes:

Firstly, I don't support Sinn Fein since the Provisional movement is no longer a Republican movement.

Secondly, the FARC produce a fraction of the cocaine that comes out of Columbia (the government backed paramilitaries are the main producer and exporter).

Thirdly, they were accused of teaching the FARC rebels how to make mortars, not car bombs.

The IRA is a terrorist organisation responsible for the murder of hundreds of innocent people.

They have killed innocents. As has every army that has engaged in warfare.

Since you brought up IRA atrocities, why not mention the uncountable millions the British army has murdered and oppressed over the centuries. Not just in Ireland, but in Europe,Asia and Africa.

You have no right to judge the IRA when your own people have caused far more destruction and misery than the IRA could ever hope to accomplish.
    Not as if they'd want too, they're not animals after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Strange how, since 9/11, all of the rebels and terrorists have been made redundant by the Americans. All that you have now are insurgents. We should arrange for a "Bring back the rebels" petition and send it off to George W.

Fenian wrote:
    Firstly, I don't support Sinn Fein since the Provisional movement is no longer a Republican movement.

Secondly, the FARC produce a fraction of the cocaine that comes out of Columbia (the government backed paramilitaries are the main producer and exporter).

Thirdly, they were accused of teaching the FARC rebels how to make mortars, not car bombs.

They have killed innocents. As has every army that has engaged in warfare.

Since you brought up IRA atrocities, why not mention the uncountable millions the British army has murdered and oppressed over the centuries. Not just in Ireland, but in Europe,Asia and Africa.

You have no right to judge the IRA when your own people have caused far more destruction and misery than the IRA could ever hope to accomplish.
    Not as if they'd want too, they're not animals after all.

don't be so ridiculous, of course I have the right to judge the IRA, they are a terrorist organisation. Anyone who kills innocent people deserve to be judged so get off your high horse.

Yeah, the British have oppressed over the centuries, that's because they were a colonial power, they'd be a pretty **** colonial power if they didn't go around the world conquering and oppressing, but when they were doing it, there were plenty of Irishmen coming along for the ride (and the spoils)

For Shamrocks information, ireland is not a poor country under the heal of britain, the part of Ireland that remains under the british flag dose so because the majority of people who live there wish for it to be that way. The minority who wish to inflict their will on the majority, are the ones who received the shipments of semtex and other weapons from Libya, known as the IRA.

Yeah, the British have oppressed over the centuries, that's because they were a colonial power, they'd be a pretty **** colonial power if they didn't go around the world conquering and oppressing, but when they were doing it, there were plenty of Irishmen coming along for the ride (and the spoils)

Now I see, what a fool I've been. British atrocities are totally excusable because they are a colonial power, and have (so called) Irishmen among their ranks.
    The minority who wish to inflict their will on the majority
    If you take Ireland as a whole, the people who consider themselves British are in the minority.
    It's only people who are willing to defend their nation against foriegn occupation who are in the minority.

Most Irish people would like the nation to be re-unified, their just not willing to do anything about it.

Fred, to be honest, I don't expect you to understand. Your an Englishman and a Unionist. People like you will never understand what drives Republicans (alot of Irish people can't get their head around it either). Ye prefer to call Republicans terrorists. It's easier for you like that. A terrorist is a one dimensional person, who just runs around killing civilians ,becuase thats what terrorists do.

Do you judge RAF bomber pilots who fought in WW2 in the same way as IRA volunteers? They bombed military,economic and civilian targets, just like the IRA. Why are they not terrorists and the IRA are?
    Oh, I forgot. They were a colonial power so it's perfectly excusable.

Fenian wrote:
    Now I see, what a fool I've been. British atrocities are totally excusable because they are a colonial power, and have (so called) Irishmen among their ranks.
    it's called context. Britain along with a host of other nation decided to go around colonising the world, Ireland were part of that. It happened a long time ago, long before my grandparents were born, so why are you trying to blame me for it?
    Fenian wrote:
    If you take Ireland as a whole, the people who consider themselves British are in the minority.
    It's only people who are willing to defend their nation against foriegn occupation who are in the minority.

