Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Romanians in bushes

• 19-06-2007 9:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭

I caught about a second of Gerry Ryan this morning, and I thought I was hearing things...
    Can anyone fill me in on the rest of this story.
    Apparently there are Romanians living in bushes near Dublin Airport.
    Was I asleep, or is there any truth in this, and eh...why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I wonder if their researchers were reading boards...

There was a thread in the motors form last week I believe...

Although the OP thought they were Mexican for some bizarre reason.

EDIT: ah it was the North County Dublin forum http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055106519

There should be a "Bitch about Romanians" sub-forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Another Romanians thread?

They sure are rivalling Freddy Krueger for sequel selling!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

Romanians, in my pants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭bug

There should be a "Bitch about Romanians" sub-forum.

I'm not bitching, I'm asking for more detail about something I thought I heard on the radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭GospelGroupie

bug wrote:
    I caught about a second of Gerry Ryan this morning, and I thought I was hearing things...
    Can anyone fill me in on the rest of this story.
    Apparently there are Romanians living in bushes near Dublin Airport.
    Was I asleep, or is there any truth in this, and eh...why?
    It's true, they've got an encampment within the trees & hedgerow on the Ballymun/M50 interchange. You can see them if you look out the right window of the 41X in the mornings.
    It's a good site, fair play to them.... just another seven years and the site is theirs.

what do you mean by encampment? And how many people are we talking here roughly? Any ideas why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

From the previous thread:
    Fyr.Fytr wrote:
    They are roma gypsies, they used to live in the bushes off the old airport road at the bust stop opposite damastown cemetery until they were evicted and the bushes cut down by the DAA as its airport property. They have relocated to the bushy by the slip road at the m50 I believe
    Fingalian wrote:
    I saw them yesterday morning about 9 a.m. they looked like Roma to me. A man and a boy were walking across the M50 roundabout and then another guy hopped over the guard rail from the bushes?? They stood out because you never see anyone walking around there. Weird , maybe they are camping out.

They're about the only semi-informative posts in the other thread which had descended into crap and was locked. I'll leave this open for now in case anyone knows any more about it, but if it goes the same way as the last one I'll be locking it.

Grand, lock it if you want.

I got my answer to the fullest extent I can here.
    I had not seen the previous thread, since I'm a southsider I wouldn't frequent the North County Dublin forums much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Maybe I'm mixing the locations up but wasn't that spot full of travellers.

Not to be padentic, but are we talking about Romanians or Gypsies??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭MAYPOP

They're just waiting to get the opening offers at IKEA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Papergirl 1

Yeah I started a thread a week or two ago about this. Except me being a bit of a twit thought they looked like Mexicans!

They're starting to freak me out a bit, as some mornings they come up to the car windows begging....:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

There's a story about them in todays Times, Pavee Point and some other crowd are launching an appeal to help them. They came here to claim political asylum but which failed, the government offered to repatriate them which they declined so they're now living in a makeshift camp on a roundabout, make of that what you will. There was also a story last week in the Northside People or something like that about how they beg aggresively.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 TheFlaps

I can't believe there are groups out there trying to pressure the govt. into helping them.

They came here knowing that the couldn't claim asylum, that they probably couldnt get work permits or social welfare yet they still came and are expecting help. If they want to stay in Ireland and remain homeless then they can as they have the legal right to now. What they can't do is beg or steal to support themselves here which is sadly what most of them are doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

There's a fantastic story about this in the Northside People this week.
    Excellent journalism, including such gems as
    I got such a fright, especially since I am pregnant.
    and
    ; the children that are out there are getting younger by the week,
    Not only are they harassing motorists, but they're MAGIC!

Link to story:
    http://www.dublinpeople.com/cms/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=2720&Itemid=49

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 TheFlaps

Is it possibe for the council to just use really strong weedkiller around the area to get rid of the 'weeds'?

I see TheFlaps has already been banned for trolling.

The OP has asked if anyone has any information on this group of people and if you can provide that please do. Don't drag the thread off-topic with crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭King.Penguin

I was on the 41 bus heading from Swords into the city centre and was looking out for this camp ( I obviously misread the thread because this camp isn't on the 41 route). However, unless my eyes did deceive me, just before the little chef I looked into the field to the left to notice a fire burning in a barrel, a goose grazing on the ground and a group of people going about their business. has anyone else seen this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Yea that makeshift farm just off the R132 southbound before the little chef has been there for yonks, geese, horses etc etc always there thats nithnig new.

