Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deconstructing ..... dougee19

• 16-05-2007 12:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭

dougee19 is up next for this following on from this thread

Same Rules:

There can be NO flaming, this isn't a chance for people to have a shot at who ever goes in. Entrants to the Deconstructing series will have their thick skins on but forum rule breaches will be dealt swiftly and harshly (1 week ban), so you have all been warned.

Just to spell it out: NO PERSONAL ATTACKS, criticise and critique his game and NOTHING else!

Keep it constructive and good luck dougee19.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,287 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

He's too tight.

Needs to open up his calling range a bit more, and call more OOP with muck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭busted flush

have not played with you in a long time ( are you michael douglas)?
    if you are i found you to be an above average player with a penchant for sleeping at the table!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭dougee19

have not played with you in a long time ( are you michael douglas)?
    if you are i found you to be an above average player with a penchant for sleeping at the table!
    hahaha, yeah im michael douglas and i do have that tendancy alrite, i mean, i used play all nighters all the time and then come in the next day with no sleep and a little bit of drink

ahhh, the student life :) how i love it.... just not the student part :D

why zzzz as the title??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭valor

um, because you like to sleep at the table

ahhhh, as you can tell im slightly out of it again now, made some money though :)
    would prefer people who actually played against me to write here btw, rather than people who see my posts on here. :D
    but all comments are welcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭dvdfan

dougee19 wrote:
    why zzzz as the title??
    with a penchant for sleeping at the table

edit Valors too fast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭PokerPissTaker

Holdem good tight (maybe to tight) capable player,

Omaha, We'll what can I say, They have books out now DougEe mate.

as long as the money keeps coming i'll keep playing :)
    the second i start losing, back to holdem :) muahahaha
    and im not tight anymore, lol.... used to be a rock but i cant see YOU of all people considering me a rock, i have never played tight when you were there really, lol....
    if you saw me in the macau days you would think i was the loosest guy around, once folded j8 on a jj6 flop, no reason really....
    thought i was outkicked.... now that is f***ing tight!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

I havn't played you (yet), but from having read some of the HH's you've posted your playing too high for your overall skill level/knowledge of the game.

You have a tendancy to gambool an awful lot.

This hand for example https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/87467/40182.GIF

you call a strong raise oop with qj and then jam it when you hit any piece of the flop.
    It seems you play your own cards only and don't factor in what your opponent may have at all. This strategy will work at micro - low stakes but not for 5/10

move down levels, tighten up, and read up on the game.

The way you play will make you think your a winning player when you hit some good variance but I feel you'll go broke playing 5/10 like you do.

This is assuming that the hh's youve posted havn't been a wind up btw.

also, if you rich, then don't take any of my advice as you don't need the money anyway.

You know I'm only playing mate LOL But your not loose, c'mon you may have loosened up but you couldn't play tight in that game and make money look at prince(ss)

Mr.Plough wrote:
    I havn't played you (yet), but from having read some of the HH's you've posted your playing too high for your overall skill level/knowledge of the game.

You have a tendancy to gambool an awful lot.

This hand for example https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/87467/40182.GIF

you call a strong raise oop with qj and then jam it when you hit any piece of the flop.
    It seems you play your own cards only and don't factor in what your opponent may have at all. This strategy will work at micro - low stakes but not for 5/10

move down levels, tighten up, and read up on the game.

The way you play will make you think your a winning player when you hit some good variance but I feel you'll go broke playing 5/10 like you do.

This is assuming that the hh's youve posted havn't been a wind up btw.

also, if you rich, then don't take any of my advice as you don't need the money anyway.
    they werent a piss take, but i was drunk :)

You know I'm only playing mate LOL But your not loose, c'mon you may have loosened up but you couldn't play tight in that game and make money look at prince(ss)
    i havent won in that game!!! lol
    the last day i left with €30 profit, the best ive done in there by around 300 i think.... :) hahaha
    honest truth... first time leaving there with a profit, what can i say, outdrawn a lot i think, maybe

I thinks you need to play more TV poker in there than you do , Check raisng with big draws And top pair regardless of top kicker ie KQ JQ on Q79 boards Just my opinion I know you've loosened up but hitting big hands with rubish in there will get you paid every time I'm surely proof enough lol And betting draws as the others in there will call you with second pair allday long

