Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

One gender, which would be a better world?

• 24-05-2007 10:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭

Remember that debate that kickstarted outta nowhere late last year about if the world would be better if it was just women that existed. Eurgh, I remember all the Sunday papers being taking up for weeks with feminists blabbing on about us man bastards screwing everything. I think the women would probably do well for a few weeks before someone realises they can dominate the population with 3 words........SALE NOW ON!!

Whaddya think life would be like with just one gender? Obviously we'll take into account that we found a way to reproduce somehow (Jam jar babies, etc)

One gender, which would be better? 31 votes

Male Only
    0%
    Female Only
    64%
    red_icePHBazezilscojonesV9ZillahBlistermanThe_B_ManKingp35ChunksTar.AldarionThe BolloxNewaglishhumbertMooseJamstanlystanly1StephenC_IRLAlmightyCushionFrenchCedjohnnyskeleton 20 votes
    Atari Jaguar
    35%
    Tom DunneRedrocketPonsterWillymuncherroberta cMawgpokerwidowMachatickledpinkfair2 strokePoppy84 11 votes

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Female Only
    If women ruled the earth their would be a international day of mourning everytime they broke a nail or had a bad hair day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Men are more stable, in almost every aspect, therefore I believe the world would at least run smoother if it were only male. Would it be better though?Well, it'd certainly eliminate such problems as PMS :D
    A world of just women wouldn't last long tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

With the exception of a more feminine-focus on everything (many sports would be a niche interest, for example), I don't think it would be a massively different to the current world.

When you take into account leaders such as Margaret Thatcher, and the multitudes of successful female solicitors, scientists, engineers, etc etc, the world would probably continue on much as it had.

A male existing in this world probably wouldn't enjoy themselves much (with the obvious exception of being the only Man...) because there would be less activities/interactions to stimulate them, but that's about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Katykaboom

this is just going to go, Males for males, females for females.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Female Only
    Katykaboom wrote:
    this is just going to go, Males for males, females for females.

Yeah but he asked what do you think life would be like. So you say which would be better and why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Why not more genders? That'd be cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Female Only
    Everyone'd be gay!

Sounds like an ideal world to me!! *\o/*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Why not more genders? That'd be cool.

ooooh, that's a good idea! I'd go with AlmightyCushion's idea of radioactive Irish Wolfhound species. Here's my idea what they'd look like:

http://img174.imageshack.us/img174/8031/sdffsddg1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Since we're doing a pretty sweet job as it is men obviously would run a better world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

the nuances of each gender would disappear if there weren't the other gender.

we've evolved in to what we are with the other as a sounding board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Meh, diversity makes things more interesting. If we were all one gender then things would either melt down or we'd all get pretty bored.

Men ftw btw :D

The world would be messy, no women to hoover up around the place :p

Female Only
    Duggy747 wrote:
    The world would be messy, no women to hoover up around the place :p

I wouldn't have my dinner either :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

These threads always end up with the same "jokes" and the same thinly veiled (or not veiled at all) misogynistic comments.

I agree with Seamus. I don't think it would make a big a difference as people assume, and both have their negatives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭Poppy84

Atari Jaguar
    If women were the only gender ......

Well lets face it the issue of war would not be an issue, as women have a higher tolerance , they would not row over oil, land, etc.
    Guns and weaponary would probably only have been invented and used for invasions from outer space :o
    The environment would probably not be in the current state as women would not need to feed their ego with large cars with ridiculous engines and also would probably have more interest in the preservation and recycling.

Though there would be a need to keep certain male species alive strictly for their sperm these would involve large zoo type places :eek: where a women would have the ability to pick and choose which male to reproduce with them.
    Eventually over time all women would become lesbians and of course a genius from our gender would come up with some way of reproduction with out needing men.

:p:p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

azezil wrote:
    Everyone'd be gay!

Jaysus lad. The idea of shoving my langer up some blokes hairy arse for entertainment doesnt appeal in the slightest

Well, 1 example here is if the world was all men perhaps there would be no such thing as a dishwasher (the machine, in case ye crack a wise one) or windscreen wipers whereas in a world of all women there would be no such thing as planes or.................Super Nintendos (Dear god, the horror!)

I wouldn't like to stick my langer up somewhere it shouldn't either.........eurgh, get covered in poo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

If it was only women in the world then I'd kill myself. I'd say I could tolerate a man's world for longer but eventually would probably still kill myself.

Female Only
    Poppy84 wrote:

Well lets face it the issue of war would not be an issue, as women have a higher tolerance , they would not row over oil, land, etc.
    Guns and weaponary would probably only have been invented and used for invasions from outer space :o
    The environment would probably not be in the current state as women would not need to feed their ego with large cars with ridiculous engines and also would probably have more interest in the preservation and recycling.