The only thing you'll see on the 41 is the old camp, after you leave the airport heading for town past ALSAA at the lights those bushes on the right hand side just past the lights beside the thatched cottage at the bus stop, all the bushes were cut down after the residents were evicted. There is still some clothes etc lying around in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I can't access that Dublin People article. Any chance of copying and pasting the text?

Encountered them for the first time myself yesterday. Bit weird to have some due and two kids rushing out of the bushes with palm outstretched when you stop at the red lights on a roundabout. Normally they wash your windscreen for you ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

They are chickens, they didnt have the balls to get any closer to Ballymun :p

Surely they are a danger to themselves and traffic, has to be some law against it :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Saw a bunch of them(men) talking to the cops on the m50 yesterday,there were no women or kids around and they were a good bit from thier usual scabbing area.

Looks like the Roma have their own website thanks to the fools from Pavee Point, bet the Travellers are delighted to associated with the Roma

http://www.romasupport.ie/

I don't know who has the great idea to put up a guest book ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭Nephew

This is probably an explanation for the stupid bitch I saw attempting to cross the m50 with cars hurtling towards her a few weeks ago, she was carrying two bulky plastic bags which I guess makes it harder to cross 4 lanes of traffic.

I really don't understand why the Gardai don't round them up and move them to a safer area. Its illegal to hitch-hike to motorways, so why the f@@k are they allowed to live there.

I would love to bundle them into a bus and deposit them outside Sara Russell's house. See article link below.

"A family of Roma who are encamped at the M50 roundabout in Ballymun have been subjected to racist attacks and slurs."

So when you are stopped at the lights and the Roma are climbing all over your car begging, please be civil, otherwise you'll be labeled a racist. ;)

http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/0718/roma.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

DonJose wrote:
    Its illegal to hitch-hike to motorways, so why the f@@k are they allowed to live there
    They are not on a motorway - motorways don't have roundabouts! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭lafors

There was something about this again on Matt Cooper on Today FM this evening. Only heard a few follow up texts on it unfortunatey :(

The gist of the txt's was negative, no surprises there.
    Repatriation (sp?) was mentioned.

The gardai need to sort this out before either they get killed on the
    M50/roundabout or cause a crash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

I'm sick of these beggars. If any Irish person lived on the side of a road in
    these conditions with their children the Social Services would be straight
    down and the kids taken into care. Maybe if we started taking the Roma
    kids into care they'd realise we will not tolerate their behaviour and
    they'll shag off back home. The Irish Govt has already offered them
    repatriation but they'd rather stay here begging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Am I the only one who thinks they should be shipped back to the country they've come from?

stepbar wrote:
    Am I the only one who thinks they should be shipped back to the country they've come from?
    Yes - the rest of us know that Romania cannot be reached by ship from Ireland.

Smart arse :rolleyes:
    To leave, as for a distant place: troops shipping out to the war zone.
    http://www.answers.com/shipped&r=67

I wouldn't mind, but they have nothing to offer (economically or socially) this country. The polish, lativan etc are generally law abiding people who work hard for a living and have generally integrated into the communities they live in. They're an absolute waste of space. Its the kids I feel sorry for, having parents like that.

stepbar wrote:
    they have nothing to offer (economically or socially) this country
    You know them!

and your point is?

I'm actually curious to know what your point is, stepbar. All I see are baseless, ill-informed generalisations.

My point is clear. If you can find me a roma who works (selling the big issue is NOT a job), I'll happily take back my generalisations. However, I think you'll have a hard job finding one. I have yet to find one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Mucco

I'm sick of these beggars. If any Irish person lived on the side of a road in
    these conditions with their children the Social Services would be straight
    down and the kids taken into care. Maybe if we started taking the Roma
    kids into care they'd realise we will not tolerate their behaviour and
    they'll shag off back home. The Irish Govt has already offered them
    repatriation but they'd rather stay here begging.

Yes, I think poor people should be banned, especially poor people who aren't Irish. It's obvious that Ireland should pull out of the EU so that we can repatriate Romanians. That'll teach these foreigners a lesson.