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 TheBeesKnees

dougee19 wrote:
    hahaha, yeah im michael douglas baby!:eek:

287424643a2007204018b16bw8.th.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭SpermManJelly

287424643a2007204018b16bw8.th.jpg

Whos that?

this is about deconstructing me, not creating a second account and posting a pic up and then saying it wasnt you....
    you've played with me a good bit and we have had our fare share of differences, leave your opinion no???
    and any *southern club* members i used to played with want to actually write stuff???

i know there is a rule about bumping now, but im bumping this thread!!!

i have finally played with boardsies so want some harsh critics....
    and dont judge on final hand, know where i went wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭RedJoker

dougee19 wrote:
    i know there is a rule about bumping now, but im bumping this thread!!!

i have finally played with boardsies so want some harsh critics....
    and dont judge on final hand, know where i went wrong

Oh baby, thank you so much for bumping this.

1. You’re a fish.

Nah just playing with ya, ok time for serious advice:

You play far higher than you should be.

There are a lot of leaks (open limping being one) in your game which would be so easy to fix if you'd just get poker tracker and read 2+2. I know you plan on getting it soon but this is important.

Read some books please.

You obviously have a great natural ability to read the game and you have your own style but you are costing yourself a lot of money in places.

Stop bragging about your losses; I don’t know if you are looking for sympathy or what but if the money really means that much to you then move down. Mentioning it at the poker table to make people think you’re a degenerate or whatever would be fine btw.

I’m sure I’ll think of more later.

RedJoker wrote:
    Mentioning it at the poker table to make people think you’re a degenerate or whatever would be fine btw.
    think??? :)
    awww, im not a degenerate... sweet...
    and as for open limping, i like to get involved in a lot of pots in cash games online, i like to think that in a lot of circumstances i can read into the range of my opponent and normally can take away pots from them in certain situations :), bad thinking but it does seem to work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭The_Chopper

Hey man,

Quick question about a hand that I heard you played in the main event in waterford.

You called a big raise preflop with A rag (4 I think) - flop Q 9 rag (5 I think)
    Flop is bet and u call
    turn is another rag (2 I think) again turn is bet and you call
    River rag (3 I think) you go all in.

The important thing here is that the rags ended up giving you the wheel.

My quesion is this - what was your thought process on this whole hand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,502 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 The_Prof

I only played with you a few months back in Macau. At the time I voiced pretty much my main issue with your play, which was your stupid insistence on min-buying for 50 euro into a PLO game that at the time must have had avg. stack at 300-350 euro. Your strategy involved a ridiculously unlikely necessity to double up like 4-5 times within the course of the night, and starting by sticking it ai preflop, most of the time against several players. This led to a large % of losing sessions, and in my opinion against such a weak field, you should just have bought in for as much as your bankroll allowed.

Other stuff:

1. lying about your hands - this was a source of great amusement on one occasion in particular. remember the time you whispered in mine and Tobin's ear "folded JJ, with the jack of clubs" on like a Ten hi board with all clubs, when sideshow bob and john quinn were giving big action. Needless to say, we were all in stitches when the Jack of clubs hit the board on the river. Having said this though, it's not really a skill/leak in your game as such, but amusing so I thought i'd mention it.

2. your baffling change from mega-rock to hyper-loose. I'm not sure what exactly brought this about, but this extreme change was certainly not a good idea for Macau live cash games. You went from folding too much, to literally making a move every time. This cost you money I would say.

3. your drunken sessions / blowups / pride in "acting the maggot" in a particular hand -- these things all add up, and can ultimately make the difference between being a decent winner (which i think you can be) and BUSTO! One of the first times I went onto boards, I saw those hands that you posted, the list of ones on paddypower with screenshots attached. They made me flinch in disgust. I was sickened by the apparent pride taken in having voluntarily made all these brutal -EV decisions. I don't know, maybe I can't judge as I have a tendency to chase/tilt worse than most. Still, I gotta say I hate the way you put on this whole "hahahha, just blew $800 by calling preflop with junk" or stuff along those lines. Whether you genuinely find it amusing, or its some sort of facade, I don't understand it.

Anyway, I've pretty much always told you these things anyway. Hope it doesn't come across as too harsh.

