Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nominations for TCD Boards Awards (p.s. there may be beer involved)

• 16-05-2007 10:37AM

Shall we settle on these nominations?
    1. Best Mod
    2. Thread Of the Year
    3. Best comeback
    4. Best picture posted
    5. Rant of the Year
    6. Woohoo of the Year
    7. Best New Poster
    8. Antagonist of the Year
    9. Biggest Hack
    10. Biggest Spammer (but in a 'we love you' way)
    11. Most helpful poster
    12. Biggest ****up.
    13. Best lurker
    14. Poster of the Year

Two nominations of mine...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Myth wrote:
    3. Best comeback

5. Rant of the Year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭King.Penguin

hahah I agree, I just read the reply there.

+2

1. Best Mod
    Apexaviour
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/member.php?find=lastposter&t=2054977613

2. Thread Of the Year
    What are you Listening to/Watching/Touching right now
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054955874

3. Best comeback
    Rob's

4. Best picture posted
    That cat picture that was posted (by myth?)

5. Rant of the Year
    Rob's

6. Woohoo of the Year
    Ibid's baby
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=53056009&postcount=3175

7. Best New Poster
    nikolaitr
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/member.php?find=lastposter&t=2055091697

Pet

9. Biggest Hack
    Ibid

10. Biggest Spammer
    Agent_smith

11. Most helpful poster
    Myth
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/member.php?u=30324

12. Biggest ****up.
    Flag pole climber
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055076669

13. Best lurker
    Chick

14. Poster of the Year
    Stargal

15. Event of the year
    boards.ie/tcd 5-(four) football

Should be put up nominations, and then have voting sent to Crash or Apexaviour on these nominations? Last year I couldn't think of various categories, might be helpful to have a 'suggested list'.

My further nominations... (note, this doesn't represent how I'm going to vote)
    1. Best Mod - Nietzschean
    2. Thread Of the Year - UCD(D) open day literature.
    4. Best picture posted - Between this: Poor Provost, from paperclip's post, and this by Crash.
    6. Woohoo of the Year - Crash. Same as above.
    7. Best New Poster - Although not strictly now, I nominate b.ie polar. Has been more active this year.
    8. Antagonist of the Year - Dead Ed. In a good way.
    9. Biggest Hack - Kev. Just so he is nominated for something.
    10. Biggest Spammer (but in a 'we love you' way) - Ibid. No idea why, but there you go. /edit, after seeing Kev's post I'll second agent smith :p
    11. Most helpful poster - Apex.
    12. Biggest ****up - Not sure on this one...
    13. Best lurker - Emma Stokes and her band of Assistant Junior Deans!
    14. Poster of the Year - Shay_562

Myth wrote:
    13. Best lurker - Emma Stokes and her band of Assistant Junior Deans!
    Ha! careful now, whips at high noon and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭shay_562

A few other nominations I'd like to throw into the hat:

1. Best Mod - crash_000

3. Best comeback/4. Best picture posted - I have absolutely no idea where it was, but Ibid's "The Internet - Serious Business!!" picture made me hurt my lungs laughing, while simultaneously shutting up the other person completely, and so deserves a nomination in both.

7. Best New Poster - paperclip, for the stalker-y hilarity.

8. Antagonist of the Year - Sangre

9. Biggest Hack - awayindahils

13. Best lurker - Zachary Taylor

14. Poster of the Year - Ibid

1. Best Mod
    Neil.. only cause I don't know the other one

3. Best comeback
    Rob's

5. Rant of the Year
    Rob's

PHB - we're never going to see eye to eye over this gym thing

9. Biggest Hack
    Awayindahills

11. Most helpful poster
    Myth

12. Biggest ****up.
    Flag pole climber
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055076669

13. Best lurker
    Europerson

14. Poster of the Year
    Dead Ed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

1. Best Mod - Dec
    2. Thread Of the Year - 101 Things to Do in Trinity
    3. Best comeback - Fulfilling the tradition of angry Education Officer: DangerBob
    4. Best picture posted - hegartyjohn2copyfx3.jpg or College Park Underwater Cricket
    5. Rant of the Year - This, or eh, this :o
    6. Woohoo of the Year - Dunno
    7. Best New Poster - Eh, do we have any? Nashi maybe?
    8. Antagonist of the Year - Dead Ed (in the rock on way), Spectator or lydonst in the piss off way
    9. Biggest Hack - Hils
    10. Biggest Spammer (but in a 'we love you' way) - Hils (for all those emails)
    11. Most helpful poster - B.ie polar
    12. Biggest ****up - Gob****e in the Pav, or JMcG getting caught with a couple of accounts ;)
    13. Best lurker - Emma Stokes - Hi baby! xx
    14. Poster of the Year - Vote Ibid number 1!

