Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

concern over eastern european crime?

• 06-06-2007 9:03am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭

now before the p.c crew start plenty of irish scumbags im well aware but is anyone concerned about the amount from all the eastern europeans?considering the ratio in the country.i bought an apartment 3 yrs ago and the block is a ghetto now im in only irish left and its gone unreal rough.guards try their best but i really starting to dislike them even tho i know there is some good eastern europeans i work with rare i know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Jibber

rough in what way?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Rough alright, looks like they stole your punctuation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭shyjoe

very messy parties,fights,shouting,damage.dodgy guys hanging round in packs no talking to them no english.their rude ignorant and before u say no english a smile and a hello the world knows

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Jibber

If you keep on to the garda about it they'll have to do something eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

shyjoe wrote:
    before u say no english a smile and a hello the world knows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Not really worried at all to be honest, if you add compare the ratio of Irish scumbags : Irish people, and Polish scumbags : Polish people, you'll find us Irish win hands down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭csm

how on earth do you compare the ratios of scumbags to normal people? is there a scumbag register? was it a question on the census?!

and before you say crime stats, it should be patently obvious why they are not a reliable indicator of scumbagosity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭BigTommyBomb

Its pretty obvious from the crime stats that a disprortionate number of stabbings are involving eastern europeans. Can't mention that because its racist though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

shyjoe wrote:
    very messy parties,fights,shouting,damage.dodgy guys hanging round in packs no talking to them no english.their rude ignorant and before u say no english a smile and a hello the world knows

So where does the crime (as mentioned in your thread title) come in to it??!

Please rename the thread.

Please edit your posts, to include some punctuation.

Thanks ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

csm wrote:
    how on earth do you compare the ratios of scumbags to normal people?

You read the newspapers, and listen to the radio. There are far more Irish people involved in crime and anti-social behaviour than Eastern Europeans.

"Its pretty obvious from the crime stats that a disprortionate number of stabbings are involving eastern europeans. Can't mention that because its racist though."

link please.

is it statistically robust? what's the confidence interval?

and IF it is true, it's certainly not racist to mention it.

and as elvis said, i don't think the OP is really talking about crime. more anti-social behaviour.

There are far more Irish people involved in crime and anti-social behaviour than Eastern Europeans.
    Thats because there are far more Irish in this country. We are talking per population here.

ned78 wrote:
    You read the newspapers, and listen to the radio. There are far more Irish people involved in crime and anti-social behaviour than Eastern Europeans.

and that's even more subjective. unless you take an objective, statistical viewpoint then you're just saying

'i hear a lot about crime on the radio and it appears to be by irish people mostly'

what are the relative populations of irish and eastern europeans versus newspaper articles mentioning crime. maybe that's just serious crime, maybe crime which is reported without ethnicity is all done by romanians, maybe you just listen out for irish people being involved and give an undue weighting.

at least if you took crime stats you'd only be introducing errors of non-reporting of incidences, non-recording of ethnicity, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

csm wrote:

is it statistically robust? what's the confidence interval?
    oh yeah i remember that. maths and stuff :D

not a crime statistic but i remember hearing that a quarter of accidents last year were involved foreign nationals.

the world over, young men are more likely to commit crime than anyone else. anyone disagree with that?

the vast majority (i'd feel confident saying >90%) of foreign nationals that come here are young men (and young women of course) so they're more likely to commit crime.

they're not in the news the whole time because foreign nationals are more likely to commit crime, they're in the news the whole time because young men are more likely to commit crime and the ones that came here are almost exclusively young men (and the women of course.....drool)

before anyone calls me a racist, i love the eastern europeans that came here, they're great craic, most of them work very very hard for crap money and i'll always be greatful that they brought their women with them :D

however, it is a fact that young men are more likely to commit crime. i accept that there's scum among the foreign nationals just as there are among the irish

oh yeah i remember that. maths and stuff :D

not a crime statistic but i remember hearing that a quarter of accidents last year were involved foreign nationals.

the world over, young men are more likely to commit crime than anyone else. anyone disagree with that?

the vast majority (i'd feel confident saying >90%) of foreign nationals that come here are young men (and young women of course) so they're more likely to commit crime.

they're not in the news the whole time because foreign nationals are more likely to commit crime, they're in the news the whole time because young men are more likely to commit crime and the ones that came here are almost exclusively young men (and the women of course.....drool)

good point. hadn't thought of that.

and the accidents stat is probably more of a reflection of a more relaxed attitude to rules of the road :)

cypriot guy on my course bought a bike in london and thought nothing of riding a mile to buy a helmet (he didn't have one), rather than walking. needless to say this drew the attention of the cops and he got done for no insurance and no helmet. he honestly couldn't understand why something 'so mundane' required a court appearance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,096 ✭✭✭✭looksee

My daughter lived in a small Irish town in an area where she was the only Irish person, the rest were Polish, with a scattering of Czech, Lithuanian etc. They were warm, friendly, helpful people who were good neighbours and good friends. It is true that the men do not seem to learn English as easily or quickly as their partners, and when there are men without their wives they are heavy drinkers, though they do not seem to be aggressive drunks, any more than anywhere else anyway.

