Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

good for nothing scum of the earth that live in central dublin

• 12-05-2007 4:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭

went tot own parked just off georges street had an alright night..............then

me a guy mate and 3 girl mates walking back to the car we got to the car the girls got in the back my mate was finishing his cigaretteand iwas in the driver seat and i saw two people walking towrads us i just got a bad feeling and told my mate to get and finish his smoke in the car...........as soon as he closed the door the two upstanding citizens legged it towards the car(i had locked the doors from the inside) and did their best too smash each front window with their feet........i sped off they continued on their merry ****ing way.................

now no damage was done but i have just realised that i cant even put into words A) how pissed off i am that people like that exist and B) how pissed off i am i didnt have the balls to get out and do somthing about it

i honestly did think that the girls would be ****ed if we started anything with them but now im not sure even if it was just me and my mate would we have done anything and its really ****ing annoying me

anyway i needed to get it off my chest i dont want sympathy really i love this city and cant see myself living anywhere else but im just really annoyed right now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Sean7

Yeah I hate the bastards, I bloody live in the city centre and I'm surrounded by them all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

PeakOutput wrote:
    went tot own parked just off georges street had an alright night..............then

me a guy mate and 3 girl mates walking back to the car we got to the car the girls got in the back my mate was finishing his cigaretteand iwas in the driver seat and i saw two people walking towrads us i just got a bad feeling and told my mate to get and finish his smoke in the car...........as soon as he closed the door the two upstanding citizens legged it towards the car(i had locked the doors from the inside) and did their best too smash each front window with their feet........i sped off they continued on their merry ****ing way.................

now no damage was done but i have just realised that i cant even put into words A) how pissed off i am that people like that exist and B) how pissed off i am i didnt have the balls to get out and do somthing about it

i honestly did think that the girls would be ****ed if we started anything with them but now im not sure even if it was just me and my mate would we have done anything and its really ****ing annoying me

anyway i needed to get it off my chest i dont want sympathy really i love this city and cant see myself living anywhere else but im just really annoyed right now
    Ah we all go through that $hit man. But you have to ask yourself, what the point of beating the crap out of them would have been.
    These scummers are few and far between; just let it go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

davyjose wrote:
    what the point of beating the crap out of them.

mainly id be sleeping like a baby about now assuming i wasn't in hospital

btw its not my car so im in for a berating when the rents get up as i didnt clean the footprints off the window

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

That's a big assumption - anyway I don't agree, what I think is that you're more annoyed that these cnuts exist, moreso than you didn't bate the $hite out of them.

ye suppose i know deep down im not a "coward" as iv helped my mates when they have been hopped by scummers in the past and little **** like that.

general scumbag behaviour really iritates me tho i was driving threw an estate near me once and passed a group of 16/17 yr olds(im 21 6'2 shaved head so can look like a scummer myself sometimes but neway) drove past them got their angst filled stares picked up a mate and drove back by them.........a guy actually "squared up" to the car as it was moving i couldnt believe it a ****ing car what is he trying to prove at the end of the day...................arrrrggghhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

Not sure where the "live in central Dublin" bit is relevant, as opposed to "happened to be in central Dublin when they fancied causing a bit of aggro before getting the Nitelink back to their soul-less suburb. With a kebab"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

PeakOutput wrote:

how exactly do you know that these two people lived in central dublin?

ive seen rugby heads in ballsbridge do something similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Not sure where the "live in central Dublin" bit is relevant, as opposed to "happened to be in central Dublin when they fancied causing a bit of aggro before getting the Nitelink back to their soul-less suburb. With a kebab"...

What's wrong with kebabs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭PinkPrincess26

I think that there you were better off staying in the car... forget the mocho complex.... these days lads or gals dont just fight with there hands, they use anything they can to hurt you.... broken bottles, pen knife, cigarrettes..... it takes a bigger man to recognise the danger and get the hell out of there

Wy are you assuming these people were from central dublin, when in fact they could have been from anywere.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭Nehpets

only scumbags eat kebabs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Knackers. I was parked in town myself last night too, it is something I always am wary of. The trick is not too look to suspicious of them though, they can smell it from you.

