Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How Long someone is barred?????

• 30-05-2007 9:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭

:mad: Hypothetically, if you wanted to find out how long someone is barred from the poker forum or indeed boards, how do you go about it.

I posted this in the POKER Forum as it relates to poster in this section, i.e. SOLKSJAER:mad: :mad:

Now I know people got barred before for posting in the Mustard Forum etc., and there was an aggressive campaign to get the people re-instated etc.

So im starting the ball rolling here.
    How long is he barred for,

Does anyone even give a sh*t really or will I just not bother trying ..........

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

No offense Smurph, but this is not the place to get a campaign going. Put a thread in Feedback, and direct people there if you wish, although this is a futile effort in my opinion.

Solskjaer is permabanned, at his own request. He has frequently posted rubbish in order to get himself barred because he doesn't like the fact that this place is moderated. If he thinks this place is bad then he should have tried out some of the other forums (apart from the mustard one of course).

I will lock this thread in a wee while unless it dies naturally, but I will leave it open to give you a chance to respond to it at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

In fairness Smurph, Solksjaer didn't seem too cut up about the whole thing when I was speaking to him last night. In fact we were cracking jokes along the Groucho Marx lines of

"I don't care to belong to a club that accepts people like me as members."

In fact I wouldn't mind being banned for a while myself to stop me posting low content noise....3 months maybe......:rolleyes:

Anyway if the man wants a campaign fought to allow him back in I'll row in behind but right now it sure doesn't seem that way to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Fair enough,

he might have thrown all the toys out of the pram for getting a post move to BB Thread, but a permanent ban seems a bit severe imo.......although if he requested same and felt he didn't want to post here anymore fair enough.

I do feel that it he will be a great loss to this forum, as he added a bit humour, colour and with with his
    posts.

I'll put away my save Solksjaer hat so......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

smurph wrote:
    I do feel that it he will be a great loss to this forum, as he added a bit humour, colour and with with his
    posts.

I'll put away my save Solksjaer hat so......

put it back on Smurph!

I agree with all the above (I've been away so I think I must've mised the incident), Solksjaer's posts were some of the ones that I've most enjoyed reading over the last while and he would be a loss to this forum....

OK, let me clear this up. He did no get permbanned for anything he did in the poker forum. He got banned for a thread in the mustard forum where he abused Lafortezza and asked to be banned permanently. This thread is not going to turn into a 'whinge about moderators or why the world is unfair' thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

what the hell is the mustard forum? is it actually about mustard?

Mr.Plough wrote:
    what the hell is the mustard forum? is it actually about mustard?
    Yes. have a look through the drop down menus at the top for all the wierd and wonderful crap that is discussed here.

Also, back on topic while we still have one.

5starpool wrote:
    OK, let me clear this up. He did no get permbanned for anything he did in the poker forum. He got banned for a thread in the mustard forum where he abused Lafortezza and asked to be banned permanently. This thread is not going to turn into a 'whinge about moderators or why the world is unfair' thread.

but the world is unfair!!!
    (just ask Michael McDowell)

that's fair enough, if he wants to be permanently banned at his own request, then that's his decision

boo! down with Smurph's campaign!!

(Mr Plough, don't go there. Really)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

5starpool wrote:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

lol

5starpool wrote:
    This thread is not going to turn into a 'whinge about moderators or why the world is unfair' thread.

I don't Whinge about Moderators er, that much

"R.I.P. Solksjaer" you went out in a blaze of glory Ya good thing ya

I don't like mustard anyway, Its Salad Cream all the way for moi.......:rolleyes:

Better stop posting now..... work to be done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

i miss Solksjear :(

its folk like him who make the forum imo

ah well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭eoghan104

bops wrote:
    i miss Solksjear :(

its folk like him who make the forum imo

ah well
    I agree with Bops, but after talking to him last night he doesnt seem to arsed with the whole thing! not the end of the world lets be honest........ its a poker forum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

This is a good read: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/banlist.php
    but Solksjear may have slipped off the list i fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭Blip

Imposter wrote:

OK, I get being banned for Porn, Stealthcorp, Spam, etc.

