Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just found this forum - Newbie with WW2 Interest

• 30-05-2007 8:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭

Thanks Lemming thanks alot you have now got me interested in Airsoft.

OK here is my query I have an interest in WW2 FPS games and I have now discovered airsoft and am wondering if this is the best way for a newbie to start. Did a bit of browsing of the etailers sites and have seen that there are MP40's, KAR's and Walter pistols. Any ideas what the quality of these is like and whether they are legal (just getting to grips with everything from a brief read of the forum)

(again damn you Lemming damn you to hell you mg camping whore :p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,590 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Post up some links of the ones in question so we can all take a looksee :)

Oh and welcome to airsoft. Prepare for your wallet to always be void of cash!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Dont forget the Colt 1911s, loads of people use them.

First things first. Get to skirmish and see if you like it (even if they use modern m4s and Mp5s ect ect ect).

Then start lloking to buy. Anyway...think it was a mauri Mp40 that i saw...very nice gun:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

o1s1n wrote:
    Post up some links of the ones in question so we can all take a looksee :)

OK here are a few

MP40
    http://www.rsov.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=323&osCsid=d6d6e9936f43a6b1b57bf51e2402883e

KAR98k
    http://www.wwiiguns.com/store/product_details.php?p=162

Lugar
    http://www.wwiiguns.com/store/product_details.php?p=344

And one for Lemming :)
    http://www.wwiiguns.com/store/product_details.php?p=189

Oh and welcome to airsoft. Prepare for your wallet to always be void of cash!

Ah its ok Photography is doing a good job at raping my wallet already :)

Master of the Universe

gandalf wrote:

I was actually going to send you a link to that mp40 on rsov.com.

Just to let you know, the way the market currently working is;

Tokyo Marui or Classic Army are two of the biggest most reliable names in airsoft. They're both Japanese makers and produce guns to a really high standard. They cost in the region of 200-400 euro +. If you buy one it will more than likely never break down on you.

There has been a new wave of cheaper Chinese made "clones". (That mp40 on rsov.com being one of them). Whenever Marui or another top of the line Japanese brand releases a gun, they buy a copy. They then try to replicate it as well as possible for as cheap as possible.

The result being guns that are a good bargain for the money. However, they don't have the reliability of the better Japanese models.

You just have to work out which is the better option for you. I'll always tell beginners to try and save up for a Tokyo Marui if they can as they shouldn't have any problems with it.

On another note,.

The KAR98k is gas powered and firing 8mm 0.34g or 0.43g plastic BB. So it's going to be well over the 1 joule legal limit im afraid.

The luger would be grand. Although, I'm not sure about that site. Wolf armouries have some Tanaka ones that are meant to be the business.

http://www.wolfarmouries.co.uk/airsoft/bb/product.asp?page=product&id=TANLUG4MB

Although they're an English retailer so they'll be more expensive than some of the Asian retailers. Try having a look on www.uncompany.com for one. They're a site based in China and get stock in for much cheaper than European and American sites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Fire-support just started to stock this MP40 a few weeks ago.

http://www.fire-support.co.uk/store/comersus_viewItem.asp?idProduct=2257

Master of the Universe

Fire-support just started to stock this MP40 a few weeks ago.

http://www.fire-support.co.uk/store/comersus_viewItem.asp?idProduct=2257

Wah! That's crazy. They're using the cheap clone AGM body and upgrading it with Marui and Guarder parts and selling it for £260!

I think if I was going to spend THAT much money I'd save up for the TOP version.

Oh and as far as I can tell, that MG42 is firing well over 1 joule too.

Feckin' hell, you would have to pick a load of awkward guns ;)

LOL the MG42 is just to get Lemming drooling, he was a MG Whore in Day of Defeat :)

Shame about the KAR. Can really see myself getting into this if I can slap an SS Uniform on LOL

Master of the Universe

gandalf wrote:
    LOL the MG42 is just to get Lemming drooling, he was a MG Whore in Day of Defeat :)

I have fond memories of mowing down plenty of allies with that myself :D
    gandalf wrote:
    Shame about the KAR. Can really see myself getting into this if I can slap an SS Uniform on LOL

The problem with the KAR being only Tanaka seem to make it. They specialize in gas powered guns. Gas airsoft rifles are generally very powerful. They can be tuned down to under 1 joule. However, they can also be tuned back up to well over 1 joule. So you're in a bit of a pickle.