Most Irish people would like the nation to be re-unified, their just not willing to do anything about it.
    as shown by Sinn Fein's outstanding election result:rolleyes:

The only people who can and should decide the destiny of the 6 counties are the people of Northern Ireland and the last I heard, the majority of them want it to remain as it is.
    Fenian wrote:
    Fred, to be honest, I don't expect you to understand. Your an Englishman and a Unionist. People like you will never understand what drives Republicans (alot of Irish people can't get their head around it either). Ye prefer to call Republicans terrorists. It's easier for you like that. A terrorist is a one dimensional person, who just runs around killing civilians ,becuase thats what terrorists do.

aahh, now you're judging (and patronising) me and making assumptions about me. I'm English, but who says I'm a unionist? I'm not calling republicans terrorists, I am calling the IRA terrorists. A republican who wants to achieve a united Ireland through peaceful means is ok in my book and youwill not find a post by me which says otherwise.
    Fenian wrote:
    Do you judge RAF bomber pilots who fought in WW2 in the same way as IRA volunteers? They bombed military,economic and civilian targets, just like the IRA. Why are they not terrorists and the IRA are?
    Oh, I forgot. They were a colonial power so it's perfectly excusable.

Jesus, we could talk around this all day long. The IRA planted bombs in pubs, Train stations, shopping centres etc. They deliberately targeted civilians and tried to create an air of terror to get their message across. That makes them terrorists. Don't compare them to the RAF, that is a different scenario entirely. Compare them to a "loyalist" paramilitary organisation if you like and I'll agree with you. A terrorist is a terrorist.

it's called context. Britain along with a host of other nation decided to go around colonising the world, Ireland were part of that. It happened a long time ago, long before my grandparents were born, so why are you trying to blame me for it?

It didn't happen long ago. It's still going on in the north of Ireland.
    I'm not blaming you for what happened. I'm accusing you of excusing it.
    as shown by Sinn Fein's outstanding election result

The only people who can and should decide the destiny of the 6 counties are the people of Northern Ireland and the last I heard, the majority of them want it to remain as it is.

Like I said earlier, I don't support Sinn Fein. I view the Provisonal movement as traitors and collaborators.

The north of Ireland is part of Ireland, why shouldn't all Irish people have a say over what goes on there?
    aahh, now you're judging (and patronising) me and making assumptions about me. I'm English, but who says I'm a unionist? I'm not calling republicans terrorists, I am calling the IRA terrorists. A republican who wants to achieve a united Ireland through peaceful means is ok in my book and youwill not find a post by me which says otherwise.

I've made assumptions about you, yes. I remember reading a post you made about Bobby Sands. I'm sure you remember which one. That was the most bigoted and insulting remark I've read on this board.
    Thats why I know your a Unionist.

Achieving re-unification through peaceful means, in my view, is impossible.
    Fianna Fail has had 80 odd years to achieve it, and have done nothing but disgrace the Republican ideology.
    Jesus, we could talk around this all day long. The IRA planted bombs in pubs, Train stations, shopping centres etc. They deliberately targeted civilians and tried to create an air of terror to get their message across. That makes them terrorists. Don't compare them to the RAF, that is a different scenario entirely. Compare them to a "loyalist" paramilitary organisation if you like and I'll agree with you. A terrorist is a terrorist.

The PIRA killed roughly 1800 people. 1200 crown forces, the rest civilians. Over 70 of those civilians were executed as informers.
    Thats not a bad ratio. (check out the Cain Project by the Uni of Ulster which conducted the study)
    They did in certain occations target civilians, but the majority of their casulities were crown forces.

The Loyalists wholly targeted Catholic civilians. Their strategy was one of targeting Catholics. They thought by killing Catholics they'd reduce support for the IRA, which mainly came from the Catholic community.

