Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UK Download festival

• 30-01-2007 7:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭

Uk Download....what a disappointment
    Headliners
    Friday - My Chemical Romance (wtf?)
    Saturday - Linkin Park
    Sunday - Iron Maiden

http://www.downloadfestival.co.uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Beekay

#Elites wrote:
    Emo invades Download;)

suck it in mate, MCR are the hottest band atm so.. and LP with a new album..

some poeple will like it (..like me!)

But headlining??Neither of those two should headline a festival....i wouldn't mind if they played but they are not a band like Iron Maiden(and i don't even like them), but neither of those bands would have the material to play 2.5 hours.

When i went to this in 04, there were twice as many people watching the bands early on sunday than there was watching Linkin park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

That is the worst headlining lineup Ive ever seen. Unless they turn Sunday into a Classic Rock/Metal day I wouldnt touch the place this year. I mean, last year was brilliant, and I just cant abide MCR headlining anything. Although with BFMV at Wacken anything is possible!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

....... no comment, Donnington has truely sold out..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Beekay

#Elites wrote:
    both LP and MCR have released a good few albums..of corse they can cover 2hr set..

LP are only releasing their third album, and MCR are only on their third...and they aren't exactly as big as Metallica/Maiden/Tool/G'N'R

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭quaidox

horrendous headliners!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭SlipknotBitch9

Is Download coming to Dublin again this year? If so they better add Lamb of God or somethin. The whole thing's probably a plot to get all the emos in one big space so they can bomb the bloody area

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

Does anyone else find it ironic that someone called SlipknotBitch is slagging off the MCR and Linkin Park fans?

:D ROFL - Good 'un mate!!! :D

*BAM*
    Oh no he didn't!
    Oh yes I did...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭SlipknotBitch9

Lol yeah I was actually waitin for that one! But at least I like early Slipknot and not their latest stuff which I gladly admit to be complete ****. At least they've had SOMETHIN heavy out at all, can anyone really say that about LP or MCR?

:) Actually, I still listen to their early stuff too, I was just slagging.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Terrible concert that will be.
    Slipknot are great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭garthv

Sounds like an ultra-gay lineup,
    Uh Im an avid Slipknot fan, have been for quite sometime now, wouldnt lump them in with that emo bollix, ever!
    I cant see the atmosphere being that good this year after the riots last year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Mr Rivers

I'd say Aiken will put on Download here again after the rake load of money they made last time!

Iron Maiden - 9th June
    Linkin Park - 10th June

I'd say :\

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Mr Rivers wrote:
    I'd say Aiken will put on Download here again after the rake load of money they made last time!

Iron Maiden - 9th June

Dont think Maiden will be doing Ireland again. Bruce said something about playing "a muddy field in England in the summer, but not Ireland" at the last gig. So it was obviously Download he was talking about.

As for those headliners, at least if it does come to Ireland, I wont be annoyed at missing any of it anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Beekay wrote:
    Uk Download....what a disappointment
    Headliners
    Friday - My Chemical Romance (wtf?)
    Saturday - Linkin Park
    Sunday - Iron Maiden

http://www.downloadfestival.co.uk
    Oh FFS thats terrible.

I like mcr, but they're not headlining donnington material.

Maiden are ok, could be worse.

As for LP...would ya gwan outa that! Taking the michael, completely.

*prays for good support acts* Etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭The Freeman

i hate my chemical romance they are whats wrong with music(and the world) pretty dissapointed to be honest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭porn_star

urgggggggggggh, that's a crap line up. I'm not really a Maiden fan, but I can see *why* they'd be playing there and deserve a headlining slot...

but Linkin Park and crappy MCR, really like, what in the name of god is that about!!! That's a bit of a let down line up for something like Download, imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,663 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

#Elites wrote:
    Emo invades Download;)

suck it in mate, MCR are the hottest band atm so.. and LP with a new album..

some poeple will like it (..like me!)

Emo invades Download?? More like UTTER ****E invades Download!!?? Stinkin Park & MCR are s***e, and Maiden are f**kin GRANDFATHERS by now??? I wonder where the gig will be(if it comes to Dublin)? The RDS is being re-developed, so it'll most likely be indoors - probably the Point?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭porn_star

#Elites wrote:
    dont worry MCR wont be coming to download ireland ;)
    i couldn't give a crap if any of them came to Ireland to be honest with you, I wouldn't pay to see any of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭daiixi

tbh I have more of an issue with the ferals who went to last years Download than I do with any of the bands. scummy kids pissing into cups and throwing them into the crowd. that's the reason why I wouldn't be going. gross.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

The RDS is being re-developed, so it'll most likely be indoors - probably the Point?

isnt it the Point being redeveloped?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,663 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

Mossy Monk wrote:
    isnt it the Point being redeveloped?

