Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

whats your view on tipping

• 14-05-2007 6:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭burnedfaceman

just wondering what peoples views are in relation to tipping when eating out, i personally dont ever tip more than a fiver no matter where i eat and wouldnt give that amount unless i felt waiter has done a good job. i dont feel any obligation to have to supplement peoples wages in the service industry. if any waiter ever stands over me waiting with a credit card machine i dont tip either. am i alone on this issue or has everyone conformed to this ridicilous american trait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,126 ✭✭✭homah_7ft

Tipping works in America because the service workers know they can make a decent wage if they give good service. Here tipping is seen as extra money and with crappy service to boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

I don't tip. Unless its in TGI Fridays when the waiters been good.

Any pressure to make me tip like using those silly little trays will result in no tip. Also i hate a smarmey waiter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Never heard of tipping until I moved to America in 2005, normally tip well enough but yesterday left a cent on the table in disgust of the service. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Lorax

I dont tip.
    I dont "agree" with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭Tchocky

Every time I go out I forget.....thinking drink is cheap, then getting six singles back from the barman

oh yeah

Ruu wrote:
    Never heard of tipping until I moved to America in 2005, normally tip well enough but yesterday left a cent on the table in disgust of the service. :)
    Haha. Then they know you didn't forget to tip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Tipping annoys the hell out of me. Waiters / waitresses have it handy when it comes to working in a restaurant. Try working in a kitchen. You'd know all about hard work after a stint in the kitchen.
    Dont know how I'm going to get away without tipping next week. Is it frowned upon much (not tipping) in New York?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I wouldn't tip. Why does the waiter/ess expect to get money but the chef and porter get nothing? This can't be right. The chef may be on decent money not the kitchen porter.
    Hence, I've no guilt about not tipping.

The service staff are sly.
    For instance, if you pay cash and get €20 change, I gurantee you'll never get back a €20 note. It'll be fivers and coins.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Ruu wrote:
    Methinks the servers call that a "burn" or something, knowing that you did not forget about the tip? Ooooooooo, and all this time I thought Ruu was one of those "turn the other cheek" lads? Ha! Pretty cheeky of you Ruu!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Nordie

A lot of the places pay badly for long hours and hard work. I always tip but it depends on the service as to how much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭burnedfaceman

stepbar wrote:
    Dont know how I'm going to get away without tipping next week. Is it frowned upon much (not tipping) in New York?

you will be grand not to tip once you dont plan on going back to eat there at least thats how i rolled when i spent the summer there:D :D

barmen of all people expect to be tipped there too what a joke, order big and tip a dollar otherwise they expect a dollar a drink the fcukers. often didnt tip barmen either when over there and is busy bars they burn you and will serve anyone but you in the place

What a bunch of cheapskates . :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

homah_7ft wrote:
    Haha. Then they know you didn't forget to tip.

This lad was taking the michael altogether (maybe he was having bad day or something). I sat down for about 10 seconds after getting in, he never asked me what I wanted to drink. Just slammed 2 glasses of water on the table and took out his notepad and stared at me. I asked for a few minutes to look through the menu, he stormed off and came back in about a minute with his notepad in hand.

Wife and I ordered, food took forever and when it did come he never checked on us throughout the whole meal. Never gave us a bill and when I waved him down looking for it, he just gave the 'talk to the hand' thing.:D I had enough at that stage and got out of there and I informed the person at the till that they need better staff. I laugh at it now when I think of it.

Ruu wrote:
    This lad was taking the michael altogether (maybe he was having bad day or something). I sat down for about 10 seconds after getting in, he never asked me what I wanted to drink. Just slammed 2 glasses of water on the table and took out his notepad and stared at me. I asked for a few minutes to look through the menu, he stormed off and came back in about a minute with his notepad in hand.

Wife and I ordered, food took forever and when it did come he never checked on us throughout the whole meal. Never gave us a bill and when I waved him down looking for it, he just gave the 'talk to the hand' thing.:D I had enough at that stage and got out of there and I informed the person at the till that they need better staff. I laugh at it now when I think of it.
    Sounds like you over-tipped. Some canadian coin wouldn't have gone astray.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Never. Don't like your pay rate? Get a better paid job.

...and I worked as a barman for a few years way back when...if someone wants to tip then fine, I was happy enough doing my job and getting paid by my employer, anything else was abonus but I never expected it nor did I make a point of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

I'll tip if I feel the waiting staff put in the effort. Likewise if I serve someone a big round of drinks I'd kinda expect to be given a tip. I wouldn't expect it if it was just a few pints, but if I made a few cocktails or shots I'd like a little extra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

I tip only when they deserve it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭beanyb

I'll tip in the States or Canada because they do get paid really really badly. But in Ireland they can piss off. They're getting at least minimum wage, and hardly anyone is actually on minimum wage. They dont need the tips to survive - they actually do in the States.