The PIRA had many strategies. Military targets, economic targets and in the minority of cases, civilian targets.

I don't see how the RAF's position during WW2 and the IRA's postion are different. They were/are fighting tyranny.

Anyone who thinks that British rule in Ireland has been anything but tyrannical, is an ostrich with their head in the sand.

P.S.
    How do I get your nick in each qoute?

Fenian wrote:
    It didn't happen long ago. It's still going on in the north of Ireland.
    I'm not blaming you for what happened. I'm accusing you of excusing it.

Like I said earlier, I don't support Sinn Fein. I view the Provisonal movement as traitors and collaborators.

The north of Ireland is part of Ireland, why shouldn't all Irish people have a say over what goes on there?

I've made assumptions about you, yes. I remember reading a post you made about Bobby Sands. I'm sure you remember which one. That was the most bigoted and insulting remark I've read on this board.
    Thats why I know your a Unionist.

Achieving re-unification through peaceful means, in my view, is impossible.
    Fianna Fail has had 80 odd years to achieve it, and have done nothing but disgrace the Republican ideology.

The PIRA killed roughly 1800 people. 1200 crown forces, the rest civilians. Over 70 of those civilians were executed as informers.
    Thats not a bad ratio. (check out the Cain Project by the Uni of Ulster which conducted the study)
    They did in certain occations target civilians, but the majority of their casulities were crown forces.

The Loyalists wholly targeted Catholic civilians. Their strategy was one of targeting Catholics. They thought by killing Catholics they'd reduce support for the IRA, which mainly came from the Catholic community.

The PIRA had many strategies. Military targets, economic targets and in the minority of cases, civilian targets.

I don't see how the RAF's position during WW2 and the IRA's postion are different. They were/are fighting tyranny.

Anyone who thinks that British rule in Ireland has been anything but tyrannical, is an ostrich with their head in the sand.

P.S.
    How do I get your nick in each qoute?

it is a shame that there are people with views like yours. It is just as much a shame that there is your alter ego, somewhere in the north, who holds the exact opposite views as you do.

unfortunately all the while there are people with bigotted views like yours, there will never be a united Ireland. You views do not help bring about unification, they hinder it's progress.

"
    nickname wrote:
    " should do it.

Shamrock, I appreciate that your posts may lose something in translation, but I hope you are a fan of the Republican movement, rather than a fan of the IRA. The IRA is a terrorist organisation responsible for the murder of hundreds of innocent people.

I am just fan of Ireland , i like its history ,people , Music , and everything in Ireland it is very good country for enjoy .

and i hope it goes to be more peasful in the future:)

it is a shame that there are people with views like yours. It is just as much a shame that there is your alter ego, somewhere in the north, who holds the exact opposite views as you do.

There will always be people with views like mine in Ireland until the British withdraw. It really is as simple as that.
    unfortunately all the while there are people with bigotted views like yours, there will never be a united Ireland. You views do not help bring about unification, they hinder it's progress.

The people who hinder re-unification are the turn-coats who are willing to dilute and comprimise their ideological principles in order to get a piece of the pie.

As Marian Price said,
    "we didn't fight a war for 25 years to get seats in Stormont,that isn't even worth one life".

"
    nickname wrote:
    " should do it."

Fenian wrote:
    There will always be people with views like mine in Ireland until the British withdraw. It really is as simple as that.

The people who hinder re-unification are the turn-coats who are willing to dilute and comprimise their ideological principles in order to get a piece of the pie.

As Marian Price said,
    "we didn't fight a war for 25 years to get seats in Stormont,that isn't even worth one life".

but a seat in the dail is? You sound scarily like the Hitler youth, Stalinist youth movement, everyone who does not agree with you, has had their principles eroded and that is justification for being in a minority.

tell me, what will you do with all the Unionists if/when there is a "United Ireland"? will you understand and sympathise with their probable terror campaign.

Ehhh........no, not quite, try Carlow District Court instead.

