Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Practical Airsoft?

• 24-05-2007 9:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭

I know the topic has been mentioned here before but now that more people have had a chance to buy sidearms I thought it would be a good time to see just how much interest there was.

I'm sure most of you already know what practical pistol is and as such can take a guess as to what practical airsoft would involve :D but for those that aren't sure, the basic goal in both practical airsoft and pistol is to be as fast and accurate as possibly while engaging a variety of targets from behind various obstacles. For example you may start off with a pistol in your holster, at the sound of a buzzer you might move to a line of barrels drop to your knee and engage two targets, then move to your right, enter a door and engage more targets. The possibilities are virtually endless.

If anyone thinks that they may be interested in this then let me know, if we get enough people together we can see about organising a venue and setting up a course of fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I'd definitely be in.

Although, I take it my Mac 11 would be disallowed? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Fiach Dubh

I wouldn't mind giving it a try. My KJW P226 should be up for it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Spitfire666

would like to try it. still havnt got off my arse to go practical pistol shooting though so i doubt id be willing to go to it unless its somewhere we can skirmish aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

yup, think it was me that started a thread about this before. would definately be interested and i've talked to paul about maybe running some practical shooting some sunday afternoon/evening, he said he'd have no problem with it, although if you have another venue in mind then that just adds to the diversity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Mark_Sc

I'm in:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

Me too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭N.O.I.P.

o1s1n wrote:
    Although, I take it my Mac 11 would be disallowed? :D

Not at all, leave it in semi and I don't see a problem :D
    kdouglas wrote:
    yup, think it was me that started a thread about this before. would definately be interested and i've talked to paul about maybe running some practical shooting some sunday afternoon/evening, he said he'd have no problem with it, although if you have another venue in mind then that just adds to the diversity.

Ideally the best place for it would be indoors, and somewhere with a lot of room so all the walls in HRTA might make it a bit impractical. Something like a big church/school hall would be perfect as we could lay out our own course.

Bloody hell that was a lot more interest a lot quicker than I expected :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭MaxForce

This video

Sounds good. I seen a video on you tube that showed a practical airsoft shoot in the US. It was cool.

N.O.I.P. wrote:
    Not at all, leave it in semi and I don't see a problem :D

Ideally the best place for it would be indoors, and somewhere with a lot of room so all the walls in HRTA might make it a bit impractical. Something like a big church/school hall would be perfect as we could lay out our own course.

Bloody hell that was a lot more interest a lot quicker than I expected :D

well the nice thing about hrta is the walls are easily moved :D

hmmm... practical shooting in a church could be fun.. could have cardboard cutouts of the priest popping out the confessional at you... :D

Edit: yes, i am fully aware you meant in a church hall, but that just doesnt seem as funny in my mind, no where's that bloody terrorist gone who was holding the nuns hostage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

Yeah, count me in too. Should be great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

i'd definatly be up for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭tonyj_mc

if i can ever finally make to a skirmish i'd defo be up for it too, looks liek a blast. could even set up diffrent ranges for AEGS and snipers too.

generally practical shooting is done with pistols, AEGs you could possibly do, but snipers... not sure how that would work, using a sniper you'd probably do target shooting more so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭sidneyreilly

kdouglas wrote:
    generally practical shooting is done with pistols, AEGs you could possibly do, but snipers... not sure how that would work, using a sniper you'd probably do target shooting more so

There is practical rifle and shotgun with the real deal. You would have no problem doing it with AEGs. Sniper airsofts? Why not. Just so as everyone has the same class of tool. Enforce a longer distance.

was thinking along the lines of SWAT playing poker with snipes, would be more target shooting though

tonyj_mc wrote:
    was thinking along the lines of SWAT playing poker with snipes, would be more target shooting though

Wouldnt do your skills a scrap of harm:D You could have a poker session!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Count me in as lng as 2x25rnds are enough(Seen vids on youtube of real steel practicals and the use loads of mags) and its on a warm day:D

If AEPs are in aswell are adequet then may have more in a while.

Count me in as lng as 2x25rnds are enough(Seen vids on youtube of real steel practicals and the use loads of mags) and its on a warm day:D

If AEPs are in aswell are adequet then may have more in a while.

Don't you have your Aug?

Thought it was Pistols?

If not.....PWNAGE:D

Oh yeah thought you were talking about going to hrta.

Nope, but I am going on the 16th.

hmmm... the p90 is small enough, can i use it as a pistol? :D

Hmmmm...a pistol with a 300 rnd mag....yeah....

My brother can compete, with my springer.LOL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Harekin

kdouglas wrote:
    hmmm... the p90 is small enough, can i use it as a pistol? :D
    Well I can fire mine one handed...can you fit a mini-moscart launcher on it for the Practical shooting? Technically it is semi-auto...:D

Harekin wrote:
    Well I can fire mine one handed...can you fit a mini-moscart launcher on it for the Practical shooting? Technically it is semi-auto...:D

if i had the money, i'd put three of them on :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭padmundo

I'd be real interested in this but down the line... I haven't exactly got the practice down for it.

stick up a few coke cans in a variety of places. get somebody to time you, see how short a time you can get.

Well nobody else here has done any Practical Airsoft so you wouldn't be at a disadvantage.

Master of the Universe

And hey, if N.O.I.P can come second in a practical shooting competition then there's hope for us all yet ;)

Well there are a couple of things wrong with that sentence

First: I never shot practical, to shoot practical you need to own your own pistol and have a competition license

Second: I didn't come second, I got to the semis

Third: You shoot better than me pfft never gonna happen buddy :D

Anyone got a venue?