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Dougee will surely show up and talk about "reads", "feel" and "making plays". I will translate in advance:

PREFLOP: Ace - Rag is da nutz
    FLOP: I still have an Ace? Call obv.
    TURN: WE HAVE A GUTSHOT
    RIVER: I play good.

LMAO

I'd like to hear the guys explaination though

The_Prof wrote:
    I only played with you a few months back in Macau. At the time I voiced pretty much my main issue with your play, which was your stupid insistence on min-buying for 50 euro into a PLO game that at the time must have had avg. stack at 300-350 euro. Your strategy involved a ridiculously unlikely necessity to double up like 4-5 times within the course of the night, and starting by sticking it ai preflop, most of the time against several players. This led to a large % of losing sessions, and in my opinion against such a weak field, you should just have bought in for as much as your bankroll allowed.

Rolf Slotboom's book on PLO, which many consider to be the best text on omaha that's been written so far, advises exactly this strategy. He goes into a lot of detail about exactly how to play this way and why it's so profitable. He discusses other strategies later on and how to play once you've doubled up a couple of times, etc.

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Dougee will surely show up and talk about "reads", "feel" and "making plays". I will translate in advance:

luckylloyd, i respectfully request you do not post under topics about me as i think they are rude and insulting....
    and would sincerely like you to f*** off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

LuckyLloyd wrote:

hats of for entertainment quality Lloyd - It's sorta deconstructing Dougee with a bulldozer :D ...still post of the year imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

LuckyLloyd wrote:

Wow lloyd pretty harsh.
    As a matter of intrest have you ever played with Dougee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

Im home from the SE and one of the lads reckoned you were a top notch player with killer instincts but had too much of a penchant for wanting to make a bravado call.

Lloyd - i think your post is harsh and unnecessary and probably founded on very little information.

Hey man,

Quick question about a hand that I heard you played in the main event in waterford.

You called a big raise preflop with A rag (4 I think) - flop Q 9 rag (5 I think)
    Flop is bet and u call

Any chance of a answer to this question?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

i have not seen or played against you dougee so i cannot rate your game, but after reading your blog for your own sake drop down a few level maybe 1/2, your decipline and br management is possibly worse than mine! :) . A $3-5k swing is something you obviously cannot handle. Grind it out at the lower levels till you reach at least 20buyins. I know we all have taken a shot at the higher levels and speaking from experience you will go busto at that level with only a couple of buyins. For your own well being mentally that is, chill out and stop trying to make your millions in a few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,502 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

i was actually after writing a reply to the prof's comment earlier and was just about to write one to the clamper but connection broke, here i go again

Other stuff:

1. lying about your hands - this was a source of great amusement on one occasion in particular. remember the time you whispered in mine and Tobin's ear "folded JJ, with the jack of clubs" on like a Ten hi board with all clubs, when sideshow bob and john quinn were giving big action. Needless to say, we were all in stitches when the Jack of clubs hit the board on the river. Having said this though, it's not really a skill/leak in your game as such, but amusing so I thought i'd mention it.

2. your baffling change from mega-rock to hyper-loose. I'm not sure what exactly brought this about, but this extreme change was certainly not a good idea for Macau live cash games. You went from folding too much, to literally making a move every time. This cost you money I would say.

3. your drunken sessions / blowups / pride in "acting the maggot" in a particular hand -- these things all add up, and can ultimately make the difference between being a decent winner (which i think you can be) and BUSTO! One of the first times I went onto boards, I saw those hands that you posted, the list of ones on paddypower with screenshots attached. They made me flinch in disgust. I was sickened by the apparent pride taken in having voluntarily made all these brutal -EV decisions. I don't know, maybe I can't judge as I have a tendency to chase/tilt worse than most. Still, I gotta say I hate the way you put on this whole "hahahha, just blew $800 by calling preflop with junk" or stuff along those lines. Whether you genuinely find it amusing, or its some sort of facade, I don't understand it.

