Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Northwood

• 31-05-2007 9:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭

I'm thinking about joining Northwood gym in Santry...

Anyone here a member? I'd appreciate your opinions on it, I've been once on a friends pass so I know the layout etc.

Also, I'm a bit strapped for cash....does anyone know if there are there any special offers coming up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Stimpyone

I'm a member in Northwood, joined in Febuary and have been pretty pleased.

All the equipment is new and most of the cardio stuff has a TV screen attached. Wide variety of weights too.
    The changing rooms and showers are spotless and there is always hot water. :D

I was previously a member of total fitness on the Malahide Road for years, principally because it's beside where I live, and I can honestly say that unless they refit, wash the place and install some water heaters I won't be going back.:mad:

If you get there early in the morning it's pretty much empty too, except on Mondays when the olds hog the pool for some reason?.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,081 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Texas wrote:
    Also, I'm a bit strapped for cash....does anyone know if there are there any special offers coming up?

If it's like Westpoint, then membership should be around €300 per year all the time. No special offers, you won't get lower than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Texas

Stimpyone, I was a member of Sportslink so I know what you mean about the old changing areas, showers etc. I liked it there but having to shower again at home after a swim is ridiculous and the shower area and changing rooms are awful.

Stark, I think the yearly membership is 345.... But sometimes they have 6 month memberships, just wondering if anyone knew if there was a new offer coming up as it's June tomorrow. I was a member of Westpoint years ago, but couldn't cope with the parking and queues for machines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Diamondmaker

345 is the special offer,

No strings attached, no joning fee, less than a € a day- beat that Jackie Skelly:D

Im a member from Day 1, The offer I got was 18 months membership for 345.
    DOubt there will be any other offers that is a good deal in anybodies books to be fair.

I would give the place top marks. ALways min or no queue for anything and there is a good split over the 2 floors too which means even less hassle for kit and weights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Texas

Made the right decision to hang on till June.

Limited offer 575 for 2 people :D (saving us 115 euro)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

if you are going to be mostly using the free weights area then it can be a pain in the ass as the free wights area can be quite packed most evenings and equiment wise isn't all that great (ye I am still bitter that they replaced one of the squat racks with a feckin smith machine). However they are going to be "redoing" the top floor at the end of the month so this may make things better or more likely worse.

Other then that though don't really have a bad word against it. It is cheap, equipment is new there is never a Q for cardio equipment and the pool doesn't have classes on so you have a better chance at being able to get a lane.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

Member myself since late January and have no complaints. I've nothing to compare it to, but as has been mentioned the equipment is new, the place is always clean and at least some of the staff there are a good help if needed.
    jsb wrote:
    if you are going to be mostly using the free weights area then it can be a pain in the ass as the free wights area can be quite packed most evenings and equiment wise isn't all that great (ye I am still bitter that they replaced one of the squat racks with a feckin smith machine). However they are going to be "redoing" the top floor at the end of the month so this may make things better or more likely worse.

Are they? Makes sense, they have a lot of threadmills upstairs and there are never more than 5-10 being used at a time, even during the busy periods (probably because there are loads downstairs too!).

If you're able to go there between 12-2 you'll have the run of the place, though - after 6 it gets quite busy, especially the free weights area. They also only have one of some of the more popular weights machines, which generally isn't a problem but can mean waiting a little the odd time (nothing major though)

Another great thing about the swimming pool, and this may be standard in gyms, is that there are no kids in it and they have plenty of places to chill out (2 saunas, 2 steamrooms, 2 jacuzzis and some other jacuzzi-type thing) in the pool area, so the only people in the swimming pool are actually swimming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭dodgey69

im member since last june/july, paid 495 and got 14 months.

however i have noticed a decline in the gym over last few months. I was in the pool last friday evening and was perplexed to see a kid of about 8 in the pool messing with the floating boards. Am i going mad or are kids not supposed to be in the gym? i was told just that when i signed up

Not only that in one of the jacuzzis there was 3 lads+2 girls in late teens/early 20's squirting each other with water from water bottles for over 20 minutes and throwing each other around/wrestling.

the fact that nothing was done by any member of staff to either of the following shows that the gym is on a slippery slope where they just want more and more people to join to get money.

i dont hink ill be renewing my membership when it runs out in a few months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,081 ✭✭✭✭Stark

dodgey69 wrote:
    however i have noticed a decline in the gym over last few months. I was in the pool last friday evening and was perplexed to see a kid of about 8 in the pool messing with the floating boards. Am i going mad or are kids not supposed to be in the gym? i was told just that when i signed up

"Gym or creche" seems to be a common criciticism of gyms these days. Whatever happened to the "over 18s only" rule :(