Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beer lover? Try this, you won't be disappointed

• 25-04-2007 9:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭

Rochefort Trappistes 10, I got it in that place in Ranelagh (what's the name of that off licence?). Cost's about €5.30 for a 330ml bottle, but it's a seriously nice beer, get 1 or 2 to try.

Don't drink too many, it's well over 10% alcohol content.

Trappistes%20Rochefort%2010%20-%20330ml%20-%20210x330.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,610 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Paparazzo wrote:
    I got it in that place in Ranelagh (what's the name of that off licence?).
    The place next to McDonalds?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

5.30 for 330ml?

it had better be gorgeous. but i guess it has te alcohol content of 2+ regular lagers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Thinks it's called Redmonds. Come out of the centra on the triangle, turn left, and it's about 4 shops up. They do loads of weird beers, but the fridges are those open ones, with plastic strips hanging down to keep the cool air in.

It's actually 11.3%, got a selection of 6 beers that I never heard of in there, this one was by far the best. Dark, and a lot of sediment in it. It's made by monks, read this, if you're still not impressed, I'll give up!

Monks! It's a secret recipe and brewing technique that God gave to them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭Frankiestylee

Oh, thats mad expensive for a 330ml.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭happy_acid_face

If you like that try Westmalle Tripel, Tripel Karmliet and a couple of the Chimay range. All of them are Belgian Trappist beers (Trappist being its made in a monastery, yes, by monks!) and are all very high in alcohol.
    In Particular I'd recommend the Westmalle Tripel. It's in a Slim bottle with a cream label and boasts a 9.5% Abv. It's priced around the €3 mark and is the best Trappist beer I have tried to date!

(All are 330ml bottles which Trappist beers more often than not, tend to be in. An expensive taste to have :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭oblivious

ferdi wrote:
    5.30 for 330ml?

it had better be gorgeous. but i guess it has te alcohol content of 2+ regular lagers.

Don’t bother, if you just want an alcohol kick buy your self some cheap vodka or better still some white spirits!

it's a wonderful beer, one of the best around

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

Those Trappist lads know how to brew a beer, Chimay Red is another one that should be sampled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Oh, thats mad expensive for a 330ml.
    oblivious wrote:
    Don’t bother, if you just want an alcohol kick buy your self some cheap vodka or better still some white spirits!

Point is the main cost of beer here is the duty, and the duty is directly related to the %. so 330ml 11.3% @ €5.30 it is equivalent to a 330ml 4.3% at €2.

I take the point about the duty, I still suspect some people want quantity over quality. But Trappist beers are a very limited product, their charter from the Vatican state they must brew with in the wall of the monastery. Also a lot of the money raised from Trappist beer goes to good cause, how many beers make you conscious feel good when you drink them!. Chimay in fact is the second largest earner for the Vatican.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Peter Collins

Paparazzo wrote:
    Cost's about €5.30 for a 330ml bottle

AH HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAA

You having a laugh??!!!!

They must have seen you coming

AH HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAAAA

Dear oh dear

You having a laugh??!!!!

Dear oh dear
    330ml of vodka would cost even more than that, mental isn't it :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

You having a laugh??!!!!

Dear oh dear
    How much do you pay for it, and where??

You having a laugh??!!!!

Dear oh dear

Its equivalent to half a bottle of wine and it’s a much better produced than most available. To brew an 11% beer commercially that’s balanced takes a hell of amount of skill! Also the increased fermentable material compared to a standard beer will be reflected in the price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 888 ✭✭✭themole

It is indeed a nice beer.
    One piece of adice though, due to the large amount of sediment in it you need to drink it out of a glass with a large opening. Otherwise the sediment gets washed up into the beer everytime you drink.

oblivious wrote:
    Its equivalent to half a bottle of wine and it’s a much better produced than most available. To brew an 11% beer commercially that’s balanced takes a hell of amount of skill! Also the increased fermentable material compared to a standard beer will be reflected in the price.

Give me a break

They charge that amount cos they know there are certain "beer connoisseurs" out there who'll pay it.

God be with the days when beer was something you drank to get pissed.

Give me a break

They charge that amount cos they know there are certain "beer connoisseurs" out there who'll pay it.

Each to theirs. Some nights I enjoy one or two 'different' beers; I enjoy experimenting, other nights it's a tray of heiny under the arm.