New awards:
    Best alumnus?

Oh and shay_562, pretty sure the funny photo pic was here but was on Feedback.

Ibid wrote:
    Oh and shay_562, pretty sure the funny photo pic was here but was on Feedback.

Hee! Yeah, that was the one. But not on TCD boards, so never mind - nominations duly withdrawn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Ibid wrote:
    College Park Underwater Cricket

you mean this one?

trinitycricketaq4.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

Ibid wrote:
    11. Most helpful poster - B.ie polar
    Please show me one example where I have been in any way helpful to anyone on boards. If evidence is not forthcoming, I ask that my name be withdrawn.

Actually, you needn't bother because I'm never talking to you again for naming The Poster Formerly Known As Original Psycho best n00b over me.

Oh, and voting for yourself for best poster is ghey.

I'll nominate when I'm more sober.

b.ie polar wrote:
    Actually, you needn't bother because I'm never talking to you again for naming The Poster Formerly Known As Original Psycho best n00b over me.

What can I say? I've got great hair!

iainnash wrote:
    What can I say? I've got great hair!
    I can't argue with that. I'm not mad at you - how could I be angry at that quiff? - I'm mad at this situation that has come between us.

Besides, my new hair-schmig combo makes me look French!

b.ie polar wrote:
    Please show me one example where I have been in any way helpful to anyone on boards. If evidence is not forthcoming, I ask that my name be withdrawn.
    The really **** week I had: you offered to compliment me on my pleasant neck.
    He's not in bold, it wasn't a naming, it was a wtf is eligible question.
    Oh, and voting for yourself for best poster is ghey.
    Tote. But I want to win something other than Best Hack or Best Spammer.
    I'll nominate when I'm more sober.
    I've had an awfully **** day - apologies for not answer my ever-silent phone to people - so I think more alcohol sounds like a fantastic option. My parents are away in Sardinia for the week so I've got books and guitars keeping me company. Stratty is in the spare bed, Bassy is in the other spare bed, Modern Labour Economics is propped up against a chair at the dinner table with a plate and cutlery looking at the menu that only consists of "Unions". Economic Development sits opposite it perusing the menu consisting of "Modern capitalism". They shall both be devoured.

Free Guinness up for grabs in the Ibid household tonight \o/.

Another additional to the most helpful poster - Tacitha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

Yeah, Tacitha, or Dubliniensis, who seems to always pop up when there's a question about medicine - maybe both should also be considered for best lurker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

Tacitha isn't really a lurker, s/he always pops up in interesting threads. Most helpful maybe, as Myth said?

presumably Dubliniensis is a dental student? As in Candida dubliniensis or as I like to call it Mouth-thrush, first identifed by the Trinity Dental School.

That's what I thought, but s/he seems to only pop in to give advice about medicine, so I assume med student. Or, really bitter, I-wish-I'd-gotten-those-extra-twenty-points dentist, possibly..But s/he is helpful in any case. Helpful lurker category, maybe?

Ibid wrote:
    13. Best lurker - Emma Stokes - Hi baby! xx
    Sexytime!

Ibid wrote:
    Free Guinness up for grabs in the Ibid household tonight \o/.
    Sorry I missed that. Can't remember too much of last night. I'm well impressed with my sensical posting, though. Woke up with my dog on top of me.

n00b = anyone who wasn't around for the last awards, presumably.

Whats with all the equivocating going on here? Just fuppin vote already.

Best Mod: Ape
    Best Thread: The woohoo one. It makes me feel happy.
    Best Comback: Me to crash because it was GOOOOD.
    Best Picture: [url=https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/24369/34526.jpg[/url], because of the sentimental value
    Best Rant: Dec protecting the honour and glory of Physoc.
    Best WooHoo: Pet and his shoes, because it actually changed the direction of my life and the lives of those around me
    Best New Poster: I haven't been around long enough to know who is new and who isn't
    Best Antogonist: Right Side. The only time I've actually gotten angry while here.
    Biggest Hack: Awayinda
    Biggest Spammer: Wesclark for trying to raise interest in the Record.
    Most Helpful: Myth
    Biggest ****-up: Flag-pole man
    Best Lurker: JD's Minion
    Poster of the Year: Deadward Edward