I think part of the problem is that on the news the newsreaders will say 'a man was arrested' for whatever, if he is Irish, but 'a Polish/Chinese/English/Nigerian etc man was arrested' in other cases, drawing your attention to the fact that a particular nationality is involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I've seen people claim they are not racist.That's grand, I'm not accusing anyone of that.

Sure Eastern Europeans are white Europeans like ourselves so why do people even mention racism?
    If you don't like them ,fair enough but how can you be racist against the same race as you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

Alright enough with the hearsay and bollocks, here are the facts:

POLAND
    http://www.nationmaster.com/country/pl-poland/cri-crime
    Assaults: 32,792
    Car thefts: 68,062
    Drug offences: 50.8 per 100,000 people
    Murders: 2,170
    Murders (per capita): 0.0562789 per 1,000 people
    Murders with firearms: 166
    Murders with firearms (per capita): 0.0043052 per 1,000 people
    Rapes: 2,399
    Rapes (per capita): 0.062218 per 1,000 people
    Total crimes: 1,266,910

IRELAND
    http://www.nationmaster.com/country/ei-ireland/cri-crime
    Assaults: 9,921
    Car thefts: 14,851
    Drug offences: 190.2 per 100,000 people
    Murders: 38
    Murders (per capita): 0.00946215 per 1,000 people
    Murders with firearms: 12
    Murders with firearms (per capita): 0.00298805 per 1,000 people
    Rapes: 218
    Rapes (per capita): 0.0542829 per 1,000 people
    Total crimes: 81,274

So you are more likely to be raped and killed in Poland, although in Ireland you stand a better chance of getting high...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Plissken1

shyjoe wrote:

Awe yes, that takes me back.

Dublin in the 80' and 90's ah yes the memories come flooding back. You left out the bit about guys threatening you with syringes as you walk home from the nightclub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭ShowUsYourXbox

Friend of mine was walking through his estate the other day and three big foreign lads started calling him an Irish prick and telling him to go **** himself, for no reason. They were drunk but it wasn't late in the day and it's a very nice estate.

My girlfriend is foreign and i work with foreign guys who at this stage i would consider my friends but at the end of the day, nothing annoys me more than the thought of people whome are here as guests, to be treated equally, paid and respected equally throwing it back in our faces by either abusing people or taking part in crime.

I have zero time and zero tolerance for foreign people who are committing crimes in our country. If they commit a crime (assault, breaking and entering etc, not drunk and singing) they get sent home imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Alright enough with the hearsay and bollocks, here are the facts:

POLAND
    http://www.nationmaster.com/country/pl-poland/cri-crime
    Assaults: 32,792
    Car thefts: 68,062
    Drug offences: 50.8 per 100,000 people
    Murders: 2,170
    Murders (per capita): 0.0562789 per 1,000 people
    Murders with firearms: 166
    Murders with firearms (per capita): 0.0043052 per 1,000 people
    Rapes: 2,399
    Rapes (per capita): 0.062218 per 1,000 people
    Total crimes: 1,266,910

IRELAND
    http://www.nationmaster.com/country/ei-ireland/cri-crime
    Assaults: 9,921
    Car thefts: 14,851
    Drug offences: 190.2 per 100,000 people
    Murders: 38
    Murders (per capita): 0.00946215 per 1,000 people
    Murders with firearms: 12
    Murders with firearms (per capita): 0.00298805 per 1,000 people
    Rapes: 218
    Rapes (per capita): 0.0542829 per 1,000 people
    Total crimes: 81,274

So you are more likely to be raped and killed in Poland, although in Ireland you stand a better chance of getting high...

Im rather surprised by the drug figures. Alot of them like their speed and yokes, and weed grows wild in parts of the country (quite nice smoke and all, never knew before they arrived thewre was any grwoing out there tbh). lol those figures are mad, in the last year one Pole applied for asylum in the US :D Wonder who he is.

However the murder rate for Latvians here is something like 10 times that at home. Cant recall where I read it, google it if you are arsed.

micmclo wrote:
    I've seen people claim they are not racist.That's grand, I'm not accusing anyone of that.