Paddy's Vs Midleton

or

Blossom Hill Vs Chablis - Grand Cru

IMHO

Edit/ I enjoy a glass of blossom hill or a hot paddys on occasion, don't want the above to sound snobby by any means, just pointing out the differences:)

oblivious wrote:
    Chimay in fact is the second largest earner for the Vatican.
    That's an incredible fact

Give me a break

Well if you want to enjoy getting pissed on beer, there's little can compare to this, or it's ilk.Of course if you want to just get pissed without actually caring what it tastes like, then stick to the dutchie etc. And yes there are certain people out here who will pay more for a better ( number 10 here: http://www.ratebeer.com/Ratings/Ratings-Top50.asp) beer than the swill that is usually promoted via mass-marketing/advertising. Just because it's on TV doesn't mean that it's all that's available - thankfully.

"Beer connoisseurs" as you call it don't drink to get pissed, we drink to enjoy the flavours, aromas and feel of the beers. Getting pissed is a nice side-effect.

I personally wouldn't sorry couldn't drink bud/millers/coors etc even if it were the last beer on earth and it were free for life.

But each to their own I suppose, I think that pumping money into cars to make them get to the next traffic light a couple of milliseconds faster is nuts too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭guildofevil

This beer requires more ingredients, more expensive ingredients, more skill to produce, longer maturation times, thus more space in the brewery and it is made in smaller quantities, so they have less in the way of economies of scale. Then the Irish government comes along, looks at the 11.3% vol tag and slaps a huge duty on it.

It is an expensive beer for all of these reasons, but it is one of the best beers in the world and you can afford to try it on an average, or even below average income. Can you say that about any of the best wines in the world?

You can get pissed on any old muck and if that's all you want, you will never understand this beer.

As I said before 330ml, 11.3% @ €5.30 it is equivalent to a 330ml, 4.3% at €2

So even if you are drinking it solely to get pissed it is not very expensive compared to the usual bottles. Cheapest bottles are €1, most no on offer are around the €2 mark.

You can probably get a bottle of wine for about €4, do you think people paying €8 for a bottle are being ripped off too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭ladgie353

Does the store in Ranelagh also stock the "8" version?

I have been looking for it ever since you can't fly bottles in hand-luggage anymore...

5 euro 30 for one bottle of 10 is quite steep alright, home a bottle is about 1 Euro 50 in a supermarket. In fairness to the shop, though, I believe the berwery has a "different" price policy for exportations and that the transport certainly doesn't help either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭delboy159

I would love to try this beer. Is there anywhere online I could buy it - as Ranelagh is a bit of a trek for a culchie!

If you like that try Westmalle Tripel, Tripel Karmliet and a couple of the Chimay range. All of them are Belgian Trappist beers (Trappist being its made in a monastery, yes, by monks!) and are all very high in alcohol.
    In Particular I'd recommend the Westmalle Tripel. It's in a Slim bottle with a cream label and boasts a 9.5% Abv. It's priced around the €3 mark and is the best Trappist beer I have tried to date!

(All are 330ml bottles which Trappist beers more often than not, tend to be in. An expensive taste to have :) )

That's what I was thinking when I said it was very expensive, especially that Westmalle, tis lovely. Most of the Trappist beers are around the €3 mark and whereas it's easy to compare this beer to the likes of bud and say you're paying for quality (cause you are), I find it hard to justify the extra €2 for the 330ml. I know La Trappe is more expensive, but that's in a 660ml earthen jug (at least I hope it's la trappe... I get all the Belgian names mixed up as they sell so slowly)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭smartblaa

I brought home a ****load of 700ml bottles of Chimay beer from belgium last summer...yes the one made by monks with the secret god recipe!!

wait for it ......... E1.50 per bottle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

delboy159 wrote:
    I would love to try this beer. Is there anywhere online I could buy it - as Ranelagh is a bit of a trek for a culchie!
    Not sure, I heard of it on the Moncrief show (radio show daily from 2pm-4:30 daily on Newstalk 106), they have a booze section every friday at around half 3. They did wine yesterday, so it should be beer next friday. Send in a text or e-mail and ask the guy to find out more outlets. If i'm listening i'll send one in for you.
    I'll have to try the Westmalle Tripel and Chimay, sound good!

To the beer drinkers that think it's a rip off: i'm glad you won't go out and buy it, all the more for the people that will appreciate it!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,556 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

kenmc wrote:
    And yes there are certain people out here who will pay more for a better ( number 10 here: http://www.ratebeer.com/Ratings/Ratings-Top50.asp) beer than the swill that is usually promoted via mass-marketing/advertising.