Perhaps we should ban poverty - that should solve it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭condra

Easy to defend them when its not your doorstep theyre (literally) sh1tting on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,818 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

womoma wrote:
    Easy to defend them when its not your doorstep theyre (literally) sh1tting on
    If your doorstep was in Ballymun as opposed to Glasnevin I'd accept that as a valid comment. But it's not.

Gran Hermano certainly has a point about the welfare of the children. The adults not accepting the offer of repatriation & deciding to live amongst rat-infested bushes is one thing. But for social services & Pavee Point not to have taken action so far to ensure the health & welfare of the children & infants is a disgrace.

Hill Billy wrote:
    But for social services & Pavee Point not to have taken action so far to ensure the health & welfare of the children & infants is a disgrace.
    Looks like the HSE are taking action, just read the following on RTE, "Three Roma children who had been living in a camp on a motorway roundabout are now being cared for by the HSE."

That still leaves more than a dozen children, they should all be taken into care and the parents should be charged with neglect and endangerment.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

for all of u taking a swipe at the gypsies..........just remember that the irish were looked down upon in the same way as well in the past.

After all this is what being a EU member is all about, you have to take the good with the bad.......its not all about getting big grants u know.

It sad that as our society has got more affluent, we seem to have lost all sense of humanity. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭condra

Hill Billy wrote:
    If your doorstep was in Ballymun as opposed to Glasnevin I'd accept that as a valid comment. But it's not.

Hill Billy -
    My address in Glasnevin is one "Ballymun Road", about 2 minutes walk from the gypsies, so get your facts straight before making smug comments.

Everyone has different view on these type of things, so you really should respect peoples opinions rather than try to invalidate their arguments.
    __

What I implied was that I expect if some people were living in closer proximity to the site, they would probably be less sympathetic.
    I stand by that opinion. It's not something that can be validated or otherwise.

There are people in my neighbourhood who have had to drive through a guantlet of aggression and intimidation there on numerous occassions.

One of the women recently knocked into my neighbour, Sues house. Sue offered her a handfull of canned food. The gypsey got very aggressive saying "NO I WANT MONEY!" She continued to shout abuse even after Sue had closed the door.

I defy anyone to be patient and benevolent in a situation where they are being regularly acousted, be it by someone they work with, kids, adults, a group of Irish, Spanish, Romanian or whatever.

If someone harasses and curses me while I walk down the street, chances are they'll get a slap in the mouth, be they Irish, English, Gypsey, or whatever else.

This is not simply a race issue, and it sure as hell is more complicated than anyones lack of "humanity".
    It sad that as our society has got more affluent, we seem to have lost all sense of humanity.

No offence moderator Ash, but that statement is pretty broad and general and doesnt really contribute to the discussion apart from making you look a bit conceited.

Moved to Humanities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Pineapple stu

deport these gypsies now and any pavee point do gooders with them. There is plenty of homless on irish streets and i dont hear anyone pushing for emergency accomadation for them. If imigrants cant give proof of an address where they will be staying on entry to the country then they should be denied access. The only exception is refuggees from war torn countries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭Nephew

They must be ardent Sinn Fein supporters.

06.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭seahorse

God love them, I do feel sorry for them; common sense has got to tell you nobody wants to raise their kids in a load of bushes, (just think about living in there; eating, sleeping and sh!teing in there with all the rain we've had in the last couple of weeks!:eek: ) but I also feel they should be moved out of there pronto, for their own sake and for public safety also.

I live not far from their encampment and I've people close to me living in Ballymun, so I drive through that junction several times a week. They are right beside a set of traffic lights and when the lights are green I slow down approaching them cause I don’t know if a little kid is going to run out under my wheels, but there are plenty of people who don’t know they're there so not everyone is going to know they need to be cautious. Also someone is liable to run up my arse because slowing down approaching green traffic lights is not the norm!

I've never seen a sinner up that way other than them; it's the last place you'd ever expect to see people walking around, on the main roundabout leading to a motorway. The first time I saw a man emerging from the bushes I thought I was seeing things! I really do think it's only a matter of time before one of those kids is killed; some of them are only three and four years of age walking out into the road, it's awful nerve-wracking driving round there now tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

In fairness it can (a very long roubdabout trip mind, but i think id personally rather 6 weeks on a ship than a forest in the mun :) )

The guestbook on that site isnt going too well.

Brian Lenihan might just do them all a favour

http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/0721/roma.html

Problem is will they be still there when the guards come next time?