1. Best Mod: Dec (Apex), for always rolling cigarettes for me
    2. Thread Of the Year: Copying photos from an SD card; it was the quintessential TCD board thread--offers of help and advice, and, purpose served, turning quickly into witty tangential discussion. Whoah, I nearly said "banter". Phew, that was close.
    3. Best comeback: Laika's "Is that some sort of stream-of-consciousness ramble?" (seems to have been deleted now)
    4. Best picture posted: Any of those posted in this thread.
    5. Rant of the Year: Myth's mute yizzer ****in' laptops thread.
    6. Woohoo of the Year shay's sickeningly joyful one about everything going right for him. Still had to feel some warmth 'twixt the bitterness and cynicism.
    7. Best New Poster: Iunno.
    8. Antagonist of the Year Kev
    9. Biggest Hack awayindahils. She spends more time in House 6 than I do, and that's pretty bad.
    10. Biggest Spammer (but in a 'we love you' way): Probably me
    11. Most helpful poster Myth or Educat, perhaps Tacitha too
    12. Biggest ****up: Pav Flagpole Dude
    13. Best lurker: The JD and her crew or EduBob
    14. Poster of the Year: dunno.

b.ie polar wrote:
    Woke up with my dog on top of me.
    He's a seductive devil. Fills you up on the Cava and melts your heart with his soothing tones and promises of bringing him for walkies on faraway beaches.

The nominations from the Aryan* jury are as follows:

1. Best Mod: Young Declan (apex to those unfamiliar with his unfortunate and crippling gingerness), may his name be praised!

2. Best Thread: The exams one. because I don't have to do them anymore!

3. Best Comeback: Dangerbob, for proving that sabattical officers aren't the spineless bunch I'd given them to be.

4. Best Picture: This one. Ed does photoshop, results please him greatly. He will reward himself with buckfast and watching Saxon in the TBMC this evening.

5. Best Rant: Jazus I dunno, short memory and all. I suppose young Ronan (Pet to those unfamiliar with his dyed hair and shaven eyebrows) pulls together a good string quartet of bile, when he has a legitimate complaint ;)

6. Best WooHoo: Again, not too many things stick in mind. one of the more amusing one was Enda's (Ibid to those unfamiliar with his army of blueshirts) attachment to the newborn kid. It's normally women of that age that get the "oh it's so cute, can I have one please? pretty please?" "no, *Slap*!". This has far reaching implications in the area of gender issues and as such is worthy in this regard for it's social consequences.

7. Best New Poster: Who's new? Is Nash new? **** it, we'll feed his ego and stop just at the point where that wedge of hair consumes us all. Iain, Is your maternal grandfather bald?

8. Best Antogonist: Hmmm, Ronan again. For constantly reminding us what a bitter struggle life really is!

9. Biggest Hack: ****, Enda obviously, a career in "who you know" is soon to follow!

10. Biggest Spammer: No Idea. I suppose Kev needs to get something

11. Most Helpful: I don't need help because I'm a man and wouldn't know about this sort of thing.

12. Biggest ****-up: Allowing Evil John depart to Oxford

13 Best Lurker: Yer one with the face with the slight but attractive ageing whose name I can't mention on this external site because she has an annoying habit of trying to police remotely her students. It's ok because I'm not posting this from a college computer!

Otherwise, I dunno. I hope me superiors don't read these things.

14.Poster of the Year: Myth, for residing in a strange plane of consciousness. May his crops grow strong!

Can't think of eurovision-style joke.

*not blonde

Pet wrote:
    9. Biggest Hack awayindahils. She spends more time in House 6 than I do, and that's pretty bad.

Oh come on, the guy who ran for a sabbat position, has been an SU hack for 3 years now, and is now treasurer of two societies DOESNT get biggest hack?

ffs, just cus she has a funnier name than me :(

Dead Ed wrote:
    Iain, Is your maternal grandfather bald?

Yes.... and worringly there is a patch starting to show :( :eek: :( :eek: :confused:

But you know what they say..

Better to have loved and lost then have gone through all of your life with crap hair

iainnash wrote:
    Yes.... and worringly there is a patch starting to show :( :eek: :( :eek: :confused:

But you know what they say..

Better to have loved and lost then have gone through all of your life with crap hair
    DOOMED! My maternal grandfather is both bald and dead so I'm completely screwed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

1. Best Mod: Hullabaloo(still considers himself cmod of edu)

2. Best Thread: The exams one. because I don't have to do them anymore!

3. Best Comeback: Dangerbob

4. Best Picture: meh don't remember

5. Best Rant: So many rants to choose from, none i remember. I'm going to have to say Ed just cause i'm sure there was some good one in there...