"Beer connoisseurs" as you call it don't drink to get pissed, we drink to enjoy the flavours, aromas and feel of the beers. Getting pissed is a nice side-effect.

After having a quick look at that site, it seems to me that there is as much non-sense about beer as there is over wine etc.

Don't get me wrong, I love a quality beer, but if I was going to write about it on the internet, in a way that might inform someone else about it, I would try to give them an idea of how it tastes. For example:

"Old Man McKracken's Famous Lager" - quite bubbly, strong flavour but mild aftertaste, feel bloated after 3-4.

But the reviews on that site are sometimes: "heavenly beginning, with a rich tapestry of freshly cut grass and dead parrot extract. leaves you feeling like your granny lives in the jungle knitting sweaters".

Worse, one of my favourite beers of all time was dismissed as "boring". So I wonder if the OP would say why he likes this beer, if only so that I might know if I'll like it or not.

Also, I don't like going out looking for a particular beer. Instead, I prefer to go to an off licence and see what they have. Does anyone know a good off licence (as opposed to a good beer)? That place in Ranelagh is pretty good, but the selection isn't mind blowing.

I guess it might just be a case of Belvedere Vodka ... it's deliberately over priced even though it's comparable (or worse) then other cheaper vodkas. I haven't tried this so I obviously can't make the same comparison to the Westmalle etc, but just because it's expensive doesn't mean it deserves to be expensive.

Paying €5.30 for a coke-can measure of beer is a rip off

I don't care how it's produced, what ingredients are in it or where it comes from - it's a rip off - end of story.

If you are self-proclaimed 'beer connoisseurs', you should protest against this sort of crap, not buy it.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,556 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

I don't care how it's produced, what ingredients are in it or where it comes from - it's a rip off - end of story.

If you are self-proclaimed 'beer connoisseurs', you should protest against this sort of crap, not buy it.

If some people prefer to get a bottle of good beer for the same price as a bad pint in town, then what's the problem? The only difficulty is finding somewhere to drink it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Perhaps this may be slightly OT, but is that off-licence in Ranelagh not one of the best in Ireland.

Haven't been there that often but a mate of mine used to live near by and every so often we would buy a selection of the foreign beers for a "tasting" session.

Thing that stood out (apart from the fact that they had some massive super-powered fridges) was that the service and choice was second to none.

Some of the stuf might have been a might pricey but the selection was excellent.

Have sent a few people in that direction when trying to track down wierd liquers/mixers/cocktail ingredients and hasn't failed me yet.

Opinions?

Back on topic - not a fame of the original, mainly due to the fact that high-alchohol beers just seem somehow wrong (as well as that bit treacherous ).
    There's a couple of them that seem to have sacrificed taste for alcohol value

Futher opinions?

Also, I don't like going out looking for a particular beer. Instead, I prefer to go to an off licence and see what they have. Does anyone know a good off licence (as opposed to a good beer)? That place in Ranelagh is pretty good, but the selection isn't mind blowing.

If you check out the Nation Off Licence Association's website www.noffla.ie you'll find all the award winning off-licences around ireland over the last 7 years. I'm sure you'll find a top class one close near to you...

I think any decent sized off-license these days should have a big ol' selection of imported beers and wines. Way too many people go into the offies attached to shops/bars because they're handy, but there's a world of differance normally. I remember going into my local off-license (think it was a "cheers") and asking for a nice bottle of wine for around €7... talk about looking down their nose at me, it wasn't my fault they only had over priced stock and a poor selection. Never again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

delboy159 wrote:

Are you near sligo?

Actually, I was in Redmonds tonight and yes, it is indeed fantastic. It's not exactly bigger then the offie I work in, but the layout allows for a much bigger range of products. Nice staff aswell. I bought all the beers recommended on here and they were quite intrigued when I told them the reason behind my diverse picks.

Oh no, you must be one of those 'beer connoisseurs', getting ripped off on all those overpriced beers. Honestly, I don't know why you don't just go down to woodies and get a couple litres of white spirits :p

So what did ya end up getting anyway?

I don't care how it's produced, what ingredients are in it or where it comes from - it's a rip off - end of story..

So what about my question to you- You can probably get a bottle of wine for about €4, do you think people paying €8 for a bottle are being ripped off too?

Would you consider a 330ml bottle of vodka at €5.30 to be a rip-off? Most vodkas cost less to produce 330ml than 330ml of that particular beer.

