Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where the hell is Matt? In Dublin!

• 20-05-2007 10:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭

Matt, from the where the hell is Matt, is coming to Dublin on June 3rd, and is inviting people to come along to be in the video :
    Hi folks,

If you're getting this email, you've either written to me and
    mentioned where you live, or you've signed-up on my site to be
    notified. I'm coming to Dublin, Ireland soon to shoot a clip for my
    new dancing video. This is an invitation to come out and join me.

I'll be dancing at 5:00 pm on June 3rd, 2007. The location is
    Fusiliers' Arch in the North-West corner of St. Stephen's Green in
    Dublin.
    Attached is a photo of the spot. Here's a link to the Google map:

http://tinyurl.com/2pabcx

The last video was about places. This one is really about people. So I'm not
    too concerned about the background. I just want a place where people can
    gather peaceably and dance badly without getting arrested.

I know you don't all live close to this location. All I can say is Ireland is
    really big, the world is a whole lot bigger, and I can only spend a bit of
    time in each place. Anyway, we hope to get a nice crowd, so we picked
    a spot that was accessible to as many people as
    possible.

Please reply to this email if you plan to attend and let us know how many
    people you think you'll be bringing. It will help to give us an idea of how
    many to expect.

Boring details below. Read no further if you can't make it:

Please print out the attached release form and sign it ahead of time, if
    possible. If you don't have a printer, please come 30 minutes early
    so we can give you a copy to sign.

We'll also need to take a photo of each participant before the dance and
    attach it to the release form so we can identify everyone in the video.

If you are under 18, you MUST be accompanied by a parent or guardian who can
    sign the release form and be photographed with you. Sorry, but I can't make
    this video without a sponsor, and those are the rules I have to follow in
    order to use the footage.

Feel free to invite friends to come with you and dance. Just make sure
    everyone is okay with signing the release form.

It will take some time to process each person, so depending on how many
    show up, we may have to stop accepting forms at some point and shoot
    the video. Please make sure you're on time.

I'll try to be on time too...but no promises.

The whole thing shouldn't take more than 10 minutes to shoot. We'll set up
    the shot, dance for about 15 seconds, then do it one more time for good
    measure.

Dance however you want.

We're planning to put the final video up on the internet on June 21st, 2008.
    It's a long way away, I know, but I've got a lot of traveling to do.

I can't guarantee that the clip we shoot will end up in the final video.
    There'll be a lot of footage to choose from and some of it will not be
    used. You're welcome to bring your own camera and have someone take
    pictures, though.

I look forward to dancing badly with you!

-Matt and Melissa

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

All I can say is Ireland is
    really big,

condescending bastard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

who the hell is matt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

i'm going to try to be there anyway :)

kdouglas wrote:
    who the hell is matt?
    http://wherethehellismatt.com/

click the dancing 2006 link

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

oh I have to go. I love his clip.

Finally, my chance to dance with the best :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Oh I love that guy........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

what the hell is 'where the hell is matt'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Great blog - thanks for posting link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Bingobongo will dance with Matt

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

I cant believe I aint gonna be in the country, ON THIS, the day I could dance with Matt! Its opposite where I work! IT was MEANT TO BE! *sigh*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

/me looks around in Australia.

...Damn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

Jesjes wrote:
    I cant believe I aint gonna be in the country, ON THIS, the day I could dance with Matt! Its opposite where I work! IT was MEANT TO BE! *sigh*
    Maybe he'll be in Edinburgh when we're there?
    Stranger things have happened! :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Can anybody Irish damhsa? I can't but it'd be funny to have a riverdance style a la Father Ted in the caravan or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

I think there should be the main group dancing, then suddenly from left to right, a load of lads holding each others shoulders (If you know what I mean) do riverdance from left to right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 RawK

YEah i got the email this morning and im ANNOYED that i WONT be in the country, Im going to Rock am Ring and wont be back until the Day AFTER!!!

which kinda sucks because when i first read about it, i sent the request list to 100+ friends and people in work to sign it, to get the numbers up in hope that he's come here...

