Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to bring Interrailing? / What size backpack

• 12-05-2007 11:58PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Hey folks,

I'm goin interrailing for a month (July) and I just wanna do up a bit of a check list of things I should bring, cos I know I'll forget something :o

I'm thinking....

-clothes (4 or 5 pairs of shorts... pair of swimming shorts... A load of t-shirts... socks... jocks... runners... sandals)
    -sleeping bag
    -mobile phone
    -mp3 player
    -lonely planet book
    -bathroom stuff

That's all I can think of off the top of my head. What have I missed? :D

Also, I haven't a clue about backpacks -- what size (in litres) should I buy for a month of interrailing?

Cheers lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Kid Nothing

hey i'm going or July as well. I was thinking more along the lines (for clothes)of:
    2 pairs of shorts
    swimmers
    4/5 t-shirts
    1 jeans
    2 huddies

I know when i went hiking in Kerry with some friends that we brought way too much stuff and we were in bits trying to carry all of it. I know we won't be "hiking" in Europe but there will be a fair amount of lugging it around so as light as possible is best. Along the lines of 3 sets of clothes is probably the most i'd bring obviously witha shed load of boxers/socks!!!

That's just what i'd guess but people with more experience may say otherwise!

• #1 - bring a tent!

save soo much money by having a tent, a pitch in camp zeeburg in Amsterdam cost €75 for four people for four nights. about a fiver a night each.

Cheapest hostel would be 4 times that!

In terms of clothes, hit penneys, and buy about 6 light t shirts, and 3/4 pairs of shorts (including swimming togs).

DaveMcG wrote:
    I'm thinking....

-clothes (4 or 5 pairs of shorts... pair of swimming shorts... A load of t-shirts... socks... jocks... runners... sandals)

I remember before I went interrailing last year I read a post on the Travel Board about how you should take everything you have planned to bring, and divide it by 2.

When I was interrailing, I brought around 3 pairs of socks, 1 pair of trousers, two pairs of shorts, two or three t-shirts, sandals & runners. Shorts double up as swimming shorts, so there's no need for them. I also brought some washing powder with me so that I washed along the way, which meant I didn't smell :p
    -sleeping bag
    -mobile phone
    -mp3 player
    -lonely planet book
    -bathroom stuff

That's all I can think of off the top of my head. What have I missed? :D

Something you don't wish to forget... PASSPORT! If you can, get one of those fold up soakable towels from the travel shops. They're quite cheap, and small.

If you're going tenting, bring those mess kits with you. messkitnosilver.jpg.

There's nothing quite like a bbq in the south of france :D

If you're flying over, you won't be able to bring gas canisters, but if you get the boat you will. We saved a good bit of money by cooking ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭mac123

one hoodie/jumper will be enough!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Bring a spare phone and a spare SIM with you (with some credit on it) - in case you lose your phone so that you can stay in touch with the people you're traveling with etc if you split up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,608 ✭✭✭breadmonkey

Myth wrote:
    When I was interrailing, I brought around 3 pairs of socks, 1 pair of trousers, two pairs of shorts, two or three t-shirts, sandals & runners. Shorts double up as swimming shorts, so there's no need for them. I also brought some washing powder with me so that I washed along the way, which meant I didn't smell :p
    I think that's pretty much spot on. I might consider a hoodie depending on where I was going and I'd make sure that the runners were ok for getting into clubs etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭Fiii

I brought bungee cords (the little ones used to strap stuff down etc) and they proved invaluable!
    I used them to strap down the straps of my backpack when flying over and back, as it's been known to happen where a strap gets caught in something once it leaves your possession at the airport desk and you arrive to find a) your strap torn - carrying a backpack with only one straps, not good! or b) your bag ripped and clothes littering the conveyor belt when you go to collect your bag!
    Then when travelling, they doubled as a make shift washing line! Handy to have when you are bringing so little clothing and need to be washing stuff in unconventional places!

As for bag size, I brought a 70l which fit everything I brought nicely. I did resemble a turtle with it on however, as I am a mere 5foot4!