Just the carpark, I think?:confused:

If the venue IS being redeveloped, then there ain't goin' to be a Download Ireland festival this year:D

And, if that's the best line up they can come up with, then I doubt it'll be missed???

Don't know specifics, but I heard it was The Point was closing this summer for redevelopment of some description.

Alternatives? Punchestown maybe? Piss poor line-up though, it'll be a day out for the kids and fuck all else. I'd love to see Maiden again, but not if I'd have to suffer all the associated shite of being at a gig with so many children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭NIBBS

I'd say it'll happen - just don't know where, there's not too many venues, but they made so much money from the last one it'll happen, was one of the more profitable weekends music wise in Europe last year.........

the Point is being extended to 14,000 capacity so along with the extensive work on the car park (building a multistorey I think) it's be closed for the summer, our lack of venues will mean us missing a lot this year I think..........the headliners are pretty much what I expected, very unlikely they wouldn't have top sellers on the bill........when they add Machine Head etc it might just be worth it......
    I'd say Punchestown is a strong possibility......

The Point and the RDS are being redeveloped. RDS wont be open till that horse show in August. And if Download does come this year to Ireland, at least I wont be missing anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Went to the Sunday last year in the RDS...was an awesome line-up (apart from one band..can't remember, but was at Stone Sour in the tent when they were playing so whatever..)

Don't care about it this year, since the English line-up is terrible, we'd most likely get Linkin Park and some dreadful support. Will be doing the Leaving Cert anyway..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭NIBBS

Festivals aren't all about the Headliners, sure headliners are important at any event, but when you have close to 100 bands playing over 3 days it's a bit foolish to base a decision on a festival without knowing at least part of the line up - so far there are only 3 bands confirmed, and Maiden are cetainly worth the entrance fee if they are doing a proper set.......
    if some of the rumoured bands are on and make it to this side of the water (such as Machine Head) I'll definitely check it out.....there's always been diversity in the line up for Download so there shouldn't be any shock with the headliners........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

I think that if we get any combination of the three we would be lucky no F***ING karoke this year:rolleyes:

stupid junior cert last year preventing me seing bullet funeral metallica, etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

daiixi wrote:
    tbh I have more of an issue with the ferals who went to last years Download than I do with any of the bands. scummy kids pissing into cups and throwing them into the crowd. that's the reason why I wouldn't be going. gross.

? Really? Thats as bad as the exploding tents at that Irish festival...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Mr Rivers wrote:

Iron Maiden - 9th June
    Linkin Park - 10th June

I'd say :\

Doubt that will happen. Linkin Park dont have the fanbase to sell 32,000 tickets. If Iron MAiden were to appear it would be the fourth time in four years. Even Metallica dont have that record. Id say you may see a twinning with the Reading Festival again. I have heard that Metallica will play that, but a more reliable source has told me that Metallica will play the Point in October.

Im still bitter that nobody went out on a limb and got System of A Down in 2005 or Black Sabbath for that matter. Download 2005 had some great acts including Anthrax, Megadeth, Damageplan, Slayer, Papa Roach, and Slipknot. However nothing was done. The headliners were the only real reason to go to Download last year. I mean funeral for a friend and ullet for My Valintine dont really suffice.

The line up for 2007 is really pretty crappy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

(apart from one band..can't remember, but was at Stone Sour in the tent when they were playing so whatever)

The band youre thinking of was Avenged Sevenfold, and they were only on at that time because KoRn cancelled, so you should have been able to see AIC and Stone Sour in the tent and then head over to watch KoRn and Metallica but alas it didnt work. And 2 days before Motley pulled out of the GNR gig, need I say more.

