Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Special Branch staring into car -Twice

• 29-05-2007 11:46am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭

A friend of mine told me that an officer from the Garda Special Branch, was inspecting his car at 2 different times yesterday. On both occasions, he was staring in through the windows of the car. When my friend went to go out and see what was happening, the officer got back in his car and drove away.Any ideas on what they were doing?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

DarkJager wrote:
    A friend of mine told me that an officer from the Garda Special Branch, was inspecting his car at 2 different times yesterday. On both occasions, he was staring in through the windows of the car. When my friend went to go out and see what was happening, the officer got back in his car and drove away.Any ideas on what they were doing?

How do you know it ws Special Branch?

Maybe they just liked the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Surely the whole point about Special Branch is that they are not identifiable as being so. It may have just been a plain clothed policeman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Defo Special Branch, he can spot them a mile off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

Someone report him? Bad neighbours? Does he own a gun?
    Any clear plastic bags full of white powder on the dash? Any history? (him not the car)

I could accept that someone would stop once if they were thinking of buying that type of car, but twice and he's got a bee in his bonnet about something.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

DarkJager wrote:
    Defo Special Branch, he can spot them a mile off.

Was on of them wearing a special branch t-shirt or something?

How can you tell what one plains clothes garda does compared to another plain clothes garda?

I don't know what he was wearing, I wasn't there. There's obviously something as regards the vehicle he was driving, that he knows they were special branch. Doesn't own a gun, does a few drugs but never ever carries them in his car. I should have mentioned the car is modified (spoilers, alloys, tinted windows, exhaust etc). Would they be checking anything related to these?-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

He could tell he was Special Branch by the sheepskin coat.

I should have mentioned the car is modified (spoilers, alloys, tinted windows, exhaust etc). Would they be checking anything related to these?-

Say no more, a lot of people driving a car with all that unnesecary crap on it are muppets, probably checking for lager cans, drugs, baseball caps etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

DarkJager wrote:
    I should have mentioned the car is modified (spoilers, alloys, tinted windows, exhaust etc). Would they be checking anything related to these?-

Maybe it was the taste police :D

Yeah guys, I didn't ask you to give your "expert" opinions on his car, I'm just looking for opinions on what might have been going on?

DarkJager wrote:
    Yeah guys, I didn't ask you to give your "expert" opinions on his car, I'm just looking for opinions on what might have been going on?

He's driving something modified in a manner that indicates the driver is probably a chav - what make/model is it, just to set the seal on it?

Its a VW Polo, 00 model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

maybe reports of a similiar car been used in some sort of illegal activity?

could be absolutely anything tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Your friend is obviously worried about something being (not) found.

My guess would be that that something is exactly what the special branch was looking for.

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

If he dabbles in drugs a bit and he was a bit street wise he might consider getting a less memorable car. A grey corrola or something. I worked with a guy who was heavily involved in illegal drugs and he drove a very indescript car.

I was behind a car twice in a week. The only reason I know this is that it had a funny wing/spoiler and a weird exhaust. If it had been a normal car I would never had realised that I had been behind it twice in the one week.

Maybe your friends car had been spotted outside the wrong house. Easily remembered if its modified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

I don't do drugs mmkay, but if anyone was looking into my car i'd be worried too, even more "if" it was Special Branch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

If your mate is worried about attention, why is he driving a car like that?

As for someone looking into the car, could be absolutely anything. You might as well ask how long is a piece of string.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭DeBeere

furtzy wrote:
    Maybe it was the taste police :D

Nice! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,091 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Lots of plonkers think every detective is in the Branch.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

As soon as I looked at the thread title I knew this was going to be about some kind of Skanger Banger.... I can't understand why the cops don't stop all Cream Cracker Mobiles on site, search for drugs/baseball caps/tiesto CDs and then put them off the road for not having informed their insurance companies of the modifications they'de made.

On a seperate note I saw a prize Dib-Dab driving along in a Peugeot 205 with a big sticker on the windscreen saying "BagSic". I'd love to cut out and rearrange that sticker to a more apt moniker.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭astraboy

Glad to see open mindedness is alive and well on the board. I love it when the high horse brigade come out in force. They drive a 1.6 Toyota avensis, Wouldn't have the balls to buy an interesting car and come onto the boards giving out about speeding/gas guzzlers/other drivers/modified cars when they are small minded and don't have a clue. Go away and get a life. The man asked a question. Because his friend has a spoiler and alloys it makes him a menace to society now does it? I reckon ye shower are more dangerous, I'm surprized you can watch the road when driving ye are all so Pious. :mad: :rolleyes:

I wish I had the balls to buy an interesting car. Like an Astra. And then polyfilla on a load of badly fitting plastic skirting and cover it with transfers from an Airfix kit. Maybe if I buy a Celtic Shirt and a burberry baseball cap I'll be able to 'man up' to that level :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

magpie wrote:
    On a seperate note I saw a prize Dib-Dab driving along in a Peugeot 205 with a big sticker on the windscreen saying "BagSic". I'd love to cut out and rearrange that sticker to a more apt moniker.....

