Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Report: Crime in Barcelona

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

was there for a week and had no problems....cant say its any worse than any other city ive been in. In fact during the day i felt safer than if i were in Dublin. You just have to keep your wits about you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,950 ✭✭✭nkay1985

Been to Barcelona three times. Twice was just for day trips but the third time was for a week.

I hear a lot of talk about this. Before I was going I had loads of people say "Oh the crime there is terrible" etc. And since I've come back and recommended it to loads of people, some of them come back with "But isn't it very unsafe over there?".

In my three times there I've had no cause to complain. I always carry a wallet and a mobile phone. I carry them in the left and right front pockets of my shorts or jeans, and when I'm walking I rest my hands in my pockets. It's called vigilance.

I've watched quite a few programs on pickpockets etc and they always say that they pick their targets. They don't just indiscriminately choose people. Therefore, if you're smart, you should be ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

I went there once in winter three years ago and had no problems. I went again this summer on my bike, and totally different story. I have had my bike for four years, mostly cycling in Dublin on the commute. Nothing was ever stolen off it. But in Barcelona, the one time I forgot to lock the front wheel to the frame, it was gone. Bastards!

Had to buy a new one there. I later noticed that every other bike in town which had a quick release front wheel was missing it.

Won't be going back to urban Spain any time soon. Love the countryside though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭nottooxabi

spent a week in barca...had no problems as all... no hassle...
    loved the city.... las ramblas is a ****hole in my opinion... a walk up and down is enough of it, just to see it... lots of way nicer areas in the city...
    if i had spanish friends coming to ireland i'd tell them to avoid o connell street... the ghetto it is...

needless to say i didn't flaunt my camera or wallet around as i was aware of pick pockets.. but thats they way in most big cities now...
    I'd recommend it without a doubt... head for the local tapas bars for good cheap food !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭PullMyFinger!

FCUK THAT!

*picks another city on the Aer Lingus sale*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

god, what sort of people are you all? I've been to barca a few times and never encountered ANY trouble at all, it made Dublin seem like Baghdad from my experience...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,152 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Was in Bacelona years ago and the three of us got attacked while minding our own business but managed to get way without being robbed.

****ing kip. Will never set foot in the place again. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭pepsicokeacola

was there for a week and had no problems....cant say its any worse than any other city ive been in. In fact during the day i felt safer than if i were in Dublin. You just have to keep your wits about you.

unless your some gimp you could never feel safer in a city your not familiar with over one you should know inside out.

dublin really isnt intimidating at all, and definetly not compared to a place like rome or even barcelona.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭d-arke

Didn't notice much crime at all in Barcelona. I would maybe be mindful of pickpockets but that holds true for every other major city in the world that has bustling streets and markets etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭BlondePrincess

I've just returned from a weekend in Barca, there were 4 of us, (girls aged 22). We stayed in the Astoria hotel near the avenue diagonal. We went to La Rambla one of the nights, and, before going, I had read so many horror stories, that I had our group scared to bits about the probability of being mugged/attacked :(. . .however, i'm happy to report that we had a brilliant time! Barca is lovely, and like any city, at night, you're obv going to be more cautious! We saw lots of police on the beat, plus many more in patrol cars. We stuck together, making sure we weren't waving money around. I had my expensive digital camera out n about, as did my friend, and we had no trouble. We were walking in amoung huge crowds, particularly on La Rambla, but were never bothered. It was only after booking our holiday that I read all these negative reviews, and I was really put off, so I just want to assure others who may be heading there that you don't need to feel petrified. Have cop on, be aware of your surroundings, if somewhere looks dodgy, trust your instinct! Having said that, my sis was there with her boyfriend last year n some guy came up and put his hand in her boyf's pocket to try rob him, though they were staying in a rough area in a hostel, with groups hanging around on the street outside! So, all i'll say is that, like any city, there will be rough areas n pickpocketers, so just be careful!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭jamesozzie

Just back from a few days there in Barcelona, stayed in a hotel next to La Rambla. The place can be extremely dodgy at night, loads of pickpockets, north african prostitutes and drug dealers. If you walk down any side streets keep an eye out for eastern european dodgy looking people just standing around, chances are they are trying to sell you drugs or on the lookout for easy targets (they ring their pals down the street to inform them of an easy pickpocket target)

I had 1 guy who tried to pickpocket me and he had 4 friends (it was obvious they were his pals) walking close behind him for backup. Luckily he wasnt successfull as I felt his hand in my pocket.

