Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone get George Michael tix?

• 08-03-2007 10:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭

Anyone going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,118 ✭✭✭andrew1977

Yeah got mine for the missus and her mate, tickets still not sold out on ticketmaster.ie , i thought that would be a sell out in minutes.
    Prices a bit steep though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭Yellow Snow

Was up first thing to get a couple for herself... and she wants ME to go with her... I don't expect many guys will be at it though ;) Couldn't get the seating she wanted, ended up with standing tickets... she better not expect me to dance LOL :rolleyes: Give or take €90 a ticket for standing is a bit steep....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭TheBeatMan

I have just bought tickets for the George Michael gig in the RDS.The tickets are located in the pit area.I take it this is up the front near the stage.Can anyone tell me if this is correct and is it a case of the earlier you arrive the better spot you get?Is there a partition between the pit and the rest of the standing area?Roughly how many people would be in that area?Thanks !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭garthv

The earlier you get in, the more of a chance you have of getting pit bands, there is a divider that keeps the pit away from the main crowd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭hot fuss

Got a standing ticket.. Couldn't persuade anyone to come with me though so looks like I'm going on my tod... Unless I pay for the Mister's ticket, I can't see him coming!!

The tickets I bought were the same price as the seating tickets but they actually stipulate the pit.I would imagine that this would get us directly into the pit area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭garthv

TheBeatMan wrote:
    The tickets I bought were the same price as the seating tickets but they actually stipulate the pit.I would imagine that this would get us directly into the pit area.
    Ive been going to The Point for 7 years now and ive never seen tickets that get you straight into the pit...then again ive been going to gigs that would be a little more...rough than George Michael so who knows!

It's the RDS I'm talking about.Maybe it's a different setup there.

This is a copy of the confirmation e-mail they sent me.

George Michael
    RDS Arena, Dublin, IE
    Wed 6 Jun 2007, 17:00

Seat location: section PIT
    Total Charge: €275.20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I'm not sure, but it could just be refering to the general standing area when they say "Pit". I can't actually imagine there even being a pit for George Michael.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

Its' short for pitch, innit?

PITCH FULL PRICE TICKET €86.25 €6.35

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

That makes more sense.

Pitch area is €86.25 €6.35.

The Pit standing area is €131.25.

On the ticketmaster website when searching for George Michael tickets theres
    a section for "Pit standing" in the drop down menu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

you're quite right; sorry for jumping to that conclusion. Hmmm...the TM seating chart says doesn't show it, so 'fraid the only folks what can help you is probably the promoter or TM themselves.

If your ticket doesn't identify a seat you're to occupy, then your zone, like all others, will be of the 'first come first served' ilk, i would think; obviously you'll be closer to teh show *anyway* but that's it...

Thanks for that lads,I just rang ticketmaster to clear it up and the pit area is in front of the stage and cordoned off from the normal standing area.I know before it used to be the first ones to arrive get into that area but now they are actually selling it as a separate area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

its a bit steep isn't it, starting at €86

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Mr Rivers

TheBeatMan wrote:
    Thanks for that lads,I just rang ticketmaster to clear it up and the pit area is in front of the stage and cordoned off from the normal standing area.I know before it used to be the first ones to arrive get into that area but now they are actually selling it as a separate area.
    Big gigs usually sell the pit area to the fan club at inflated prices, guess this time they just public with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭sambora

I got myself 2 standing tickets. Im quite looking forward to it now! Yeah it's steep but I dont see him playing Dublin again for a long time, if he even does it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭Yellow Snow

anyone any idea who his support act will be? I've 2 standing tickets too!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

anyone any idea who his support act will be? I've 2 standing tickets too!!
    ...Slayer

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭NIBBS

TheBeatMan wrote:

yeah - it's odd that it's being referrred to as the Pit Area.......usually known these days as the Golden Circle (golden egg more like.....)

anyway, it hasn't sold out - and I can understand why, you just need to pray that it's a still day or your standing in the right spot for the wind........the RDS outdoors really is awful for sound, and a good performer like Michael will still sound crap if you can't hear him properly........very expensive for that place.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭NIBBS

Alter-Ego wrote:
    ...Slayer

:p

George trying to expand his fanbase hey.........:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

The Pit section is yes the same as "Golden Circle" or whatever, as in its right up beside the stage and cordened off from the rest of the Standing section.

This was the first gig I've ever seen to actually sell tickets to that area, usually as stated above its first come first served from the Standing section.

So with these tickets no you dont need to get their early, you are guaranteed into the "pit" as they are calling it.

I am in just as bad a situation as you mate, i bought 2 tickets for the girlfriend as a suprise, met up with her the weekend , told her the good news and then she tells me she bought 2 also
    Now i am left with 2 spare George Michael Tickets and have no idea how to get rid of them .
    AAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Mr Rivers

buyandsell.ie and ebay.ie

cheers, will try and off load them that way, just want my face value cost back, to shift them off my hands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭sambora

anyone any idea who his support act will be?