Anyway, I've pretty much always told you these things anyway. Hope it doesn't come across as too harsh.
    nah, i would prefer comments like these than ones from people who see my posts and recommend a lot of crap even though they have never played with me
    that hand with the jacks will never be lived down i admit....
    but in fairness, pre-flop ye asked what i had, i said jacks, flop comes with 3 clubs, and then ye asked did you have the jack of clubs to which i replied something along the lines of "yeah i think i did, not positive but pretty sure"-typical response of mine.... i got it wrong :o:o

the whole rock to loose thing was boredom really, i hated being ultra tight and basically playing just the normal hands, and a bluff which i never told ye about which happened in the macau basically made me looser, i bluffed into a guy with over 2k in chips for all my stack, was the best move of my life and i got so much confidence that i thought i could try and take down a lot more pots after that....

and to be honest my regard for money is pretty disgusting... i admit it, i never thought i would be like this but i like to gamble a lot in cash games and in the long run i am almost always up over a week, i only think 2 weeks in the past year i was down.... which i dont consider anywhere near bad....
    and as for my reactions, lets face it. they are sick!!! i get over bad beats very quickly nowadays and i even enjoy them sometimes, i suck out on people and they suck out on me, its going to happen and its not the end of the world so you might as well have fun!!! :D hehehe

Im home from the SE and one of the lads reckoned you were a top notch player with killer instincts but had too much of a penchant for wanting to make a bravado call.
    thats actually the type of comment i was expecting, and in regards to waterford, totally true.....
    i dont think any of my reads were wrong in waterford, against albert in his queens hand i was kind of paying him off for a information, i know it sounds weird, but i was unsure what he had, i couldnt tell what he was going on, and the obvious choice was an overpair after he re-raises me preflop but i had a very healthy stack and i could afford to call, and there was always a chance i was ahead, but alas.... i wasnt :) hehe

p.s. top notch??? just trying to think who from boards would actually say that... lol
    i only have 2/3 to choose from, :). the rest no likey

and the bravado call was also bravado move, which cost me my tournament when i couldnt leave the pot go.... total truth in the statement

Hey man,

Flop is bet and u call

okay, knew this hand was gonna come up :) hehe
    and to start, i didnt call a big raise, im trying to remember exactly what it was but im pretty sure the blinds were 800-1500, i limp early enough with a-4 suited, i was involved in a lot of pots and had a lot of chips, was up and down like a yoyo...
    you raise to around 5k, and with ante's and sb and bb involved i was getting okay odds
    a lot of things come into my head and my thought process is actually(very surprising to others) very intricate... a lot of things come into play and between the amount you raised preflop, the amount you bet on the flop, the way you reacted to everything i did, and basically your body movement and everything else that my head uses(please dont mock this people :) ) i decide you have a pair under the 9's, and to be honest, i wasn't thinking 8's or 7's....
    i decide to call the flop to see the bet on the turn, you bet on the flop was weak in my eyes,
    when the turn comes i check and when you bet i was convinced that i could get you off it on the river, the right sized bet and i was sure i was taking the pot.
    also, flush draw on the flop, was going to represent if diamond hit....
    when i hit the straight on the river(2 spades) i instantly move all in and expect a call, i'm still putting you on 6's here,
    with the way ive been playing you are calling here, you don't put me on 2 pair or trips here because you know i like to make plays... and i got lucky here. but i didnt misread many situations in waterford at the weekend, apart from the last hand obviously,

and if i hadnt hit the straight on the river i was not going all in, but i was betting a certain amount which i had decided after calling on the turn

dougee19 wrote:
    okay, knew this hand was gonna come up :) hehe
    and to start, i didnt call a big raise, im trying to remember exactly what it was but im pretty sure the blinds were 800-1500, i limp early enough with a-4 suited, i was involved in a lot of pots and had a lot of chips, was up and down like a yoyo...
    you raise to around 5k, and with ante's and sb and bb involved i was getting okay odds
    a lot of things come into my head and my thought process is actually(very surprising to others) very intricate... a lot of things come into play and between the amount you raised preflop, the amount you bet on the flop, the way you reacted to everything i did, and basically your body movement and everything else that my head uses(please dont mock this people :) ) i decide you have a pair under the 9's, and to be honest, i wasn't thinking 8's or 7's....
    i decide to call the flop to see the bet on the turn, you bet on the flop was weak in my eyes,
    when the turn comes i check and when you bet i was convinced that i could get you off it on the river, the right sized bet and i was sure i was taking the pot.
    also, flush draw on the flop, was going to represent if diamond hit....
    when i hit the straight on the river(2 spades) i instantly move all in and expect a call, i'm still putting you on 6's here,
    with the way ive been playing you are calling here, you don't put me on 2 pair or trips here because you know i like to make plays... and i got lucky here. but i didnt misread many situations in waterford at the weekend, apart from the last hand obviously,

and if i hadnt hit the straight on the river i was not going all in, but i was betting a certain amount which i had decided after calling on the turn