You'd be missing a second S, a P and a T. Dunno what you would do with the spare B and G, tho' :D

Nice one, being a dick again I see. :rolleyes: What exactly do you drive? I like my car and I worked hard to buy it. I worked hard to put a few things on it that makes it more my car, that makes me enjoy owning it. You are clearly someone that just likes to come up with sterotypes. My car was modified with every mod thought out before hand. I'm not hurting anyone, why should I let you put down my hobby like this? Branding everyone that drives a done up car as a celtic jersey wearing scobie is small minded. You sir, are a tosser. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Firstly, a great deal is being surmised based on the description of the car. Being young and having (iyo) crap taste does not make you criminal.

OP, the only way your friend can be certain the are SB is if he knows them or has had dealings with them. So let's just say he suspects they are SB. They could have any of several reasons for looking into his car - suspicion being the chief one. Perhaps where it was parked? Maybe a similar car was used in some nefarious activity? Maybe the detective unit is considering a new range of undercover cars to fit in better with the local populace :D

If your mate has nothing to worry about...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Stimpyone

Any chance of a piccie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

magpie wrote:
    As soon as I looked at the thread title I knew this was going to be about some kind of Skanger Banger.... I can't understand why the cops don't stop all Cream Cracker Mobiles on site, search for drugs/baseball caps/tiesto CDs and then put them off the road for not having informed their insurance companies of the modifications they'de made.
    In fairness, what kind of middle-class one point six litre clerical staff Nazi bullsh1t is this? You need to learn to live and let live.

Anan1 wrote:
    In fairness, what kind of middle-class one point six litre clerical staff Nazi bullsh1t is this? You need to learn to live and let live.
    Well said! :) I'm waiting for the guys witty reply and comeback putting down all modified car owners as scumbags or some such nonsense. The guy obviously is very small minded. Leave him off.

what kind of middle-class one point six litre clerical staff Nazi bullsh1t is this?

I'm sorry, I don't speak your language. I'll try and respond in an approximation..

What kind of dole-scrounging 944cc spar-deli-counter working Sinn Fein bullsh1t are you spouting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Jibber

Garda special branch no longer exists. When it did they neither drove dissimilar vehicles nor wore dissimilar clothes to other plain clothes cops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

Magpie; if that's you're regular quality of post, how have you not been barred long ago?

..and now, back to the OP...

OP; how can you friend "spot them (SBs) amile off"? I think he may be filling you with a lot of manure, or else has some strange notions. Unless, of course, he's doing something he shouldn't be. Personally, I find people who make statements like that are full of BS.

Out of curiosity, how old is your "friend" and how what dealings would he have had with the branch to make them so familiar to him? Or is it the special branch of an organisation other than An Garda Siochana he's been refering to and we've just assumed the worst?

magpie wrote:
    I'm sorry, I don't speak your language. I'll try and respond in an approximation..

What kind of dole-scrounging 944cc spar-deli-counter working Sinn Fein bullsh1t are you spouting?
    A witty and insightful response from our friend. Perhaps you choose the name magpie due to the similar level of intelligence you share with the bird?:p If you want to continue the slagging match then keep it to PM, this is getting boring and taking the thread off topic.

O and where are you getting the idea we all like Sinn Fein and celtic? Get over it lad I want nothing to do with them.

nipplenuts wrote:
    Firstly, a great deal is being surmised based on the description of the car. Being young and having (iyo) crap taste does not make you criminal.

Tell that to the Gardai as they give special preference to 'modified' cars being driven by young gentlemen such as have been earlier described in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

astraboy wrote:
    Nice one, being a dick again I see. :rolleyes: What exactly do you drive?
    astraboy wrote:
    Branding everyone that drives a done up car as a celtic jersey wearing scobie is small minded. You sir, are a tosser. :rolleyes:

Well, if that one was @ me, I drive that in silver:

000000000040902.jpg

The wet dream of such "celtic jersey wearing scobies" - a Scooby Impreza :D:p

And you Sir, need to take an aircraft carrier-sized chill pill ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,130 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

astraboy wrote:
    You sir, are a tosser. :rolleyes:

Follow your own advice:
    astraboy wrote:
    keep it to PM, this is getting boring and taking the thread off topic

Or you'll get a vacation from this forum

magpie wrote:

I'm going to make this really simple for you. We live in a country in which people have differing tastes in cars, clothes and music. I may not like whatever car you drive (and I have a feeling I wouldn't) but I wouldn't for a moment dispute your right to drive it. By the way, what car do you drive?

ambro25 wrote:
    Well, if that one was @ me, I drive that in silver:

000000000040902.jpg

The wet dream of such "celtic jersey wearing scobies" - a Scooby Impreza :D:p

No dude, that was not aimed at you, it was aimed at magpie, I guess you posted while I was typing my reply, making it look like I was taking a dig at you, I was not.:o You obviously have good taste in cars too though!;) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

There is nothing illegal in modifying cars, although I can see why people would not not appreciate it.