URGH, i must have done something to deserve this bad karma!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,215 ✭✭✭FX Meister

That moron is coming to dublin. Think I'll have to go along to hurl some eggs at him.
    Actually forget that, I'll just dance like a moron in fron of him.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,365 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Just one question - why?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,661 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Funny at first but ego took over. wayne kerr.

zaph wrote:
    Just one question - why?
    BECAUSE THE DUDE IS A COCK. Why not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

Where can I get one of those forms to sign in case he doesn't have any on the day?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,661 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Where can I get one of those forms to sign in case he doesn't have any on the day?

im sure you will find plenty in the bin on the day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

faceman wrote:
    im sure you will find plenty in the bin on the day!
    That reminds me, I'd better warn him about the begrudgers beforehand.

Ahhh, how nice of you. I'll remind you to remind him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭cast_iron

Thankfully, most of them will be stuck behind a computer 40 odd hours a week, (and prob most of the evening too), so they probably won't get chance to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,241 ✭✭✭drdre

This guy is great :)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

I'd definitely go along! It would be so funny and I'm not doing anything else that day

nobody begrudges him of anythin, a fair percentage of us think hes not entertaining. or to put it another way, a loser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

RawK wrote:
    URGH, i must have done something to deserve this bad karma!
    Yep ... see below! ;)
    RawK wrote:
    which kinda sucks because when i first read about it, i sent the request list to 100+ friends and people in work to sign it, to get the numbers up in hope that he's come here...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

I'm very tempted to come down from Antrim to go to that.
    Read this:
    http://www.wherethehellismatt.com/faq.shtml

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

ah people, hes been in my sig for the past year!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

ah people, hes been in my sig for the past year!

So you'll be first in the queue then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

faceman wrote:
    nobody begrudges him of anythin, a fair percentage of us think hes not entertaining. or to put it another way, a loser

Yeah, he travels around the world having fun. What a loser!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

I'll go just so I can dance my foot up his ass!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

In fairness he's taking his life in his hands coming to Dublin..he should dance round summerhill and see waht occurs to him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

No no, he should come to Limerick and dance in the middle of Moyross!! I'm sure the boys down here would give him a very warm welcome! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Katykaboom

Im so there. SO SO there. I thinks he's the biz.

humanji wrote:
    Yeah, he travels around the world having fun. What a loser!

delusions of adequacy. Maybe we should vote him for taoiseach?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

faceman wrote:
    delusions of adequacy. Maybe we should vote him for taoiseach?

lol, you could do worse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 starbaby

faceman wrote:

yeah fair enough, he might not be entertaining to some people.
    but entertainment aside, do you not think it's really cool how he's gotten to see so much of the world?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭iamnothim

i'm guessing most people didn't go in the end cause of the drizzle. well... i did, and was one of the twelve people in the video :)

I stuck a few photos on flickr, http://www.flickr.com/photos/daramunnis/, however none are of the dancing cause, well, i was dancing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

How many people showed up then?

i know the bloke in the background with the beard :D

i was in work today so i couldn't go :(

DAMMIT! I forgot about this. Not that I could have gone anwyay.
    But DAMMIT anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Oriel wrote:
    DAMMIT! I forgot about this. Not that I could have gone anwyay.
    But DAMMIT anyway.
    'addaboy, let it all out, go on, you can cry........ there ya go.

i know the bloke in the background with the beard :D

Tell him it's customary to smile for photographs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mathew

ned78 wrote:
    I just want a place where people can
    gather peaceably

Peaceably... what the hell is that??????!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭Hypnotoad

Damn,I completely forgot about this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

iamnothim wrote:
    i'm guessing most people didn't go in the end cause of the drizzle. well... i did, and was one of the twelve people in the video :)

I stuck a few photos on flickr, http://www.flickr.com/photos/daramunnis/, however none are of the dancing cause, well, i was dancing...

Judging from the photos it was only some of Dublin's homeless that turned up then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭electric69

who?