Apart from what I said earlier, think about bringing:
      a pen-knife if you're going to be camping
      an electricity convertor majiggy if you'll be charging your phone (to tired to think of the real word)
      a torch
      a small lock or two (for your tent or bag)
      shampoo if you're feeling adventurous
      a credit card, possibly as a back-up if your ATM is stolen
      a lighter
      a cuddly toy

I think I got an 80L bag, which was perhaps too much. Think about it, the more you have, the more you're lugging around the continent. I also had a tent which I could throw over my shoulder using these clippy things, hard to explain.

Something else, I went camping before with those flat mats that you're meant to sleep on, you know them? You can get them slightly inflatable too (but still mostly foam). I decided to forgo that and went for a fully inflatable mattress, similar to the ones you use in the sea. It took around 10 mins to blow up, but was very comfy compared to what the missus was lying on!

It also took up less room since it was mostly air instead of foam, which was another bonus.

Myth wrote:
      It took around 10 mins to blow up, but was very comfy compared to what the missus was lying on!

Could you explain, in detail, how you managed to not have to give your comfy airbed to the missus?!:)

Edit: Also, I always say this but bring a roll of duct tape!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭Crash

I have a 75L backpack, from which the front zips off to become a day pack. Really damn useful, reduces carrying an extra bag when getting on the train, as its zipped onto the rest of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭Gizzle

Credit card, can't stress that enough. Otherwise, be prepared to pay well over the odds for hotels because all the hostels are booked up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭nervous_twitch

We did Western Europe last Summer, and camped all the way, which worked out a lot cheaper; plus there are campsites almost everywhere you go.
      Some things which proved invaluable on our trip;

- pen-knife, with bottle opener
      - bungee cord (endless possiblities)
      - torch
      - plasters
      - mp3, ideally with speakers
      - insect repellant
      - painkillers
      - lonely planet
      - passport, interrail ticket ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭dirtydress

Can you recommend a place to find camping sites and stuff? We're planning on going in August and I want to bring a tent to reduce the costs a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭nervous_twitch

dirtydress wrote:
      Can you recommend a place to find camping sites and stuff? We're planning on going in August and I want to bring a tent to reduce the costs a little.

I just bought 'Lonely Planet; Europe on a Shoestring' - they give details of all campsites, and are useful for hundreds of other things besides

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,575 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

A s**t load of socks. Really. We went through and lost a helluva lot of socks. Had a relation who was joining us for a weekend bring us over more, twas that bad.
      As for phone, bring it just for emergencies. My bill was absurdly high when I got home. Use the cafes should you need to phone home, and be conservative with yo' text messages to friends near and far.

A s**t load of socks. Really. We went through and lost a helluva lot of socks. Had a relation who was joining us for a weekend bring us over more, twas that bad.
      eh, wear sandals.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Cheers lads!

I bought a tent today! Who say you can't get a 2-man tent for €20? An idiot, that's who! :D Bargain! lol. I assembled it out in my garden and it seems grand for how often I'll be using it. It's a tad heavy though, and a bit cumbersome. I might have to buy a bigger backpack to accomodate it.

Can ye give me some examples of when I'd need a bungee cord? :confused: Ye mentioned tying down the straps on your bag, and using it as a washing line. I suppose they're decent reasons, but any more? :D

I'll get a decent pen-knife and other bits and bobs like that soon.

edit:

Less than a month to go! :eek: yeeeaaaayyyy

I don't really get the whole bungee cord thing either. I've been backpacking a couple of times now and have never said to myself "bah, if only for some fcuking BUNGEE CORD!"

Can you not strap/hang your tent from the outside of your bag? I'd imagine that you'd have to have a fairly gigantic bag to fit even a very small tent.

PACK LIGHT!!!!!

P.S. Did you go to Thailand in the end?

EDIT: 2 things; nervous_twitch mentioned speakers. I would go so far as to say they are essential. You can get a cheapo set for about €20 in Argos. Well worth it imo. Also, I get the impression you don't have a bag yet in which case I would advise you to get a 60L because it automatically stops you from over packing. I have a 60L with a 10L day bag which I found to be perfecto!

