Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

lazy drivers

• 03-05-2007 11:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭

I felt I had to post this and see if anyone else has seen this happen.

I live on the corner of a road where there is a roundabout, not a painted one but a fairly big one with some bushes and plants. Now yesterday evening I looked out the window and I couldn't believe what I saw, A car pulls up to the roundabout and they are heading out of the estate so that meant that they would have to go around the roundabout to get to the exit, but now this driver decided to cut across the roundabout driving the wrong way so that they wouldn't have to go around the roundabout.

I couldn't believe this but when I mentioned it to other people they said yep there are a few idiots who do it. The person I seen doing it was in a honda civic with all the bits, the loud exhaust and the blaring music.

Is this a common thing? has anyone else seen this happen? Is there anything that can be done, say like taking a picture of the person doing this and then presenting it to the garda?

To me this is totally idiotic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭ShowUsYourXbox

Have i ever seen a young person in a "suped" up honda civic doing something stupid? No, never.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭goose06

Get the reg, ring the Garda Traffic Help Line 1890 205805

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Funnily enough, before "Failure to turn vehicle left onto a roundabout" became a penalty points offence, I had never seen anyone do this on Irish roads.

Now I see it quite a lot. It must be laziness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Floppybits wrote:
    The person I seen doing it was in a honda civic with all the bits, the loud exhaust and the blaring music.

Enough said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭dade

happens in my estate with some regularity and a few near misses too. Allegedly during the week some bint in a BMW did it and ended up on the foot path with a lamp post for a new bonnet orniment. I saw the aftermath myself that night when i got home. a nice shinney BMW with an acordian for a bonnet with a lamppost sticking out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭dame

goose06 wrote:
    Get the reg, ring the Garda Traffic Help Line 1890 205805

I tried ringing that number a couple of times over the space of two days before (last summer) and it wasn't answered once. I have heard of people getting through in the past but I think it's been scaled back so much that the number's just there for PR.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Salthillwarrior

I do it the odd time at night on a roundabout where I live. Whats the harm?

I could be wrong but I think the guards won't do anything about traffic in an estate. For example, people ignoring roundabouts (like you said), swinging around cutting corners, parking on corners, blocking footpaths/gates etc. It's just not their responsibility. If you had a few joy-riders out they might be bothered alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Which one is it? So we can put up a sign... "Traffic may come from wrong direction"

OP, Try getting it on film or pictures where it's evident what's happening. If you can get a frame of the reg plate as well it's an open and shut case.

Some really goody goodys here. I would love if somebody tried to get me up in court for a driving offence. NO court would take on a case like that. Your word against mine etc.

I guess we'll see when you get caught.
    Just make sure not to kill/maim anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

Grr, you're not THAT guy I've encountered, are you? Taking a shortcut into that little alleyway beside Lohan's?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭NutJob

Have i ever seen a young person in a "suped" up honda civic doing something stupid? No, never.

Not just "souped" up hondas.
    I see it regularly

i have 3 favs i see on roundabouts

a.The random lane change
    b.The indicator that makes no sense
    c.The park in the middle of a mini roundabout and indicate and then pull off like a normal junction

makes me want to get the popcorn and sit out for the day

Just make sure not to kill/maim anyone.
    How would I kill somebody? Are you one of those people who drives at 30mph through country towns with a trail of cars behind you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

That's just stupid, whats the point in doing that? It would feel unatural and I'd think it was more of an effort to go the wrong way around. If he's such a boy racer he should get the little g-buzz from going around the roundabout.

Anyone can press charges against another driver if they take down the details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,838 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

How would I kill somebody? Are you one of those people who drives at 30mph through country towns with a trail of cars behind you?
    why don't you just drive round it properly - its just fraking stupid. I hope a gardai see's you do it some time so you get a fine, some points and an increase on the insurance. idiot.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Thats about 2 mph over the speed limit for an urban area. And what speed exactly do you drive through towns and villages at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Are you one of those people who drives at 30mph through country towns with a trail of cars behind you?

You mean one of those people who obey the speed limit in a 'country' town? .... or any town or city in fact. I am yes. Do you have some better advise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭sinjin_smythe

Wow your so cool,, can i have your babies??

why don't you just drive round it properly
    Its a quiet roundabout. Late at night, nobody around and my exit is closest to the entrance so why would I go all the way around, stressing the cars chassis and slowing me down? It just makes more sense to cut it.
    And what speed exactly do you drive through towns and villages at?
    Depends. Like most people I drive over 30 and it can vary from 35-45 given the area and conditions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

What speed would you suggest going through a country town? The roads would be better off without dickheads like you driving on them.

