Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Old Greenfield

• 07-05-2007 2:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭

What is it like? Been to see a nice enough house there that I might take, people seem sound...been hearing not so great things about this estate though, is it that bad? Seems okay to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭nothing

It's the worst estate in 'nooth, afaik. Loudest, roughest part, would advise you to avoid it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭MayMay

nothing wrote:
    It's the worst estate in 'nooth, afaik. Loudest, roughest part, would advise you to avoid it.

Really? Really doesn't seem that bad...I've lived on Parson Street in a right kip, can't see how it'd be worse than that. It's so near the train station, would be so handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭nothing

Well I've personally never lived there, so I'm only going on what I've heard, it may not be that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

My mate lives there. Grand enough place. He has no real complaints about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭slumped

i live in Maynooth area. Old Greenfield is a rough as a badgers arse.

Avoid!!!

S

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭deadfingers

I lived there for part of my sint in Maynooth, the only trouble I had was that we had a number of large evergreen trees at the front of our house and the local kids use to play in them, I know that does not sound too bad but when there was about 20 of them at midnight it tends to piss you off. I asked them stop but they told me to f*#k off. The next week the landlord cut them down and they did not come back. I would not live there again but if you are stuck then I guess go for it.

What's so bad about it? Has there been trouble there? Yeah a few of the houses look rough but I've seen worse in supposedly nicer housing estates in Maynooth. I don't mind about the house being basic, I just hope there won't be any trouble or any damage done to my car etc....the guy that showed it to me said he's never had any trouble and I know he's going to say that anyway but he lives there and seems honest enough about everything about the house etc.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Been in maynooth since 98, never lived in old greenfield never will. Natives are extremely hostile. Estate by far has the most trouble. Up to you though. I think this is the general impression you'll get from anyone that's been in this town for awhile.

:( Well I'm a bit stuck so I'll take it for a while anyway....suppose I can move if I have any troube. But I really am stuck for somewhere and it's the only place I can get immediately, moving tonight.

Are there other estates you wouldn't go near or just Old Greenfield?

It will have to do for now I guess...wish me luck! :confused:

Good Luck! Not being bad but that is the only estate i wouldn't live in...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 46 mazdafarl

Youd be alrite if your were near the main road, but livin in the thick of would be a bad idea. day time is fine I suppose, alot of knackers about that spend their time lookin for students to mug

Well one night down and no problems lol I live down at the very end. Yeah there's a few knacker houses there back in the middle but some of the houses are really lovely and seems to be loads of old people living there. So far so good :)

Well thanks for the advice everyone but I couldn't be happier. I've lived in lots of different places in Maynooth and this is the happiest I've been in any of them. Great housemates and no problems in the estate....shouldn't always jump on the bad name bandwagon. Every estate has its problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭slumped

give it time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Seanie M

When I was in Maynooth from '96 to '00 it was called Little Lebanon! But, I am sure, just like all estates that have a bad name, there are good people there too. It's just a shame that only the bad folks are thje ones heard/noticed.

Seanie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭pisslips

mazdafarl wrote:
    Youd be alrite if your were near the main road, but livin in the thick of would be a bad idea. day time is fine I suppose, alot of knackers about that spend their time lookin for students to mug

In the two years I've been here none of the people I know have been mugged or attacked....Maynooth is actually the least 'knackery' town I've ever frequented.

I've walked through old greenfield at night on my own, whilst half drunk at least 6 times.

I've never been confonted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭ClareBear

I'm living in Old Greenfield. Have no complaints whatsoever. I prefer living there than Lyreen Manor with all my lovely Polish neighbours playing cheesy 80's music and shouting at their friends in the apartments across from us all night. Was at a friend's house in Rail Park lastnight and a bunch of teeny boppers followed me to my car, they didn't do anything in the end except shout abuse but it was very uncomfortable. I haven't had anything like that in Old Greenfield and we've walked through there many times late at night. Both my neighbours at each side are in their 60's/70's and so far haven't vandalised my car or anything!

Don't always go by a bad name, there's scumbags everywhere.

Apparently there's some commitee been formed to kick one of the families out of the estate...anyone heard anything about this? See all it takes is one bad family to make a bad name for a place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭FunkyChicken

slumped wrote:
    give it time...
    what he said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭BigTommyBomb

Monkey Muldoon will have you students for breakfast if you dare and live on his patch.