Wy are you assuming these people were from central dublin, when in fact they could have been from anywere.....

no offence to anyone but in and around georges street is not a great area imo and from the look of the two lads id say they were from the flats just around the corner............im not disputing the fact there is scum everywhere but if the same thing happened were i live id be out of the car like a shot for the simple fact that i know what my "local" scum are like and the chances are they would **** themselves

they were not dressed for a night out and would not off gotten into any but the dingiest pubs thats why i feel they did not come into town but lived fairly close..............its still an assumption of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Nth Georges St or Sth Georges St?

wyndham wrote:
    Nth Georges St or Sth Georges St?

i was parked just around the corner from st stephens green center but closer to georges street and if you walk up 2 mins further theres a load of flats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭Bernard Hopkins

loads of flats ?..........lol

if you look scared, then you give them a free ticket to do anything they like to you.
    the worst thing that can happen is to take a beating,..... stand up for yourself.

To be honest i would never feel intimidated or scared for myself in ireland and i still wouldnt as it gets you nowhere but you do have to be mindfull of other people with you and other peoples property

if we were just walking by them and they hit one of us it would be game on but just thinking back on it it was wierd being in the car as they were kicking it maybe i got a trapped complex or something and just had to flee...........i should mention they legged it the opposite direction as soon as they did it too so its not like they were waiting for us to get out and have a go
    loads of flats ?..........lol

am i imagining them or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

the worst thing that can happen is to take a beating,..... stand up for yourself.

No, the worst thing that could happen is you could be stabbed, jumped by a group of them, and/or lying in a gutter with your head split open.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I've lived for 11 years in Central Dublin. Never had a moment problem.

Also something about the OP doesnt ring true. They just ran up and tried to kick your windows in? You had a bad feeling when you saw them?

Nothing happened before this?? Why did they pick you... did they do this to the next car?

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

PeakOutput wrote:
    a guy actually "squared up" to the car as it was moving i couldnt believe it a ****ing car what is he trying to prove at the end of the day...................arrrrggghhh

hahahaha that's class

DeVore wrote:
    I've lived for 11 years in Central Dublin. Never had a moment problem.

Also something about the OP doesnt ring true. They just ran up and tried to kick your windows in? You had a bad feeling when you saw them?

Nothing happened before this?? Why did they pick you... did they do this to the next car?

DeV.

the windows didnt break

when i parked there were 4/five other cars there when we went back it was on the road on its own...........

its a bit of a dodgy laneway and yes i had a dodgy feeling not so much when i saw then as they were quite far away but as everyone got in the car and they got closer they "split up" and i thought that was a bit wierd so just told my mate to hurry up............if i was arsed i could take a picture of the shoe print on my window but i really dnt care if you still dont believe me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭McSandwich

My brother and his friend were in a very similar situation a couple of years ago. Luckily for them they didn't try to fight their way out or they might be dead now - The Gards caught the scummers later (after they crashed a stolen car) and they all had knives.

Don't beat yourself up about it, when all things are considered you did the right thing - protecting your friends and yourself from serious harm was your primary concern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

I love reading these stories.

If anyone was really bored putting all the threads started on this board by random steamer who had a run with a knack and decided to come on to boards and get some comfort it'd be hillarious to read them all together.

I'm with Dev I think you're leaving something out of the story.

Maybe you made a comment on their latest style of shiney tracksuit or their celtic jersey :rolleyes: showing off in front of the girls and instead you were made look like a little girl.

come on tell us the truth!

ntlbell wrote:
    I love reading these stories.

If anyone was really bored putting all the threads started on this board by random steamer who had a run with a knack and decided to come on to boards and get some comfort it'd be hillarious to read them all together.

I'm with Dev I think you're leaving something out of the story.

Maybe you made a comment on their latest style of shiney tracksuit or their celtic jersey :rolleyes: showing off in front of the girls and instead you were made look like a little girl.

come on tell us the truth!

make up your own minds i have told it exactly how it is...................a sad sad reflection on the country as a whole imo

and whatever about sympathy it was 5 in the morning and needed to get it off my chest so i could sleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Nehpets wrote:
    only scumbags eat kebabs
    That's abrakebabs!

