Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pro-life ad in Cineworld cinema

• 20-05-2007 12:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

Was at Spidey 3 yesterday - when a very pro-life ad came on, and it wasnt very balanced, like the options ad. It pretty much said anything else other then life is wrong - atleast that was the implication that I got.

Didnt get a chance to complain - but I intend too.

That said - would other people complain about advertisments at the cinema or just let sleeping dogs lie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,838 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Ph3n0m wrote:
    Was at Spidey 3 yesterday - when a very pro-life ad came on, and it wasnt very balanced, like the options ad. It pretty much said anything else other then life is wrong - atleast that was the implication that I got.

That said - would other people complain about advertisments at the cinema or just let sleeping dogs lie?
    it is not just in Cineworld. It is part of the current Carlton Screen advertising reel, for spidey 3 at least, and is more down to Carlton then the cinema.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Would you have complained if it were a Pro Choice ad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

Well if they also aired a pro choice add id be happy because it would piss off those pro lifers becase they pissed you off with that add before your movie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I've seen some pregnancy "advice" ads on there that have left me enraged. With pounding disco music and flashing luminescent colours like anyone who had an unplanned pregnancy was some knacker on drugs. I was just sitting there minding my own business and it left me feeling uneasy and stressed.

If I was in that situation I'd say I'd have had a breakdown. It wasn't options but I forget who it was for. Whoever it was they were so out of touch and clueless they shouldn't be allowed near anyone dealing with an unplanned pregnancy let alone council them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

boreds wrote:

Yes - since I prefer a balanced view - that is why I never have a problem with the Options ad - since its always implied that there is always a choice.

These pro-life ad are very black and white in their message

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭hoolio

Yep, saw probably the same ad in the Savoy before 28 Weeks Later, so it's not just cineworld

Yes, its part of the Carlton Screen advertising reel. Whatever cinema uses them shall be showing that ad before its films this week (at least).

Best to send a complaint into Carlton if you have a problem with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,838 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

boreds wrote:
    Have you seen the ad in question?

It was the balance of the ad that got on my nerves; the ad could be broken down to basically saying: Having abortions is wrong, simply wrong, don't make the wrong choice.

Thanks for that info - made my complaint.

And Tauren - that is very similiar to the message that I got from the ad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

You can also complain to The Advertising Standards Authority for Ireland
    http://www.asai.ie/complain.asp

I already asked about this in the legal discussions forum
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055092203

http://www.familyandlife.org/ is the group that paid for the ad.

The site says how happy they are that it got approved and they have gotten it on to several of the big films for the summer.

http://www.familyandlife.org/Bio-Eth...rch/no/37.html
    Family & Life's Cinema Ad Approved

We are happy to report that Family & Life's new Cinema Ad is now complete, has been approved, and is now ready for widespread distribution for public showing.

Our previous pro-life Cinema Ad, "Life is Precious", was shown with great success in cinemas throughout Ireland for the past number of years. Moreover, from time to time, to spread the pro-life message, we ensured that it reached a wider audience when we capitalised on batches of highly acclaimed new releases that reached Irish cinemas.

This ad and now its successor, are the only pro-life commercials in Ireland, and are specifically aimed at young people; those most likely to opt for an abortion in a crisis.

When Family & Life's film documentary, "Life A New Revolution", was finished and made available in video or DVD format, and following the success of our cinema ad, we decided to go ahead with our new follow-up Cinema Ad.

With its completion and approval we are now beginning a campaign to raise funds for its distribution throughout Ireland in May/June 2007.

Thaedydal wrote:
    You can also complain to The Advertising Standards Authority for Ireland
    http://www.asai.ie/complain.asp

Aye. These would really be the best people to probably complain to aswell. They would have the power to have the ad removed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Tauren wrote:
    Have you seen the ad in question?

It was the balance of the ad that got on my nerves; the ad could be broken down to basically saying: Having abortions is wrong, simply wrong, don't make the wrong choice.

They paid to advertise an inoffensive opinion. Every political party in the country is doing it whether you agree with their opinion or not. Honestly, yis sound like the type of folks who are under a paranoid illusion that the church in this country still has influence and must be stopped at all costs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Contact the film censor, he is the one that approved it. Click here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭jimi_t

Tha Gopher wrote:
    They paid to advertise an inoffensive opinion.

Inoffensive to who? This is probably the single most controversial issue in Irish society today.
    Every political party in the country is doing it whether you agree with their opinion or not.

Every political party is running heavy handed Pro-Life campaigns with film advertising? I'm sorry to be pedantic, but that's a really bad analogy imo.
    Honestly, yis sound like the type of folks who are under a paranoid illusion that the church in this country still has influence and must be stopped at all costs.