6. Best WooHoo: Ibid/newborn kid

7. Best New Poster: The stalker herself, paperclip

8. Best Antogonist: Apex, i think he's been working on it

9. Biggest Hack: Crash

10. Biggest Spammer: Myth

11. Most Helpful: Myth

12. Biggest ****-up: king.penguin just to nominate him for something

13 Best Lurker: Yer one

14.Poster of the Year: Pet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

They all have lovely bottoms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

bah meddling mod, infairness who here doesn't know who neil or donal are? even emma is bound to at this point.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

1. Best Mod: Nietzchaen, okay so he wasn't for the whole year, but I happen to like the aul' iron fist, it's hot. Also he made all the tough decisions I hate making, with ne'er a bother.
    2. Thread Of the Year: Late night can't sleep conversations one. - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055036526
    3. Best comeback: One of Ded_Eads anyway, I can't remember what it was... It gave me an image of him saluting on top of a cloud raining down a stream of rationally thought out, intolerant fire and brimstone upon his would-be challenger.
    4. Best picture posted: IMO there wasn't any... sorry but my standards are high and my sense of humour askew from the norm.
    5. Rant of the Year: Myth's mute yizzer ****in' laptops thread.
    6. Woohoo of the Year: Shay's one. It was so horribly upbeat you just want to strangle him. Yet, for the fact it impacted so much I must give him credit.
    7. Best New Poster: "Every breath you take, every move you make...." Paperclip of course
    8. Antagonist of the Year Zwei_vier_Zwei
    9. Biggest Hack Crash... I loved his big emotive rant about how it pisses him off so much that the general student population is not getting involved in the SU etc. It made me giggle inside at his total conditioning with SU dogma. When we all know it's not such a big deal. My class rep is the best ever: he photocopies notes, organises tutorials, sets up nights out, badgers lecturers about problem sheets, sits in on faculty meetings etc. But doesn't seem to give a hoot about the SU council.... okay maybe went on a bit too much about that.
    10. Biggest Spammer: King.Penguin, without a doubt...
    11. Most helpful poster Myth or Educat
    12. Biggest ****up: On boards? None that spring to mind...
    13. Best lurker: JD's minions
    14. Poster of the Year: Pet

Whats the deal with 'JD minions'?

Is she really checking this forum out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Awayindahils

Last year didn't we send our nominations/votes to one of the mods? Oh and dates people dates.

It's soo very odd that shay is appearing for the best wohoo..i mean he's so sarky and moany, and bitchy, and gmb-y and....

iainnash wrote:
    Whats the deal with 'JD minions'?

Is she really checking this forum out?
    Apparently so, but lets not dwell on that.
    bah meddling mod, infairness who here doesn't know who neil or donal are?
    Simple, new posters. People I'd rather not exclude by being cliquey, okay.

ApeXaviour wrote:
    9. Biggest Hack Crash... I loved his big emotive rant about how it pisses him off so much that the general student population is not getting involved in the SU etc. It made me giggle inside at his total conditioning with SU dogma. When we all know it's not such a big deal. My class rep is the best ever: he photocopies notes, organises tutorials, sets up nights out, badgers lecturers about problem sheets, sits in on faculty meetings etc. But doesn't seem to give a hoot about the SU council.... okay maybe went on a bit too much about that.

I vaguely resent that - If you ask certain people you'll understand actually just how much I really hate the SU at times, and how it runs itself (over the last 3 years) - i'm just an optimist ;)

Some bitch wrote:
    It's soo very odd that shay is appearing for the best wohoo..i mean he's so sarky and moany, and bitchy, and gmb-y and....

Love you too Hils. *sniff* At least ApeXaviour appreciates me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,212 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

I've clearly made a lasting impact on this place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 jimmynn

Myth wrote:
    Shall we settle on these nominations?
    Two nominations of mine...

Best comeback

Hardly a comeback now since my initial post was neither a response to a post of his or mentioned him in it in any form.
    Myth wrote:

Well at least it qualifies for that.

For anyone who's interested , my own personal respone to the post above is here . I'm biased but I think it's fairly definitive.

To be honest with you my short life as a poster to boards.ie is over. No offence but it just seems to be the same few random names with their 8000 odd posts and their own little cliques and stubborn self opinionated views. I haven't seen any discussions, only people spouting their own personal opinions. In any case I think you are preaching to the converted one way or the other. In response to my first post I got verbally abused. My original post did agree with a sentence another poster made calling themselves an idiot yet that was removed by someone. I didn't just call him an idiot out of the blue. A respone to my post called me a "tool" . Fair enough, that's his opinion but mine was moderated for the reason " No personal abuse..." and his wasn't and still hasn't been.I don't want it to be moderated but I didn't want mine to be either.I'd regard "tool" as a worse insult that idiot. So you can keep your little closed shop and stay here **** away as if it matters and slapping yourselves on the back.