The AD on TV is saying "very special guest".....I wonder who it is.. lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭vibrant

Andrew Ridgeley?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

Heading to George Michael on Wednesday and was wondering if anyone knows if there's a support band/artist.

Doors open at 5pm

Anyone have any idea what time George Michael scheduled to start?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭indiewindy

I think that Sophie Ellis Bextor is supporting him, ad in paper at the weekend

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

no i heard its the......LAPD;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭Rashers72

On stage Times
    Gates: 5pm
    2fm Dj's: 5.30pm - 6.30pm
    Special Guest: Sophie Ellis Bextor
    GEORGE MICHAEL: 8pm - 10.30pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,136 ✭✭✭holly_johnson

Not impressed with Sophie Ellis Bextor, think I'll stay in the pub until nearer 8.
    I'm pit standing, so I guess it won't matter what time I go in.
    I'm going tomorrow as well but seated so I might see her then.

Anyone going for beers beforehand?

I was thinking of the HorseShow House or Paddy Cullens. I work right beside it so I'll be supping from about 4. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,464 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Whats the best way to get to the RDS tomorrow evening bus,dart or walk it from city centre???

Snake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Dammit anyway, I suppose I'll hold onto the ticket as it seems he'll be back later in the tour

Snake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

I wonder would the fact that it wasn't a sell out have anything to do with it?

Nah I think they need the stage gear for the Wembly gig this weekend, probably the equip that was damaged in Europe was meant to be setup in Wembly, but looks like they'll need to truck over the gear tomorrow to be ready.

Anyone go to last nights Gig? Was it any good was the sound ok? Was the place crowded?

Snake

Heard it was brill.
    He came on at 8.20, had a 20 minute break during and left the stage for the last time at 11.20pm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭mirwillbeback

:mad:

Was at the concert last night, not a huge fan of his but bought the missus tickets for her birthday and got dragged along.

However...the tickets I bought were 110 euro each and stated " possible restricted view ". Now when I tell you all we could see was his f*cking feet I am not lying. We were in the tall stand at the back of the RDS and could see nothing at all. I am so peed off today, really feel ripped off. Also, when ordering the tix, there is no mention of any view restriction. If we had bought the cheapest tickets I could understand a bit, but i think they're really taking advantage. I took pics of the view we had so that I could approach ticketmaster / aiken promotions, but am i wasting my time?

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Post a picture here? You could only see his feet? :eek: :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Maccattack

bet they were nice shoes though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭datk

Anyone go to last nights Gig? Was it any good was the sound ok? Was the place crowded?

Snake

It was absolutely brilliant, his voice is good and strong - he sat on a stool for most of the slow songs - he did move around the stage a lot but without leaving himself unable to sing. There was good banter with the crowd and he looked like he enjoyed the show. The light show was good- obviously better as it got darker. He was on stage for over two hours and he sang Edge of Heaven for the first time in 21 years :p . Everyone seemed to know the words. I lost my voice at I'm your Man! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Texas

Griping aswell.... not a huge fan but he was great, that is bar the ridiculous 20 min interval.

We bought seats tickets too, first of all they weren't were the seat plan said they were. We had to walk from one end of the arena to the other through crowds of people on the pitch, it was REALLY dangerous. None of the seat rows were marked so there were ruptions about people being in the wrong seats.

Lastly, the row were I was was had 4 or 5 out of there faces drunk 20ish year old girls, screaming, shouting and falling on their faces during most of the concert. Some friends were on the pitch and they said there were loads of really pissed people there too... it was George Michael not heavy metal :mad: They destroyed the concert for everyone near to them :mad: :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,834 ✭✭✭Toast

Id say they are lawyered to the hilt on this. Call them up and if they dont offer you anything just head straight to The Sun or The Herald or The Metro. They LOVE this sort of thing. Its perfect human interest drivel and you might be able to shame Aiken into some decent reimbursment for PR sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

At least ye got to see him. He's cancelled todays concert. I was at it and do agree that there was a lot of drunk people at it. I saw Shane McGowan stumbling around the place after it with his missus

I'd say if he is coming back it will have to be before or soon after the 26th of July as that seems to be currently listed as the final date of the tour.
    Sounds like a great gig, its a real shame he's not playing tonight :(

Snake

I'd doubt he's coming back.
    If he was, why would the promotors allow punters the choice of
    (A) get your money back
    or
    (B) keep the tickets for the "re-arranged" gig.

that there was a lot of drunk people at it.

That could be at any concert but with the price of tickets for GM and the fact it would have been for the more "mature" punter, seems a bit strange that there were loads of drunk people there.
    If I had spent €86 on a pitch ticket, I think I would have remained sober(ish) until at least after the gig.

I think the opposite, if he wasn't coming back there would only be one option and that would be refund. They usually give the money back option as the new date mightn't suite folks who have tickets but are going on Holidays on the re-arranged date for example.

Snake