Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prisoner calling livelines Joe Duffy

• 01-05-2007 3:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭

Anyone catch this today?

Unbelievable. Where to even start!

Who ever produced today's show will surely be up for the high-jump.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Start at the beginning....I love a good on air train wreck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

I'd say they're delighted with all concerned - nothing drags in listeners and keeps them enthralled like controversy/ air-wave-carnage :eek:

Joe Duffy was delighted - poor fella only seemed anguished whenever foul language was being used [Biddy factor] - otherwise he knew that the drugs, deaths and mayhem and schoolyard shouting was all great for advertising revenue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

What are you getting het up about.

My view is that all of todays stuff was true,a few bits of foul language thrown in.

Surely nobody believes that all the accusations made by Williams were fiction.

RTE will love that show.. producer will be lauded and praised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Yep, found it exceptionally entertaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

My view is that all of todays stuff was true,a few bits of foul language thrown in.

I'm sure the BCI might have another view. Much foul language aside, the fact they let a prisoner from Portlaioise phone-in and go on air was really bad judgement.

I think the tried to court controversy and the show just blew up in their faces.

Thats what it's all about isn't it???

Do we want staged stuff ala Springer or do we want genuine live radio.??

Now I realise that the NPSB cannot turn over the airwaves to the lowlifes and scummers who drift amongst us , but now and again it's no harm to shed a bit of light on the pale underbelly of society.

Today's show was excellent and shows how the articulate pricks who manipulate the public opinion sound bites are difficult to put down and can influence people who are anti establishment from day 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

What the fup happened?

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

I shall listen tonight at work with great interest. Please tell me they didn't take it down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 915 ✭✭✭ArthurDent

Kept me riveted to the end and I can't stand Joe Duffy. Say he'll take some flack - not often you hear people called fuppers and c*nts at 2pm on the national airwaves!

Was the phone taken off the head banger in Portlaoise or did he hang up?

taken from him probably, but who cares.??

Public need to know these articulate scum exist and back up the forces of law and order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Big Balls

I'm sure the BCI might have another view. the fact they let a prisoner from Portlaioise phone-in and go on air was really bad judgement.

Nothing wrong with that DW. Liveline certainly is not the first show to have a prisoner call in and go on air!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Have to say that was the best liveline in a long time. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭mickey1979

That was brilliant. Williams is a bit of a smug p...k but I would not envy him having to deal with Dublins gangland. But what are the garda up to Dublins gang lords do not sound too bright maybe I am wrong and this guy really is a criminal mastermind me thinks not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Williams is a bit like Charlies Bird in the way he always sounds like he is the only man who can save us.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭Scruff

Best bit of radio i've heard in ages!!!

To listen to it go to
    http://www.rte.ie/radio1/index.html

then click on “Liveline” under “Listen Back” on the right hand side menu. When it starts up drag the slider in the player over to about 29mins in where it really kicks off. Up to that there was just a Sinn Feiner complaining about Paul Williams

Funniest bit is about 59mins in. A lad rings up from a cell inside Portlaoise prison .
    mental stuff.

I tried recording the stream to post up but neither of the stream recorders i tried would work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

I'm sure the BCI might have another view.

They might but it would be irrelevant as they have no authority over RTE.

I didn't catch it yesterday but I heard Paul Williams on today. Sombody has to stand up to the scumbags . Fair play to him.

Here is yesterdays show in mp3 format

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/podcast/podcast_liveline.xml

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭colmranger

Anyone know how to hear yesterdays Joe Duffy?

Checked the RTE website but they only replay on the day of the show or the podcasts are a week behind?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/liveline/

It's there... look down the right edge, and you can listen to the last 5 editions. Tuesday, of course, is the one you need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Threads merged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ashyle

mike65 wrote:
    What the fup happened?

Mike.
    the scummer called the journo a "lying c u next tuesdee" :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭jb91

Tonight on FM104 Adrian Kennedy said that prisoners have been phoning his show from cells in Mountjoy for at least 7 years with mobile phones.

Why does it only become a big deal when it makes national radio?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭Scruff

Because the more people that hear about it obviously the bigger deal it gets.
    While i dont disbelieve him on this count i wouldnt put too much stock in what Adrian Kennedy says in general. A lot of the initial phone ins on his show are paid plants with bogus stories to get people pissed off and ring in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,365 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

jb91 wrote:
    Tonight on FM104 Adrian Kennedy said that prisoners have been phoning his show from cells in Mountjoy for at least 7 years with mobile phones.

Because, surprisingly enough, not everybody in this country lives in dublin or can get access to dublin radio...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

Michael McDowell is on liveline now.. basically saying again he shouldnt have been allowed on.

