Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Doing business with a 'friend'

• 21-06-2007 11:58am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭

About this time last year a friend of mine who is a journalist, not well known, phoned me up and asked me for help a website. I used to go to school with him, I amnt particually close to him, I designed the website for him, he wasnt happy, I changed it, he still wasnt happy, was phoning me at all hours dfay and night to do this that and the other with it, eventually I said this is gonna start costing you, I was just getting pi##ed off with him at this stage, he said ye sure no problem, He settled on scrapping all designs and wanting a blog style layout.

I did this for him, and sent him a bill for 200 euro which he agreed to over the phone, that included his hosting and his domain and my time, which at this stage including all his phone calls setting up email accounts, getting blog working, and the 2 designs that he decided to change, was nothing.

That was all last November, I phoned him just before christmas and said look I could really use that money now if you have it, he said no hassle the cheque is in the post. It never arrived so after christmas I phoned him again and he says you know what I forgot to send it to you, I will do it ASAP. March the exact same thing.

Then Nothing........ so I was talking to my sister about it online the other day and she googled his site, except up comes another one, recently updated looks like it was done by a school kid.

He now wont reply to phone calls, emails, texts, letters, nothing. OK so people tell me 200 euro is nothing, write it of and put it down to expeirence. But 50 of that is admin fees, which I paid! And its the principal of the thing, to show what a pain in the ar$e this guy was, he phoned me at 10:50pm the week after my son was born to ask could 'we' put a hit counter on the site. He refered to the work on the site all the time as WE as if he was doing it too or it was my site also.

What should I do, solicter is hardly worth it, mutual friend of both of ours said deface it, but that could bring problems for me. site name is hisname.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭Drift

Maybe try calling around to his house. If you just turn up at the front door and say you happened to be passing and you were wondering could you pick up that 200 euro for the website. (Make no mention of its new "redesign".) I reckon one of three things will happen.

1. He'll give the cash to you.
    2. He'll say he doesn't owe it to you ... cue raised voices and angriness but at least you'll have got it out in the open and had your say.
    3. He'll say he doesn't have that much in the house in which case I would recommmend you cutting a deal with him for whatever you can, because if you go away empty handed you'll never get anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Is this website just for personal stuff for the journalist (holidays, family pics) or does he use it for work like putting up stories he writes.
    If it's for work over his head to his editor and threaten legal action against the company he works for.

An editor will be terrified of getting their reputation damaged unless his works for the Irish Independent which doesn't have a reputation to protect anyway :p

• Registered Users Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Can you not go onto the site, remove all his editing rights, and put up a large message telling everyone that he ripped you off?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭m_stan

To be honest, forget about it. It's not worth the effort or the stress. Some people just dont want to pay and nothing you do will change that. Defacing the site won't serve any positive purpose. Just forget about it, put it down to experience, and learn from it. Next time, get any upfront costs paid in advance, get commitments on the number design changes you can take and don't just do whatever you're asked to do without question.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

humanji wrote:
    Can you not go onto the site, remove all his editing rights, and put up a large message telling everyone that he ripped you off?

I was going to suggest something similar.

Or else, if you paid for the hosting, you then presumably have access to the files. At least remove them all. Whether or not you put a message up publicly telling the world what he did is up to you. One text file could be left privately informing him you've had enough.

Out of interest did you pay for the domain registration too? If you did, then hold onto it. That you can sell back to him at a revised price, taking into account the real price of all those late night phone calls.

Its one thing writing off the money, Its another to allow him to continue to use the stuff foc.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭Red Alert

Get someone like Intrum Justitia on to him

• Registered Users Posts: 845 ✭✭✭sturgo

i had a (sort of) similar situation where a family member did some building work for an ex-girlfriend of mine. the work was partially done and she was over charged by at least E500. basically... a very close friend was ripped off by a relative of mine who I had recomended.

basically, i'd keep business favours and friends / family seperate.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

You say you are not particularly close so there is no real friendship there protect. This guy is arsing about and I suggest you come down on him like a ton of bricks.

I'd head round to his house and state calmly but authoritatively that you have heard enough excuses and that you want paid NOW!! If he doesn't pay then further action would be required. Someone has already mentioned the point that he might work under an editor so it could be worth escalating the matter so someone in a position of influence.