Interesting - that wasn't me for the record, it was a mate of mine. He was fumming afterwards and called me telling about it. A few others i've talked to couldn't believe what you turned over on the river.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Jippo

O.K.; I know Dougee a bit and I thought I might give my angle.

I know this is deconstructing Dougee but I thought it might be good just to give a little of my own backgorund.

I am a poor player who plays for fun but enjoys a game. I sometimes play in the society game in college which is just a bit of craic really. I do O.K. and I'd say have gone probably 14 times and final tabled about five times (fields of average 70). I play at home in Kerry in the pub heads-up and that is just shooting fish in a barrel. Also about four or five times a year I head into the Macua for a few nights €1/2 action, which I always profit well in and only one night felt out of my depth. I'd probably like to play this game a lot more but my college and love life would collapse within the week so as I said I like to keep it to a few times a year. So yes I am no kind of standard but I like to think I know what is roughly going on.

First off I don't know much about PLO. I know Dougee used to play in the game in the Macau until it was broken up and he played quite alot online, certainly up until recently. From what I can gather, his play is rather eccentric to say the least. High variance style I suppose. I suppose PLO is considered a more difficult game and I think if he should either read up the theory or stick to the HE.

I understand that there is a lot of theory in HE also, but I think Dougee certainly has an inate talent and understanding of game theory (for tournaments) and I think his lack of theoretical knowledge is more than compensated for.

I have seen Dougee make outrageous plays and in my honest opinion, is able to back them up with describing, in his own words, intricate thoughts that he had during the hand. I think he has absolutely fantastic potential. Not that I know of course, but playing Dougee heads up you really feel he has the je ne sais quoit (??) that makes him an excellent poker player. The X-factor if you will.

Whilst I don't feel capable of making deep deconstructions on his game; which seems to be about taking advantage of various scenarios in a game, it's less rigid; I do feel qualified to say that his discipline and bankrolling are HORRENDOUS!!!

This dude really needs to sit down and figure out why he wants to play poker. If it's for fun drop levels. If you want to play the man; please improve. If it's for money you really need to tighten up you purse strings. Not that I know, but I think you have the capability of playing at the higher levels, and I think you can get a bankroll together quite easily. Do it ffs.

If you want you can play poker seriously. You need to spend some of your winnings and give yourself an appreciation of the wads of money your talent is earning.

I believe in you (lol :D:D:D:D:D )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭[nicK]

dougee19 wrote:
    when the turn comes i check and when you bet i was convinced that i could get you off it on the river
    dougee19 wrote:

so you could get him to call by pushing, and get him to fold by betting.. you sir, are a genius..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭SpermManJelly

Jippo wrote:
    I suppose PLO is considered a more difficult game and I think if he should either read up the theory or stick to the HE.

PLO is not considered a more difficult game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭semibluff

Lloyd - i think your post is harsh and unnecessary and probably founded on very little information.

I also think it was harsh - if it was to someone you know then it would be considered funny. But if you dont know Michael (??) then it was a bit much and looked condescending. Explain were he went wrong in the hand if you wish to help him improve, otherwise say nothing.

[nicK] wrote:
    so you could get him to call by pushing, and get him to fold by betting.. you sir, are a genius..
    i had been playing with him the whole day, and both the ways we were playing, me all in would seem like a panic bet to steal the pot after i missed my flush, thats why i was thinking he was calling the river
    if i bet a different amount i thought i would take down the pot, i explained this to the guy in the hand and he totally understood it, maybe if you played on the table you would too

Jippo wrote:
    O.K.; I know Dougee a bit and I thought I might give my angle.

I know this is deconstructing Dougee but I thought it might be good just to give a little of my own backgorund.