Just start praying someone else releases a version!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

Doesn't TM do a reportedly very good Thompson as well?

(Or are you just into Rheinmetall stuff, Gandalf? ;) )

EDIT: they sure do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,509 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

ambro25 wrote:
    Doesn't TM do a reportedly very good Thompson as well?

(Or are you just into Rheinmetall stuff, Gandalf? ;) )

EDIT: they sure do!

That Thompson looks SWEET!! Had to laugh at the review on Redwolf though:

Cons

- Lacks ability to take accessories like scopes and silencers

:D somehow I think the Thompson would look better without a scope or silencer.........why anyone would want to put such things on it anyway is beyond me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭16airassualt

is there any lee enfield .303s on the market yet,id love to get one of those

Master of the Universe

Don't think I've ever seen one.

I'm sure if one was ever made it would be gas powered anyway :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭16airassualt

thats pissy,we could have all gone down to the g.p.o an reinacted the rising...oh well:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Welcome aboard gandalf!

This reminds me, I still haven't made any sig banners :confused:

I'll get cracking on that later, and if everyone puts one in their sig, then we will soon conquer ze world!!!!! Or we'll get lots of traffic in the forum. Whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Spitfire666

the thompson is a very good looking piece of kit. a few lads use it at predator and it seems very good. its also used to make the aliens pulse rifle replica.

Gandalf, those guns you linked are shell ejecting and gas powered, not so good(Gas is dearer and needs regular filling, and who wants to go around picking up shells?).

There was an Airsoft International review of a TM Thompson VS a ?? MP40 : Thompson won:D

Rheinmetall all the way baby :) (Its the uniforms man they look cooler!!)

Lethal yeah as I said only heard about airsoft when Lemming told me to come over to his gaff and he whipped his new Aug out, so I is climbing a steep learning curve at the moment.

Shame about the KAR's they look absolulely class.

16airassualt I did come across an Enfield on one of the many sites I browsed, I'll check tonight when I am home and see if I can find it again. Alas I think it was gas powered as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Mark_Sc

There are a few broom-handled mausers around....
    and M14s not sure where they fit in though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Harekin

And they released a B.A.R recently.

There werent many trenches in WW2.

Sorry, I was joking tho! A Tommy gun is a classic spray and pray gun...a scope on it would be disgraceful...unless it was converted to a Pulse Rifle...:-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭ShowUsYourXbox

They also list a con as not being able to take a silencer. I assume the silencers in airsoft are just for show anyway?

Most are decorative but some do have a good silencing effect. The problem is is the mottor and gears make all the noise.

also used to lengthen the barrell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭ASI Casper

There are already a few airsofters with reenactment interest. This link may be of use:
    http://www.airsoftireland.com/forums/index.php?showforum=69

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

gandalf wrote:

MG42 ... Browning ... doesn't matter. Both are loud and cause much pwnage :D

You do realise that I wasn't joking about getting an M60 ....

Master of the Universe

Lemming wrote:

You do realise that I wasn't joking about getting an M60 ....

In that case you need the Inokatsu.

http://www.redwolfairsoft.com/redwolf/airsoft/ReviewDetail?reviewID=163

Costs an absolute fortune..but just look at it!

Thats Crazy Sh1t Cool. You'd need to be really strong to heft that around but that would be very scary to face.

o1s1n wrote:
    In that case you need the Inokatsu.

http://www.redwolfairsoft.com/redwolf/airsoft/ReviewDetail?reviewID=163

Costs an absolute fortune..but just look at it!

Oh I'm looking at it alright ...... :D

*dribble*

I think I just had an orgasm reading that review ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

Lemming wrote:

:p:p

Master of the Universe

Lemming wrote:

Well, if you ever buy one, you're on my team!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

o1s1n wrote:
    Well, if you ever buy one, you're on my team!

that's just wrong....

bloody nice gun though :D

Master of the Universe

kdouglas wrote:
    that's just wrong....

bloody nice gun though :D

Your innuendo's are on par with carry on films. You should be ashamed :p:p

Did you fire off a few rounds there Lemming ;)

LOL

Just NO gandalf, Just No:mad:

now now, let's all try and remember this is not after hours

or sex & sexuality for that matter ;)

Good thing I didn't say he was polishing his barrel, doh !!!!