Well there's a point to be made about the level of Pro-Life Vs. Pro-Choice advertising, and about where the funding for such endeavours comes from (not saying it's necessarily the church), but I don't feel I'm qualififed to make it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Saw this ad in Dungarvan last Monday too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

In my opinion the government has a responsibility to protect vulnerable teenagers from biased rhetoric in this area in much the same way as the prevent tobacco advertising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Ph3n0m wrote:
    It wouldn't bother me if an ad for either opinion was shown.

I can't understand why people get in a tiss about an ad expressing an opinion that doesn't necessarily agree with their own particular value system.

At the end of the day it's just an ad. Ignore it or heed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

It wouldn't bother me if an ad for either opinion was shown.

I can't understand why people get in a tiss about an ad expressing an opinion that doesn't necessarily agree with their own particular value system.

At the end of the day it's just an ad. Ignore it or heed it.
    Again DW, its the "the church is after us" paranoia. The sooner people realise that the church hasnt successfully told young people what to do since at the very latest the 80s the better (even that is stretching it, the population has largely had their ears shut since the 70s)

We have legistation about politcal and religious advertisments in this coutry.
    The 'ads' or promotional shortfilms in cinemas seem to be exempt from this.
    It is a loophole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭rollie

if its the same add i saw the woman didnt even look too happy to have kept the baby....which i thought was a bit funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

I saw Spidey3 in a cinema full of screaming kids and their mothers. I didn't see the ad in question but I definetly pro-choice by the end of the movie.

Pigman II wrote:
    I saw Spidey3 in a cinema full of screaming kids and their mothers. I didn't see the ad in question but I definetly pro-choice by the end of the movie.

so optional restraints werent your first thought then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Lorax

Abortions for all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Ph3n0m wrote:
    Yes - since I prefer a balanced view - that is why I never have a problem with the Options ad - since its always implied that there is always a choice.
    well it wouldn't give a balanced view. it was paid for by pro-life people. when you see an ad for ford they don't go on about how great toyota are

True, but they wont ever say you are wrong to choose something different

I haven't seen the ad, I'd be happier if I didnt, however I'd be happier if I didn't see most ads.
    I once thought of complaining about an ad in the cinema before while I was abroad. It was about baldness. The picture was as if a person was in the back seat of a cinema and there were heads in front, and a big circle was drawn around some of the balding or bald heads to point it out. Now I'm not bald or balding, but I thought this ad was disgusting and if I were balding, I would feel very self conscious and paranoid. I felt like complaining, but didn't. I'll just boycott the product instead :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

Ph3n0m wrote:

But the whole product is "the other thing it wrong"... when FG say vote for us they are saying don't vote FF and PDs.... should their ads have balance ?

Ph3n0m wrote:
    of course they will. for example, i saw an ad for the 3 network in the paper that said "vodafone customers. you are not making the most of now".

and politicians constantly say that the other guy would be the wrong choice

boreds wrote:
    I once thought of complaining about an ad in the cinema before while I was abroad. It was about baldness.
    I felt like complaining, but didn't. I'll just boycott the product instead :cool:
    you're not bald so its not so much that you're boycotting the product as you have no use for it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Lorax wrote:
    Abortions for all!
    Abortions for some, miniature American flags for all!

don't blame me. i voted for kodos

We shall move forwards not backwards, upwards not forwards and always twirling, twirrrling....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭liamdubh

Ph3n0m wrote:

For ****s sake. You can't even go to the cinema now without being harrassed by these people. Very poor decision by Cineworld to allow that. People go to the cinema to enjoy a film not to have some quasi-religious organisation try to alter your thoughts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭liamdubh

boreds wrote:
    We shall move forwards not backwards, upwards not forwards and always twirling, twirrrling....

The politics of failure have failed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

complaint sent to Ad people, will email censor if they pass the buck up to him...
    Noticed this in my cinema too and was gonna complain to the manager but figured it'd be futile given that the ads are all together...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

I would still suggest that your write to your local cinema or better yet thier national HQ and lodge a complaint as they will pass it up the line to rank screen advertising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Pro choice and yet against freedom of speech? Strange. Unless you are only against freedom of speech when the message being portrayed is against your beliefs.

I myself am pro-life, but I wouldn't (and have never) complain if a pro-choice message is on tv/cinema whatever, since I believe that different groups of society should have the opportunity to air and discuss their beliefs in public.

Perhaps all the people who have complained are nazis who don't like to listen to viewpoints they disagree with (ah Godwins Law ftw)???

Kernel wrote:
    I myself am pro-life, but I wouldn't (and have never) complain if a pro-choice message is on tv/cinema whatever, since I believe that different groups of society should have the opportunity to air and discuss their beliefs in public.