I cant see how you dismiss ingredients and strenght. Do you think 500ml of diluted ribena should cost the same as undiluted? Should 50% smirnoff be the same as 37.5%

kenmc wrote:
    Oh no, you must be one of those 'beer connoisseurs', getting ripped off on all those overpriced beers. Honestly, I don't know why you don't just go down to woodies and get a couple litres of white spirits :p

So what did ya end up getting anyway?

Goose Island (lovely, has a nice hint to it that I can't remember exactly, but it was rather distinct and luverly)

Desperado

um.. what was the other one, it was a pale ale, something prairie or something

and then I got Baltika 8 cause some Russian guy recommended it and I had only tried 3. Turns out the Baltika brand pretty much rips off every other beer out there. Number 8 happens to be their weissbier type thing. Was...alright.

I nearly bought some chocolate stout that was recommended to me, but it was like €7 or something so I declined, I wasn't even meant to be drinking that night :P

Can you remember who it was by? Seems very expensive...

rubadub wrote:
    So what about my question to you- You can probably get a bottle of wine for about €4, do you think people paying €8 for a bottle are being ripped off too?

Would you consider a 330ml bottle of vodka at €5.30 to be a rip-off? Most vodkas cost less to produce 330ml than 330ml of that particular beer.

I cant see how you dismiss ingredients and strenght. Do you think 500ml of diluted ribena should cost the same as undiluted? Should 50% smirnoff be the same as 37.5%

What I am trying to get across is that this beer is grossly overpriced, as is any beer - wine production depends a great deal on climate, soil, etc....beer not a tenth as much

These guys sell this stuff at that price because there are people in Dublin with more money than sense and buy the sh1t at that laughable price and think they are sophisticated and cool for doing so, and a better person than your average bloke down the pub buying Carlsberg cos he likes the taste, not because it's made by fcuking trappist monks. Who's the ignorant one there?

A fool and his money are soon parted.

A wine-expert wouldn't waste a second reading a reply like mine - they know what they're talking about. You sound like you need convincing.

Drink Guinness, do us all a favour.

Oh, and just to add - a huge chunk of the price of wine is tax, so an €8 bottle versus a €4 bottle is considerably better value, if you follow the maths.

Eh...beer, again, no.

Beer...imagine....I can hardly believe I'm passing comment on this sh1t.

What I am trying to get across is that this beer is grossly overpriced, as is any beer - wine production depends a great deal on climate, soil, etc....beer not a tenth as much

These guys sell this stuff at that price because there are people in Dublin with more money than sense and buy the sh1t at that laughable price and think they are sophisticated and cool for doing so, and a better person than your average bloke down the pub buying Carlsberg cos he likes the taste, not because it's made by fcuking trappist monks. Who's the ignorant one there?

A wine-expert wouldn't waste a second reading a reply like mine - they know what they're talking about. You sound like you need convincing.

I'm laughing so much right now! I can't wait to see the responce to this... Please do yourself a favour and don't argue something when you have no idea what your talking about! you didn't even try to research anything you said! how about you google how the beer is made then post an educated responce.

First, to get you started, try finding out how many different types and styles of beer are out there. then find out where your reference of carlsberg fits in! :p

Oh, and just to add - a huge chunk of the price of wine is tax, so an €8 bottle versus a €4 bottle is considerably better value, if you follow the maths.

Eh...beer, again, no.

Lol, where did you hear this? If you read this thread, maybe even the first post, you'd see that the beer is over 11% and since tax goes along with alcohol contents... well, you can see where i'm going with this...

I'll have to remember you're reasoning next time i compare a bottle of Cloudy Bay to a bottle of Pearly Bay...

I think the choc stout was American, possibly called "Rogue's" or something along those lines.

Oh, that was a funny few posts... my oh my the internet sure does reveal the idiots in the village.

yeah i thought as much. €7 is pretty expensive for it but i heard it was delicious off a guy who drinks alot of the Youngs Double Chocolate Stout. I kept a bottle for myself tomorrow! We got in two other of the Rogues range a couple of days ago and the stout is gone aready. looking forward to trying it. At least they're 660ml bottles :)

Me smelleth the vile odour of an unwashed TROLL.:D However, I'm in a fishing mood. Here little trollie......
    Right........So none of the stuff that goes into beer comes from the ground. Like for example barley or hops. They are manufactured in china, by a machine. Soil, weather, climate affect them not. They don't need any special treatment like malting either, nor do the hops have to be kept fresh.Cool.
    As opposed to those of us who have turned our back on sheepish ways, avoided the mass-marketing machine of these self-professed 'best beers in the world' and discovered that there are other beers out there with a HUGE variety of different characteristics, tastes, aromas and textures (yes, textures, you can feel beer in your mouth). Last I looked, we live in a democracy - you have the right to chose to drink something that is different. Do you go into the motors forum asking them why they spend so much on modding their cars? Same thing.