No I would like to make sure we have competitors first

if you build it, they will come ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭[--SC(+)PE--]

id like to try it sometime, wouldnt travel half the country for it but if i was over their anyway id give it a shot

Ok then, list:(Since NOIP like em so much:D )

Lethal_Bullet
    padmundo
    NOIP
    Scope
    K.D.

Q: Lasers, Ye or Ne?

Ne there ilegal:(

Master of the Universe

Lasers for practical airsoft? Kinda defeats the purpose :p

are laser actually illegal? Thought they were gonna make em but never did...

Master of the Universe

are laser actually illegal? Thought they were gonna make em but never did...

Some people have been saying it's illegal to mount a laser onto an airsoft gun. Where they got that piece of information I don't know. Airsoft guns aren't classified as anything here. So I don't know how mounting a laser pointer onto something which hasn't been classified could be illegal.

i remeber looking at the legal side of things about a year ago maybe more, and there was someything about laser aiming devices being illegal, can't remeber what part it was in. But it was there might hace been changed since though

Master of the Universe

Being illegal in what context though, that's the thing.

As far as I know, they are illegal to have mounted on items classed as firearms.
    (Don't quote me on that though, I'm not 100% sure)

You can't compare firearms laws to airsoft though. They're completely different.

If the law says that you can't mount a laser on an firearm or firearm replica, that would be different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Spitfire666

put it this way, who cares. its not like you'll get reported even if it was illegal.
    Besides, they are not.

Sorry lads. They are subject to authorisation (firearms and offences weapons act 1990) from you local garda, regardless of where you plan to mount it. Possession of same without authorisation is an offence.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1990/en/act/pub/0012/sec0004.html#zza12y1990s4

P.s. Spitfire, that is an extremly reckless statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

Sorry lads. They are subject to authorisation (firearms and offences weapons act 1990) from you local garda, regardless of where you plan to mount it. Possession of same without authorisation is an offence.

bugger, i was really hoping to sex up my aeg with lights and laser, tbh, for the look more then it being of actual value....

does that mean, that a red dot scope is against the law also?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

thats my reading of it...anyone else pick anythign else up?? i dont see how this rolls with the fact that airsoft is not classed here at all now...again i dont want to be on the steps of the highcourt with charlie bird in tow to find out !!

If I may....

The important part is -

"any component part of any article referred to in any of the foregoing paragraphs and, for the purposes of this definition, the following articles shall be deemed to be such component parts as aforesaid."

"....blah, blah, blah....designed to be fitted to a firearm specified in paragraph (a), (b), (c) or (e), and

(ii) a silencer designed to be fitted to a firearm specified in paragraph (a), (b) or (e)"

In other words, it appears to me to refer that any of those components, i.e. a laser sight, scope or silencer, attached to a firearm. That legislation was written in 1990. In 2006, airsoft guns were declassified as firearms, so they are no longer "referred to in any of the foregoing", because they are not firearms.

And to answer your questions, a Slug is defined as -

1. any of various snaillike terrestrial gastropods having no shell or only a rudimentary one, feeding on plants and a pest of leafy garden crops.
    2. a nudibranch.
    3. a metal disk used as a coin or token, generally counterfeit.
    4. a piece of lead or other metal for firing from a gun.
    5. any heavy piece of crude metal.
    6. Printing.
    a. a thick strip of type metal less than type-high.
    b. such a strip containing a type-high number or other character for temporary use.
    c. a line of type in one piece, as produced by a Linotype.
    7. Informal. a shot of liquor taken neat; belt.
    8. Slang. a person who is lazy or slow-moving; sluggard.
    9. a slow-moving animal, vehicle, or the like.
    10. Journalism.
    a. Also called catchline. a short phrase or title used to indicate the story content of newspaper or magazine copy.
    b. the line of type carrying this information.
    11. Metalworking. a small piece of metal ready for processing.
    12. a gold coin of California, privately issued in 1849 and for some time after, worth 50 dollars.
    13. Physics. a unit of mass, equivalent to approximately 32.2 lb. (15 kg) and having the property that a force of one pound acting upon a mass of this unit produces an acceleration of one foot per second per second.
    14. an irregular projection or knob on the surface of yarn, usually produced by lint or by defects in weaving.

And of course, I'm not a lawyer, so don't come crying to me if you end up on the steps of the high court with Charlie Bird in tow !

Master of the Universe

The issue at hand was whether mounting such a device onto an airsoft gun was in itself an offense. Which as I was saying couldnt possibly be true as there are no laws governing airsoft as of now.

If people are saying it's illegal because laser pointers are illegal then that's another thing. You'd be breaking the law in the same way kids who but them in the 2 euro shop are breaking the law. Which seems to be more of a gray area than a "oh my god! you cant do that, it's illegal!" if you get me.

I was interested myself in buying a green laser. Asked about it on astronomy Ireland and they seemed to think that importing a 5mw one was fine. Anything with a higher power could cause damage and might be more dubious.

The usual power of a red laser is well under 5mw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

I thought the legality problem was with them being designed to be fitted to a gun of some description? Think it was one of the paintball lads saying thats why theyre not used on paintball guns here. Though maybe thats the problem... as the paintball gun needs a licence and the airsoft wouldnt... Pretty certain thats where this issue arised from anyway though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Thing is lads, they're component parts of a firearm. You strapping them to a thing that isn't a firearm doesn't make them legal to have without a licence.

Master of the Universe

Sparks wrote:
    Thing is lads, they're component parts of a firearm. You strapping them to a thing that isn't a firearm doesn't make them legal to have without a licence.

So it's the fact that they are designed for a firearm that makes them illegal? Not the actual laser in itself?

By that reasoning then, taping a standard laser pointer to an airsoft shouldn't be illegal as the original intent of the device has nothing to do with firearms.

Not that I agree with mounting lasers onto airsoft pistols by the way. The risk of shining it in someones eye is too high.