I also had a few guys eying up my pockets and my girlfriends handbag, you can easily notice this as they dont look at your face, they just stare at your pockets to see if your a viable target. Then then contact their pals who make the move.

I reported 1 guy to the police there and they informed me of the do's and donts. Barcelona is a great city be you have to be extremely vigilant. I have been to many many places around the world and Barcelona in my opinion has more than its fair share of dodgy eastern european, north africian criminal gangs.

Be carefull and you'll be fine, just dont walk out alone around la rambla at night with anything valuable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

There is a great list of the scams pulled there published in Paul Kilduff's book "Ruinair", They detail the way you are conned and what to avoid. I will post them up next time I am bored and my fingers want something worthwhile to type. Sounds like a place for the more seasoned traveller to go to. Newbies on cheapo Mick Leary flights must be easy pickings for the Moroccan's (I have a friend who lives there and he assures me they are just trouble)!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭allybhoy

I was in Barcelona back in in March 2008 for a football match, great trip but I would have to say its rife with pick-pockets and petty criminals. We had only flown in and had our cases with us (obv easy targets). We know where we were going as one of the lads had been before and as we were getting onto a metro (with a lot of people coming off) my brother in law had his jacket slashed and his wallet stolen (from a zipped pocked) in literally the timeframe of 3seconds. Luckily enough one of the security guards was standing close by and seen someone running off radioed up his mate upstairs and the wallet was recovered. Another lad who was with us was assaulted (punched) and had his phone robbed by 2 or 3 eastern european lads about 5 in the afternoon just off Las Ramblas right outside the hotel. There were also an awful lot of african prostitutes and drug dealers in the evening. I would definately go back, but im not sure if I would go back with just the girlfriend as its just too bogey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭upmeath

A group of 70 of us headed over from college in Jan 2008, we're in UCD, not GMIT, so we'd be fairly street smart, but I suspect Barcelona would even make a seasoned mugger in any other city in Europe paranoid.

I was the first victim, went to Port Olimpico to meet a few mates down by the casino on the first night, wallet in arse pocket :mad: asked for directions to a club they were in, which is on the promenade near the casino. Met 3 or 4 lads who kindly :rolleyes: told me I was nowhere near the club and I'd need to get a taxi. I returned to the street to look for a taxi and noticed my wallet was gone on the way there, headed back (bad idea, I know) and one of the w4nkers threw my wallet at me with all cards but down 120e cash.

Another lad got thrown out of a nightclub near La Ramblas by some really petty bouncers one night, they had the courtesy to fetch his jacket for him while he was arguing on the door and no sooner did he have it than it was taken from his arms by passing thieves; wallet, passport and swipe cards for the accommodation gone.

3 more wallets were stolen on La Ramblas getting out of taxis at night. The place is awash with prostitutes, drug dealers and muggers after dark. Our hostel was near KFC on La Ramblas and we literally had to beat the prostitutes out of our taxis, our pockets and our hostels. It was like dawn of the dead, there's no talking to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

upmeath wrote: »
    A group of 70 of us headed over from college in Jan 2008, we're in UCD, not GMIT, so we'd be fairly street smart, but I suspect Barcelona would even make a seasoned mugger in any other city in Europe paranoid.

I was the first victim, went to Port Olimpico to meet a few mates down by the casino on the first night, wallet in arse pocket :mad: asked for directions to a club they were in, which is on the promenade near the casino. Met 3 or 4 lads who kindly :rolleyes: told me I was nowhere near the club and I'd need to get a taxi. I returned to the street to look for a taxi and noticed my wallet was gone on the way there, headed back (bad idea, I know) and one of the w4nkers threw my wallet at me with all cards but down 120e cash.

Another lad got thrown out of a nightclub near La Ramblas by some really petty bouncers one night, they had the courtesy to fetch his jacket for him while he was arguing on the door and no sooner did he have it than it was taken from his arms by passing thieves; wallet, passport and swipe cards for the accommodation gone.

3 more wallets were stolen on La Ramblas getting out of taxis at night. The place is awash with prostitutes, drug dealers and muggers after dark. Our hostel was near KFC on La Ramblas and we literally had to beat the prostitutes out of our taxis, our pockets and our hostels. It was like dawn of the dead, there's no talking to them.