I am a poor player who plays for fun but enjoys a game. I sometimes play in the society game in college which is just a bit of craic really. I do O.K. and I'd say have gone probably 14 times and final tabled about five times (fields of average 70). I play at home in Kerry in the pub heads-up and that is just shooting fish in a barrel. Also about four or five times a year I head into the Macua for a few nights €1/2 action, which I always profit well in and only one night felt out of my depth. I'd probably like to play this game a lot more but my college and love life would collapse within the week so as I said I like to keep it to a few times a year. So yes I am no kind of standard but I like to think I know what is roughly going on.

First off I don't know much about PLO. I know Dougee used to play in the game in the Macau until it was broken up and he played quite alot online, certainly up until recently. From what I can gather, his play is rather eccentric to say the least. High variance style I suppose. I suppose PLO is considered a more difficult game and I think if he should either read up the theory or stick to the HE.

I understand that there is a lot of theory in HE also, but I think Dougee certainly has an inate talent and understanding of game theory (for tournaments) and I think his lack of theoretical knowledge is more than compensated for.

I have seen Dougee make outrageous plays and in my honest opinion, is able to back them up with describing, in his own words, intricate thoughts that he had during the hand. I think he has absolutely fantastic potential. Not that I know of course, but playing Dougee heads up you really feel he has the je ne sais quoit (??) that makes him an excellent poker player. The X-factor if you will.

Whilst I don't feel capable of making deep deconstructions on his game; which seems to be about taking advantage of various scenarios in a game, it's less rigid; I do feel qualified to say that his discipline and bankrolling are HORRENDOUS!!!

This dude really needs to sit down and figure out why he wants to play poker. If it's for fun drop levels. If you want to play the man; please improve. If it's for money you really need to tighten up you purse strings. Not that I know, but I think you have the capability of playing at the higher levels, and I think you can get a bankroll together quite easily. Do it ffs.

If you want you can play poker seriously. You need to spend some of your winnings and give yourself an appreciation of the wads of money your talent is earning.

I believe in you (lol :D:D:D:D:D )
    nice post jip, really appreciate it....
    and have actually been spending money lately, decided to splash out before the summer, and i fully admit my bankrolling was horrendous, and thats why i have the summer all set up, the challenge is going to be proper bankroll management the second i move into my new house, will have everything set up, and i really think this is going to work, might just be very optimistic but who knows, and thanks for all the compliments man, much appreciated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 TOURTHELANCE

Dougee did i just here some one say you were to tight? Ha Ha Ha as you said they definatly havent played against you in cork, My mate ckaresenal done the right thing in the waterford open and tryed to avoid you, Ur well above average in my opinun. Hows the 100k challange going?

a good start, up 4k from the first week of play, not doing too bad, trying to keep my blog updated but kinda hard when in an internet cafe, :0
    and thanks for the compliment, one of few on here :) hehe
    and was good playing against colm, was nice to play against someone who wasnt afraid to make plays, and i only saw the big plays done by the young guys, probably because we are new to this and dont realise that plays are needed so much in that stage, but really liked the fact he likes making a lot of moves and i tried avoiding pots with him unless necessary, or i wanted to make a move :) hehe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 TOURTHELANCE

Great start, Are you mainly playing on full tilt? I know its a nightmare geting the money out and their customer support service is a joke but thnk its a classy site with plenty of guys willing to lose their money especially in the omaha games, Must get going on it again cashed out nice from it afew months back.

yeah im mainly on ft, and my account has been banned from withdrawals because i havent proven my identity even thought i sent it
    i know have my pp account closed(as of today, with 3k+ inside), pokerstars account, and full tilt stopping money being withdrawn, bit of a farse but i will get through it....
    if you see me playing write some stuff here about my play.. i like hearing how people consider my game(p.s. im a total gambler online cash)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Matt Santos