Regular kebabs anyone can enjoy... It's the magic meat that turns tasty after midnight!

ah **** my mam just found a dint near the back of the car they must of gotten another kick in the pricks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭cast_iron

OP, it wasn't a Beemer you were driving by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

Ahh, the daily "scumbags" thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

We need a complain about scumbags forum tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭burnedfaceman

sorry to hear about your scumbag problem last night, as for the scummer squaring up to your car thats just hillarious! while we are talking about scumbags whats the deal with women walking around town in pyjamas? i seen two teenage girls doing so other day in middle of afternoon someone must of been laughing at them from bus in front of me and similarily they were squaring up to the bus:D

cast_iron wrote:
    OP, it wasn't a Beemer you were driving by any chance?

no why did you run into one by mistake??? or just see the ***** do the same thing to another car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

PeakOutput wrote:
    Seriously, don't be. Any decent expert in marshall arts would tell you that the best thing you could do in that situation is walk/run.

The last thing you should do is provoke a physical conflict where none immediately exists. What's the bets that they were carrying knives? Do you really think jumping out of the car and mixing it with a coked-up knife-carrying junkie would have done you any good?

You did the wise thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

Did ya manage to run any of them down in the scuffle? nothing would of given me more pleasure!!

-VB-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

theres always scumbags and drug dealers around that area.I used to be there nearly every day as my dads business was just around the corner and it was always scary.As these guys have nothing to worry about where as i have a life to live.they will do anything for money

I've been living back in Dublin since March 16th last and have already experienced one incident, though thankfully not too serious. I was walking down Wood Quay towards St. James' Gate and two scangers decided to slap me in the face for no reason at all. I'm just glad it didn't get worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

They're the flats across from aungier st. DIT right? Wasn't there someone beaten to death around there a couple of years ago? Either way, you were right to stay in the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Lorax

Those flats are some kip, you would nearly be afraid walking there during the day let alone 5am. One day I was walkin thru there with 4 of my mates from college, all fellas, and this knacker was havin a fight with his "burrrd" . I jus said quietly "ahh jayyziizz mary" or something, takin the piss out of him and he heard me and tried to start on 5 of us by himself. He was a scrawny little ****, so lucky for him his girlfriend held him back "ahh tony theyll bleedin' kill ya relax willl yaa" .

OP: Just chalk it down to experience and move on. Coulda been much worse. + Dont park in that area at night! I know its near stephens green but its full of scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Dodgy laneway? I'm struggling to think of any on South Georges St :confused: There is no corpo flats on South Georges St. Maybe you were parked further up, on Aungier St? Lived on Aungier St for 4 years in front of the corpo flats. Dodgy at night TBH with plenty of drunks hanging around.

BTW What kind of a car were you driving OP? Would they have targeted you because of that? (As ****ed up as that sounds, but scumbags dont exactly have very good logic)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

I've lived in Dublin city centre for over ten years and I've seen some unbelievable stuff over those years. I can well believe what the OP said.

A few weeks ago a guy pretended to swing a punch at me when I was walking down the street at about 5pm so funnily enough I moved my head out of the way just in case. I didn't even jump I just moved my head. At which point him and his mates pissed themselves laughing into my face. I nearly blew a ****ing fuse but there were four of them so I went on my merry way. These guys were in their early twenties, that **** might be funny when you're twelve.

There is a serious amount of scum that hang around the city centre, they may not live there but they hang about looking for opportunities. As I recall Devore lived up the posh end of town so no wonder he missed all the action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

I don't see why people think the OP had to do something to provoke these people. I had an experiance two years ago when I was living out in Balbriggan when myself and the GF were set upon by some drunk scumbags at the beach. We had done nothing except sit there and chat.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=290984&referrerid=&highlight=balbriggan

These people sometimes do not need a reason to start on you. That's why they are scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,901 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

PeakOutput wrote:
    the windows didnt break

when i parked there were 4/five other cars there when we went back it was on the road on its own...........

its a bit of a dodgy laneway and yes i had a dodgy feeling not so much when i saw then as they were quite far away but as everyone got in the car and they got closer they "split up" and i thought that was a bit wierd so just told my mate to hurry up............if i was arsed i could take a picture of the shoe print on my window but i really dnt care if you still dont believe me
    I don't think DeV was suggesting that it didn't happen. He was asking was this the first time you seen them that night? A funny look on the way up the road? Not saying it was justified.