Whats Shilling and bugger off dirty shill?....LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭HalfBaked

ollyk1 wrote:
    In fact I wouldn't mind being banned for a while myself to stop me posting low content noise....3 months maybe......:rolleyes:

Seconded, can we ban Olly now?:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

Damn HB you got in there before me... I want Olly banned too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

Wow Devore your like really far down the bastard list in 11th place and an absolute mountain to climb to 1st place

Anybody who knows Solskjaer in real life tell him to come back cap in hand we will miss his crazy pokerology and we need at least a couple of players in the Solskjaer and Bops mode to round out the forum

Fatboydim wrote:
    Damn HB you got in there before me... I want Olly banned too :D

I sense a fund raising opportunity....

Len if yourself and Peter are prepared to pledge $2 a day each to BigD's charity I'll voluntarily stop posting on boards. We can set a maximum number of days in case ye are scared of going busto!! :p

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 10,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭ecksor

Imposter wrote:

Solksjaer hullaballú 26-05-2007 Permanent Never Forever

Is what I see in the admin control panel.

smurph, I'm very disappointed to hear your comments regarding mustard when in fact a good salad cream is typically made with mustard. I think we've had salad cream and salad dressing recipes posted on the Mustard forum in the past.

ecksor wrote:
    smurph, I'm very disappointed to hear your comments regarding mustard when in fact a good salad cream is typically made with mustard. I think we've had salad cream and salad dressing recipes posted on the Mustard forum in the past.
    Take it to the Mustard forum or else I will have no choice but to do nothing whatsoever to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

5starpool wrote:
    Take it to the Mustard forum or else I will have no choice but to do nothing whatsoever to you.

Is this how mods have the craic with each other?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Rickyroma

smurph wrote:
    How long is he barred for,

Was I the only one who presumed Solskjaer was a girl then??

Smurph is a girl though, right?

Is this how mods have the craic with each other?

I think he's just asking me to stay on topic or piss off, which I will now do ...

ecksor wrote:
    Solksjaer hullaballú 26-05-2007 Permanent Never Forever

Is what I see in the admin control panel.

I could comment Mr. Ecksor, but I feel a ban would be in the air...........

I mean a "Mustard" Forum FFS, .......(sorry did I type that),

back outta door while checking left and right for that Scary Mod ECKSORwho is everywhere, everywhere I tell ya

He is an Admin Smurph, he eats mods for breakfast.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Rickyroma wrote:

Smurph is a girl though, right?
    But Smurphs are A sexual.

Poppa Smurph and Smurfette might have something to say about that

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Poppa Smurph and Smurfette might have something to say about that
    Clearly you are not the great smurf fan that Donnie Darko and I am, plus smurfette was just created, I believe this is bang on topic.

5starpool wrote:
    He is an Admin Smurph, he eats mods for breakfast.

Oh God, be afraid be very very very afraid,:eek: :eek:

Smurph eats humble pie covered in yummy yummy yummy mustard mmmmmm mustard.....

Solksjaer Solksjaer WHO!!!!

smurph wrote:
    Oh God, be afraid be very very very afraid,:eek: :eek:

Smurph eats humble pie covered in yummy yummy yummy mustard mmmmmm mustard.....

Solksjaer Solksjaer WHO!!!!

good jesus, I think the date on Smurph's carton may have expired!

You could have something there Olly... Been a while since I've donated to 1% pledge.:D

Fatboydim wrote:
    You could have something there Olly... Been a while since I've donated to 1% pledge.:D

30 days maybe?? In dollars its nothing really! :p

If you want I'd be happy to agree a forfeit. If I post within the agreed period I make good the pledges from yourself and Peter (and anyone else who wants in).

Either way charidee is the winner!! :eek:

ollyk1 wrote:

If you want I'd be happy to agree a forfeit. If I post within the agreed period I make good the pledges from yourself and Peter (and anyone else who wants in).

I'll tell you what. I'll agree to the 30 days at $2 per day but you don't get off as lightly as not posting in the poker forum.

Instead you need to become a constructive (contributing) regular on the mustard forum for the month. Ensuring that you add to the mustard forum and not just get yourself banned. Things like what dishes mustard works with, recipes etc.

I'm sure others would be willing to donate to such a noble cause. A chance to give a few quid to 1%. Deal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭brianmc

ollyk1 wrote:

Errr... I'm not quite sure what the topic is here anymore but... I don't quite get this whole bet thing.

Talk about "money for nothing"... Rather than OllyK1 banning himself from boards and since noise is bad but contributions to the board are good how about the following...

I will pledge $2 per day up to 30 (or other agreed threshold) where OllyK1 posts at least once per day on boards. All posts must be signal. No noise. The first noise post or day that passes with no posts forfeits the bet in which case OllyK1 pays the full 30 X $2 to one percent (or direct to Jack and Jill Foundation or whomever... I believe one percent is having a spot of bother).