Would you say it was the native Spanish were responsible or someone else? I'd love to get one of the pocket traps like were in the James Bond movie Diamonds are Forever which when someone inserts their fingers or hands into your pockets it closes on it like an animal (bear) trap crushing the fingers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭kaki

mumhaabu wrote: »
    Would you say it was the native Spanish were responsible or someone else? I'd love to get one of the pocket traps like were in the James Bond movie Diamonds are Forever which when someone inserts their fingers or hands into your pockets it closes on it like an animal (bear) trap crushing the fingers.

Screw human rights violations, I'd buy one of those too!

I reckon it's pretty much half-half regarding pickpockets/prostitutes/drugdealers. You get younger "mozos", teenagers, who would be a mainly Catalan (some foreign nationals though), whereas the older ones would be mainly - but not all - foreigners.

I was in Barcelona with by boyfriend in January, relaxing on a bench by the beach at about 5am on New Year's Day. I had (stupidly, I know) left my bag beside me on the bench, but not strapped around me. I was resting my head on my boyfriends' shoulder, when I sensed something behind the bench. I grabbed my bag, turned around and there was this guy about 1 metre away. I stared him out, he ambled away. Problem solved, I thought to myself, bringing my bag closer to my side, and reassuming my former position.

About 10 minutes later, I sensed something missing. Jumped up, and the same guy from before was running away with my bag (with my wallet, with about 100 euros in it, and my passport :( ) I ran after him (even more stupid, yes, I know) pleading in Spanish for my bag. My boyfriend ran, faster than this character, and started giving out to him, and thrusting his chest at him like a turkey. We all started arguing in Spanish (although I noticed he spoke it with a strange accent - not a native, for sure) until the guy threw my bag away in disgust.

I then ran, grabbed the bag and my bemused boyfriend, and legged it away from the beach

That said, other than that incident (which I brought on myself) I found the city overall to be a lot less dodgy than Rome. And Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Sconsey

A group of 70 of us headed over from college in Jan 2008, we're in UCD, not GMIT, so we'd be fairly street smart, <snip>.
    Lol, you're from Meath...that's pure street alright.

Anyhow, was in Barca for a stag awhile back and didn't have any real trouble, no one got robbed and in fairness we stayed out drinking on the street all night one night but didn't see any real dodgy characters. Madrid on the other hand was crazy, same group on a stag there...saw those tranny-prostiture things openly robbing drunks on the streets, they robbed the watch off a friend. Madrid seemed much worse than Barcelona, I guess a lot of it is just down to luck and common sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭threeleggedhors

kaki wrote: »

Screw human rights violations, I'd buy one of those too!

I reckon it's pretty much half-half regarding pickpockets/prostitutes/drugdealers. You get younger "mozos", teenagers, who would be a mainly Catalan (some foreign nationals though), whereas the older ones would be mainly - but not all - foreigners.

I was in Barcelona with by boyfriend in January, relaxing on a bench by the beach at about 5am on New Year's Day. I had (stupidly, I know) left my bag beside me on the bench, but not strapped around me. I was resting my head on my boyfriends' shoulder, when I sensed something behind the bench. I grabbed my bag, turned around and there was this guy about 1 metre away. I stared him out, he ambled away. Problem solved, I thought to myself, bringing my bag closer to my side, and reassuming my former position.

About 10 minutes later, I sensed something missing. Jumped up, and the same guy from before was running away with my bag (with my wallet, with about 100 euros in it, and my passport :( ) I ran after him (even more stupid, yes, I know) pleading in Spanish for my bag. My boyfriend ran, faster than this character, and started giving out to him, and thrusting his chest at him like a turkey. We all started arguing in Spanish (although I noticed he spoke it with a strange accent - not a native, for sure) until the guy threw my bag away in disgust.

I then ran, grabbed the bag and my bemused boyfriend, and legged it away from the beach

That said, other than that incident (which I brought on myself) I found the city overall to be a lot less dodgy than Rome. And Dublin.

It's a sad sad world when the victim feels like they brought it on themselves, like if a woman wears a short skirt, asking for it ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭bills

Great attitude you have, just because you go to UCD does not make you street smart. Im from Galway & managed not to get mugged over there!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,481 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

I had a knife drawn on me when i was over there last year at a Barca game. Had my wallet stolen earlier in the night, and was walking home with a friend (got totally lost) when some guy came up to me with a knife and told me to give him my wallet. Me being a bit drunk, and absolutly fuming over already losing my wallet, went a bit crazy and shouted him down. He then told me to get lost and walked away. Looking back, it was probably one of the stupider things i've done.