Perhaps all the people who have complained are nazis who don't like to listen to viewpoints they disagree with (ah Godwins Law ftw)???

Have you seen the ad? There was no room for discussion. And if they feel like being able to air their beliefs - all the better for them in this age of democracy - but I also should be entitled to a) be able to ignore, which I couldnt, in light of the fact that it was shown in a cinema or b) complain/retort about it - which I did.

And yet you feel the need to label people who complained as "nazis" - there are plenty of people that dont like to listen to viewpoints that they disagree with - so does that make them all nazis? Just find it intriguing that you are so eager to throw out such a nasty label (especially since nazi is considered a "dirty" word)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Ruen

Ph3n0m wrote:

Ehh, where does it say advertisements have to be fair and balanced???
    You do realise that in this Republic we have a little thing called freedom of expression and speech so basically I can have an opinion and I can publish or broadcast it in whatever biased way I want.
    Just because you disagree with it doesnt mean they should change it to suit your perfectly impartial views on any given topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Ruen

Ph3n0m wrote:
    Have you seen the ad? There was no room for discussion. And if they feel like being able to air their beliefs - all the better for them in this age of democracy - but I also should be entitled to a) be able to ignore, which I couldnt, in light of the fact that it was shown in a cinema or b) complain/retort about it - which I did.

And yet you feel the need to label people who complained as "nazis" - there are plenty of people that dont like to listen to viewpoints that they disagree with - so does that make them all nazis? Just find it intriguing that you are so eager to throw out such a nasty label (especially since nazi is considered a "dirty" word)
    So what exactly are you complaining about, i.e. whats the problem?
    And about point a, you could ignore it, nobody forced you to pay attention unless of course there's some "Clockwork Orange" sh1t going on in Cineworld that we dont know about. Is there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Ruen wrote:
    You do realise that in this Republic we have a little thing called freedom of expression and speech so basically I can have an opinion and I can publish or broadcast it in whatever biased way I want.
    Partly correct.

Ruen wrote:
    So what exactly are you complaining about, i.e. whats the problem?
    And about point a, you could ignore it, nobody forced you to pay attention unless of course there's some "Clockwork Orange" sh1t going on in Cineworld that we dont know about. Is there?

Yeah, I agree completely. People complaining over things they don't agree with is why censorship was in place for so long. Not to mention the politically correct world gone mad. You complainers cause all that petty and inane rubbish. Hypocrites.

Freedom of speech.

Ph3n0m wrote:
    Have you seen the ad? There was no room for discussion.

No, haven't seen the ad. And since when do ads allow room for discussion? An ad such as this presents a point of view, it's up to people to discuss that point of view. If you force the point of view to be hidden, then people will be less aware of it and less likely to discuss it.
    Ph3n0m wrote:

Nazis (ie. fascists) move to censor the points of view of those that do not share their view. That's what you and others want to do, so I think it's a fair comparison? I'm not saying people have to agree with my point of view, but I would never try to stop them voicing it - particularly if their opinion is harmless (in other words it wont spread racial hatred, violence or any other such negative message). That's life in a free society.

It smacks of hypocrisy that pro-choicers demand freedom for women to choose whether to have abortion or not, yet demand that the opponents to such a view are censored and restricted in their own freedom of speech.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Winters wrote:
    Aye. These would really be the best people to probably complain to aswell. They would have the power to have the ad removed.
    The ASAI have no power. They are a self-appointed industry group who simply 'name-and-shame' people whom they judge have broken their own rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

Kernel wrote:

It smacks of hypocrisy that pro-choicers demand freedom for women to choose whether to have abortion or not, yet demand that the opponents to such a view are censored and restricted in their own freedom of speech.

qft

Ruen wrote:
    Ehh, where does it say advertisements have to be fair and balanced???

http://www.asai.ie/code.asp
    Ruen wrote:

Yes, and people have the freedom to express their dislike at what you express by making complaints.
    Ruen wrote:
    Just because you disagree with it doesnt mean they should change it to suit your perfectly impartial views on any given topic.

Yes, however if someone believes it breaks the Advertising Standards Authority code etc. they may complain. The asai will review the add and they will decide if it should be changed or not.

Kernel wrote:

I think what they are giving out about is the fact that the Ad implies that there is no other option other then the one they are implying. Therefore not providing a balanced view to what is a very sensative topic in Ireland.

As opposed to the Pro Choice ad which advertieses the fact that in the event of an unplanned pregnancy there are choices available and not just one certain choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

I am shocked... RTE just had an ad for Vodafone on... and it didn't say I could use O2 as well...

who do I complain to ?