Though there would be a need to keep certain male species alive strictly for their sperm these would involve large zoo type places :eek: where a women would have the ability to pick and choose which male to reproduce with them.
    Eventually over time all women would become lesbians and of course a genius from our gender would come up with some way of reproduction with out needing men.

So women have a higher tolerance so that explains why all murderers are men :rolleyes:
    Alot of those large cars with large engines are driven by women doing the school run.

Touchè Poppy84, it seems you have it all planned out...........planned out a little too well if you ask me! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Rnger

Poppy84 wrote:

I've never seen more vicious screaming and fighting than when my sister borrows clothes without asking off my other sister. I dont quite believe war wouldnt be an issue...

What do you mean when you say women have a higher tolerance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Poppy84 wrote:

The method of re-production is already conceived and being worked on. (with some minor results)

Now, to address your points.

1. The environment would still be in the state it is today with soccer moms wanting 4x4s and woman with exorbitant amounts of hair products and perfume.

2. Weaponry would be just as advanced perhaps more so due to woman entering there periods around the same time...I mean seriously the Dail full of crazed she devils..

3. If woman were more peaceful than they would be much less advanced than us. Most modern innovations came from technology developed specifically for war.

Think about it...who would comfort woman during their weak moments? Other woman? Than they get sad too and before you know it a day of mourning is called because someone turned their blue sock purple in the wash..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭Poppy84

Atari Jaguar
    The method of re-production is already conceived and being worked on. (with some minor results)

Now, to address your points.

1. The environment would still be in the state it is today with soccer moms wanting 4x4s and woman with exorbitant amounts of hair products and perfume.

2. Weaponry would be just as advanced perhaps more so due to woman entering there periods around the same time...I mean seriously the Dail full of crazed she devils..

3. If woman were more peaceful than they would be much less advanced than us. Most modern innovations came from technology developed specifically for war.

Think about it...who would comfort woman during their weak moments? Other woman? Than they get sad too and before you know it a day of mourning is called because someone turned their blue sock purple in the wash..

1. Soccer Moms??? i doubt very much soccer would still be in great existence fair enough some women like it but think the majority don't, and your forgetting there are no little boys to go place soccer, OK there may be girls but it'll be the minority who will play soccer therefore eliminating the "soccer mom" and their large vehicles

2. OK weaponry would still be advanced but i doubt very much that women would use it against each other in the fashion that men would.

3. I think you underestimate the brain power of women, we would not be less technologically advanced there are many great inventions created by women so I don't take this point at all.

And as for your comfort point many women turn to their female friends for comfort OK we would turn to our men in some instances but you are underestimating the relationship women have with each other and seek comfort in each other.

And as for declaring national mourning days for nails breaking and socks turning the wrong colour, women are NOT that emotional and do not need national mourning days for insignificant mishaps that can occur every day!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

Atari Jaguar
    In a world full of women they would still be swinging from the trees.
    In a world full of men we would have space travel for all. (To get to the planet where the women were.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Poppy84 wrote:
    1. Soccer Moms??? i doubt very much soccer would still be in great existence fair enough some women like it but think the majority don't, and your forgetting there are no little boys to go place soccer, OK there may be girls but it'll be the minority who will play soccer therefore eliminating the "soccer mom" and their large vehicles

2. OK weaponry would still be advanced but i doubt very much that women would use it against each other in the fashion that men would.

3. I think you underestimate the brain power of women, we would not be less technologically advanced there are many great inventions created by women so I don't take this point at all.

And as for your comfort point many women turn to their female friends for comfort OK we would turn to our men in some instances but you are underestimating the relationship women have with each other and seek comfort in each other.

And as for declaring national mourning days for nails breaking and socks turning the wrong colour, women are NOT that emotional and do not need national mourning days for insignificant mishaps that can occur every day!!!:D

1. A lesbian/gay relation has a male and female personality type present so there would still "technically" be men and still soccer moms. :P

2. Hah admit it you want to kill stuff the same as us!

3. Most invention were created by men during war times to aid in combat other inventions stemmed from these inventions. Take the single greatest achievements of the 20th century. Rockets,nuclear missiles, nuclear power.
    What did a woman create Kevlar? 1 cool invention....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I just had a horrible thought.

A world full of women drivers.

*shudder*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Poppy84 wrote:

a world without football?

no. its not happening. no chicks taking over this planet thanks....

Atari Jaguar
    In a world full of women, who would change the light bulbs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

azezil wrote:
    Everyone'd be gay!