"to kill some drug guy for a reward of €10,000". So it was actually PROVEN in Carlow District Court that he was paid 10,000. Did he have the cash on him or was it recovered from his bank account ?

but a seat in the dail is? You sound scarily like the Hitler youth, Stalinist youth movement, everyone who does not agree with you, has had their principles eroded and that is justification for being in a minority.

tell me, what will you do with all the Unionists if/when there is a "United Ireland"? will you understand and sympathise with their probable terror campaign.

If anyone comes close to sounding like the Hitler youth it's you brit, as Fenian writes you don't " mention the uncountable millions the British army has murdered and oppressed over the centuries. " and " British atrocities are totally excusable because they are a colonial power, and have (so called) Irishmen among their ranks. " So, the Nazi's should have declared themselves a " colonial power " instead of national socialists and that would have made their atrocities as ok as british ones Fred :rolleyes:

If the unionists attack us in any manner, we'll defend ourselves ;) , but don't worry, they'll do just the same as the unionists who were left on the Free State side of the border - nothing. After all, they are british are they not ?

Good posts Fenian, especially " turn-coats who are willing to dilute and comprimise their ideological principles in order to get a piece of the pie.
    ".

don't be so ridiculous, of course I have the right to judge the IRA, they are a terrorist organisation. Anyone who kills innocent people deserve to be judged so get off your high horse.

Yeah, the British have oppressed over the centuries, that's because they were a colonial power, they'd be a pretty **** colonial power if they didn't go around the world conquering and oppressing, but when they were doing it, there were plenty of Irishmen coming along for the ride (and the spoils).
    You love to contradict yourself, don't you. The IRA are terrorists, and the British Empire were only doing what everyone else was doing, so it's grand.:rolleyes:

The reality of the situation which you seem loathe to admit is:

The British Empire brought their cruel regime around the world, plundering the resources, and killing innocent people around the world for their own greed.

The IRA are/were Freedom Fighters who want just one thing: Irish Sovereignty.

Despite your defence of the brutal empire, and slagging off the IRA. The IRA are the good guys in the conflict, make no mistake.

but a seat in the dail is?
    I view the Dail and the 26 county government as an illegal body,which usurps the true Republic that was declared in 1919 by the first democratically elected Dail.
    everyone who does not agree with you, has had their principles eroded and that is justification for being in a minority

Republicans have always been in the minority. People who share the same ideals and principles as myself probably only represent 2 or 3% of the population. That doesn't mean we are morally wrong or incorrect, just that our ideology is unpopular.
    what will you do with all the Unionists if/when there is a "United Ireland"? will you understand and sympathise with their probable terror campaign.

Unionists will be treated just like everyone else, fairly.

When the British withdraw the Loyalists won't be able to launch any kind of sustained campaign. Not without British military assistance.
    Loyalist paramilitaries have only ever been tools for the Crown forces. Without Crown forces to train them, arm them and provide information for them , they wouldn't be a threat for very long.

P.S.
    Thanks O'Leprosy

You love to contradict yourself, don't you. The IRA are terrorists, and the British Empire were only doing what everyone else was doing, so it's grand.:rolleyes:

The reality of the situation which you seem loathe to admit is:

The British Empire brought their cruel regime around the world, plundering the resources, and killing innocent people around the world for their own greed.
    it was wrong, but it is the past. Again (I've said this a thousand times) I am not justifying it, I am trying to put it into context. That is all something that happened a long time ago when things were vastly different. yet IRA supporters use that as justification for every attrocity they carry out.

If we want to use history, then surely the Scots have every right to colonise Ulster, the Irish tied doing it to Scotland, they just weren't very good at it.

Go back in history and you will always find something to justify your cause.
    The IRA are/were Freedom Fighters who want just one thing: Irish Sovereignty.