Joe asked was it illegal for the show to receive and broadcast the call.. and of course McD said it was a matter for RTE's legal team.

This is coming from a previous attorney general.. He knows well RTE broke no laws. RTE only uncovered a failure under McDowells watch. He's p'd off and sounding like a big hard man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Trotter wrote:
    He knows well RTE broke no laws. RTE only uncovered a failure under McDowells watch. He's p'd off and sounding like a big hard man.

nail on the head trotter, that's exactly what it was. This isn't the first time a prisoner has called into liveline btw, there was a guy a while ago saying that his grandson had gone into prison with a mild drug problem and it was worse in prison - practically that whole show was prisoners ringing in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

I actually thought he came across well, didn't get over dramatic or launch into hysterics like Williams done the last 2 days. He must have a new book due out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

Jip wrote:
    I actually thought he came across well, didn't get over dramatic or launch into hysterics like Williams done the last 2 days. He must have a new book due out.

I think thats a bit unfair. The guy has made his own life very uncomfortable by speaking out, and any decent person would think he's due a pat on the back. He is no friend of organised criminals and his work should be supported.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

I agree to a certain extent but he is quite fond of hyping himself and his stories up now, he probably feels he's bigger than the story these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Jip wrote:
    I agree to a certain extent but he is quite fond of hyping himself and his stories up now, he probably feels he's bigger than the story these days.

In fairness, he is excellent at what he does... I know he works for a terrible rag of a newspaper but his knowledge of these scumbags and their dealings is very extensive.

I've seen/heard him do a lot of interviews , but on Tuesday he was so articulate and really gave everything he could to the wasters he was talking to.

Couldn't fault him to be honest.

jb91 wrote:

Maybe its a bigger issue because Portlaoise is a Maximum Security Prison.

Anyway the technology to block phone signals exists, If they can do it in a cinema they should be able to do it in a prison. It is a simple problem to solve if the will to do so existed.

Surely if it was that simple it would have been done long ago.

Lets not take people as totally innefficient and clueless.

There are /must be,some issues that prevent this from being carried out.

Surely if it was that simple it would have been done long ago.

Lets not take people as totally innefficient and clueless.

There are /must be,some issues that prevent this from being carried out.

Well why is it not that simple? What are the issues that stop this from being carried out?

It's illegal to Jam a phone signal that's the only problem that I am aware of . The Government could sort that if they wanted to. It wouldn't be the first time state bodies jammed radio signals would it?

Are you seriously putting out the opinion that it is "quite simple" to prevent mobile phones being used from prisons?

Are you opining that such a "simple" task is not being done by The Dept. of Justice with the full weight of the Govt. behind it.??

I ,quite frankly, find this hard to believe.

There must be other issues involved or otherwise this would have been sorted out long ago.

Are you seriously putting out the opinion that it is "quite simple" to prevent mobile phones being used from prisons?

Are you opining that such a "simple" task is not being done by The Dept. of Justice with the full weight of the Govt. behind it.??

There must be other issues involved or otherwise this would have been sorted out long ago.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but don't remember the issue coming to the forefront with so much coverage until just now... So maybe they didn't realise the extent of the problems with phones in prisons.

However I heard some report of a ridiculous amount of them being confiscated previous to this.

The device to block the signal does exist as far as I'm aware. I'm sure any legal restrictions could be overlooked in this case !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭catch--22

Twenty Major the blogger has an interesting take on it all:

http://twentymajor.net/

EDIT: can't link directly to it because of a swear word in the address....it's not too hard to find anyway!

I am putting it that the technolgy to block mobile phone signal exists. A
    Dublin based Cinema used it a few years ago until comred (comreg genuine typo honest) forced them to turn it off. The hardware to do it can be purchased on the net. I'll not post a link as its illegal but goggle is your friend if you still don't believe me.

We may be at cross purposes here.

I fully agree that the technology to block mobile phone signals exists and is relatively simple to install.

My point is that if it were that simple it would have been done long ago.

There must be other issueswhich prevent this being done and being effective.
    These could be legal/health & safety/administrative or various others.

On a recent radio interview John Lonergan outlined the extent of the problem,however the interview didn't probe the possible solutions.

We may be at cross purposes here.

I fully agree that the technology to block mobile phone signals exists and is relatively simple to install.

My point is that if it were that simple it would have been done long ago.

There must be other issueswhich prevent this being done and being effective.
    These could be legal/health & safety/administrative or various others.

On a recent radio interview John Lonergan outlined the extent of the problem,however the interview didn't probe the possible solutions.