I've found a video of people doing just this!

Warning, contains swearing

Its a quiet roundabout. Late at night, nobody around and my exit is closest to the entrance so why would I go all the way around, stressing the cars chassis and slowing me down? It just makes more sense to cut it.

Depends. Like most people I drive over 30 and it can vary from 35-45 given the area and conditions.

Idiot!

If your car can't handle the stress of going around a roundabout then it's time you dumped it in the scrap-yard! Has the car passed it's NCT at all? Has it had a regular service? I would love to see you discuss the stress on the chassis caused by going the right way around a roundabout with an engineer! :rolleyes: Who do you think you're kidding?

How many seconds does it take off your journey to go the wrong way? 2? 3?

How would I kill somebody?

Lots of ways, here's one little sample;

Pedestrian approaches roundabout,
    looks around,
    sees car approaching along the road beside them but assumes it's safe to cross because the car will be going left around the roundabout,
    pedestrian steps off the footpath,
    you swing right (wrong way around the roundabout),
    nice mess for someone to clean up,
    funeral,
    court case,
    Salthillwarrior in jail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Tauren wrote:
    why don't you just drive round it properly - its just fraking stupid. I hope a gardai see's you do it some time so you get a fine, some points and an increase on the insurance. idiot.

This is what I don't get, what is the advantage to doing this, I don't think it will save money on petrol nor do I think it will save you much time, its not the roundabouts are huge? So why do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Some really goody goodys here.

You say that like it's a bad thing!
    Your word against mine etc.

Well, once you open your mouth in court, the judge will recognise you for what you are. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭smokingman

I'm afraid there's lots of morons like the salthill one about, a favourite 'round my parts is micras-with-a-spoiler going around roundabouts in estates over and over to see if they can get a screeching noise from their tires.....why, I cannot fathom - tires cost enough these days to go through them in a few months....

...but mind you, we are talking about people of below normal intelligence here so I'm sure they'll never figure out why their wheels are slick anyway.

'm afraid there's lots of morons like the salthill one about
    That is out of line. Everything that I have said has been reasonable and fair. I don't drive by the book sometimes but I do drive safely. Nobody here ever talks about when the drink drive or speed but yet a huge amount of society does. All my friends and family do and I never find myself chastisted for doing so but as soon as I mention it on a forum all the saints come out to take a shot at me.

That is out of line. Everything that I have said has been reasonable and fair.

It's reasonable and fair to drive dangerously?

Maybe if you would have said "At night, in a tiny roundabout with no restricted view I will cut across" would have received a better response.

Saying "What's the harm?" tends to rub people the wrong way...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

I don't drive by the book sometimes but I do drive safely.

Driving the wrong way around a roundabout is unsafe driving. Cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭tc20

I do drive safely.

and "i do between 35 and 45mph thru a country town/village"

The boy's a genius :rolleyes:

The boy's a genius
    What is your issue with that? Drive from Dublin to Galway and every village you drive through people will be at those speeds. Depending on what point they are in the town. People who don't are in the minority. Majority rules.

All my friends and family do and I never find myself chastisted for doing so

Oh well, that's OK then, everyone does it.

That is out of line. Everything that I have said has been reasonable and fair. I don't drive by the book sometimes but I do drive safely. Nobody here ever talks about when the drink drive or speed but yet a huge amount of society does. All my friends and family do and I never find myself chastisted for doing so but as soon as I mention it on a forum all the saints come out to take a shot at me.

You talk about ignoring a roundabout..... because it's at night and it's quiet, you reckon that's ok. It's not, at night time there are a lot more restrictions to your ability to be able to judge a safe move in a car.

You talk about driving a bit over the limit in 30mph zone.... are you one of those muppets who will try to intimidate a driver obeying the speed limit? by driving too close or swerving erratically in an attempt to overtake?

Is there any other rules of the road that you don't bother with?

Seatbelt?
    Lights?
    Stop Signs?
    Speed limits higher than 30mph (50 kph) ?
    Pedestrian crossings?

muppet.

Majority rules.
    Law rules.

I think this thread should locked or something. A bit of ganging up on the noob.

I don't drive by the book sometimes but I do drive safely.

Obviously you don't, have some sense.
    Nobody here ever talks about when the drink drive or speed

Yes we do, quite a lot in fact
    All my friends and family do and I never find myself chastisted for doing so but as soon as I mention it on a forum all the saints come out to take a shot at me.