Sure Eastern Europeans are white Europeans like ourselves so why do people even mention racism?
    If you don't like them ,fair enough but how can you be racist against the same race as you?
    i heard a woman on joe duffy talking about the poles getting bmw's off the government :D

i knwo theres irish scumabgs i mite start another post on that.but the irish have be welcoming to all polish etc.but at least vet them so they hav english,no records,a licence,maybe some skills.in fairness alot of things are put in polish for them so they just laugh at us making it easy for them they dont have to intergrate at all.their doing the leaving in all different languages now how is that going to help the kids?if you want a polish leaving cert paper do it in poland,if your in ireland do it our way.if i moved somewhere id have to do it the local way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

Friend of mine was walking through his estate the other day and three big foreign lads started calling him an Irish prick and telling him to go **** himself, for no reason. They were drunk but it wasn't late in the day and it's a very nice estate.

One thing ive noticed myself, you see alot of them just walking around the streets drinking cans during the day. I know were not exactly saints for drinking ourselves but on friday i walked past a group of about 5 or 6 poles walking down my street all drinking cans, at 6 in the evening. Was a bit unnerving to say the least, seeing a bunch of heavy set blokes all swigging cans coming towards ya

0ubliette wrote:
    One thing ive noticed myself, you see alot of them just walking around the streets drinking cans during the day. I know were not exactly saints for drinking ourselves but on friday i walked past a group of about 5 or 6 poles walking down my street all drinking cans, at 6 in the evening. Was a bit unnerving to say the least, seeing a bunch of heavy set blokes all swigging cans coming towards ya

So they fit right into our society then :p

All they have to do now is get on the propety ladder, and become smug and they are sorted.

i aint a bad person but is anyone else just sick of being nice to them and think they just be stop put on the flow of people coming in for a while?the country hasnt caught up to meet their needs like schools etc another point teachers having to deal with kids with zero english

shyjoe wrote:
    i aint a bad person but is anyone else just sick of being nice to them and think they just be stop put on the flow of people coming in for a while?the country hasnt caught up to meet their needs like schools etc another point teachers having to deal with kids with zero english

I emigrated from Ireland back when our government was quite happy to let us leave, because it was an easy solution to the unemployment problem. So to be quite honest, coming from a rejected generation I simply don't care. We will simply have to deal with it, we will have to help people for a change rather than expecting other countries to do it. while we kid ourselves that we are doing good, just by putting a few quid in that collection box in the corner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

shyjoe wrote:
    no talking to them no english.their rude ignorant and before u say no english a smile and a hello the world knows

If you are talking to them in this fashion, they may not realize that you can speak English

i had to leave school at an early age mate im catching up on my life now doing english classes again dont knock a guy for trying.if you work your ass off to buy an apartment and the place got over taken with eastern european scum i think it might change you aswell

shyjoe wrote:
    i knwo theres irish scumabgs i mite start another post on that

Man that's a brilliant idea.... you should definately do that. Don't think there's ever been a thread on After Hours on that particular subject before. :rolleyes:

Plissken1 wrote:
    We will simply have to deal with it, we will have to help people for a change rather than expecting other countries to do it.
    Actually, no we don't. This is our home, and we make the rules to suit ourselves. Other countries don't even come into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

So is that the fault of the eastern europeans that they've seen an oportunity and taken it? The world is full of scumbags of every race colour and creed. The things you've said your neighbours do are done by Irish people all the time. It happens, so get over it.

And with regards those statistics, there's about 4m people in Ireland and 38m in Poland, so doesn't that come down to something like a 2-3% difference in crime rates? Which isn't as huge as those stats make it seem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

shyjoe wrote:
    the place got over taken with eastern european scum i think it might change you aswell

Nice one, may as well cut out all the nice stuff and get down to the heart of what you're really saying...

Come to think of it, we've probably corrupted a whole generation of eastern Europeans. When they head home, all they'll care about is drinking, fighting and house prices.

humanji wrote:
    And with regards those statistics, there's about 4m people in Ireland and 38m in Poland, so doesn't that come down to something like a 2-3% difference in crime rates? Which isn't as huge as those stats make it seem.
    They are done per capita, in several cases. You're what, six times more likely to be murdered in Poland than Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