I really resent tipping barmen though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭K!LL!@N

The standard way to tip in California seems to be to double whatever the tax is.
    That's what I've been doing for the last year anyway.

It's a weird situation though.
    The actual wage that servers get in restaurants is low but they can make a killing on the tips.
    There wouldn't be many people who don't tip here.
    If you worked in a busy restaurant you'd be coming out with a pretty decent amount at the end of the night.

I've noticed a few places recently that actually had a sign saying not to tip.
    They must pay their staff better than other places.

Killian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Alter-Ego wrote:
    I don't tip. Unless its in TGI Fridays when the waiters been good.

Service charge is already included in the bill....

I tip if I like the waiter and they did a good job, if not I won't. Simple as.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Mrs. MacGyver

My boyfriend always tips usually 10 per cent (after my mother gave him a lecture on how hard waiting staff worked for their money ...she used to be waitress).

Personallly, I never do tip myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭Trouble

I can't believe everyone is so tight.... I always tip unless the service is bad enough to stop me. Minimum wage is ****e in Ireland compared with the cost of living and all that, and I think that it is disgraceful when people don't tip. And as for leaving a fiver no matter what the bill is?!?!?! I don't understand some people, I always leave at least 10% and up to 15% is service is fantastic.
    A lot of waiting staff on minimum wage work a lot longer than thier 8 hours shift and don't get paid overtime, afaik, and tips is what keeps them going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Cos88

My aunt lives in New York and works in 2 bars down around the East Village, so next time you're in the area call in and give red-haired waitress with frizzy hair a very generous tip!

I think it's more important to tip when the wages are poor, that's not really the case in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Tip if the service is good, or you are going to go back to the place so theyll remember you. It's not entirely necessary over here, what with minimum wage and everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I'd tip the pizza delivery guy if it was fast (even though he don't make the pizza). If I'm at a bar and want good service rest of the evening I give a big tip on the first drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Myself and the wife used to drink in a bar in NY and we tipped the waiter a dollar for every round he served. Every third round he threw pints up 'on the house' which worked out cheaper than buying 3 rounds without tipping so obviously I was all for it.

In Ireland I never tip unless the service is worthy of it. If the food is crap or the service sh1t then I couldn't be ar$ed. If it's good then I'll tip - but I'll never tip more than 10% of the total (max €10). If 'service charge is included' the I wouldn't hand over a penny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Laslo

I tip waiting staff in restaurants on the occassion that I eat out - because it's the done thing I suppose. If the service comes with a bad attitude or the food is crap, then I won't tip.

I don't tip for any other services - pizza delivery, barmen, taxi drivers, etc. Sorry, but I just can't afford to give away free money. Personally, I think the concept is ludicrous. Even in restaurants - I do it out of habit. Why should customers need to pay waiting staff extra because the restaurants won't pay them properly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Trouble wrote:
    I can't believe everyone is so tight.... I always tip unless the service is bad enough to stop me. etc....
    A lot of waiting staff on minimum wage work a lot longer than thier 8 hours shift and don't get paid overtime, afaik, and tips is what keeps them going.

And a lot of us non waitressing folk earn minumum wage and cant afford to pay a 60e meal plus a 10e tip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

dont agree with tipping without discretion in restaurants.
    what do the women here feel about tipping hairdressers? usually feel pressured into leaving a tenner after forking out 130 for cut and colour. hate doing it, but am afraid will be blacklisted if i dont....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I wont tip anyone that makes more money than I do :)

so I dont tip :D unless the service was above call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭ctc_celtic

in the hotel where i work, i see the members of staff that care about their job and put in the effort, get more tips.
    tipping is just a personal thing and you shouldn't be made to feel you have to tip.

i'll always tip if I'm happy with the service, usually 10%.
    i was on the other end of it for long enough so i glad to give a bit extra for good service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Attol

Trouble wrote:
    I can't believe everyone is so tight.... I always tip unless the service is bad enough to stop me. Minimum wage is ****e in Ireland compared with the cost of living and all that, and I think that it is disgraceful when people don't tip. And as for leaving a fiver no matter what the bill is?!?!?! I don't understand some people, I always leave at least 10% and up to 15% is service is fantastic.