Despite your defence of the brutal empire, and slagging off the IRA. The IRA are the good guys in the conflict, make no mistake.

priceless.:rolleyes:

Fenian wrote:
    I view the Dail and the 26 county government as an illegal body,which usurps the true Republic that was declared in 1919 by the first democratically elected Dail.
    why no attacks against them then? is the civil war not finished?

Fenian wrote:
    Republicans have always been in the minority. People who share the same ideals and principles as myself probably only represent 2 or 3% of the population. That doesn't mean we are morally wrong or incorrect, just that our ideology is unpopular.
    it also means you have no right to impose your will on the majority, or is it for their good they just don't know it?

Fenian wrote:
    Unionists will be treated just like everyone else, fairly.

When the British withdraw the Loyalists won't be able to launch any kind of sustained campaign. Not without British military assistance.
    Loyalist paramilitaries have only ever been tools for the Crown forces. Without Crown forces to train them, arm them and provide information for them , they wouldn't be a threat for very long.

I think you underestimate your enemy there.

If we want to use history, then surely the Scots have every right to colonise Ulster, the Irish tied doing it to Scotland, they just weren't very good at it.

Go back in history and you will always find something to justify your cause.

priceless.:rolleyes:
    You don't have to go back far at all to see Britains misdeeds in Ireland. Collusion/subjugation/cover ups/media bias have been hallmarks of Britains (mis)rule of the 6 County statelet. Looks like you've been watching too much of Sky Entertainment, and reading revisionist articles in the Sindo which have helped formulate your point of view. Remind me again how much Irish history is taught in British schools. Oh yeah, its not covered. :rolleyes:

it's covered in Irish schools, but anything you don't like gets called revisionist and anyone who is not anti British is called a "West Brit" what is the difference?

I think you underestimate your enemy there.

No we don't their british :D

it's covered in Irish schools, but anything you don't like gets called revisionist and anyone who is not anti British is called a "West Brit" what is the difference?
    Let me rephrase the term revisionist with polemicist. Ruth Dudley Edwards, Eoghan Harris etc writers for the so-called respected Sindo. One of his articles i read recently defended the black and tans ffs. This is the kind of crap we have to put up with, only people such as Harris and co were allowed access to the airwaves for years, shaping public perception and therefore political policy.

The Irish Dail is a fragile and insecure institution still coming to terms with post-colonialism, pissed off that 6 of our counties are still under foreign occupation, but too afraid to step on "Britains interest in Ireland". Only a truly warped society could regard a neighbouring state who has been bombing, threatening, and murdering its citizens while undermining its democracy as a friendly one. "West Brits" are just people who have brought into this hype generated by Harris and co. I feel sympathy for these deluded souls, moreso than anything.

O'Leprosy wrote:
    "to kill some drug guy for a reward of €10,000". So it was actually PROVEN in Carlow District Court that he was paid 10,000. Did he have the cash on him or was it recovered from his bank account ?

Whats the point of this O'Leprosy?? The guy was caught with a sawn off shotgun whilst on his way to carry out the deed for the money.

I'm sure if you want to talk to him, as you find this so interesting, you'll find him in Portlaoise prison :rolleyes: You're clutching at straws mate.

The IRA are the good guys in the conflict, make no mistake.
    Fenian wrote:
    O'Leprosy wrote:
    If anyone comes close to sounding like the Hitler youth it's you brit

('brit'.....I'm Irish, but if I were British I'd find that a bit disrespectful, he's 'British' at least try and be mature about it)

Jesus christ........and ye wonder why we dont have the north? With a train of thinking and minds like that we'll get nothing. I'm constantly amazed at how ye guys keep refering to the past 'ohh, the savage brits did this and that, threw us off our lands, slaughtered us.........', 'turn coats', 'betrayed us in....', how is that going to help PEACE in the north?? What purpose does that serve??

Do ye HONESTLY think the 6 counties of the north will be part of the Irish republic....honestly??? Not in yer lifetime anyway fella's. Why cant ye concentrate on making ammends? Coming to agreements and accepting that the North will stay united with Great Britian as a majority want that.