But getting back to the original point, I reckon your friend is mistaken and should actually call the Gardai himself.

If a police officer believes, in the course of his duty, that there is evidence of illegal activity relating to a car, I don't think he would hightail it when the owner of the car comes out, especially if his suspicions were so aroused that he comes back for another look.

I suppose I would presume someone in a blue Camry 2.2 outside my house was special branch or at least a non run of the mill detective.

If your mate got the reg no, get him to call it in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Glanza V

Yet again the open minded people of the motor section on boards. Keep it on topic or dont post.....simple.

by the way i think the cops had a tip off about that particular car, be it for dangerous driving etc. it could be anything really.

unkel wrote:
    Follow your own advice:

Or you'll get a vacation from this forum
    Ok, fair enough but the guy magpie was giving as much abuse as I was. I was only trying to explain my situation, hes the one that engaged in small minded retorts.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭mik_da_man

ambro25 wrote:

I think that applies to a few guys on the thread :p

But back OT - my mate had a 1.6 Megane for a while then upgraded to a Evo 7 and he has got pulled 15 times in the last 9 months.
    The latest and greatest was when an undercover cop car followed him into his basement.
    He got out and asked them if they were ok, they replied "We had a report of a blue scooby being stolen in this area" which he replied to, while pointing at the back of his car "Can you not read!" :D

Mik

15 times!:eek: I've only been pulled once in 3 years myself. Is it the same cops the whole time? Maybe they are just jealous and want a look at the EVO. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

magpie wrote:

*dreams wistfully of being a garda traffic cop*

eth0_ wrote:
    *dreams wistfully of being a garda traffic cop*
    :rolleyes: This is what we're dealing with here like. Shar why go out and hunt criminals when you can pull over young fellas with alloys and tiesto CD's. Way to make society a better place. :o

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭mik_da_man

astraboy wrote:
    15 times!:eek: I've only been pulled once in 3 years myself. Is it the same cops the whole time? Maybe they are just jealous and want a look at the EVO. :D

Not always the same lads, in fairness sometimes they have a chat about the car, but more often than not it's to try to see something to do him for (IMO)

Mik

mik_da_man wrote:
    Not always the same lads, in fairness sometimes they have a chat about the car, but more often than not it's to try to see something to do him for (IMO)

Mik
    It probably comes down to typical Irish begrudgery at the end of the day. Owning a car like that means you have to have everything in order at all times, while a guy in a dirty, badly looked after standard car could get away with not having tax or NCT for a few weeks. I find most people with a standard of car as high as the evo 7 though look after them well. After spending 20 or 30 odd grand on a car and loads to run it they don't see the car as simply a means of getting from A to B.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

There is nothing illegal in modifying cars, although I can see why people would not not appreciate it.

I think you will find that nearly everything got to do with modifiying a call is an offence and therefor illegal.

From adding aftermarket spoilers to exhausts and tinted windows. They are all offences under The Road Traffic (Construction, Equipment and Use of Vehicles) Regulations.

"Boy Racers" piss alot of people off simply by just driving around. The noise pollution from aftermarket exhausts is the biggest annoyance.

Go into any district courtroom on any day of the week and you will see this years generation of boy racers being prosecuted for all their "add ons".

Chief--- wrote:
    I think you will find that nearly everything got to do with modifiying a call is an offence and therefor illegal.

From adding aftermarket spoilers to exhausts and tinted windows. They are all offences under The Road Traffic (Construction, Equipment and Use of Vehicles) Regulations.
    Any chance of a link to the relevant legislation? I was under the impression that aftermarket spoilers, exhausts, & tinted windows conforming to the relevant legislation can legally be fitted to a car.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Anan1 wrote:
    Any chance of a link to the relevant legislation? I was under the impression that aftermarket spoilers, exhausts, & tinted windows conforming to the relevant legislation can legally be fitted to a car.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1963/en/si/0190.html

I don't see anything there to justify your assertion. Is there perhaps a particular section that I missed?

Cheif, it usually comes down to the guard your dealing with, and alot of times the guys in court bought it on themselves by acting the clown, which I am not standing up for. However, there is no clear legislation regarding mods. My car has loads of mods yet passed the NCT 2 months ago(I did have to remove a sunstrip though). There is no legislation regarding tinted windows in this country, unlike the UK which have proper guidlines allowing people to tint to a certain level. If putting a bodykit on your car is illegal, then surely using non manufactuer bulbs, different tyres or wiper blades is illegal too!? Unfortunatley some of the young lads act the fool, but they would do so in a standard car too. Up before the judge it comes down to his descrection. I would just ask that people not tar everyone driving a modified car with the same brush, it seems I get in this argument weekly with somone off the site!:o

@Anan1, I think you wont find anything in there banning spoilers etc, like you said once they conform to relevant leglisation then they are legal.