Must try and pop out to that skirmish place on de Northside, would I be able to take photos of the action over there? Could be good for a few shots (pictures that is!!)

Master of the Universe

I don't know what the situation is with photos. I thought it would have been grand. However, there was a bit of an issue a little while ago with someone being annoyed with their photo being used in an airsoft promotional video.

Hmmm. I'd say just ask before hand.
    Would make some good photos alright. I'd love to bring a video camera up to Predator.

o1s1n wrote:
    Hmmm. I'd say just ask before hand.
    Would make some good photos alright. I'd love to bring a video camera up to Predator.

I say we all chip in for a helmet cam! Or some rich buys one:D

liamo333 wrote:
    I say we all chip in for a helmet cam! Or some rich buys one:D

Doom-style :D

have a mini spy cam which arrived today which can be strapped to a helmet no problem, quality is ok

was going to stick it onto a remote control helicopter, but as of yet i havent got much control over the heli

Would love to see a heli flying around hrta recording. How much was it?

photos wont be a problem. its a public place and as long as its not for commercial use, anyone can take the photos at hrta. your only taking pictures of what any member of the public could walk in and see for them selves anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

You mean, like that? Shweeet! :)

Very end:

"You're gonna get me killed,I want another negotiator man":D

liamo333 wrote:
    Would love to see a heli flying around hrta recording. How much was it?

it's one of those cheap ones from rsov, it's only about a foot long, cost £12.99, but the price is gone up to £16.99 on the website last time i looked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

day of defeat...god i love that game..one of my all time favourites...some of the names here now begin to make sense..i am sure some of ye guys used to play on that irish team, well at least i thought it was irish..just cant remember the name now.

i have a thompson...and it is amazing. i bought it to strip it down and put the aliens m41-a kit on it. a bit of an aliens nut i am afraid. would love to get the tanaka pistol as per movie. hell i even bought the armour from a maker called spats, grenades, screen accurate camo as they dont make it anymore, and the shoulder flashes , i have the shoulder mounted light, and the comms headset, same as per the starwars movies (han solo ) and which a lot of starwars heads would kill for.....i have models of the the flame thrower (never made it), a kit for the blow torch, might get back into that again. hell the counter even counts down as u fire the modded thompson. hard to believe the film is 21 years old...jesus i am getting old...

i had to strip the receiver out of the thompson...but i never had the heart to do it, as it was friggen cool. quite heavy as well..

over the next few weeks i will try again to goto hrta..sorry loads of stuff to do at home, so if u are going along and i can make it i will bring the thompson along if u wanna looksee..alternatively if you want some aeg porn, i can post some pictures...

there is also a m1 garand out, supossed to be quite good, m1 carbine, also got some good reviews, a grease gun, so so reviews on that, as mentioned the mp40, the mauser, the luger, and the walther p38...as someone mentioned the bar has made an appearance, but at a grand its a bit pricey. the company shoei (maybe wrong spelling, and no not the helmet maker) did a mp44, incredibly expensive but it is used by collectors and reenactors as it is so accurate. they are a japanese company who specialise in german weapons but that is from memory. apparently its a father and son company and a steel press. if u get a chance read about them....shows you how the japanese are such sticklers for incredible precision (thank god). the mp44 has a marui gearbox but i read it was a wee bit crappy...i think it is accurate in weight and looks to the nearest gram to the original..apparently..

i would love a kar, but as said prev, its over 1joule...:(

one other thing to consider, there are a number of blank firing models around, not fully sure but they would be legal...maybe someone else could chip in on that...

Hehehe yeah haven't played DoD in a while but I used the nick {DafT}Gandalf@DAUK on the Dads Army servers :)

I'm in the process of buying an apartment at the moment so I won't be buying any gear for a while yet but I will try and get out to that place in Swords to check this out some weekend. I would be interested in kitting myself out in a full German type uniform with the weaps in the long term. Probably a P38 and MP40 and a big tin Nazi helmet :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

yep i am sure we played...cool small world..well if you want a hint

the chinese are producing very good rip offs of us , and german uniforms on ebay...and they are good value also....

i was half tempted to get a FJ kit...LOL