They are done per capita, in several cases. You're what, six times more likely to be murdered in Poland than Ireland.
    Actually, looking back on it, it's only from 1998-2000. I was wondering how there could only be 38 murders in Ireland. I'd say we've probably easily had that since the start of the year. Of course that must be due to immagrants and not the rising drug culture :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

shyjoe wrote:
    i knwo theres irish scumabgs i mite start another post on that.but the irish have be welcoming to all polish etc.but at least vet them so they have English,no records,a licence,maybe some skills.in fairness alot of things are put in polish for them so they just laugh at us making it easy for them they don't have to integrate at all.their doing the leaving in all different languages now how is that going to help the kids?if you want a polish leaving cert paper do it in Poland,if your in Ireland do it our way.if i moved somewhere id have to do it the local way
    What difference does that make to you? They'll have to speak English if they're going to go to college anyway. You can't vet people coming in just because they're Polish, we're in the EU for a reason, those roads didn't build themselves, now it's payback time, and there's no point being ham fisted about it. Incidentally, if anyone else here has ever actually been in Poland they'll realise the population are deeply religious and conservative, what we get over here is a passing phase of young people making money for a better future in Poland, a lot like Irish young lads going to Australia or America for a year.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Well, its obvious isnt it...all the drug dealers are foreign. That was its still their fault :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

There's been numerous articles in the English Times about how the crime rate has gone down in Poland. I wonder where all the scumbags are?

ok shur just let all the scum in from eastern europe we dont have enough of our own.3 of my friends are guards and they tell their sick of the foreign sick now wish they could them on a plane home translators costing huge money and giving free legal aid its crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

think we might need an auld translator in here wha'?

griffdaddy wrote:
    we're in the EU for a reason, those roads didn't build themselves, now it's payback time, and there's no point being ham fisted about it.
    Jesus if I hear this again theres a fighting chance my head will explode. First of all the EU needed a poster child in order to bring in Eastern European states and expand. We got the lucky lottery ticket. Second of all, Ireland is expected to become a net EU contributor at some stage, so their investment (and that is what it is) will be repaid many many times over. We owe exactly fack all to anyone, and admitting troublesome new populations isn't in anyone's interests. Not that I'm saying they are troublesome, generally I find the Polish to be polite and friendly.

shyjoe wrote:
    ok shur just let all the scum in from eastern europe we dont have enough of our own.3 of my friends are guards and they tell their sick of the foreign sick now wish they could them on a plane home translators costing huge money and giving free legal aid its crap

post reported ......

along with two previous posts from this user ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

shyjoe wrote:

Joe your not helping your arguement with really poor grammer and punctuation.

Ned - why bother anymore?

Are you denying that there are scum in Poland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

. First of all the EU needed a poster child in order to bring in Eastern European states and expand. We got the lucky lottery ticket. Second of all, Ireland is expected to become a net EU contributor at some stage, so their investment (and that is what it is) will be repaid many many times over.
    I thought we were used as a poster child because our economy was probably the most successful example of how the EU works, especially seeing as we weren't part of the 'old guard'? There's more than one way to become an EU contributor, allowing a sizeable number of foreigners to feed off our economy is a directly intangible contribution, but is indirectly tangible once those people return to Poland or wherever. However, I'd agree, the minute it becomes A) an economic burden or B)a big social problem, we have to start controlling numbers more stringently. It's certainly not A at the moment, and whether or not it's B is highly debatable, personally I don't think it is. Displaced populations always take time to adjust, I'd let it pan out for a while.

why reported elvis?free speech not allowed here?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Free speech is not allowed here. The owners of this site are liable for your posts.
    If everybody keeps derogatory terms to a minimum we will all have a lovely day. This is the only warning.

elviscostello: It appears the posts you reported mention that there are 'scum' from Eastern European countries. I'm sure there are, just as there are here, but he is not referring to individual troublemakers and not all the people from the country. As long as it is civil from here on out the thread will remain in good stead.

griffdaddy wrote:
    I thought we were used as a poster child because our economy was probably the most successful example of how the EU works, especially seeing as we weren't part of the 'old guard'?
    Our economy is only so successful because of nutty lending practices by the banks, inspired by historically low interest rates. The EU hadn't much to do with that. Not that it stops them holding up Ireland as their poster child, in order to pull in Eastern states...
    griffdaddy wrote:
    There's more than one way to become an EU contributor, allowing a sizeable number of foreigners to feed off our economy is a directly intangible contribution, but is indirectly tangible once those people return to Poland or wherever.
    Nope, you become an EU contributor when you contribute financially from the country's coffers to the EU coffers, not via some sort of parasitic social arrangement, implied or otherwise.
    griffdaddy wrote:
    Displaced populations always take time to adjust, I'd let it pan out for a while.
    What happens when your immigrants turn out to be migrants, and you have a revolving door of people who will never settle or integrate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

shyjoe wrote:
    free speech not allowed here?
    I lol'ed :)
    The feedback forum is littered with banned users who thought they had some right to free speech with boards.ie as a conduit.
    In short, I'd say "No, not exactly..."