Dougee,
    I would not imagine that you can remember playing with me but I recognise you from the photos in Waterford. I have played with you in the Macau and would agree with most of the points made on this thread. Actually I am surprised that the community of Poker in the country can be so honest to its fellow players!
    1st The points that The Prof makes are very true. You were always buying in for €50 and trying to build it up in the hope that you never had to go all in with your complete bank roll. This sent a message to me when I saw you gettin busted umpteen times and re-buying for a miserable 50 blahs!!
    2nd The point that you are probably trying to punch over your weight is a true point also. Saw you losing a nice pot of €600 ish on a river card after you had pushed and it must have took you 20 minutes to cool down. It seems you know now that that is poker and you gotta take the good with the bad but it smelled of rent money lost by the way you reacted!! If you can't afford to losse it dont bet it..
    3rd The admission that you get bored with the game and become looser as a result is a shocking state to be in. I think that as soon as this is creeping into your game get up from the table and have a walk about. This used to happen to me all the time and because I dont smoke I had nothing to be doing. Find something that you NEED to do when you feel boredom affecting your play.
    4th I would not take it to heart when the boys ribbed you about that jack of Clubs hand. You are young and maybe you like to talk a little trash with the others at a table. It is something that is used as a great weapon at appropriate times but not something to occupy you ahead of boredom.

Overall, you have game. That was proved by going deep in Waterford but you have weakness that needs work. Personally, I can remember getting a proper read off you when you have a made hand and that needs to be worked on but you have a huge interest and obviously the time to put it in so best of luck.

Matt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

I played with Dougee for a good bit on day 2 of the Waterford Open when we were both deep stacked with about 40 players left. I was impressed by his play and his table demeanour, he's a really sound bloke and is good fun at the table, very easy to talk to and just an easy going funny guy in general.

I thought you limped too much though Dougee with marginal hands, and you definitely find it hard to fold sometimes. Also you like to make big dramatic plays against other deep stacks, either calls or bluffs, which I don't think are necessary alot of the time. Overall I think you read the game very well and you've got a talent for picking up tells on people/ figuring out where you are in a hand. I do think you do need to do a bit of work on the basics though and I'm sure your profits will shoot up. GL with it,

Dave

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭busted flush

bank roll managment is very important alright michael!
    im not the may west myself but by the sounds of it your very bad.

Dougee,
    I would not imagine that you can remember playing with me but I recognise you from the photos in Waterford. I have played with you in the Macau and would agree with most of the points made on this thread. Actually I am surprised that the community of Poker in the country can be so honest to its fellow players!
    1st The points that The Prof makes are very true. You were always buying in for €50 and trying to build it up in the hope that you never had to go all in with your complete bank roll. This sent a message to me when I saw you gettin busted umpteen times and re-buying for a miserable 50 blahs!!
    2nd The point that you are probably trying to punch over your weight is a true point also. Saw you losing a nice pot of €600 ish on a river card after you had pushed and it must have took you 20 minutes to cool down. It seems you know now that that is poker and you gotta take the good with the bad but it smelled of rent money lost by the way you reacted!! If you can't afford to losse it dont bet it..
    3rd The admission that you get bored with the game and become looser as a result is a shocking state to be in. I think that as soon as this is creeping into your game get up from the table and have a walk about. This used to happen to me all the time and because I dont smoke I had nothing to be doing. Find something that you NEED to do when you feel boredom affecting your play.
    4th I would not take it to heart when the boys ribbed you about that jack of Clubs hand. You are young and maybe you like to talk a little trash with the others at a table. It is something that is used as a great weapon at appropriate times but not something to occupy you ahead of boredom.

Overall, you have game. That was proved by going deep in Waterford but you have weakness that needs work. Personally, I can remember getting a proper read off you when you have a made hand and that needs to be worked on but you have a huge interest and obviously the time to put it in so best of luck.

Matt
    1. i like the mimimum buyin in live cash games... i tend to get bored easily and would prefer to blow a little amount than a lot, online the buyin is the proper amount and even the cash game in waterford was the proper amount, just dont like buying in big in little cash games cause dont see the point... just a personal opinion
    2. and as for that pot, that was obviously earlier in my playing days... i generally dont over react when losing a big pot and i have many witnesses for that.. must have either been when i needed the money or was having a horrible run of cards/luck :) hehe
    3. i have worked on this lately, the waterford tournament has really helped me, i realise where im going wrong in some parts of my game and expect to prove that!!

and as for your tell, i admit in my first few months(5 i think) i had an obvious tell when i had a big hand.... all gone now though... realised it one night when i was playing there, now i use it to my advantage... :) hehe

thanks for the comment