Edit:

LOL. Post crossed with HalfBaked. I'll do $2 per day - poker and $2 per day - mustard.

HalfBaked wrote:
    I'll tell you what. I'll agree to the 30 days at $2 per day but you don't get off as lightly as not posting in the poker forum.

Instead you need to become a constructive (contributing) regular on the mustard forum for the month. Ensuring that you add to the mustard forum and not just get yourself banned. Things like what dishes mustard works with, recipes etc.

I'm sure others would be willing to donate to such a noble cause. A chance to give a few quid to 1%. Deal?

excellent - I'm in

how can we measure the quality of his mustard expertise though?

a live mustard tasting session for Ollyk in the SE? it only seems fair...

I think Personal Issues would be better than Mustard for this purpose.

5starpool wrote:
    I think Personal Issues would be better than Mustard for this purpose.

OllyK in personal issues?

We're trying to do something constructive!!

brianmc wrote:
    Errr... I'm not quite sure what the topic is here anymore but... I don't quite get this whole bet thing.

Talk about "money for nothing"... Rather than OllyK1 banning himself from boards and since noise is bad but contributions to the board are good how about the following...

I will pledge $2 per day up to 30 (or other agreed threshold) where OllyK1 posts at least once per day on boards. All posts must be signal. No noise. The first noise post or day that passes with no posts forfeits the bet in which case OllyK1 pays the full 30 X $2 to one percent (or direct to Jack and Jill Foundation or whomever... I believe one percent is having a spot of bother).

Not workable Brian!

That requires to much subjective judgement and my contributions tend to be subtle and whilst in general overlooked, add to the place in a gradual incremental sort of way. :D:D Plus when there is money riding on it people are going to be biased in their judgement.

The Mustard thing sounds interesting Peter....

Ecksor might appreciate some thoughtful constructive posts over there it does seem to be rather quiet at the minute. :p

excellent - I'm in

how can we measure the quality of his mustard expertise though?

a live mustard tasting session for Ollyk in the SE? it only seems fair...

In fairness I pretty much always have the Eddie Rocket's burger prior to my Wednesday SE scalps session mustard included!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

ollyk1 wrote:
    Not workable Brian!

My arse! There are a lot of types of post that nobody can argue against being signal. Newbie which hand wins questions cleanly answered. Hand history analysis questions constructively commented on etc. etc.

If a post has to go to a vote as to whether it's signal or noise - it's probably noise.

brianmc wrote:
    OllyK in personal issues?

We're trying to do something constructive!!

I may have posted "advice" there once in response to a certain Bankers unhelpful post!! :p

I agree to both post in the Mustard forum on a daily basis with something "constructive" (as judged by Ecksor) and to not post in the poker forum for the entire month of June.

I will forfeit and match any pledges in the event that I break the rules which are as follows.

In the event I post on the poker forum I forfeit all pledges from that day until the end of the month of June 2007.

I will be responsiible for any pledges in respect of a particular day which I do not post something constructive in the Mustard forum.

Time to be used is British Summer Time.

Please post how much you are willing to pledge for each part of this bet.

Minimum pledge is $1 per day

Am I missing anything here?

ollyk1 wrote:
    I may have posted "advice" there once in response to a certain Bankers unhelpful post!! :p

I agree to both post in the Mustard forum on a daily basis with something "constructive" (as judged by Ecksor) and to not post in the poker forum for the entire month of June.

I will forfeit and match any pledges in the event that I break the rules which are as follows.

In the event I post on the poker forum I forfeit all pledges from that day until the end of the month of June 2007.

I will be responsiible for any pledges in respect of a particular day which I do not post something constructive in the Mustard forum.

Time to be used is British Summer Time.

Please post how much you are willing to pledge for each part of this bet.

Minimum pledge is $1 per day

Am I missing anything here?

I'm in for $2 per day

but I want to see you do some live hot mustard action for my money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

PI scares the fúck out of me.

I'm in for the agreed $2 per day.

Now how do I find the Mustard forum? And how do you feel about wholegrain coarse?

Go on so... $2 per day here too.

$2 a day and if you get banned you have to pay the remainder of the month.

Tomorrow your new life on the mustard forum begins!

This sounds good to me, although I'm curious to see how constructive these posts will be ...