If this is not the case, I'd get onto the website and do a whole bunch of damage, or else something really annoying that spoils it, like every day at 10.00am accessing the site and writing yore ma across the front of it. Childish, yes, but people like that must become aware that there are consequences to their actions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭DemonOfTheFall

You set up the site, so the admin rights are probably with your details. Close the site and cancel the domain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭dade

skywalker wrote:

Out of interest did you pay for the domain registration too? If you did, then hold onto it. That you can sell back to him at a revised price, taking into account the real price of all those late night phone calls.

was thinking just that, cybersquatting on him. if you have the passwords etc for where its hosted and are listed as the contact for it you can take it down if you want and put a File not found or even redirect it to something less desirable like was done to bertieahern.com before:D

• Registered Users Posts: 271 ✭✭homerjk

Agree with others about taking it down.
    If you don't want to appear to be the bad guy as you are friends you can play dumb and say Well when you never gave me the €200 I couldn't pay for the website hosting to continue.
    Get the money, put it back up and put it down to experience.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

You set up the site, so the admin rights are probably with your details. Close the site and cancel the domain.

Nah don't do that. Keep the domain. Just redirect it to www.google.com. If he wants it back tell him you'll sell it to him for €500

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

If you have access to the domain and hosting panel, just make a copy of everything then delete all the files. You could put up a standard non-personal page like "This Website Is Unavailable - Please Contact Billing Dept." or whatever, keep it professional. Rest assured he'd be ringing you pronto.

Nah thats silly (Id imagine he's paid for the domain for a year upfront & possibly hosting a year upfront too), he looses all the power he has by doing that.

Also goes without saying, but change any passwords before you do anything. Even if you dont think he has access, they might be in some papers or something you've given him to do with the website.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

Problem with taking it down or just putting contact billing, or admin, is the site I designed he is not using, he is using this other site, the 2 domains are similer in name mine is eg:desmond-surname.com his new one is des-surname.com so he is really gonna be too bothered if it goes to google, or just a blank page

• Registered Users Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

Point yours at aporn site....
    At least some of his customers will see it...
    not your money back but satisfaction none the less ;)

egan007 wrote:
    Point yours at aporn site....
    At least some of his customers will see it...
    not your money back but satisfaction none the less ;)
    Really thinking about this option, problem is could it damage me in the long run

Is this new site still using the same hosting? Is his email or anything ancillary still using the old address.

Id bet dollars to doughnuts if hes using the new address for his email, hes set up a redirect from the old one. You could at least cancel that.

No matter what Id advise ya to hold onto his domain for a while.

Understand that....

Heres an idea...

Do up a simple page explaining the situation.
    Like you did in the original post.
    You can name the guy onthe page as long as it's true you are fine..

Start with
    'You are probably looking for 'his name''s website well here's the story....'

Then Optomise it so it ranks above his in google :)
    Lots of users here will help you with that :)

Send him an email - say you will take down the page when your cheque arrives :)

sorry for all the smilies but he sounds like he deserves it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,059 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

egan007 wrote:
    Understand that....

Heres an idea...

Do up a simple page explaining the situation.
    Like you did in the original post.
    You can name the guy onthe page as long as it's true you are fine..

Start with
    'You are probably looking for 'his name''s website well here's the story....'

Then Optomise it so it ranks above his in google :)
    Lots of users here will help you with that :)

Send him an email - say you will take down the page when your cheque arrives :)

sorry for all the smilies but he sounds like he deserves it.

Very good idea. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

A word of warning:It is not advisable to go locking sites , especially if that is your business. You could end up more badly affected by it. I also got stung myself a few years back by something like this, but it was a small enough amount.

I also know of someone who had a similar problem , but he did eventually get paid some of the money. He tried pulling and locking the site but the client just got onto the hosting company and he got locked out himself.

My 2c, take the domain name if you own it , contact the hosting company and tell them you are moving it elsewhere and just park it with another provider until it lapses. Write it off as a bad debt and learn to say ,"I know you are my best friend but before we start here's a contract".

• Registered Users Posts: 24,170 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I'd remove the site with a message along the lines of 'account suspended due to non-payment' or something similar.

The guy's clearly taking the piss. You could always try the small claims court?

Heres what i did, <snip>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

Interesting. Keep us posted. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

dbnavan wrote:
    Heres what i did, <snip>

He looks like the missing link .....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭m_stan

dbnavan wrote:
    Heres what i did, <snip>

I think the following is a mistake. Aside from that, while I wouldnt do it myself, I dont think its totally unreasonable.]

this fee will increase by 25 euro, for every week he ignores it.

dbnavan wrote:
    Heres what i did, <snip>

HE HE :) nice one

Not what I would have done personally, but its done now so no going back.

Why can I see the comments section on his official site being taken down fairly soon?

Stick a Counter onthe site to show him what kind of hits you could of got him,
    that will be highly hit....

Plus - Put a link to your own website for advertising ;) you might recoup the money with more work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

The traditional response is to heave up the oul' goatse and say it got hacked, then charge him two grand to take it down. Honestly, some of these clowns think the internet is like getting your house painted.