I (and I would hazard a guess that most people on this forum) have no problem with someone drinking Carlsberg because they have tried lots of different beers (style as well as brand) and decided that the one that they like best, is indeed Carlsberg. What I do have a problem with is the narrow-minded muppets who see the media-machine in action, and decide from that snippet of video, or the name on a football jersey, that this is the only beer worth drinking.
    This is from the winelist.ie
    Chateau Lynch Bages Grand Cru Classe Pauillac Bordeaux - 1998 - Price per case – (0.75 x 12) – €1225.00 (my calculator tells me that this is €102 per bottle). Over on realbeers.ie you can get a case of Duvel (also 12 x 0.75l) for €100. How come it's OK for 'good' wine to be astronomically overpriced compared to an average wine, and not ok for good beer to be slightly more than an average beer, which lets face it, Carlsberg is at best. And now that I've just been there I see that they have Aventinus on special, so there's a case of that in the bag for me! Thanks for sending me over there! :) I'd offer you a bottle but I read somewhere that I should never feed the trolls...
    So you believe people who appreciate good wines, but yet beer..... hmmmm. Are you sure that YOU don't need convincing.
    Us? Would this be the royal 'we' or something? And how would drinking Guinness do you any favours at all?

I really don't understand what you point is in coming in here wasting both your own and everyone else's time. You should probably be over on ripoff.ie, you may get better luck over there with your pathetic whinging. Or better still, why not wait till your local TD comes a knocking and tell him/her that you would like to try this Rochefort sort of beer but it's too expensive, and ask them what they are going to do for you. :rolleyes:

NEXT.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭guildofevil

Actually no. While VAT is calculated from the price tag, excise duty is calculated from the alcohol content, so, assuming the two bottles of wine in question are of the same percentage alcohol, they both attract exactly the same excise duty. Making the €4 bottle much better value.

Taking it a bit further, an 11% bottle of wine that costs €8 attracts the same duty as an 11% bottle of wine that costs €50. Now who's being ripped off?
    Eh...beer, again, no.

Wrong again, I'm afraid. The only reason there is less excise duty on beer is that it tends to be lower in alcohol. If it is not of a lower alcohol content it does not attract lower excise duty.

An 11% beer attracts exactly the same excise duty as an 11% wine.

As to the production and material cost of beer versus wine, there is a huge variety of beer styles and production methods. The ingredients and production costs vary hugely, as do the maturation periods.

A beer which is produced using large amounts of high quality ingredients and matured for a long period of time, in a strictly controlled environment, costs more to make than a beer made from cheaper, mass produced ingredients and matured for a shorter time. Surely you can see that.

I can tell you this from personal experience. As an armature brewer I can make a 4.X% session beer, with average hops and some adjuncts, for fairly cheap and in a reasonably short amount of time.

If I decide to make a beer similar to the one featured, it would cost me several times the amount, as I would have to use a lot more malted barley (base malt), get several different speciality malts, several different hops and a special yeast. I would also have to go to a lot more trouble in the brewing and fermentation process and mature the finished beer for over a year before I would even think of trying a bottle, to see if it is done.

Now, I don't have the economies of scale professional brewers have, but then Trappist breweries don't have the economies of scale the international mega-breweries have and I don't have to worry about a marketplace price tag, which is going to be inflated by a massive excise duty whack, because it is a strong beer.

I'm not saying that beer is not overpriced in Ireland, but beer is not alone in that and it is far from the worst offender.

Excise duty is what pushes up the price of all alcohol in this country. The logic is that if it costs more, people will drink less, so our government rips us off for our own good and the fact that it doesn't actually make us drink less doesn't appear to matter.

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzz................

you lot must be fun in the pub

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

You must be a right bundle of laughs
    God be with the days when beer was something you drank to get pissed

Well in fairness now you're the one who keeps on coming back to see what we have to say.....
    Off to woodies with you now and get some white spirits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Zing!

What a response!

That'll learn 'em. That'll learn 'em all!