I can assure you that any motorists that witness you perform the idiotic activities you describe here are cursing you in much more graphic and colourful terms that are being used here, I know I would be anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭Floppybits

What is your issue with that? Drive from Dublin to Galway and every village you drive through people will be at those speeds. Depending on what point they are in the town. People who don't are in the minority. Majority rules.

It just gets worse and worse. So if the majority of drivers that start driving their cars into walls you will do the same because the majority of drivers are doing it?

The laws are clearly out of step with the public. Law is dictated by a popular consensus, but the usual road safety zealots make sure they have the law their way.

Before it does get locked though....

Now as people who know me will tell you, I'm a "slow" driver in that I do obey the limits on roads.

I do this for a few reasons;

1 : I don't want points - my insurance is high enough
    2 : I'm never in a rush anywhere - "if you go in time, you'll be there in time"
    3 : If i DID speed, I'd knock, oh what, a few seconds or even a minite or two off my journey - time I could spend...er....counting the time I've saved in speeding?
    4 : I love motorsports in all forms but that's on a track...and I think I'm intelligent enough to know the difference - I can just use videogames for my thrill kicks.
    5 : I want my car to last a long time and get the best out of it (that's why I service it myself) so why am I going to throw it around corners wasting rubber?

I'm no goody-goody but this is just common sense here, what's the horrible stigma with being like this? Please do tell 'cause I've no idea...

The laws are clearly out of step with the public. Law is dictated by a popular consensus, but the usual road safety zealots make sure they have the law their way.

Could you elaborate on this? Are you suggesting that it should be legal to drive the wrong way around roundabouts?

The mind boggles...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭tc20

I'll tell you what my issue is, and i'll refrain from trying to abuse you. In fact i do regularly travel that route as i have family in Galway. And no, people do not hoon thru the towns/villages at those speeds. Lets be logical here for a moment shall we? A factor in accidents caused by excessive speed in urban areas can be attributed to the difference between a drivers perceived ability, and their actual ability. For example, you're driving thru Moate, its a town with a wide main street. So you think its cool to do 35-45mph cos it looks to be clear, and sure you're in control of your car. So a kid runs out from behind a parked car to cross the road. You will suddenly find that "between 35 and 45mph" is way too quick.
    I do exceed the limit i admit on a M-way or dualler. But i will absolutely will not go above 50kph (or 60 if posted)thru a village/town. Why? Firstly cos of what could happen, secondly its the LIMIT in a built up area.
    Now the difference between perceived and real ability is something people should be more aware of (moreso younger/less experienced drivers). Its not something on which a strong enough emphasis is placed on when you're learning to drive.
    So cop on to yourself, before you learn the hard way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Isn't this contradicting itself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gyppo

tc20 wrote:
    For example, you're driving thru Moate, its a town with a wide main street. So you think its cool to do 35-45mph cos it looks to be clear, and sure you're in control of your car.

I live near Moate, and anyone who can drive at 20mph due to the traffic volumes is doing well:D

Anyhow, sorry for digressing, totally agree with your post.

thru Moate,
    Moate is one place where I would go slower. My speed is dictated by hte conditions and not by the speed limits. There are towns further up where for a half mile either side you would be in the wrong ot drive at 30mph. As for my percieved abilities; I know I am an excellent driver (no accidents, 100% in drivintg test) so I drive accoringly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gyppo

Moate is one place where I would go slower. My speed is dictated by hte conditions and not by the speed limits. There are towns further up where for a half mile either side you would be in the wrong ot drive at 30mph. As for my percieved abilities; I know I am an excellent driver (no accidents, 100% in drivintg test) so I drive accoringly.

Not through choice, I'd bet.

I hope you cop yourself on, and loose that cocky smug attitude, otherwise you might just make a small and all too common paragraph on the news some day.

It doesnt matter if it's moate or anywhere else... the same hazards are there.
    I know I am an excellent driver

HA !!!!!

My speed is dictated by hte conditions and not by the speed limits.

As for my percieved abilities; I know I am an excellent driver (no accidents, 100% in drivintg test) so I drive accoringly.

Please, stop digging...you're killing me here!

Just a newsflash, you actually bring your speed even lower than the speed limit if there are "conditions" such as rain, snow etc...

I'm gonna take a shot in the dark here and guess that your speed is, in fact, restricted by the speed limits. It is law, is it not?

Wrong.
    I won't drive over 120kmh on the motorway as its as fast as I need to go and not very fuel efficient. I will drive more or less at 100kmph on national roads, maybe a bit more depedning on conditions. Some 80 limits I'll drive 100 and so on..Its calculated, safe driving although not entirely legal. What is your problem with this?