And people in shops...? Been there, done that. You've a lot more customers to deal with in a shop tbh. Why should I tip when they're probably earning more than me for doing pretty much the exact same job, if not an easier one? People in restaurants seem to have more time to hide from the customers and chat to each other. Also people appear to treat them with more respect. It makes no sense to me.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I always tip the dealer when I win a pot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

Personally I always tip (for meals anyway) and if service is very good I leave a little more maybe 20% sometimes - also if I'm on holidays in an apartment complex or hotel I'll usually leave a tip for the cleaning lady. Whatever about when you're out on your own or with another person, what pees me off is when you're out with a crowd and none of the bastids can be ar$ed to leave a tip - a big table is a lot of work for waiting staff and why people can't chip in and leave a decent tip is beyond me - I always embarrass everyone into leaving a good share hehe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭woop

for some reason I thught this thread would be about cow tipping:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Trouble wrote:

Firstly, I have never done it, but why is tipping a fiver irrespective of the bill a bad thing? Why should the waiter get more money just because you're bill is higher. Like if ye bought an expensive champaign that would bring up his tip?

Also, unless you tip everyone who works on minimum wage equally (mcdonald's people for example) then yer a hypocrite. Other people work hard for their minimum wage too. If ye don't like the money, try working towards getting a better job. People know what the pay is like before they take the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

I agree with Mr. Pink.

Me too...most reasoned explanation on why not to tip ever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I never tip in this country.

Also, unless you tip everyone who works on minimum wage equally (mcdonald's people for example) then yer a hypocrite. Other people work hard for their minimum wage too. If ye don't like the money, try working towards getting a better job. People know what the pay is like before they take the job.

nobody is asking you to tip, tip of you want to.
    why do people have a problem with other people tipping, its my money and its my choice. i'm not a hypocrite for tipping some people and not others.
    if you don't want to tip, then mind your own business.

you'll also find staff that make alot in tips wont be on minimum wage, if your good enough to make alot in tips, it will be notices by management and that staff members wages will go up.
    i don't tip cause i don't think they make enough money, i tip because they have given good service and i have enjoyed the experience because of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

ctc_celtic wrote:
    nobody is asking you to tip, tip of you want to.
    why do people have a problem with other people tipping, its my money and its my choice. i'm not a hypocrite for tipping some people and not others.
    if you don't want to tip, then mind your own business.

you'll also find staff that make alot in tips wont be on minimum wage, if your good enough to make alot in tips, it will be notices by management and that staff members wages will go up.
    i don't tip cause i don't think they make enough money, i tip because they have given good service and i have enjoyed the experience because of it.

I was responding to a guy who said that people who don't tip are tight. And seeing as this is a discussion board I was discussing it. I don't have a problem with you tipping, so long as you don't assume someone is cheap because they don't tip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭bolliwoodi

i always tip unless the service was ****ty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 stanlystanly1

Tipping is beyond me. I worked as a waiter in a 4* hotel restaurant for over 3 years while in school/college at weekends and nights. i never expected a tip ever. i was getting paid to do my job so why people think people have to or should tip is beyond me.. However if i am eating in a nice restaurant, the place is busy and i get good service then ill think about it but otherwise nope!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

No , no tipping never!

it all adds up, maybe in the USA where they get crap pay, but in Ireland?

no no no no no no noooo no no no!

I don't have a problem with you tipping, so long as you don't assume someone is cheap because they don't tip.

no, defiantly wouldn't say if you don't tip your tight, its your choice.
    shouldn't have quoted you, only a small part of my post was regarding your post. apologizes;) .

don't like a lot of posters attitude that you shouldn't tip cause they don't deserve it.
    i would agree with not having a policy of always tipping, but if the service was worth a tip by your standards, then give a tip, it is appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

I always tip 10% whenever I go out to a restaurant. I'm surprised everyone here is so stingy!

and when I play poker I always tip the dealer...

I have a bar job in in new york(midtown)Apparently,I could make 1400 dollars if I just work on a Saturday and Sunday night.
    I have to find another "legal" job as the j1 requires you work legally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

People that dont tip pay more rake, it makes sense to tip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭YeatsCounty

In Ireland: I tipped in restaurants, food delivery people and taxi drivers a quid or two. I very rarely tip bar staff in ireland unless they're completely rushed of their feet. Then I'll tell them to keep a Euro or two.

In Canada: Restaurant/cafes, food delivery, taxi drivers and bar staff. In Canada, you generally pay 15%, the tip usually equals the tax (tax = just under 15% in Quebec). The smallest I've ever tipped is 24 cents Canadian when they forgot to cook my meal at a restaurant (we were the last customers there as well!). I only paid 24 cents as a tip to bring the bill up to a round number.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I always tip 10% whenever I go out to a restaurant. I'm surprised everyone here is so stingy!

and when I play poker I always tip the dealer...
    It's not that people are stingy, why would you tip automatically in Ireland?
    If the service was exceelent I would tip, otherwise not a chance.
    It's a different story in America.