Jimmy, you're getting a bit emotional about this, don't take the internet so seriously! You're right it's easy to view this forum as a cliquey in-jokey kinda place but if you stick with it/us I'm sure you'll gradually come to like it/us (assuming you don't get banned for implying we're all **** ;) )

I think it's very easy for discussions to become arguments and arguments become emotive rows on the internet just due to the limitations of the medium. There is a "boards beer" event organised for some time in late May/early June you should drop up. It's an opportunity to meet some of the people here and put a name to the face/avatar.

I actually think the whole sports levy discussion was rather futile in many ways. Doesn't matter now, it's over now anyway.

<3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

jimmynn wrote:
    To be honest with you my short life as a poster to boards.ie is over. No offence but it just seems to be the same few random names with their 8000 odd posts and their own little cliques and stubborn self opinionated views. I haven't seen any discussions, only people spouting their own personal opinions. In any case I think you are preaching to the converted one way or the other. In response to my first post I got verbally abused. My original post did agree with a sentence another poster made calling themselves an idiot yet that was removed by someone. I didn't just call him an idiot out of the blue. A respone to my post called me a "tool" . Fair enough, that's his opinion but mine was moderated for the reason " No personal abuse..." and his wasn't and still hasn't been.I don't want it to be moderated but I didn't want mine to be either.I'd regard "tool" as a worse insult that idiot. So you can keep your little closed shop and stay here **** away as if it matters and slapping yourselves on the back.

Come on, don't give up on it that easily!

I think weighing in on such a contentious issue as the sports centre may have tainted your views of this forum; I've only skimmed it cos frankly it seems to be going around in circles, but it seems like a lot of the posters were convinced that they were correct and therefore everyone else was wrong, and as a result there was no debate, just arguments. There are loads of other threads which are actually interesting, lively and informative.

You can always report the post where someone called you a tool, which means that one of the mods will look at your complaint and decide how to deal with it. Alternatively you could PM one of the mods and ask them why they made the decisions that they did - at least that way you'd know exactly why something was done, rather than just giving out about it (sorry, hope you know what I mean there and that it doesn't sound too harsh).

And back-slapping and ****? Really? I've been here five years and I've never had my back-slapped or... well I'll leave it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

It's always amusing to see people insulting people on the internet, because they are weirdos who post on the internet :)
    Also, that must be your last post like 3 times now, that said, you probably won't see this, right :)

Laika wrote:
    You can always report the post where someone called you a tool, which means that one of the mods will look at your complaint and decide how to deal with it.
    Aye that's what happened with regard your post jimmy, someone reported it, I saw it and edited. I don't read through every post (kinda busy with ye olde finals starting monday), and especially unnecessarily emotive ranting ones like the sports levy thread. So I rely on people to report things and hence didn't notice the tool comment. Crash, I assume, is similarly busy.

The cliqueyness is something I'm attempting to crack down on, if people know each other outside this that's fair enough, but it's not okay to be exclusive. I don't like it and laika has expressed her distaste for it too.

Lastly as everyone has said, there's no need to take it all too seriously. It's only an internet board.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭syberspud

seriousbusiness.jpg

Eh, to be fair, the place is cliqueish. Everywhere is cliqueish. Any group of people who regularly talk or hang out, whether in real life or on a message board, will inevitably develop a more chatty manner, in-jokes, references that people who haven't been around that long may not understand etc. If something is cliquey to the point that you can't penetrate it, that's bad, but I don't think this place is like that. Anyone who posts vaguely frequently and has the slightest bit of cop-on will fit in just fine.

Meh.. I only a couple of people here in real life... its not that bad.

shay_562 wrote:
    can't penetrate it
    hehe

i think i've met shay_1234 before but I'm not sure. Are you the guy that came with Hilary to the boards beer last year? I only met Iain once and that was only a few weeks ago. I've never met b.ie polar either, or PHB, or Tacitia, or Sangre.

iainnash wrote:
    Meh.. I only a couple of people here in real life... its not that bad.
    LIAR! Those that I know you know include myself, ibid, europerson, Myth, and Awayindahils.

5>a couple

You're an internet nerd. Admit it and move on.

Your new hair makes you mean... :(

Not only that but it makes him look like a cheese-eating surrender-monkey.

ApeXaviour wrote:
    Not only that but it makes him look like a cheese-eating surrender-monkey.
    Less of the cliquish comments there, welcoming boy!