As for the area the flats are not on georges street, that are up further between the end of aungiers street and wexford street.

As for getting out and fighting them, you are better that out didnt. If the attack was as unprovoked as you say then without a doubt the lads in question would be more used to being in fights, and would probably of got the better of you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

Mellor wrote:
    I don't think DeV was suggesting that it didn't happen. He was asking was this the first time you seen them that night? A funny look on the way up the road? Not saying it was justified.

When we had our internet cafes in town, some of you may remember Does not compute. Sometimes people would come in dressed well but they just looked 'wrong'. You could tell they were up to no good even though at a casual glance they didn't stand out. I would honestly say we were nearly 100% spot on in what we thought on those occasions. You just get a bad vibe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

meglome wrote:
    When we had our internet cafes in town, some of you may remember Does not compute. Sometimes people would come in dressed well but they just looked 'wrong'. You could tell they were up to no good even though at a casual glance they didn't stand out. I would honestly say we were nearly 100% spot on in what we thought on those occasions. You just get a bad vibe.

Yeah you are right, sometime you can get the feeling if someone is out of order and looks dodgy

stepbar wrote:
    Dodgy laneway? I'm struggling to think of any on South Georges St :confused: There is no corpo flats on South Georges St. Maybe you were parked further up, on Aungier St? Lived on Aungier St for 4 years in front of the corpo flats. Dodgy at night TBH with plenty of drunks hanging around.

BTW What kind of a car were you driving OP? Would they have targeted you because of that? (As ****ed up as that sounds, but scumbags dont exactly have very good logic)

ye sorry i just call from the george all the way up to the palace georges street........ if you are driving on the road beside that australian bar under stephens green center and take the first right after you pass the pub (theres a hotel on your left but cant think of the name) thats the lane.........theres a big office building there with designated parking and loads of security cameras so i never had a problem parking there but if you walk from their to georges st/aungier st it turns into a real small alley that stinks of piss about half way up............and i drive an 07 astra coupe............nothing special but it looks nice and maybe they were jealous
    A few weeks ago a guy pretended to swing a punch at me when I was walking down the street at about 5pm so funnily enough I moved my head out of the way just in case. I didn't even jump I just moved my head. At which point him and his mates pissed themselves laughing into my face. I nearly blew a ****ing fuse but there were four of them so I went on my merry way. These guys were in their early twenties, that **** might be funny when you're twelve.

this kinda happened me in temple bar last year too but i kinda asked for it that time................i saw one scumbag talking to one of the charity people with the clipboards as the other ran up behind the worker and stoll the charities umbrellas..........it pissed me off so i told one of the other workers wat happened so they got the umbrellas back..........as i was walking away i got tripped and turned around andthere was the two scummers(maybe 16/17 i was 20) one guy asked me why i ratted so i said you stole from a charity why do you think..........he raised his leg to kick me and i flinched but he didnt kick me so i told him if he raised his leg again to me id break it off and they just walked away
    He was asking was this the first time you seen them that night? A funny look on the way up the road? Not saying it was justified.

i am positive we hadnt seen them on the walk down and i asked my mate who was there today did he make a face or anything like that at them (if he did id be making him pay for the damage) but he swears he didnt and i believe him he didnt even see them till i told him to hurry up and get in the car
    some of you may remember Does not compute

i work with a guy who was on their cs team a while back ...do you know gavin devine?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

PeakOutput wrote:
    ye sorry i just call from the george all the way up to the palace georges street........ if you are driving on the road beside that australian bar under stephens green center and take the first right after you pass the pub (theres a hotel on your left but cant think of the name) thats the lane.........theres a big office building there with designated parking and loads of security cameras so i never had a problem parking there but if you walk from their to georges st/aungier st it turns into a real small alley that stinks of piss about half way up............and i drive an 07 astra coupe............nothing special but it looks nice and maybe they were jealous

Know it well, I once lived across the road from DBS. That alley is in between DBS and Wired Internet cafe. The little sidestreets around DBS are full of scumbags. I wouldn't park a car anywhere round there at night, never mind during the day. The drunks used to hang around the mercer building but they put up a set of gates to stop them congragating. However they just moved up to the road to the back / front of my apartment block. I remember walking up Aungier st one night and nearly getting the face taking off me by a glass. Thankfully it flew over my head and smashed on the ground. There's a shelter on Aungier St and most of the trouble comes from there.

ye usually the drunks get the benefits of whatever cans my mates couldnt drink on the drive in so never had trouble from them...........iv parked there and up right beside the actual flats for at least two years with no trouble till now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭CoolGuy2006

How could anyone not believe that unprovoked attacks like this happen.