Yeh it's been suggested that I should hang the tent and sleeping bag off the top and bottom of the bag. Makes sense I guess! I suppose if I had some BUNGEE CORD, then that'd be easy to do! :D

Nah I didn't end up going to Thailand, we decided to go interrailing instead ;) I'm still gonna go to Thailand, just not this summer. Going on J1 next year, maybe the following year I'll hit SEA.

I'll look into getting speakers, cheers. I actually found a little plug thing that splits the signal from the earphone socket into 2 sockets rather than 1. So when I'm watching my portable media player, my mate can listen too :) I'll probs get speakers anyway

No I don't have a bag yet, I wanted to give it more thought before I decide what size to get... 60L you say? It's the biggest investment (besides the ticket!), so I'll probs sort out what EXACTLY I'm bringing before I buy one.

Cheers boss!

I got that 60L highlander bag for €50 or there abouts in one of those sh1tty camping shops off henry St (I think) and it's perfect. No need to spend a fortune!

Whatever you do just make sure you get one with an adjustable back!

DaveMcG wrote:
      Cheers lads!

I bought a tent today! Who say you can't get a 2-man tent for €20? An idiot, that's who! :D Bargain!

Cool, but I hope it's waterproof!

Myth wrote:
      Cool, but I hope it's waterproof!
      I hope it doesn't rain, then it doesn't need to be waterproof! :D

I got a decent backpack yesterday. It got €85, and I think it was 65 or 70L... It's not huge, so that's why I didn't mind getting the larger size. I bought 2 bungee cords too :rolleyes: lol. I found places on the bag to attach the tent and my sleeping bag which I also got yesterday ;) Looks pretty good!

I applied for a student credit card and got a call today about it... have to just through feckin hoops to get one of these yokes. Bloody AIB........

Gonna book the flights this weekend.

Not long to go :)

I applied for a student credit card and got a call today about it... have to just through feckin hoops to get one of these yokes. Bloody AIB........
      Really? When I got mine I just filled out a form, gave it in and my card arrived a few days later.

No such luck with me.... I applied for a normal (non student) credit card cos I was working full-time, and I got turned down; but I'm going back to college in September, so I applied for the student one a few days ago and got the call today saying that I have to give in details cos direct debit is compulsary, and I also have to give in a letter showing that I'm in the college. Maybe I don't have a student account in the bank or somethin..... not sure.

Forgot to mention, should I join the international youth hostel association (YHA)? Is it of any benefit in reality?
      http://www.anoige.ie/membership

DaveMcG wrote:
      Forgot to mention, should I join the international youth hostel association (YHA)? Is it of any benefit in reality?
      http://www.anoige.ie/membership

Some places will ask for your membership card when you check in - if you don't have one, they might give you an application form. I think it cost a tenner or something.

Or you could get lucky (like I was last year in a Hostel in Paris) - they didn't have any forms, so I didn't pay :)

I joined An Oige or something. I can safely say I would have gotten more value out of setting a tenner alight.

EDIT: €20 tent, lol. I'd wager it is most definitely not waterproof!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭Spunj

I haven't a lot to say about inter railing, but a small note on BUNGEE CORDS, think of them as the towel in The Hitchhikers guide to the Galaxy. :)

Spunj wrote:
      I haven't a lot to say about inter railing, but a small note on BUNGEE CORDS, think of them as the towel in The Hitchhikers guide to the Galaxy. :)
      Lol, I'll take your word for it and bring a couple next time I go backpacking. (Unfortunately that won't be for a very very very long time:mad: )

In fact, I hereby appoint DaveMcG to report back on the merits of these bungee cords!

lol, woohoo!

They seem to be useful for attaching my sleeping bag and tent to the outside of my backpack... dunno how else I'd attach them TBH.

I'm sh*tting it that they'll come loose when they're being bounced around the airport though :( It'd suck to arrive in Paris only to see my bag coming around sans my sleeping bag...

Aaaaaand the flights are booked :) Heading out July 2nd at 6.25am!

Less than 3 weeks, scary! :eek: