Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mario Strikersl review

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭djkeogh

I had been sitting on the fence a bit in relation to this game but that review has really got me intrigued. Might be putting this on the auld wish list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,201 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Using the WiiMote to save the ball through the eyes of the keeper sounds fantastic...

.. i think this review just convinced me to make a purchase this Friday.

Now who will have it cheaper? Gamestop or Smyths?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭brainiac

Smyths site says €50.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,406 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Pity it isn't out sooner since it would be a perfect game to have for a champions league party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭purplegeko

I cannot wait for this, i'm so sad i've planned the weekend around it plus my brother who's a complete Playstation 3 nut really wants to play it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭Im_No_Superman

brainiac wrote:
    Smyths site says €50.
    Sweet thats not a bad price, think Ill trade in Sonic too so that should knock the price down alot too for me! :)

Just stuck in an order for this on CDwow. Looks good.

djkeogh wrote:
    Just stuck in an order for this on CDwow. Looks good.
    Was thinking of doing the same..

.. but if it's only €50 in Smyths, i'd rather pay an extra euro (or €1.01 to be precise) than wait at least a week wait for delivery!

EDIT: 88% at Spong

Thats a fair point. Unfortunately I'd placed the CDWow order before I had seen it mentioned that it was going for €50 in Smyth's. Ah well Sure I only need to have it for the Bank holiday weekend as the lads will be over and I see this as being a big game for the multiplayers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Prowetod

do you need the nunchunk to play it?

eoccork wrote:
    do you need the nunchunk to play it?
    You sure do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

looks to be lots of Irish interest, judging from Wiffy

Online innit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭CrazyTalk

yep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Aye, tis €49.99 á la Smyths

meant to be great, but no Paper Mario IMO

Thank for the heads-up unreggd.

Mightn't get to purchase it til Saturday - busy day tomorrow but we all up for a tourney Saturday or Sunday evening!

Of feck it, how about both?! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭darkskol

Didn't think much of this when I first heard of it but im intrigued now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭smokingman

Got it last night in Smyths but they weren't allowed to sell it before 6pm....though my receipt says 17:57 ;)

Just to warn you, there's apparently more than 3110 punters with this game so far online with an immense number of points so there's not much chance of getting to the top quickly but the online accolades are based on weekly numbers so if you're having a good week then you might have a chance.

I had two instances of lag playing against strangers online so far but my signal was pretty good at the same time...apart from then though it was pretty smooth.

The graphics are better than I suspected but I hadn't really got high expectations - they're still not fantastic at the same time though but you really don't notice because the game is so incredibly fast and frentic.

Presentation wise, I'm amazed! Great job indeed here, the whole thing is so far from the usual Nintendo/Mario thing, it's easy to see that it was an outside studio that made this. The mood is serious, the grudge factor is encouraged, you WANT revenge when you're beaten and the menu screens taunt you to increase the mood. Brilliant!

Sound is alright, no biggy but there's loads of Wii-mote sounds. The music is very testosterone heavy (some may like it, some mightn't).

The arenas are very cool with a lot of variations and the intro to every game involves a very dramatic entrance from the different characters and bloody cool animations! Wait 'til you see some of the posturing, you will laugh your a$$ off!

The special moves are really fun if you can find the space to pull them off, especially the sidekicks ones.

Going to have a full weekend of it now and can't wait to leave work already (not really that strange for a friday but it's just that little bit moreso now ;) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭nedd

sorry for being a little slow with this, but is this game online enabled????

is this the first wii game that is wii enabled?

In answer to your questions Nedd, yes, and yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

Yes it is and yes it is!

Anyone know if Smyths are also offering their usual 10% off to loyalty card holders? Games always play better when you get money off.

ah class. i have totally missed that.

right so then how do you set up a game with someone on the far side of the world? do you need to have them registered as a friend? and do you need to make arrangements to go on-line at a certain time?

or is there some way of going on-line and challenging someone to a game?

Cheers for the info. if its not too difficult to set up a game then i might actually give it a go.

nedd wrote:
    ah class. i have totally missed that.

right so then how do you set up a game with someone on the far side of the world? do you need to have them registered as a friend? and do you need to make arrangements to go on-line at a certain time?

or is there some way of going on-line and challenging someone to a game?

Cheers for the info. if its not too difficult to set up a game then i might actually give it a go.

You can play against a random stranger (in europe only) in one mode and you have to register friend codes for what are called "Friendlies" in another. For friendlies, you can see if your friends are online with a status icon on the matchup screen and if they are, then you can invite them to a match (much like Pokemon Diamond DS).

well now i know what i'm spending this weeks wages on....

that game and some sudocrem, cause i'm going to get bed sores from playing it for so long.

nedd wrote:
    well now i know what i'm spending this weeks wages on....

that game and some sudocrem, cause i'm going to get bed sores from playing it for so long.
    You only get paid €50 a week! :D
    Must head into smyths soon would hate to get there and find its sold out!

no the €50 is for the game, but i will be lying in the one position for so long over the weekend i will need to coat my whole body in sudocrem to prevent the onset of serious pressure sores.

and then there is the expense of the maid to clean, the cook to ...well... cook and the helper monkey to replace the batteries on the Wii-mote. It all adds up you know.

Anyone know how much it is in Gamestop? Won't get into town today but girlfriend is passing by a Gamestop on her way home from work.

Smyth's will be closed by the time i get home.

EDIT: Never mind... phoned them there. it's €49.99 in Gamestop or free if you trade it two Wii games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭the corpo

might be time to get rid of super monkey ball! especially seeing as i've played it....twice?

Yea I'd like to know that as well. I can only make it to Dawson St or Grafton St at lunch time. I do hope it's about €50 in there as well. Dying to get home and give this a bash.

Am going into town at lunch to get it now as i can't wait to play it tonight.

Yea I went and cancelled the CDWow pre-order. I'll be downtown shortly after 12 to pick this bad boy up. Presuming that Dawson St is the better option than the Rip off that is HMV

picked up for 54.99 in HMV. Pricier than some places but time is short on the lunch break so the extra €5 was worth saving me the walk. Anyone on for a game of this online this evening?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭SNL

I will be on added my friend code to the list sticky on the top of the thread played it online good craic so it is

Picked up mine in Smyths for €18.99! :D Traded in Sonic and used the loyalty card. Its great craic, ill be online later for a game.

Picked it up in Smyths for 45 with the loyalty card. Schweeeet. I knew I should have brought my Wii into work today.... Don't know how I'll convince the missus to give up her precious election results to let me play though... :(

I've already been hyping my missus up to have a go of this. Especially seeing as we can play as a team against people across the world rather than me wiping the floor with her and her giving up after 5 mins.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,679 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I don't know about this one, the player characters are awfully small on screen, its all a bit frenzied, like pinball, played by a deaf dumb and blind kid.
    Each to their own I suppose, I reckon the gameplay would better suit basketball miiself

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Got it today and its a laugh. Having said that, I cant seem to get it working online. Keep ketting an error message stating "ERROR GETTING STATS" Anyone have any problems like this or any suggestions. The wifi is working for DS games so I dont understand the problem.

FutureGuy wrote:
    Got it today and its a laugh. Having said that, I cant seem to get it working online. Keep ketting an error message stating "ERROR GETTING STATS" Anyone have any problems like this or any suggestions. The wifi is working for DS games so I dont understand the problem.
    Yes, i'm getting that too so either the WiFi is jammed, or my router is acting up - which i think it is.

Should be online later though once i get my router up and running.

PS - it is great fun though!

FutureGuy wrote:
    Im getting the same message now, but i was playing online afew hours ago.

This stats error seems to be a common one, hope nintendo sort it out soon!
    http://www.wiichat.com/mario-strikers-charged/26321-wiichat-mario-strikers-charged-tournament-34.html

Yep.. tried a couple of more times there.

Still getting the statistics error - the servers are clearly jammed!

Ah well it will give us plenty of time to master the single player mode meaning very competitive multiplayer games! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,521 ✭✭✭Shred

Crap, I bloody knew this was out this weekend but my brother-in-law told me otherwise:mad: I've just been so fecking busy lately... Gonna shoot over to Smyths Airside early tomorrow and pick it up, hopefully the online probs will be sorted by then.

Had a few games this morning. Issue with the server seems to be resolved.

Good craic - players online seem to be VERY VERY good though.

Might just be i haven't got enough practice in with some of the battle moves. I basically know how to tackle, shoot and megastrike but the turtle shells and that kinda stuff i was pretty unaware of.

Will get a few practice sessions in though.

PS - one thing that annoyed me was i was beating some bloke online 3-0 and then it came up 'Connection Lost' - it was obvious from the 5 Star Connection Strength and the point the connection was lost that he turned off his Wii (quick exit from a losing game) and this still counted as a loss to me! :(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,406 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

basquille wrote:
    PS - one thing that annoyed me was i was beating some bloke online 3-0 and then it came up 'Connection Lost' - it was obvious from the 5 Star Connection Strength and the point the connection was lost that he turned off his Wii (quick exit from a losing game) and this still counted as a loss to me! :(

Same problems are happenng on xbox live. It's stupid that nintendo haven't sorted this out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

man this game's alot of fun, picked it up this morning, havnt gone online yet, but must do at some point.

I still can't get online. Still getting errors. That sounds really petty with people turning off their machine to avoid getting a lost game.

I was online earlier this afternoon, having afew problems connecting now though. Ive had no problems with people turning off their Wii mid game (yet!)

cant get on either - network error 98020. typing on wiimote v tiring. wrist.....cramping.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,521 ✭✭✭Shred

Yup getting the same error as above, although I did get to play a few matches earlier and it was great craic. I'd like to think this is just teething problems and Nintendo will get it sorted a.s.a.p.