Speaking of Download though, which this thread is about, ive had a think and have to say...what else does one expect? All the good bands played last yr, they attracted a record attendance and everything was brilliant, so how could they top it? The answer is they cant, so theyre playing the event down, although from what ive heard of Linkin Parks new album its very very heavy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭greenkittie

For me personally, last year was the perfect festival. Perfect weather, great bands, great atmosphere, i even got center front for tool and got a drumstick! Nothing could top it but even still, i was all sad i wasn't going to be getting to go this year... Untill i saw that lineup. Made me happy i won't be missing out on much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭- bo -

The latest announcement is gonna be made tomorrow morning, I can tell you (100% certain) it's gonna be Korn, Velvet Revolver, Lamb Of God, Dragonforce, DevilDriver and Dimmu Borgir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭qwertplaywert

any word on Enter Shikari[or as last years organizers liked to call and spell them, Enter Shikira] playing?

Nope but there's still loads of acts to be announced yet, also 99% sure Stone Sour will be announced at some stage.

Really considering going now since Korn have been announced, Stone Sour probably playing, would love to see Linkin Park too, wouldn't mind seeing Manson either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 btothei

imagine having bought a presale for that download in november/december expecting as gud a lineup as last year....haha iron maiden r the only thing announced so far along with velvet revolver r the only things that wud interest me......also my chemical romance r playin a certain irish 2 day festival dis year...not headlinin tho quite obviously coz they r ****!

Velvet Revolver...woohooo. Lets hope that if they play over here, its not during my Leaving. Thee last time they played, was in Belfast and my friends all had the Leaving on then so couldnt go.

Arent Enter Shikari playing here in April? The lineup for Download seems to be steady now, a better undercard rather than headliners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Earwig Eddie

to all the neophytes:

MCR and Linkin Park wont be headlining their respective nights at donnington. They always do this - the real headliners wont be announced for a few more weeks.

(if i remember correctly, the first announcement last year was the prodigy and bullet for my valentine, or something along those lines).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

hope Manson plays a gig here, only reason id go so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭christophicus

What festival?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

#Elites wrote:
    me thinks he will turn up for "that festival"
    The one we must not mention?

Gwan outa that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 stemcnee

led zep
    hendrix
    maiden
    mettallica
    g n r
    LP?
    mcr?

no need for that lads

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,565 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Newly confirmed are Evanescence, Motley Crue, Gallows, 30 Seconds To Mars, Enter Shikari, Machine Head and Bowling For Soup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Chaosangel

that donnington though above yah???
    any word on anyone definitly playin dublin if it comes over this year?

Chaosangel wrote:
    that donnington though above yah???
    any word on anyone definitly playin dublin if it comes over this year?

yup its donnington

Newly confirmed(for donnington) are Megadeth, Buckcherry, Shadows Fall, Dream Theater, and Turbonegro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Actually hoping to head over...
    Didn't get to see Lamb Of God, Motley Crue would be a laugh, Bowling For Soup same...
    One band is hoping to get in Guinness Book of Records with biggest circle pit!

I like Linkin Park and I heard a leaked version of a new song - it's heavier anyway...Not sure what substance is going to be behind it but could be good craic. Saw them with Metallica here - they were good, too much set up time and attitude of crowd was annoying - if you don't like them, fair enough but let them do their thing and try to have fun!

Though I'm still hoping for a few more great bands (or ones I like at least seems as if I mention any examples after that statement I could get slated) - like In Flames, Sum 41 (though nervous about upcoming release after departure of guitarist), Billy Talent, Rise Against and maybe they'll have a competition like last year for unsigned bands - was hoping Roper of Limerick would get it...

🤪

Once the tickets don't sell out by Easter weekend I should head over, birthdasy money and all that...

Some cool bands there - Korn (spent 70 quid to see them with Metallica last year and the rest as they say is history...), Machine Head (just got into them recently and they're great), Stone Sour (great live, jsut saw tehm in Glasgow there last week), Linkin Park (can't wait to here their new stuff, like all their stuff so far. Might go see Manson, Evanescence...

I read Korn are playing the Friday, which assuming they're on the main stage means they're under My Chemical Romance. Yeah that makes a lot of sense alright :rolleyes:

For anyone heading, was checking out flights with Ryanair and they're as low as 25 quid incl. taxes, great prices.

Newly confirmed are Bloodsimple, Turisas, Drive By Argument, I Was A Cub Scout, and ANJ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

The new bands announced haven't really cemented my decision either way...Was hoping Billy Talent would be one of the newly announced as they are playing here on one of the days of Download...

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,066 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

I was just reading through this thread and was wondering about all this trash talking of a band I've never heard. So off I went to wikipedia and I was confronted with this

Is this the same band that have a video with some guy in make up crying and singing at the same time? If so then I can see why they are not very popular