Whos Monkey Muldoon :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭BigTommyBomb

Who is Monkey Muldoon you ask? Only Dick Treacy's worst nightmare. If we're talking Greenfield you have to talk about the old school.

Right.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭ClareBear

MayMay wrote:
    Apparently there's some commitee been formed to kick one of the families out of the estate...anyone heard anything about this? See all it takes is one bad family to make a bad name for a place.

Yeah I heard something about it...I'm only there for 2 months, leaving this weekend but the 2 months I was there were grand anyway. Best of luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 grannieschest

By the way someone did get stabbed in the head with a screw driver when some "ladz" were tryin to nick his car. Also the two houses that back onto the "greenfield of dreams" in meadowbrook got burnt down by old greenfields best and brightest. Then just as they had been rebuilt and fixed up they burnt them down again. Just not because they could but because they couldn't help themselves. Now i agree that not every person who lives in old greenfield is a screw driver wielding AIDS receptical,but i can't out of respect for my fellow man give them the benefit of the doubt. As for the family getting evicted. I'm assuming they must have been enriching weapons grade plutonium to get ****ed out of that **** shop. If you really want to find out where the problem areas are in maynooth and what goes on, go down to maynooth garda station and ask them under the guise of doing some sociological research, what areas in maynooth are the worst and what exactly happens in em. Hand down pants i bet it will be that lovely plot of land that that would go to better use Building the Charlie Haughey memorial play ground. Unless in fact thats what it already is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Fairy

I lived there til I was 10, it was fine then but it's been getting rougher since! I don't really know though, it's alittle bit intimidating to walk through it!! Is the house far in or near the front?? :o

I'm way in, down the very end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Fairy

Well if the house and the neighbours seem okay I'd say you'll be fine there! Check them out! :o

Yeah they're grand...just seems to be a few houses in the middle that are causing problems....saw the biggest knack of a woman with her 3 dirty kids get in to a seriously expensive looking car today....kinda makes me wonder where that money came from! Ah don't want to generalise but still....

Mmmm maybe I should move afterall! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Cad a tharla?

My car got keyed....only thing is I don't know if this happened in town or outside the house cause was the next morning when I spotted it so can't exactly blame the estate. Not a happy camper though, that's going to be costly to fix that. Just have a feeling it happened outside the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭lemansky

MayMay wrote:
    Just have a feeling it happened outside the house.

Its not a feeling-its instinct!Its justified as well because...well...your car fell to the first law of old greenfield(which only certain people follow,I stress),and that is: If you see something nice or shiny, make sh1t of it.
    Again, I stress that only certain elements in that area follow that code.

lemansky wrote:
    Its not a feeling-its instinct!Its justified as well because...well...your car fell to the first law of old greenfield(which only certain people follow,I stress),and that is: If you see something nice or shiny, make sh1t of it.
    Again, I stress that only certain elements in that area follow that code.

It's a sad state of affairs but what leman said is exactly true. unlucky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Excelsior

My car was also keyed in Old Greenfield.

Ironically I was in there doing a good turn for a family without much money. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭JuJuYNWA

By the way someone did get stabbed in the head with a screw driver when some "ladz" were tryin to nick his car. Also the two houses that back onto the "greenfield of dreams" in meadowbrook got burnt down by old greenfields best and brightest. Then just as they had been rebuilt and fixed up they burnt them down again. Just not because they could but because they couldn't help themselves. Now i agree that not every person who lives in old greenfield is a screw driver wielding AIDS receptical,but i can't out of respect for my fellow man give them the benefit of the doubt. As for the family getting evicted. I'm assuming they must have been enriching weapons grade plutonium to get ****ed out of that **** shop. If you really want to find out where the problem areas are in maynooth and what goes on, go down to maynooth garda station and ask them under the guise of doing some sociological research, what areas in maynooth are the worst and what exactly happens in em. Hand down pants i bet it will be that lovely plot of land that that would go to better use Building the Charlie Haughey memorial play ground. Unless in fact thats what it already is!

Completely agree, Old Greenfield is to Maynooth as Knocknaheeny is to Cork. Ya just dont go there if you can avoid it.

I used to live in Meadowbrook and was walking home one night to my house through Greenfield, two guys followed me back and tried to force their way into the house "for a party bud" i got rid of them easy enough as they were your typical little scumbags with no balls. About ten minutes later there was a knock on the door and when my housemate answered it two bricks came through the door, one of which split my friends head open.

Believe all the bad **** you hear about the place, sure enough there are nice people living there, but there are also very very very bad people living there.