Asexuality FTW;)

Irony of irony, a woman did in fact invent the dishwasher!
    Seas would be polluted with zillions of tons of washed away make-up and fake tan.
    If TV would be invented there would be nothing but chat shows ("We'll show you how to make curtains out of scabs.") and heartwarming dramas ("One woman's fight against.......la la la la la!")
    No such thing as action / horror/ slasher movies (You mean there'd be no Arnie!?!)
    Rock / Blues / Heavy Metal / Rap / etc, would never exist, music would probably be so sweet it would rot your teeth.
    Computer games out the window (turns us man bastards into zombies)

God, I love exagarrating everything :D Has Planet of the Apes come into anyone's head over this thread yet? I'm guessing Charlton Heston wouldn't give a damn if it was all blown up! :p

Atari Jaguar
    Jaysus lad. The idea of shoving my langer up some blokes hairy arse for entertainment doesnt appeal in the slightest
    Thats not the only thing gay blokes do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

Hermaphrodites of the world unite!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Duggy747 wrote:
    ooooh, that's a good idea! I'd go with AlmightyCushion's idea of radioactive Irish Wolfhound species. Here's my idea what they'd look like:

http://img174.imageshack.us/img174/8031/sdffsddg1.jpg

radioactive wolfhounds eh? thats pretty damn sweet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

Men would masturbate all day, be too lazy to clean it up and the world would get messy. :(

Rozabeez wrote:
    Men would masturbate all day, be too lazy to clean it up and the world would get messy. :(

Ah, we'd probably find a way to make it into some sort of fuel.......or weaponary (Splooge bullets?)

Female Only
    Bambi wrote:
    radioactive wolfhounds eh? thats pretty damn sweet

Yeah they can walk on their hind legs and have cool 60's style ray guns. There was something about their bark as well. Can't remember what is was. Duggy?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

If there was one gender only there would be no world to rule

Yeah they can walk on their hind legs and have cool 60's style ray guns. There was something about their bark as well. Can't remember what is was. Duggy?

I believe you're referring about the atomic woofs that shoot out green rings.

Poppy84 wrote:

Your yank is showing

Female Only
    Duggy747 wrote:
    I believe you're referring about the atomic woofs that shoot out green rings.

Yeah but what did the woofs do. I know they did something stupid (well it came from our fúcked up heads how could it not be stupid :D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

Poppy84 wrote:

You wouldn't be saying that 1 week in 4 though.
    Poppy84 wrote:

Though quite possibly the ozone layer may be replaced by teh max factor layer.
    Poppy84 wrote:
    Though there would be a need to keep certain male species alive strictly for their sperm these would involve large zoo type places :eek: where a women would have the ability to pick and choose which male to reproduce with them. .

As a species we would die out... have you ever known a woman to pick and choose within a natural time span?
    Poppy84 wrote:
    Eventually over time all women would become lesbians

All sins forgiven, can i watch?

Edit: what would be come of the feminists? Oh i get it they would be railing against the butch females as compared to to the female females

Female Only
    Marksie wrote:
    what would be come of the feminists? Oh i get it they would be railing against the butch females as compared to to the female females

Damn feminists are never happy.

Women would kill themselves out alot quicker, we've all seen how ye fight; absolutely no-holds barred viciousness. Kick & scratch each others faces off!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

It wouldn't make a huge difference. There are more similarities than differences by far between men and women already. They both like hierarchies and are competitive with other people and so on so you'd still get social stratification and fighting over resources.

What would make a difference would be if both sexes could bear children. That would really change things imo.

Then the earth would be doomed if men beared children, look what happened in JUNIOR (Arnie, what were you thinking??)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

LadyJ wrote:
    If it was only women in the world then I'd kill myself. I'd say I could tolerate a man's world for longer but eventually would probably still kill myself.

Ditto. Feminists-R-Us! :D

Female Only
    boreds wrote:
    Ditto. Feminists-R-Us! :D

I said it before and I'll say it again. Damn feminists *Shake fist in anger*

Bastards! If they had their way in a woman world..............wait a minute, it just came to me.........butch feminist lesbians would be pretty much equivilant to men (eh, bar the feminist thing)

Female Only
    Duggy747 wrote:
    Bastards! If they had their way in a woman world..............wait a minute, it just came to me.........butch feminist lesbians would be pretty much equivilant to men (eh, bar the feminist thing)

Does that mean that in a world without women we'd still have feminists. I vote for a world full of women if that's the case.

I suppose in a world full of men we'd have the occasional "SUNSILK!!!" guy prancing around the place, though in a world full of testosterone I presume they wouldn't last long.........or they'd probably own the place.