Still enjoyed myself for the most part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭R.D. aka MR.D

I was in Barcelona not so long ago and i had read this thread and the countless other internet resources about the city that ALL warn about crime.

I was amazed at how many people I saw wandering around completly oblivous and I could have stolen from them, it would have been so easy!!

From what I saw it was no worse than Dublin (only been living here for 6 years so no hometown bias)
    You just have to have some common sense.

There are scams and people trying to get close to you but just put on your best angry face and say no in an aggressive voice and they leave you alone and move on to some other sucker.

if your a normal person taking percasions and acting sensibly its unlikly that anything will happen to you.

I felt more threatened in Paris than I did here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Flan45

I've been there twice my self and never had a problem. Love the city. I'm sure it's no better or worse crime wise than any city of a similiar size.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭blog_blog_blog

street smart and ucd, not words I would associate..

Been 5 times ,Walked around city and suburbs both in day and night, have little Spanish. No problems ever! Well nearly got beat by some prozzies outside bus stop @ pacha. And had a coked up taxi driver drive down las ramblas @ 80 skidding up to ped crossings, scary. There are some massive tunnels in the underground. Theres one somewhere in the north of the city thats about a half km long that joins 2 lines. Bit unnerving to walk through it in the evening when empty.

Common sense
    Leave passport and your valuables in hotel safe,or dont bring them!
    Try to travel safe daytime hours in underground.
    Dont be a sap and advertise your belongings in public cameras,bags, flashy clothes etc

Barcalona is a great city full of interesting places and people. I love it! And will travel again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

The back of la rambla is treacherous .A friend of mine was hammered and got robbed taking money out of the atm ,and then back again and they robbe dhim again . Couldn't find him for 3 days . Went to the police station and they were very helpful but useless at the same time .The hard cases I seen in the police station was unreal . La rambla is dangerous don't go anywhere around the back at night .Having said that barcelona is one of the most beautiful cities in the world well worth a visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Amston

Lovely place by day but around Las Ramblas is v. dodgy once it gets dark!!

I saw a middle aged guy being surrounded by 4 girls, 1 rubbing his crotchal region while another had her hand stuck in his jacket pocket (and no he wasn't enjoying it!!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Amston

And had a coked up taxi driver drive down las ramblas @ 80 skidding up to ped crossings, scary. (quote)

Our taxi driver from the airport was a woman with bad teeth who basically raced another taxi driver all the way to our hotel...... She was loco to say the least... !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭WhoseView: Michael

My fellow students and i are currently studying abroad in Dublin. We were planning a trip to Barcelona because my good friend is dying to go. After reading all this i am truly worried that this trip would be a bad idea for a group of young students. We are responsible people but i could use some input. Any thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,995 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Barcelona is no worse than any other European city I've been to.

Be careful with your belongings, keep your valuables in a front pocket (zipped if possible).

You'll be fine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭baldbear

Alot of thieving happens around Las Ramblas and compared to other main street areas of European cities it has to be one of the worst..
    2 of our group got robbed last year. About 4 dirty looking hookers surrounded one guy and pawed through all his pockets. He couln't hit them cause there pimp was there. don't get too drunk and wander off on your own!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭LimeFruitGum

Lovely city, shame about all the petty thieving scumbags.
    I was there in December and I would have dearly loved to have brought my DSLR camera but there was no freaking way I was running the risk of some gippo helping himself. I would only take my hotel key, small digital camera and 30 quid. Everything else was locked in the safe.

We were over to see a girl we knew from uni who had been living there a while and she had gotten robbed twice. It isn't just tourists who get robbed.
    My friends happen to speak Spanish and one had been to Barca a few times before, so we weren't complete gombeens around town.

I brought a small bag that I put on diagonally over my body and zipped it under my coat. I wasn't taking any chances. Even if you sit down in a bar, hold on to your bag and coat!
    As our Barca friend said, if it ain't nailed down, someone will rob it.

There are signs in bars and shops all around Barca telling you not to neglect your bags. Being a laydee, I was constantly on my guard because I don't exactly look local ;-) Don't let your guard down for a second and don't go around on your own at night in the city centre.

I'm not knocking the city itself, it is worth visiting, but the thieving problem is out of control and has been for years.