I work in the city and am out most nights. The amount of unprovoked attacks I have seen is just disgusting.

Me and My mate were walking past the same flats on a Saturday night(few years ago now). A big gang, maybe 10 or more, girls included crossed the street to attack my friend. I dont know why they singled him out, nobody touched me. We certainly didnt provoke them. Anyway, they all had a go, girls aswell. Evryone stamping on my mates face after they floored him. I was held back. After they had their fun they slowly walked across the street and sat beside the railings. My mate was pretty knocked up so I called the police. The Police came, chased the gang into the flats, but half of the gang didnt even bother to run. So, me and my mate had to leg it up to Kevin Street garda station. They followed us all the way up and taunted us from the gates.

I have done my fair share of travelling and have lived abroad for many years. I love Ireland and I love Dublin but it is a very dangerous place to live even if you keep your head down.

Most times that people are in town at night they have had a few beers. Ever walk through town sober at night. It feels like a totally different beast altogether.

Everytime I go into town I feel like m playing Russian Roulette. I really have seen some evil people in this dirty old town.

Also, a question. If someone attacks me in town and I defend myself. Will the cops just see it as a drunken brawl and do us both???

I have to say, Last Saturday was as bad as Ive seen it in a long time. I really like socialising in Dublin at night but after last weekend Im gonna give it a rest for a while

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I have done my fair share of travelling and have lived abroad for many years. I love Ireland and I love Dublin but it is a very dangerous place to live even if you keep your head down.
    I sadly agree completely. I've been on the rip in a few cities in Europe and with the exception of the UK, you just don't get the level of drunkenness and aggression you see here. I really don't see how we can deny it.

One thing that really stands out is completely píssed falling down drunk women that I have quite honestly never seen elsewhere. Men that are that drunk is far rarer elsewhere too. Ask any foreign person living here or visiting and 90% of the time they will agree with this picture.

And it does seem to be getting worse. I've personally witnessed 3 unprovoked attacks since the new year. Guards called on two of them. The Guards I know that have worked in the city at night will tell you it's pretty bad.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭keltoms

yeah no how u feel man, its happened me a couple of times where ud be walking down the road and have some scum mouthing off at ya. u keep walking and leave it but then after u say to urself - why didnt i just turn around and stand up to him? i hate it alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Wibbs wrote:
    I sadly agree completely. I've been on the rip in a few cities in Europe and with the exception of the UK, you just don't get the level of drunkenness and aggression you see here. I really don't see how we can deny it.

One thing that really stands out is completely píssed falling down drunk women that I have quite honestly never seen elsewhere. Men that are that drunk is far rarer elsewhere too. Ask any foreign person living here or visiting and 90% of the time they will agree with this picture.

And it does seem to be getting worse. I've personally witnessed 3 unprovoked attacks since the new year. Guards called on two of them. The Guards I know that have worked in the city at night will tell you it's pretty bad.

I agree ! Was in Madrid recently with the lads on the rip, and couldn't have felt safer ! It might have been to do with the fact that there were a couple of very no-nonsence cops on almost every corner keeping an eye on things, if your drunk and being a bit merry no problem but don't fcuk with anyone or else ! Spot the difference ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

PeakOutput wrote:

Getting out of the car and confronting them would have probably got you and your mate a nights stay in hospital. Unless you really know how to handle your self wit your fists its not worth the hassle. And if you did by some miracle beat the sh1te out of them for it, who do you think would be up sh1te creek with no paddle? Certainly not them anyway.

You did the right thing to just get out of there. With any luck the two scummers went off to jack up somewhere and ended up contracting Aids.

But a simple colution to having ot put up with scummers in town, is just not go to town.