What are those other issues ? I know it's illegal but that could be easilly sorted. This is the Govrnment we are talking about.

The Muppet wrote:
    What are those other issues ? I know it's illegal but that could be easilly sorted. This is the Govrnment we are talking about.

maybe those blockers block out radio traffic as well, maybe the authorities feel it would be too dangerous to have the prison officers be without mobile phones, maybe they are cost prohibitive, maybe there are health fears around using them, maybe there is legislation that prevents them being used for a very good reason.

I'm not being smart, but I see bantams point - I'm sure this idea has been raised before, you would hope there is a good reason it hasn't been implemented - possibly, possibly not. I've written to comreg to ask them why it's illegal, out of interest, I'll let you know if I hear anything.

tbh wrote:
    maybe the authorities feel it would be too dangerous to have the prison officers be without mobile phones

As far as I know, prison officers aren't allowed phones while on duty (presume they use radios etc) Fareplay to you for getting on to them! Let us know what they say ....

Here's the mail I sent to Comreg:

I've been reading about the recent liveline radio programme, where a prisoner from Portlaoise prison rang in to the show on a mobile phone. I was wondering why the authorities don't simply install mobile phone blocking devices in prisons to jam signals in a local area, and from what I can gather, the use of these devices seems to be illegal. I was wondering if you could tell me what legislation the use of these devices contravenes, why they remain illegal in this context, and if there are any moves to legalize them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

3, Vodaphone, O2 (owned by Telefonica) and Meteor bought the rights to broadcast mobile signals in this country. It's the fear of these companies that stopped gov't supporting the cinema ban imo. And an election! Nothing ever gets done in the lead up to an election...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Big Tone

What are ye all talkin about! I say give all prisoners mobile phones and let them ring programmes like Live(ly) Line so all the normal decent people in this country can hear the scumbags that Prison Officers have to put up with daily!
    Made for the best radio in years IMO!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭Milktrolley

The only link you need: [URL="rtsp://streaming2.rte.ie/2007/0501/01052007rte-liveline.rm"]Scroll to 59:55[/URL]. After the ad break, roll on to 1:03:36.

Big Tone wrote:
    What are ye all talkin about! I say give all prisoners mobile phones and let them ring programmes like Live(ly) Line so all the normal decent people in this country can hear the scumbags that Prison Officers have to put up with daily!
    Made for the best radio in years IMO!
    agree with you - should show them up for what they are.

tbh wrote:
    maybe those blockers block out radio traffic as well, maybe the authorities feel it would be too dangerous to have the prison officers be without mobile phones, maybe they are cost prohibitive, maybe there are health fears around using them, maybe there is legislation that prevents them being used for a very good reason.

I'm not being smart, but I see bantams point - I'm sure this idea has been raised before, you would hope there is a good reason it hasn't been implemented - possibly, possibly not. I've written to comreg to ask them why it's illegal, out of interest, I'll let you know if I hear anything.

I would be very interested in hearing comreg's reply. Here's some info from one of the sites selling this equipment. It rules out some of your suggestions as to why they have not been used.

Cell phone jammer.

A phone jammer transmits low power radio signals to cut off communications between cell phones and cell base stations. It does not interfere with any communications other than cellular phones within the defined regulated zone.
    Upon activating a phone jammer, all idle phones will indicate "NO NETWORK." Incoming calls are blocked as if the cellular hand phone were off.
    When the phone jammer is turned off, all cell hand phones will automatically re-establish communications and provide full service.

The Muppet wrote:
    I would be very interested in hearing comreg's reply. Here's some info from one of the sites selling this equipment. It rules out some of your suggestions as to why they have not been used.

Cell phone jammer.

A phone jammer transmits low power radio signals to cut off communications between cell phones and cell base stations. It does not interfere with any communications other than cellular phones within the defined regulated zone.
    Upon activating a phone jammer, all idle phones will indicate "NO NETWORK." Incoming calls are blocked as if the cellular hand phone were off.
    When the phone jammer is turned off, all cell hand phones will automatically re-establish communications and provide full service.

that's interesting - It's looking more and more like the only reason they don't deploy these devices is because it infringes on the network providers ability to sell their service - criminal IMO. If I hear anything back, I'll post it straight up.

nothing back from comreg - not even a boilerplate reply :rolleyes:

however, I saw this today:

New technology is planned to block the use of mobiles in the prisons.

The news comes after it was revealed a live budgie, mobile phones, drugs and homemade alcohol have been seized from inmates’ cells in Ireland’s maximum security prison, it emerged today.

on breakingnews.ie